Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake

Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake

Romantic setting!
Traveller (112)
King Guest Room
Room & Suite (28)
101 Restaurant – Breakfast Buffet
Dining (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
Fully refundable before Sat, 01 Jun
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
R 1 717
Fully refundable before Sat, 01 Jun
R 1 719
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#5 of 33 hotels in Bloemfontein
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Tennis court
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

101 Henry Street Willows, Bloemfontein 9301 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 67 out of 100
67
Bloemfontein Intl Airport
298Reviews3Q+A74Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 101
  • 109
  • 64
  • 15
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Neil H wrote a review Mar 2020
Reading, United Kingdom185 contributions117 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Needed a hotel close to the office, ideally situated just off th3 main road to the N1 for those who know the area, if your road tripping from Jo’Burg to Cape Town you’ll likely use the N1 at least in part. Hotel overlooks an animal park, ostrich and deer just outside the grounds. Ample car parking on site, rooms are basic but clean, separate toilet, but hand basin and shower off the bedroom area separated by a curtain, it works! Helpful staff, good simple breakfast choices and a reasonable dinner menu. Could do with attention in the bar, limited selection, wine list is good though and perhaps some more local specialties.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PHWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Responded 09 Mar 2020
Dear Neil H Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor, this is really much appreciated. It’s good to read that you had a good stay with us, and we appreciate your constructive criticism. We will have a look at our current bar stock and see if we can add a few items. Once again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. May you have a lovely day further. Kindest Regards Blanché Walzl-Hagen Cluster General Manager Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew L wrote a review Jan 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa12 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I occupied 2 rooms late December. Check-in was very friendly and efficient. Rooms clean as expected. Restaurant operating under Covid-19 restrictions was great. Staff courteous and did their very best.
The best part however was the demonstration of honesty and integrity; I left my toiletry bag behind in the room. I was called about an hour after check-out by reception staff to advise so. Rather than turn back i arranged a courier to pick up and deliver to my home. The courier company turned out to be hopeless and it was only the hard work of housekeeping head Gertrude that saw my bag delivered safely to my home. Contents of the bag including some very expensive product were all present and intact. Pretty unusual under the circumstance which South Africa finds itself in. My humble appreciation and thanks
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GM Willow Lake, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Responded 11 Jan 2021
Dear Andrew L, Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor, this is really much appreciated. I am so proud of my TEAM for adhering to all policies and procedures, and will definitely commend Gertrude. We are grateful for your business, and hope to welcome you back real soon. Stay safe. Kindest Regards Blanché Walzl-Hagen Cluster General Manager Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lubabalo M wrote a review Dec 2021
Cape Town Central, South Africa35 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I use this hotel every second month as it is central and has great service.

It follows in the style of the modern Protea Hotels so the rooms are not huge but comfortable but don't offer a bath (shower onky).

You can request a fridge in your room and the meals are very reasonably priced.

The service, from Reception, bar and restaurant is always friendly and efficient no matter the time of the day.

It offers a secluded area around the pool which is also great for working on your laptop
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GM Willow Lake, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Responded 02 Jan 2022
Dear Lubabalo M, Thank you for taking the time to rate our Property on TripAdvisor, this is really much appreciated. It is great to see that you found our services and facilities satisfying, as this is what we strive for, excellent GUEST service. Must say that we are truly a great TEAM working here. Once again, thank you for your comments, and may you have a lovely day further. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Thank you Kindest Regards Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Neil H wrote a review Dec 2020
Reading, United Kingdom185 contributions117 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
In the area on business, opted to stay her again after a visit earlier in 2020 just before lockdown in the UK. Compliments on COVID safety measures, masks worn when not seated to eat, temperature checks on arrival, breakfast buffet items sealed, hot food cooked and served to order. Excellent dinner menu, presentation had improved, all dishes well cooked, portions are generous, recommend the lamb cutlets. Attentive professional staff on hand to welcome guests, you sense with a smile, if only you couls see behind the masks!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GM Willow Lake, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Responded 06 Dec 2020
Dear Neil H What a lovely way to start a new week by reading your lovely comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, this is really much appreciated. We are delighted to read that you had a great stay, and your review will definitely be shared with our entire TEAM. Apologies for not seeing our “real” smiles, however I can assure you that we are all smiling behind our masks. Stay safe, and I hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Kindest Regards Blanché Walzl-Hagen Cluster General Manager Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zumba wrote a review Nov 2021
Newport Beach, California226 contributions523 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Wanted to like this place but out of the 150+ nights at Marriott properties this year this place has got to be the worse. Small rooms with the shower part of the room two feet from where your head is on your bed. Poor design and water leaks all over your room. Poor slow wifi, A/C did not work, paper thin walls you can hear everything and can not sleep, ratty old towels, horrible breakfast, no elevator and need to lug your bags up two flights of stairs, smallest room I have had in years, zero recognition of my Elite status, we went there for my two year old to see the animals and they took them all away but still advertise this. You can see many nice photos of the animals on the property. Call the front desk and they don't answer the phone after five plus minutes of ringing. Looked for a lake and saw nothing, crappy area. Asked to speak to a manger but they guy was busy in the toilet for more time than I wanted to wait. Was hooping for a good stay but good not get away from this property fast enough. If you are looking for as comfortable stay and a nice clean, quite nice sleep, Don't Come Here!!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid this place
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GM Willow Lake, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Responded 08 Nov 2021
Dear B3345XYandrewb, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor, this is really much appreciated. As per your review, we unfortunately did not meet your expectations, and for this we would really like to apologize. Unfortunately the zoo did close down approximately a year ago, and we did remove all advertising of the zoo, this is something we will re-visit. Covid-19 protocols and procedures have also changed our buffet offerings, and hopefully we would be able to go back to our normal offerings. Once again, please accept my sincerest apologies. Kindest Regards Blanché Walzl-Hagen Cluster General Manager Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gerrie Smit wrote a review Feb 2020
Muizenberg, South Africa18 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely hotel in the middle of twon. It is nestled in an enclave in the city zoo. One dine with a view on wild animals roaming around the joining groends. Lovely. We experienced excellent geniune friendly service from staf. We experience excellent memorable meals in the hotel's restaurant. The chef, Kila, soes magic. The restaurant is highly recommended. We had a seminar at the hotel and the conference staff gave us all the support to ensure that the seminar was a huge success. This hotel met and excelled all our expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask for the block of rooms next to the animal park
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PHWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Dear Mr. Smit Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor, this is really much appreciated. It is always wonderful to read the we have met and exceeded your expectations. I will definitely share your Review with my TEAM, and especially Kelea the Chef. Once again, thank you so much Mr. Smith, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back. May you have a lovely week further. Kindest Regards Blanché Walzl-Hagen Cluster General Manager Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
erika wrote a review Nov 2022
16 contributions30 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stay here every time we come to Bloem. Nice accommodations, decent breakfast, and very friendly staff. Also very close to two of our favorite malls in town - Mimosa and Loch Logan. The rooms could use an update, including the addition of TVs that can screen cast or play streaming services, but overall has a nice, quaint feel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heila Bezuidenhout, Marketing at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Responded 04 Dec 2022
Dear C1991ZNerika, Thank you for writing your review on TripAdvisor, this is really much appreciated. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I must agree our location is perfect if you want to go shopping. We will communicate your recommendations regarding the rooms to our owners for future consideration. May you have a great day further, and a happy festive season. Thank you. Kind Regards, Blanché Walzl-Hagen Cluster General Manager Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GeneralShamu wrote a review Dec 2022
New York City, New York1,136 contribution503 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here one night during our drive from George to Johannesburg. The hotel is great with a lovely garden and pool area. The breakfast was great, the buffet dinner was fine). Parking is behind a secured gate with a guard at the entry/exit point as well. Quiet at night, no elevators.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Neo Tabi, Marketing at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Responded 19 Dec 2022
Dear Christopher, Thank you for writing your review on TripAdvisor, this is really much appreciated. It is great to see that you found our services and facilities satisfying, as this is what we strive for, excellent GUEST service. Must say that we are truly a great TEAM working here. Once again, thank you for your comments, and may you have a lovely day further. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Thank you. Kind Regards, Blanché Walzl-Hagen Cluster General Manager Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian L wrote a review Sept 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa83 contributions106 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
As I write this review, it's past 10pm and unable to sleep. The room next door have the television switched on and we can hear every word. Stop over from Cape Town and expected a noise free decent hotel. Unfortunately it's a let down. The only 4 star hotel that does not provide bottled water in the room and a poor selection of television channels. The laminated floor is damaged and I certainly don't this the 4 star status and appropriate and it's a let down for the Marriott brand. Staff and service is however great.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GM Willow Lake, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Responded 28 Sept 2021
Dear Brian L, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor, this is much appreciated. Although not a good review we are thankful for all feedback positive or negative as it assists us in improving our services. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused, and this is definitely not the service or standard we strive to offer. To confirm, we are re-looking at our current DSTV bouquet and it should improve by 2022. The in-room water has been addressed. Once again thank you for your feedback, and I hope we could have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future. May you have a good day further. Kindest Regards Blanché Walzl-Hagen Cluster General Manager Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dave S wrote a review Jul 2021
Cape Town, South Africa90 contributions40 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the very big positives was the zoo. You could even see animals from your bedroom in some cases. Now It's closed and I'm not comfortable that they have fully addressed the impact of this, Covid notwithstanding (every establishment has been hard hit by closures). My key concern is that there is not adequate security now, by way of fencing and patrolling (my two separate stay experiences, with late visits to my vehicle and early departures, showed no security in evidence, other than at the main gate and a guy staying warm in the reception area. It is too easy to access from what is now an abandoned property. Other than that, the rooms are very well designed, maintained and cleaned. It would be five stars other than the above.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GM Willow Lake, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Responded 02 Aug 2021
Dear Dave S, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor, this is really much appreciated. I have to agree with your it is such a great pity that the zoo closed, and unfortunately it belonged to the municipality so we had no choice in the matter. With reference to the Security, your comments are well received and I will take this up with the relevant parties. Once again, thank you for your lovely feedback, and we hope to welcome you back real soon. Stay safe. Kindest Regards Blanché Walzl-Hagen Cluster General Manager Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Brian S
Johannesburg, South Africa268 contributions95 helpful votes
Have a look at Lietjiesbos in Bloemfontein. It is a wonderful property, out of town but not too far. I would not really want to stay at the Protea for that length of time unless you are working most of the time.
Christel L asked a question Sept 2018
Port Shepstone, South Africa248 contributions26 helpful votes
What happened to a courtousy bottle of water in the room.?
BB wrote a tip Mar 2024
Somerset West, South Africa5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is available at the hotel premises."
Read full review
Luigi Z wrote a tip Nov 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay away at all costs"
Read full review
Zumba wrote a tip Nov 2021
Newport Beach, California226 contributions523 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this place"
Read full review
Charlene & Cisca wrote a tip Aug 2021
Centurion, South Africa14 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Safe secure parking. No mini fridge."
Read full review
Gerrie Smit wrote a tip Feb 2020
Muizenberg, South Africa18 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for the block of rooms next to the animal park"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bloemfontein area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,549 - R 1,733 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaFree StateBloemfontein
NUMBER OF ROOMS
94
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PROTEA HOTEL BY MARRIOTT BLOEMFONTEIN WILLOW LAKE - Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Which popular attractions are close to Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake?
Nearby attractions include Vodacom Park (0.4 km), Loch Logan Waterfront (0.8 km), and Mimosa Mall (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake?
Conveniently located restaurants include New York Restaurant, Bella Casa, and Iewers Nice.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Is Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Bloemfontein HotelsBloemfontein Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BloemfonteinHotels near Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire