We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre

912 Nelson Mandela Drive Fort Gale, Mthatha 5100 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (16)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 6 hotels in Mthatha
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre is an award winning hotel in Mthatha. Our friendly and efficient staff members look forward to making you feel right at home during your stay with us. The stylish, contemporary rooms come with air conditioning, flat-screen TV, and en suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. Guests have a choice between the 3-star Standard Double or Twin Rooms, or the 4-star Executive rooms. Guests have a choice of 3 in-house dining options. These include Ebotwe Breakfast Restaurant, Panarottis Pizza Pasta and Big Eagle Spur. Other facilities at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre include a bar, lounge area, splash pool and 8 conference venues, seating up to 500 delegates.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
353Reviews2Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 107
  • 139
  • 61
  • 26
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Ashley P wrote a review Jan 2024
4 contributions
+1
Rooms are in a shocking state..bathroom and shower filled with mold .even an old dry bug against bathroom wall. I would definitely not recomend this hotel For the price of their rooms you would expect a much higher quality of room and cleanliness
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Not a very clean place. Your bottled water gets filled with tap water once you have used the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joanne Macdonald, Owner at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
Responded 03 Jan 2024
Good day Ashley Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your feedback. I am saddened to hear that you had an unpleasant stay and that the cleanliness was so poor as this is not our standard and there is no excuse for poor cleanliness. I will address with the housekeeping department immediately. The bathrooms I agree are old and tired but the good news is that we have sign off to renovating all bathrooms from the middle of January. We are upgrading all of our standard room bathrooms, with new showers, toilets, handbasins, tiles and paint! we can not wait for this to be done and I would love to invite you back once they are complete to spend a night with us to give your feedback. Please do let me know if we can host you in the next couple of months. Wishing you a wonderful 2024! With regards Joanne Wishing you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David C wrote a review Jan 2023
6 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We were looking for a place midway between St Lucia and Addo National Park to break up the 14 hrs drive. We chose the Hotel Savoy. The good —Mandy at the front desk was very helpful. She showed us to our Executive Room and helped us order room service from one of the nearby Restaurants. She got us a bagged breakfast for the next morning. We parked right outside our executive room and she helped bring in our bags . If you stay at the Savoy highly recommend choosing the slightly more expensive Executive Rooms. The room had a jacuzzi tub and was very nice . The hotel handled load shedding very well with their generator. The bad- We were involved in an attempted robbery as we drove through Mthatha on the way to the Hotel. Apparently we were spotted after getting cash at an ATM at a Total Station about 100km Away East of Mthatha. Fortunately we figured out the setup and left before being robbed on the way to Hotel Savoy. After checking in Mandy at the front desk she told us another couple had been robbed in a similar scam a few weeks before. The lesson learned was to not listen to anyone directing traffic other than a person u are 100% sure is a legitimate police person, our scammer had a yellow vest. We had secure parking behind a guarded gate.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be vigilant about any potential scams even if the scammer seems legitimate.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joanne Macdonald, Owner at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
Responded 17 May 2023
Good morning Apologies for the very late response to your review. We are sorry to hear of your bad experience whilst travelling through Mthatha. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that Mandy was a great ambassador for our hotel and ensured that you had a comfortable and peaceful stay with us. Sadly these negatives don't leave a positive impression for other travellers, however please know that you are always safe with us! We hope that you will have the opportunity in the future to travel this way again and to visit us! With regards Joanne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
224470 wrote a review Dec 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
Pleasant stay. Affordable, easily accessible and good breakfast. Lovely place to stay when needing a stopover on a long trip from Jhb. Efficient and friendly staff willing to assist with anything one needs.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joanne Macdonald, Owner at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
Responded 01 Jan 2024
Good day Thank you so much for taking the time to send a lovely review of our hotel, we really appreciate it. From all the staff and management at Hotel Savoy, we trust you will have a great 2024! and we look forward to seeing you again :) With kind regards Joanne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
397ij wrote a review Dec 2023
East London3 contributions
Thanks for the opportunity to review the establishment. This was the best ever accommodation, I've ever been to. I've never seen a room layout as this one where shower is enclosed with the glass and jacuzzi / bathtub next to it and separate enclosed toilet. This is one of the best and thoughtful designs from my point of view. This allows both partners to have a choice which one they choose to use if not using the same. This was very cozy and nice to be, very clean and tidy. The room is airconditioned with mini bar fridge, and workstation beside the normal TV with DSTV channels including sport for big boys. It was also the first time to be in a room as big as this. From the top of my head calculations, I'll presume the room to be 36 - 40 square meters (double garage size) since I know how to read building fire plans. The premises are clean with lovely garden to take pictures, safe parking manned by 24/7 security personnel. The staff hospitality was exceptional. Next time, please give me a food voucher for Spur. I've eaten a lot of variety of pizzas in my life. However, the pizza that was advised by the consultant was one of the best. By the way, my future plans are to renovate my bedroom to include ensuite with walk in closet. From this design, I've taken pointers and thanks to the designer of this establishment.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joanne Macdonald, Owner at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
Responded 27 Dec 2023
Good afternoon Thank you so much for the wonderful review you have left us and for the 5 bubble rating. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff met and exceeded your expectations with their hospitality, this is always heart warming to hear from our guests. We are also excited for you and your renovation, I am sure it will look amazing! Please visit us again in the near future. With best regards for the rest of the season! Regards Joanne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
bamb518 wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
It is noisy and people don’t respect time as they loud whole night through. There needs to be management of guests and they need to respect other guests. I must compliment enjoyed breakfast and it was fresh.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joanne Macdonald, Owner at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
Responded 25 Oct 2023
Good day bamb518 Thank you for taking the time to send us a review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our breakfast, it certainly is the most important start to your day! I acknowledge your comment about the noise levels and sincerely apologise for this. I will address this again with my management team as well as the security team on site to ensure regular floor checks are done to avoid these situations. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to make this up to you! With best regards Joanne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lucinda643 wrote a review Jul 2023
Port Elizabeth, South Africa1 contribution
Disappointed in the area, noisy (cars spinning and playing loud music and entrance dirty - urine smells) and overall condition of the rooms (essentials not working: lights and aircon). No private access from reception to rooms above Spur.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joanne Macdonald, Owner at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
Responded 25 Oct 2023
Dear Lucinda643 Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We value your feedback and I can assure you that I will address this with my management team. I sincerely apologise for the poor experience in our hotel, this is very disappointing to read. I hope that the next time you travel to Mthatha that you will afford us another opportunity to make this poor experience up to you. With regards Joanne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
nndlel876416 wrote a review Jun 2023
1 contribution
The first day of the night was much better, I had booked an executive room. The second and third night was terrible. There were people singing the whole night and making a lot of noise and it was unbearable. The morning breakfast food got to be finished very quickly because of the high number of youth that was there. I think this could be improved with better management if there is too many guest.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joanne Macdonald, Owner at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
Responded 25 Oct 2023
Good day I sincerely apologise for the very late response to your review. Thank you for taking the time to send us the review and please be assured that I will address your feedback with my managment team. We are so much better than this and it saddens me that you had this poor experience. I hope that in the future if you do ever travel to Mthatha that you will consider affording us another opportunity to make this up to you. With regards Joanne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Quest28278595573 wrote a review Jun 2023
1 contribution
We had a great time. The rooms are clean and comfortable. They have friendly staff. The breakfast was delicious. The parking is safe I will definitely recommend this place.I will visit again with my friends.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joanne Macdonald, Owner at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
Responded 05 Jun 2023
Good morning, Thank you so much for the 5 stars! We appreciate the time you took to send us a review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again. With kind regards Joanne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
tngcob595555 wrote a review May 2023
1 contribution
First night we woke up to a noise that sounded like a party in the room above us. It was difficult to get restful sleep till we reported to reception and security attended. Breakfast was good, had a decent variety.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joanne Macdonald, Owner at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
Responded 17 May 2023
Good morning, Apologies for the late response to your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we appreciate it very much. I am terribly sorry that you had a disrupted night, we do our best to monitor the rooms during the night as these sort of incidents do pop up now and again and are beyond our control especially when we have groups of people staying that know each other, but once we are alerted, our team makes sure to put a stop to it immediately. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and we do hope to see you again in the future. With regards Joanne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
xolelwamkhethi wrote a review Mar 2023
East London, South Africa1 contribution
my stay with you was not good very noise i could not sleep,there is no privacy in the rooms you could hear someone talking from their cellphones from other room,even when flushing the toilet.dampness on the floor linen smells tobacco i was really really disappointed.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joanne Macdonald, Owner at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
Responded 17 May 2023
Good morning, I apologise for the late response to your review. We have noted your comments and we would like to extend an offer to stay in one of our Executive Suites the next time you book with us, this will allow more privacy as the rooms are larger and in a separate wing on the property. Please let Joanne or Godfrey know when you visit again. We hope to see you again in the near future. With regards Joanne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mthatha area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,701 - R 1,873 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapeMthatha
NUMBER OF ROOMS
156
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL SAVOY AND CONFERENCE CENTRE - Reviews & Price Comparison (Mthatha, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre?
Nearby attractions include Hluleka Nature Reserve (3.6 km), Nelson Mandela Museum (1.9 km), and Dutch Reformed Church (1.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Panarottis Mthatha, The Ivory Eatery, and Big Eagle Spur Steak Ranch.
Does Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Is Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.