We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake

232 reviews
Save
Traveller (76)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (11)
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good37%
  • Average21%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“open shower”(5 reviews)
“entire team”(5 reviews)
“open plan”(8 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Special Offer: Book Now & Earn More
Hotel packages
Hotel deals
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (232)Write a Review
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
75
77
48
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
75
77
48
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopen showerentire teamopen planglass enclosurethe hotel staffhotel restaurantrooms are comfortablewestern capebeautiful hotellounge areastayed for one nightpleasant stayawesome staybusiness tripen routefeel at homeattention to detail
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is in a nice location overlooking the zoo. Central but not in the madness of town. However, the rooms are really quite small. Photos on the website are somewhat misleading; they are disappointingly small for a room costing R1500 a night. The open-plan...More

Thank sfuhere
Response from GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow LakeResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sfuhere, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor, really much appreciated. It is unfortunate to read that you didn’t quite enjoy the modern design of our rooms. This does not meet all our GUEST’s expectations though. With reference to...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as a stopover of our travels to the coast. We were welcomed by a very friendly porter and the reception staff was also very helpful. The room was compact, but clean with comfortable bedding. They made provision for our kids...More

Thank Karlasik
Response from GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow LakeResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Karlasik, So wonderful to read your lovely review on TripAdvisor this morning, thank you for taking the time to write it. I am delighted that we met your expectations, and that my STAFF even the security took such good care of you and your...More

Reviewed 8 January 2018

We used the hotel as an overnight rest during our drive. The staff were friendly. The room was a sufficient size and was very clean with modern lighting. Bed was comfortable. The breakfast was average. Was awesome to have a view of the zoo, while...More

Thank Jay C
Response from GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow LakeResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Jay C, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor, this is really much appreciated. Your comments are all good, with the exception of our breakfast where we can obviously improve. Once again, thank you, and we would love to...More

Reviewed 5 January 2018

After a long day and drive from George in the Western Cape coupled with the holiday traffic heading to the Coast and the trucks heading to Gauteng all you want is a quiet, efficient, clean and comfortable accommodation and that is what you will get...More

Thank Alan/Denise J
Response from GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow LakeResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Alan/Denise J, It is always great to read that our GUEST’s enjoyed their stay with us, so thank you very much for posting your review. To meet and exceed our GUEST’s expectations is what we are here for, and by reading your review I...More

Reviewed 2 January 2018

The hotel is good with the zoo in the premises. It is clean and tidy, plus the staff is friendly and very assistive, but at the restaurant is the different story. Their dinner is very limited and uncaring staff. My advice is to eat out...More

Thank Boo-ngane
Response from GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow LakeResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Boo-ngane Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor, this is really much appreciated. It is great to know that the STAFF took care of you, however, please accept my sincere apologies for the dinner experience. This is definitely not...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345644
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$91 - US$145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$91 - US$145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (76)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (11)
Pool & Beach (2)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"Rooms away from the reception area but overlooking the Zoo grounds"
Read review
"I prefer rooms on the zoo side"
Read review
"Ask for a room with a view over the Zoo"
Read review
"Peaceful rooms overlooking the zoo or the hotel gardens"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing