We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Garden Court Mthatha

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Garden Court Mthatha
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 156: English reviews
Start your review of Garden Court Mthatha
 Click to rate
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Dinner is excellent and your staff is warm. I have been to all the Gardens in big cities in South Africa and you dinner is top class.Please install safes int he rooms to store valuables for guests.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank manelisil
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Probably the best place to conference in this area, small but effective conference facilities , hotel is apparently undergoing a refurb in 2017, Easy access , loads of parking, close to airport and just of the N2 and just outside Town Centre,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NerveEventsSA
King William's Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The toilet was filthy and rusted. Restaurant guy is not properly trained to deal with clients. I arrived when they were packing but no one could provide food because they were packing and I slept hungry travel agent is not going to refund that money for dinner. I was surprised with an I do not carte attitude, you do not...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 448aubreyn
Port St Johns, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The management is working hard , well done the staff is excellent working good with people Staff always helpful, rooms are clean and neat,every time you have problem they sort it out.and. the security is good.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nozizwef
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my message that I send to the hotel."It's been a few years that I have stayed at your hotel but the one thing that puts me off every time that I stay there is the bath room. This time I stayed in room 148. That tiles looks as if it hasn't been cleaned in years. There is no...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank arthura823
Tzaneen, South Africa
Reviewed 16 March 2017

This hotel is large and just opposite the University in Mthata. It has beautiful gardens and a view over the city. There is however very little that distinguish this hotel from any other hotel its' size. Buffet dinner was interesting, and although food was "african" I do not think it was up to standard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheoDoris
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

The hotel is clean but outdated. It reminds me of hotels in the 1990's where everything is beige and other things are thrown in just for the sake of it being required. I guess it is a stopover hotel for most persons. We ended up here because our flight had been cancelled. The hotel was pretty full and all we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eugene S
GCMthatha, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you very much for posting your comments on this platform, we appreciate your continuous support to brand and the unit. All your comments assist us to improve our service and standards. We will soon start with refurbishment I am sure on your next stop over you will sleep in a new room. Kind Regards, Andrew

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 11 March 2017

It's always a pleasant experience to put up at Garden Court. The breakfast is always excellent! The rooms are clean, Beds are comfortable, The staff is friendly and helpful, I always look forward to an opportunity to spend a night or two at the Garden court,

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mondlid2017
GCMthatha, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you very much for taking time to post your comments on this platform. We appreciate your continuous support to the unit and the brand. We will continue working hard ensuring we meet and exceed our guest expectations. Kind Regards, Andrew

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 2 March 2017

I was disappointed at the attitude of the staff at this resort. When I requested a take-away breakfast as I always do when travelling, the gentleman at the front desk refused to take my order and insisted that I call the restaurant myself. The next morning, another gentleman at the front desk agreed to arrange a toasted chees sandwich for...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dayaneethien
GCMthatha, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking time to post your comments on this platform. Your comments have been addressed with the Front Office staff. I will respond direct on email with issues raised. And I am glad that you understand the principles. Kind Regards, Andrew

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Very comfortable rooms however they need to be upgrade to Garden court standards. Staff are extremely efficient, warm and very helpful. A good spread during breakfast and dinner however being a hindu, not much is catered for me. In saying that, staff do prepare special meals if requested. I would rate it the best accommodation in Mthatha.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 758rajeshm
GCMthatha, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you very much for taking time to post your comments in this platform we appreciate your continuous support and your contribution in improving our standard. Refurbishment of the hotel will start in May 2017. And we will be looking forward to welcome you back to experience our new product. Kind Regards, Andrew

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mthatha hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
4.3 km away
Big Five Guest House
Big Five Guest House
#6 of 41 in Mthatha
19 reviews
0.7 km away
No photo provided
Lodge Bellagio
#1 of 41 in Mthatha
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
No photo provided
Rose Bella Bnb
#21 of 41 in Mthatha
2 reviews
0.8 km away
LLZZ Boutique Lodge
LLZZ Boutique Lodge
#4 of 41 in Mthatha
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Formerly the heart of the Transkei, Mthatha is a bustling city that embodies an eclectic mix of old world South Africa and the new. It is a growing business centre and many companies use the city for conferences and events. The Garden Court Mthatha is hospitable, offering the friendly service that is common to the area. It offers access to the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University as well as the city centre, an efficient airport and the national highway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Garden Court Mthatha

Address: Nelson Mandela Drive, Mthatha 5100, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Mthatha
Price Range: R1 319 - R1 554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Mthatha 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Garden Court Mthatha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Mthatha Hotel Mthatha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Garden Court Mthatha staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Garden Court Mthatha staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get a room on the back section, away from the parking area”
wdulabh, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“choose upper rooms”
navys2015, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“1st floor rooms facing the pool/garden”
CHARMSAMA, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a second floor room facing the garden”
africanswan, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The suites are more quieter and a bit spacious.”
660NOBE, 1 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
HOTEL.INFO
* /night
View Deal
HRS.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates