We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
103 Boeing Road East, Edenvale 1610 South Africa
Booking.com
Priceline
FindHotel
Agoda.com
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 3 hotels in Edenvale
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
For affordable accommodation in Edenvale that is comfortable, convenient and modern, SUN1 Edenvale is a popular choice. Located in Johannesburg's eastern suburbs our Edenvale hotel promises no frills, no fuss, just a great night's sleep.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Room features
Air conditioning
18Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4
  • 2
  • 4
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ibongwe N wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
The room was very clean and smells fresh on arrival but the beds are a complete disaster, in year 2020 i was surprised to find a hotel that still uses beds that are similar to those we used at hostel 10 years ago. you have a nice hotel but you need to change your beds, no one wants to pay to sleep in a sponge placed on a hard plank...your beds sun1 edenvale are terrible
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The hotel is outdated as compared to other Sun1 hotels, the are terrible my back is still painful
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
sanelendzelu wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
The room was very clean and smells fresh on arrival but the beds are a complete disaster, in year 2020 i was surprised to find a hotel that still uses beds that are similar to those we used at hostel 10 years ago. you have a nice hotel but you need to change your beds, no one wants to pay to sleep in a sponge placed on a hard plank...your beds sun1 edenvale are terrible
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
heidibaden2019 wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
Staff very helpful and friendly. Room was spotless!! Peace and quite. Lovely surroundings. Pamphlets for places of interest were available in room. Coffee/Coldrink on arrival. Eating area very clean and comfortable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
katlehosimone16 wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
The place is outdated and unaccommodating as other Sun1’s like Alberton and Wynberg. The WiFi is limited which is boring and the tv channels are your standard 1,2,3 and etv. The shower and toilet facility are very old and uncomfortable one can’t use the toilet whiles the other is showering without being splashed by the shower water.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
ashveerheeralall wrote a review Sep 2018
Durban, South Africa1 contribution
Management wasn't helpful with check in and was told rooms are not cleaned to check in even though no one was staying in room.Our bookings were done in advance and paid for and when we arrived we were told it wasn't done and had to pay cash for room and wait for refund.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Date of stay: September 2018
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from SUN1-HOTELS, Owner at SUN1 Edenvale
Responded 10 Oct 2018
Dear ashveerheeralall, Thank you for informing us of your recent experience. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and for having created an unfavourable impression as a result. The events that took place during your stay at our hotel are most regrettable and we would like to assure you that this is not the standard on which Sun1 Hotels prides. Please be assured that the issues have been addressed in an attempt to avoid a recurrence in the future. Our sincere apologies once again. Yours sincerely, SUN1 Hotels Management
Read more
nomalangazabane wrote a review Jul 2018
Nigel, South Africa1 contribution
I wish you can add shower cabs and hand lotions for your bathrooms...Extra bath towels at least a minimum of three 3 will help a lot ......make sure that the rooms lights are in good working condition always.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Date of stay: June 2018
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from SUN1-HOTELS, Owner at SUN1 Edenvale
Responded 06 Jul 2018
Dear nomalangazabane, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel. Your comments have been noted and are greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Yours sincerely, Sun1 Hotels Management
Read more
maneshs2017 wrote a review Feb 2017
Pietermaritzburg1 contribution
Airconditioners dont work .Plug points do not work .Management never on site to address problems and complaints.. Management doesnt call guests when asked to attend to repetitive complaints.As a guest checking in i had to personally go to numeous rooms to ensure that the room i was allocated was in good working order. ie airconditioning to work aswell as plug points.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Date of stay: February 2017
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from SUN1-HOTELS, Owner at SUN1 Edenvale
Responded 21 Feb 2017
Dear maneshs2017, Thank you for informing us of your recent experience at our Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to do so as guest feedback forms a vital role in our operations. We are very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectation and apologise for the inconvenience caused. We are aware that the Hotel Manager has been in direct contact with you to discuss the various issues raised. We do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to positively influence your impression of us in the future. Yours sincerely, Sun1 Hotels Management
Read more
StevieSA wrote a review Aug 2016
Johannesburg, South Africa223 contributions97 helpful votes
I slept in this hotel for one night and must say it was a perfectly pleasant experience Reception staff was friendly, coffee was on hand my room was very basic but perfectly clean Breakfast was simple but hit the spot! ultimately you get what you pay for
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from SUN1-HOTELS, Owner at SUN1 Edenvale
Responded 25 Aug 2016
Dear StevieSA, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Yours sincerely, Sun1 Hotels Management
Read more
Nicolouw K wrote a review Oct 2015
Piketberg, South Africa20 contributions5 helpful votes
This is suppose to be budget but at R545 this is not exactly cheap. The mattress is so thin your hips / back will be sore for weeks. Air conditioner and WiFi didn't work, had to relocate to a room with some WiFi signal. No supermarket close and area is not really safe to walk even during day. Rather find B&B in area at not much more $ with plenty of extras that's not at Sun 1.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from SUN1-HOTELS, Owner at SUN1 Edenvale
Responded 09 May 2016
Dear Nicolouw K, It would appear that our initial response was not posted, perhaps due to a technical error. May we apologise for the inconvenience caused and for having created an unfavourable impression. We consider the points that you have raised very seriously and would like to assure you that this is not the standard on which Sun1 Hotels prides itself. We do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to positively influence your impression of us in the future. Yours sincerely, Sun1 Hotels Management
Read more
borderrefrigeration wrote a review Jul 2015
Nelspruit, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
there should be rules how to behave in such an enviroment where people try to sleep.They were knocking on all the doors the whole knight through and was also shouting to find the person or persons they were looking for. We all know that a bus full of guests are good business but the are not the people who are making use of the hotel right through the year.If that was my first time then i would have never used Sun1 again and i would have definitely not recommended it to any one. As a matter of fact i would have asked my money back the following morning being very tiered and irritated with the un-managed and gaos situation.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Date of stay: July 2015
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from SUN1-HOTELS, Owner at SUN1 Edenvale
Responded 09 May 2016
Dear borderrefrigeration, It would appear that our initial response was not posted, perhaps due to a technical error. Thank you for informing us of your experience at our Hotel. May we apologise for the inconvenience caused to you and your family, our valued guests, as a result of the noise during your stay. We consider the points that you have raised very seriously and would like to assure you that this is not the standard on which Sun1 Hotels prides itself. We do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to positively influence your impression of us in the future. Yours sincerely, Sun1 Hotels Management
Read more
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$34 - US$37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgEdenvale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
76
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about SUN1 Edenvale
Which popular attractions are close to SUN1 Edenvale?
Nearby attractions include Satyagraha House (7.3 km), Emperors Palace (6.7 km), and Eastgate Shopping Mall (4.6 km).
Is parking available at SUN1 Edenvale?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to SUN1 Edenvale?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mozambik Linksfield, Quills, and Airport Craft Brewers.
Are there any historical sites close to SUN1 Edenvale?
Many travellers enjoy visiting L. Ron Hubbard - Linksfield Ridge House (6.0 km) and Franz Hoenig Hauz (7.2 km).
Is SUN1 Edenvale accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.