Birchwood Hotel & OR Tambo Conference Centre

Birchwood Hotel & OR Tambo Conference Centre

44 Viewpoint Street, Boksburg 1459 South Africa
Area from the grounds the Johannesburg airport is close as you can see Quatar airlines arriving
Traveller (238)
Birchwood gardens
Room & Suite (92)
Dining (26)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#3 of 6 hotels in Boksburg
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Birchwood Hotel and OR Tambo Conference Centre is South Africa's leading business-to-business conferencing facility, catering to hundreds of business travellers from all over the world each year. Over 20 years of experience in hospitality, and in understanding the needs of our guests, coupled with a location that is hard to beat, are the secrets to our success at the Birchwood Hotel. Added to our "success formula" is our staff who are highly trained and dedicated to exceeding the expectations of our guests. The Birchwood Hotel offers 665 accommodation rooms, 60 on-site venues, three restaurants, including a fine-dining steak-house, a café and wine bar for quick meals and drinks and our aviation bar, for relaxing after a hard day's business. Other facilities include the Mangwanani African Day Spa, a gym, pool and squash courts. We at the Birchwood Hotel pride ourselves on the exceptional service of our staff and their dedication to ensuring all our guests' needs and preferences are catered for. With our large range of venues and facilities which enables us to host any sized event, whether it be for two delegates or 3000 delegates, we guarantee the all-important personal touch, by ensuring flexibility and affordability for all event types and budgets. Let us at the Birchwood Hotel assist you with your next conference, banquet, product launch, exhibition, wedding or accommodation needs, because as Gauteng's premier hospitality hub we endeavour to make your occasion our occasion!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Free airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Free shuttle or taxi services
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Dutch, Zulu

Location

44 Viewpoint Street, Boksburg 1459 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 52 out of 100
52
Johannesburg Intl Airport
Lanseria Airport
41.7 km
See all flights
1,024Review7Q+A89Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 331
  • 369
  • 218
  • 56
  • 50
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Daniel wrote a review Jan 2022
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa247 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this for 1 night in December just before Christmas it was nice quiet and staff were user friendly. The facilities are very good and can walk around the various areas like Boma, Swimming Pool and SPA.

One restaurant i want to eat at was closed but there was a CAFE open which had great food just small portions.

One small tip, ensure you understand the direction to your room else ask the little Car to take you.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Choose rooms close to Breakfast area to avoid long walks,
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sbuda wrote a review Sept 2021
Durban, South Africa177 contributions27 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It was my first time at Birchwood. I had gone for a cheaper room after there was some misunderstanding. I had thought the room was of same level as the expensive one and the difference was only whether meals were included or not. I did not like the room at all. I learned later that actually my room was budget and I quickly asked to be moved to the 4* wing. It was a different world. I topped up and started to feel like I am in a really good hotel and conference centre. The room was beautiful and spacious. I enjoyed and service excellent. For someone who was carrying an injury I enjoyed the efficient shuttle service provided at the hotel as the hotel facilities are vast. For someone with insomnia I struggled with noise planes movement after midnight.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask for 4 star rooms and also inquire for rooms not affected by planes landing and taking off...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greg Hoffmann, Guest Services / Front Office at Birchwood Hotel & OR Tambo Conference Centre
Responded 02 Sept 2021
Dear Sbudatraveller; Thank you for your feedback; We naturally apologise for any misunderstanding regarding the room allocation. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our Silverbirch accommodation room as well as approved of our service levels. We appreciate the feedback and hope that we will be able to welcome you back again in the near future. Should there be any additional items that you would like to inform us of, or that you felt could have been better, please feel free to advise us by emailing gregh@birchwoodhotel.co.za.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
j889814672 wrote a review Nov 2022
Jakarta, Indonesia308 contributions320 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
When I arrived early hoping to check in and grab breakfast before my meeting I was curtly told "checkin at 2pm, no breakfast for you". What a nice welcome.

The rooms are really OK. a/c worked, everything worked (except the internet for one day).

The staff are surly and curt, but service when something was wrong was pretty fast... my safe wouldn't open and they responded very quickly and professionally and later during a huge rain my room flooded and guys showed up to clean it promptly.

The food is really bad. Breakfast is passable but everything else is just repetitive and bad.

Conference facilities are basic but functional.

The gym is an unusual collection of antique equipment and mismatched dumbbells. pretty much useless.

I wouldn't stay here by choice, but for a conference it's OK.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John wrote a review Feb 2020
97 contributions83 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I attended a conference and stayed on the property. I found the rooms poor to moderate, particularly the bed and pillows were not good, and I was warned to go out, because how troublesome the neighborhood of the hotel is. It’s surprising that the money one pays for this kind of simple hotel would get you a similar property in any major city - so it’s wildly overpriced.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GregHoffmann, Manager at Birchwood Hotel & OR Tambo Conference Centre
Responded 02 Feb 2020
Dear John; Thank you for your comments and review; What you have described is certainly concerning to hear. We pride ourselves on providing a value-for-money, comprehensive and unique experience for our guests. We would like to understand more about what was not to your liking in terms of the bedding, and any other pertinent issues. Regarding the 'troublesome' neighborhood, this was perhaps a miscommunication from the individual who informed you. We naturally recommend any person to be vigilant when being around the city; as we would anywhere in the world, but we have great features and entertainment around the area. Facilities such as Uber make this easily accessible. We do apologise for any way that your expectations were not met, however, do hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future. Kindly email me with more information on gregh@birchwoodhotel.co.za.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lk0ekem0er wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had our matric dance function in the Serengeti Lapa. Some of the staff spent the night. Facilities were fantastic, all the staff were extremely helpful and kind. We asked to have 2 rooms that are close to each other and that was sorted out very quickly and efficiently.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greg Hoffmann, Guest Services / Front Office at Birchwood Hotel & OR Tambo Conference Centre
Responded 19 Apr 2020
Dear lk0ekem0er; Thank you for your feedback! We were very happy to host your Matric Farewell event, and are pleased that the stay and time spent with us was as it should have been. We hope to host you for many more events in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nonkululeko wrote a review Jan 2023
Cape Town, South Africa5 contributions
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I find the location unbelievable in terms of convenience. R100 Uber ride to the airport :).
It is close to shops, and the Spar nearby has some good African food at stupid cheap prices. This is important as for the times we travelled, the hotel's main restaurant was closed for the season. The remaining restaurant had good food still.
We booked during off-peak times, so got a fairly good deal.
It's 4 star rating from me because the pool was not big enough and the pool water was not clear enough for comfort.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Faedah wrote a review Feb 2023
Cape Town, South Africa180 contributions55 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Birch wood is located approximately 15 minutes driving distance from OR Tambo. It is a large hotel and very popular for conferences. The hotel had the following pros and cons:-

Pros
1. Location close to the airport
2. Sufficient rooms available for large conferences
3. Lovely gardens
4. Rooms were fairly large with two double beds
5. Breakfast had a nice variety with a vegetarian grill for halaal omelettes
6. Comfortable beds

Cons
1. Because it’s popular for conferences, it was very noisy with loud music and people coming back to their rooms in the early hours of the morning
2. Room requires an overhaul and the outdated bathrooms requires a revamp
3. Non-smoking room smelt like cigarette smoke
4. Stains on the basin and shower floor were undesirable

All in all, it’s okay for a one night stay. However, there are other hotels that are closer to the airport and more modern which would be worthwhile to consider.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Try and get a room far away from the conference venues
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clintonkorf wrote a review Dec 2022
Benoni, South Africa11 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent check in staff, they very friendly and made me feel comfortable,however the room left you wanting more. Sockets next to bed did not work, the shower head was broken and sprayed water everywhere. My score is due to the room and not the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mariettej567 wrote a review Jan 2020
Roodepoort2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I would like to thank you for a wonderful weekend - my thoroughly enjoyed it. My husband said that a weekend a month would be the way to go. What is the price on Dinner, Bed and breakfast for 2 - I know it goes according to dates but need to know an estimate.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GregHoffmann, Manager at Birchwood Hotel & OR Tambo Conference Centre
Responded 05 Jan 2020
Dear Mariette; Thank you for your feedback - we are so pleased that you enjoyed the time spent with us. We'd love to welcome you back every month. We naturally have rates that differ according to the days of the week, however, the best available rate as well as all specials / offers, can be found at www.birchwoodhotel.co.za/bookings.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nauj63 wrote a review Aug 2022
South East England, United Kingdom922 contributions463 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I wasn’t going to review this place. It does what it needs to do in terms of providing a place to sleep that’s clean, basically comfortable and in close proximity to OR Tambo. Beyond that, it’s all ‘fine’ in the ‘unremarkable’ sense of the word. But…the staff ( to a Woman or Man ) were so friendly, so engaging, so enthusiastic & apparently motivated. From the beaming chap in the golf buggy - ‘Hey ! Which team are you ? I’m Chelsea !’ to the reception team who couldn’t have been more patient and helpful to Catherine in The Grill who served me with efficiency and a great sense of fun…everyone I came into contact with were exceptional Ambassadors, not just for Birchwood but for South Africa generally ! Well done !
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Greg
Johannesburg, South Africa4 contributions2 helpful votes
The pool and buffet are available to in-house guests and conference delegates.
luna asked a question Nov 2019
Florida
Are small pets allowed?
Answer from Greg
Johannesburg, South Africa4 contributions2 helpful votes
I think UBER is your best bet.
Answer from Greg
Johannesburg, South Africa4 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi there, The shuttle times are available on Birchwood's website under "Services" then "Added Value".
Answer from Greg
Johannesburg, South Africa4 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi Kerry, Kindly advise if you booked this directly through the hotel website, or through at third-party website (Expedia or Agoda etc)
Sindy Singleton wrote a tip Jan 2024
Durban, South Africa176 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try and avoid if there are conferences on as it is not a family hotel anymore "
Read full review
Jimboza wrote a tip Oct 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa146 contributions129 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay in a cheap room if you have the choice (unlikely) and push back if they book you in 711 which is situated next to the generator "
Read full review
Sally C wrote a tip May 2023
Durban, South Africa7 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid a room by generator. Rather do bed and breakfast option, and dinner in another restaurant or takeaways."
Read full review
Paul S wrote a tip May 2023
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania43 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I cannot judge about the value or expense as the conference was paid by my employer. The location is about 30 + minutes from the airport."
Read full review
John W wrote a tip Feb 2023
Eagle River, Alaska153 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"We were put here by BA due to a delay. It’s really a convention center, not a tourist place"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Boksburg area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,189 - R 1,354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
birchwood hotel boksburg
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgBoksburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
665
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BIRCHWOOD HOTEL & OR TAMBO CONFERENCE CENTRE - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Boksburg, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Birchwood Hotel & OR Tambo Conference Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Birchwood Hotel & OR Tambo Conference Centre?
Nearby attractions include Petmasters Bird Park (0.4 km), Wild Waters (0.7 km), and K90 Centre (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Birchwood Hotel & OR Tambo Conference Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Birchwood Hotel & OR Tambo Conference Centre?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Birchwood Hotel & OR Tambo Conference Centre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Birchwood Hotel & OR Tambo Conference Centre?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Birchwood Hotel & OR Tambo Conference Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include IL Gusto Ristorante, The Classic India, and Turn 'n Tender Steakhouse Boksburg.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Birchwood Hotel & OR Tambo Conference Centre?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Birchwood Hotel & OR Tambo Conference Centre have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Birchwood Hotel & OR Tambo Conference Centre offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Birchwood Hotel & OR Tambo Conference Centre have airport transportation?
Yes, Birchwood Hotel & OR Tambo Conference Centre offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Birchwood Hotel & OR Tambo Conference Centre?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Birchwood Hotel & OR Tambo Conference Centre offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Boksburg HotelsBoksburg Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BoksburgHotels near Birchwood Hotel & OR Tambo Conference Centre
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire