We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ilanga Estate

Lucas Steyn Road Heuwelsig, Bloemfontein 9301 South Africa
Traveller (17)
Room & Suite (9)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#19 of 20 small hotels in Bloemfontein
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Finding an ideal trendy small hotel in Bloemfontein does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Ilanga Estate, a nice option for travellers like you.

Nearby landmarks such as Orchid House (2.7 mi) and Vodacom Park (2.8 mi) make Ilanga Estate a great place to stay when visiting Bloemfontein.

Guest rooms offer air conditioning.

In addition, guests can enjoy a lounge during their visit.

Bloemfontein has plenty of Italian restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Bella Casa, Avanti Italian Restaurant, and Kerdoni's Bays Village, which are serving up some great dishes.

Plus, during your trip, don’t forget to check out some of the popular parks, such as Kings Park Rose Garden and Hoffman Square.

Ilanga Estate looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Bloemfontein.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
17Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 3
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Kea wrote a review Dec 2023
2 contributions
I booked into Ilanga Estate the week ending of the 1st December. We arrived there very late and were properly checked in. Upon getting the keys and accessing the rooms, we were surprised that there was no water. We were informed that this was since the morning. At no point before check in and on checking in were we told that there was a water problem. When I enquired with the staff, it was only at that point that we were told there there is no water. I expected the establishment to at the very least inform me of this as soon as it became apparent that there would be no water for the duration of my stay or very least at point of check-in or make alternative arrangements at a place where there was no water. There is no way that you would expect visitors to stay in a place without water. I then arranged alternative accommodation and the GM Mpho committed that we would be reimbursed by the 4th December. Since then there has been delay tactics and we have since requested a confirmation that we would be reimbursed. To date we have received no payment and no confirmation of the reimbursement.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Joa_de_beer wrote a review Sept 2023
Cape Town Central, South Africa1 contribution
We had a function booked at Ilanga Estate and decided to make use of the accommodation. The building and outside areas is dilapidated and in need of serious attention. Bathrooms was not up to standard. Limited breakfast options, we asked for eggs and bacon on toast and the bread was not toasted. We were told to toast our own bread, but the toaster was broken. Staff was nice but they lacked a leader and no management in sight.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mkelly1105 wrote a review Jun 2023
4 contributions
This was such a bad experience we left after 1 night. Huge differences in price for supper, seriously unpalatable. One staff member asked for R670 for the two meals, the other asked R330. I asked for a receipt for the cash. None given. Shower door falling apart, other maintenance poor. Duvet did not fit its cover. Breakfast arrived so late we left before it arrived. Others who waited said it was cold. Meal at the conference was cheap and poorly prepared. All in all, I would NEVER recommend staying there or using their conference facilities
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
sipiwemutemwa wrote a review Apr 2023
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
Service and food were extremely below the standard. The carpet in my room was wet upon my arrival and staff were barely available to attend to us. The food was bad, the meat was overcooked and the same meet that was provided to us for lunch was given to us the morning after.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
pfarelomukhese wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
I complain about ready made food and no one listen to my complain. Same menu for breakfast with this diluted juice which was mix with water and became extremely sweet. Scrambled egg was always having water. Fried eggs was always burned.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ClaireKlassen wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
I was supposed to be booked at a hotel closer to the venue where I was visiting - because there were meals included which is something I always look at. If I can suggest something - please can you consider including lunch and dinner as an offering to your guests? Luckily that the venue where I was visiting provided me with Lunch - but I had to sort myself out for dinner which was not healthy having fast food. Perhaps offer premade meals as an option or ask your guests in the morning if they will be joining for dinner. Another thing I have to point out is that I was not asked if I eat pork, in the morning the breakfast was already made, The Bed in Room number 2 is not comfortable as the mattress was sunken on the left side where I slept meaning that I did not have a comfy sleep, I did provide this feedback to the manager when I left.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Daydream51041004356 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Efficient and friendly service from reception. Rooms are spacious and well appointed -did not use food and beverage as we had to leave too early. We will definitely use this facility again in the future
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
grahamv612 wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
the shower was not cleaned, empty shower gel found in shower, hair on the floor. no shampoo, shower gel etc provided. dustbin was not emptied, still had the previous guests dirt in it and was not cleaned out
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Adri Scholtz wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions
I made a booking for the 27th - 29th of March. I cancelled it on the 16th of March. They still went and debited the amount from my account. I have requested SEVERAL times for the refund but there has been just empty promises. Please stay away.......
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel cause they have terrible service levels !!!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
mkekan378386 wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution
This hotel is terrible. They double charged me for Accomodation on 29 July 2019 and we agreed with the receptionist that the matter will be sorted out in the morning when I check out. They refused to refund me in the morning because they said the money was not yet appearing in their account. The money has been appearing in their account since last week and they are refusing to refund me immediately because they say their pay date is the 15th and 30th. I’m not their employee and I want my refund immediately. It’s illegal for them to double charge me then refuse to pay my money immediately while the money is in their account.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from WernerJoubert801212, Manager at Ilanga Estate
Responded 20 Sept 2019
Good Day Firstly I would like to apologies for any inconvenience caused by the company's operational procedures. It is not Ilanga Estate's intent to keep your money, and we will gladly refund you the full amount. The refund has been authorized some time ago already, by means of Credit Card Refund option, for which we would require details to process the payment. I can assure you that this matter is viewed as urgent, as both Ilanga Estate and the directors would like this matter to be resolved as soon as possible. Please feel free to contact me at any time
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
12
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bloemfontein area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,032 - R 1,299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaFree StateBloemfontein
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ILANGA ESTATE - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Bloemfontein, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ilanga Estate
Which popular attractions are close to Ilanga Estate?
Nearby attractions include Elude Escape Rooms (1.8 km), Anglo-boer War Museum (7.3 km), and Oliewenhuis Art Museum (3.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ilanga Estate?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and airport transportation.
What food & drink options are available at Ilanga Estate?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Ilanga Estate?
Conveniently located restaurants include New York Restaurant, Bella Casa, and Longhorn Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ilanga Estate?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Does Ilanga Estate have airport transportation?
Yes, Ilanga Estate offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.