We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Retreat on Main Bed and Breakfast

Save
Share
224 Main Road, Port Elizabeth 6070 South Africa
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (4)
Dining (4)
Room & Suite (3)

About

#86 of 284 in Port Elizabeth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Retreat on Main is an owner run and managed bed and breakfast. We pride ourselves in our personal interaction with all our guest. Our room and grounds at neat tidy and tranquil. Our dining room can accommodate small groups for informal meetings or get-togethers. The pool area is always available for guest to use. The pool is covered with a safety cover so all families can have piece of mind.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Breakfast available
Show more
Room features
Room service
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
11Reviews0Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 9
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Pamela Temlett wrote a review Oct 2020
10 contributions
+1
Roxy is amazing, not only did she go out of her way for a special request but when I discovered my next stop was less than desirable she stepped up with recommendations that are almost as good. The rooms are spacious; well decorated and comfortable. The breakfast is superb.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Christo wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
Clean, safe and tranquil accommodation for the descerning individual with all the necessities available. Spacious rooms and a beautiful bathroom. Retreat on Main also offers a treat of a breakfast. Definitely coming back here again and a definite recommendation. I loved the clean and neat finishes throughout. Affordable and a breakfast buffet... Thank you Roxy.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Steven R wrote a review Dec 2019
North Finchley, United Kingdom2 contributions
Retreat on Main is an exceptional bead an breakfast, from spacious rooms to warm reception and amazing service. Value for money is more than anyone could expect with modern living and friendly service, I would recommend retreat on Main to anyone visiting PE. I most certainly will be visiting soon.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Ibbee wrote a review Jun 2019
Monnickendam, The Netherlands307 contributions148 helpful votes
Great value and hospitality, affording large modern rooms and bathroom with plenty storage too, all in very central, safe and convenient location - definitely great choice for business or leisure stays in PE! Only gripe is the TV which is a bit on small side as rooms are large! Can definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Global25673291407, Owner at Retreat on Main Bed and Breakfast
Responded 30 Jun 2019
Thank you so much for your feedback and great recommendation. We hope to see you next time you are in Port Elizabeth.
Read more
Ricky Medcalf wrote a review Feb 2019
Gauteng, South Africa4 contributions
Simply outstanding. Highly recommended for awesome accommodation and personal service from the host and staff of the establishment. Will definitely book for my next road trip to PE. Thank you for the great welcoming , perfect room and awesome breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Global25673291407, Owner at Retreat on Main Bed and Breakfast
Responded 14 Apr 2019
It was lovely to have you and your family stay with us. Thank you for sharing the weekend with us. You are always welcome back. Enjoy what is left of your holiday and travel safely
Read more
Jeni C wrote a review Dec 2018
Lanseria, South Africa6 contributions1 helpful vote
A special place to stay. Thank you for making us feel so welcomed. Beautiful rooms and a absolutely spotless. We loved our stay over and will definitely be back. I highly recommend this little gem of a place.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Global25673291407, Owner at Retreat on Main Bed and Breakfast
Responded 14 Apr 2019
Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to hosting you again.
Read more
Rob S wrote a review Nov 2017
1 contribution
I stayed for a few nights and was pleasantly surprised by the clean and well appointed rooms that offered every convenience. When I was there the weather turned nasty but the room was heated. Bathrooms are excellent and all other amenities (fridge, microwave and a nice TV) are all provided. Breakfast was great, and the atmosphere warm with a number of regulars to the guest house being there. I would highly recommend this venue as both the accommodation and staff are great.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Roxanne S, Owner at Retreat on Main Bed and Breakfast
Responded 12 Jun 2018
Thank you so much for your feedback. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to having you next time you are in Port Elizabeth.
Read more
Dion P wrote a review Jun 2016
East London, South Africa83 contributions9 helpful votes
The first impression of Retreat on Main Bed and Breakfast is of an upmarket and expensive establishment. Upon arrival though we were greeted by Roxy and immediately made to feel at home. The room and facilities were excellent and the breakfast was great. I look forward to coming again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Justice T wrote a review Dec 2015
4 contributions
What a lovely place to stay , I intended to stay there for 2 night but i extended for three extra night because of the rooms are specius. The main reason we chose the place was the fact that there is swimming pool for our kids to swim.. swimming pool was deal maker. The pool was never opened while we were there, we requested that pool should be open for our kids to swim, The owner indicated that she has one key and there is no spare , since she is going away the pool will be closed until she returned in the after .To our suprise a cocashian couple who are staying at the same place had key and they kids were swimming, and this happened about 3 times during our stay the cocashian would open the pool and swim with his family and the pool will be closed immediately as soon as our kids approachthe pool to swim everyone got out of pool and they locked it. The following morning we went to inquired about the why other tanent has the keys and she lied and said that is because they are permenant residence and that was untrue,because I had chat with cocasian couple and they told me that they coming from Sandton, they are also on holiday. During the inquiry she also indicated that there are cost implication ..we asked if was it because of our skin color and she said no they do not operate like that , but. the actions to us were off that we are black and the other tanent were white.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Roxanne S, Owner at Retreat on Main Bed and Breakfast
Responded 08 Feb 2016
Hi Justice T, We are desperately sad to hear that you were displeased with your stay. However, we do need to clarify a few things for you. The pool is never opened while there are guests. We had a near drowning in the pool due to the negligence of the parents of the victim, and we then made a decision to cover the pool, with an ensured safety cover that cannot be opened, to ensure the safety of our guests. Something that no accommodation institutions offer to my knowledge - I will happily be corrected. It is only opened upon request of guests who acknowledge the responsibility is theirs to ensure the safety of their children. You stated clearly that you wanted someone there to watch your children, and this is not possible - as was stated in the indemnity document that you signed. The issue of racial discrimination is a disturbing one, and seeing that the majority of our guests and patrons are not of caucasian decent is testament to the fact that we DO NOT under any circumstances endorse any form of racial discrimination. You level many accusations based on hearsay. We can only hope that you return to our wonderful establishment so that you may see that we are fully accommodating of any and all guests. We are, however, guilty of making every effort to ensure the safety of our guests, and to this end we make absolutely no exceptions. We hope to see you again.
Read more
DEBBIE B wrote a review Sep 2015
East London, South Africa15 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed here because it is conveniently situated. Apart from a slight checking in bungle (- the staff weren't expecting us!) our weekend here was delightful. The decor was extremely tasteful and the bed was very comfortable and breakfast delicious. Very pleasant, friendly young lady standing in for the owner, did her very best to try & make up for the misunderstanding during our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$65 - US$67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapePort Elizabeth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Retreat on Main Bed and Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Retreat on Main Bed and Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Calm (0.9 km) and Walmer Park Shopping Centre (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Retreat on Main Bed and Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Retreat on Main Bed and Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Retreat on Main Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Retreat on Main Bed and Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Hacklewood Restaurant, Hello. It’s Me, and Brioche Food and Coffee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Retreat on Main Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Retreat on Main Bed and Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Prince Alfred's Guard Memorial (3.5 km), The Prince Alfred's Guard Drill Hall (5.1 km), and Old Post Office Building (5.3 km).
Is Retreat on Main Bed and Breakfast accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.