We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Garden Court Mthatha

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Garden Court Mthatha
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 151: English reviews
Start your review of Garden Court Mthatha
 Click to rate
Tzaneen, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is large and just opposite the University in Mthata. It has beautiful gardens and a view over the city. There is however very little that distinguish this hotel from any other hotel its' size. Buffet dinner was interesting, and although food was "african" I do not think it was up to standard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheoDoris
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is clean but outdated. It reminds me of hotels in the 1990's where everything is beige and other things are thrown in just for the sake of it being required. I guess it is a stopover hotel for most persons. We ended up here because our flight had been cancelled. The hotel was pretty full and all we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eugene S
GCMthatha, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you very much for posting your comments on this platform, we appreciate your continuous support to brand and the unit. All your comments assist us to improve our service and standards. We will soon start with refurbishment I am sure on your next stop over you will sleep in a new room. Kind Regards, Andrew

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

It's always a pleasant experience to put up at Garden Court. The breakfast is always excellent! The rooms are clean, Beds are comfortable, The staff is friendly and helpful, I always look forward to an opportunity to spend a night or two at the Garden court,

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mondlid2017
GCMthatha, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you very much for taking time to post your comments on this platform. We appreciate your continuous support to the unit and the brand. We will continue working hard ensuring we meet and exceed our guest expectations. Kind Regards, Andrew

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was disappointed at the attitude of the staff at this resort. When I requested a take-away breakfast as I always do when travelling, the gentleman at the front desk refused to take my order and insisted that I call the restaurant myself. The next morning, another gentleman at the front desk agreed to arrange a toasted chees sandwich for...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dayaneethien
GCMthatha, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking time to post your comments on this platform. Your comments have been addressed with the Front Office staff. I will respond direct on email with issues raised. And I am glad that you understand the principles. Kind Regards, Andrew

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very comfortable rooms however they need to be upgrade to Garden court standards. Staff are extremely efficient, warm and very helpful. A good spread during breakfast and dinner however being a hindu, not much is catered for me. In saying that, staff do prepare special meals if requested. I would rate it the best accommodation in Mthatha.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 758rajeshm
GCMthatha, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you very much for taking time to post your comments in this platform we appreciate your continuous support and your contribution in improving our standard. Refurbishment of the hotel will start in May 2017. And we will be looking forward to welcome you back to experience our new product. Kind Regards, Andrew

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Not as per usual Tsogo Sun standards. (We stayed 2 nights) Reception operates efficiently, but the food (cooked) including buffet choices were far below acceptable standards with regards to quality and cooking. The vegetables were way undercooked, in fact carrots were still raw. the curries tasteless, and the other meats, e.g. 1st night the chicken was chopped up and floating...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arthur K
GCMthatha, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your comments, as is always there are different types in cooking style. and the area we in has different clientele needs it is impossible that we can cater for all different religious, our row stock comes from as far as 220km and therefore hence limited and direct menus. Haven said that we are on par...

Aliwal North
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Performance of hotel was excellent, homely and welcoming to guests. Advice - hotel to keep special diet requests at the forefront in order to avoid delays at mealtimes. Otherwise I enjoyed my stay, keep it up.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendypamelam
GCMthatha, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer It is with pleasure to read comments such as these on this platform, we appreciate your continuous support in improving our standards and service. Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Andrew

Umtata
Reviewed 30 January 2017

I am generally happy with my stay. How ever few things like smoking is degrading the standard of the hotel. The very few channels makes it uninteresting staying in room more especially when you are alone.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thandom2017
GCMthatha, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you very much for posting your comments on this platform, we appreciate your continuous support. Your comments assist us in improving our standards and service. We continuous review our service and offerings and all the comments are taken into consideration even though we cannot change everything. Kind Regards, Andrew

King William's Town, South Africa
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Its always good to be at Garden Court Mthatha but I think it's high time to change things like curtains heyyy whilst you are waiting for your breakthrough in the refurbishment of the building. I must take this opportunity and appreciate the excellent service by the Management and the entire team.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lungisas
GCMthatha, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you very much for taking to post your comments on this platform. We appreciate your continuous support to the brand and our unit. I have noted your points and curtains are also scheduled to be change during refurbishment as it forms part of the new designs. Kind Regards, Andrew

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 17 January 2017

As I indicated on the previous response , the establishment needs a face lift. Sleep quality was not excellent. I made mention of my experience with one of the beds in room 148 and the bathroom. The furniture is pealing off

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ntombikayises2017
GCMthatha, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you very much for your input, we appreciate your feedback as it assists us to improve our standards. Please note the hotel will be going under refurbishment very soon. All the issues you have highlighted previously will also be addressed. We appreciate your continuous support. Kind Regards, Andrew

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mthatha hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
4.3 km away
Big Five Guest House
Big Five Guest House
#7 of 40 in Mthatha
19 reviews
0.7 km away
No photo provided
Lodge Bellagio
#1 of 40 in Mthatha
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
No photo provided
Rose Bella Bnb
#13 of 40 in Mthatha
1 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Formerly the heart of the Transkei, Mthatha is a bustling city that embodies an eclectic mix of old world South Africa and the new. It is a growing business centre and many companies use the city for conferences and events. The Garden Court Mthatha is hospitable, offering the friendly service that is common to the area. It offers access to the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University as well as the city centre, an efficient airport and the national highway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Garden Court Mthatha

Address: Nelson Mandela Drive, Mthatha 5100, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Mthatha
Price Range: R379 - R6 320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Mthatha 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Garden Court Mthatha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Mthatha Hotel Mthatha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Garden Court Mthatha staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Garden Court Mthatha staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get a room on the back section, away from the parking area”
 of 5 bubbles wdulabh, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“choose upper rooms”
 of 5 bubbles navys2015, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“1st floor rooms facing the pool/garden”
 of 5 bubbles CHARMSAMA, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a second floor room facing the garden”
 of 5 bubbles africanswan, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The suites are more quieter and a bit spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles 660NOBE, 1 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5