We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
2018/03/04 2018/03/05
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Shamwari Bayethe Lodge

    Between Grahamstown & Port Elizabeth | Off the N2, Port Elizabeth 6130, South Africa
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    2018/03/04 2018/03/05
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    No availability for your dates from these sites
    Traveller (343)
    Room & Suite (92)
    Dining (34)
    Overview
    • Excellent91%
    • Very good7%
    • Average2%
    • Poor0%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    “outdoor shower” (27 reviews)
    “game drives” (82 reviews)
    “plunge pool” (28 reviews)
    Free Internet
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Airport Transportation
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Multilingual Staff
    Spa
    Dry Cleaning
    5.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (237)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 211 reviews

    Reviewed 2 days ago

    We spent 4 truly unforgettable nights at the Bayethe Lodge in May 2017 and this was easily the highlight of our holiday and the best 'hotel' we have ever stayed in. Our ranger, Sihle, was very knowledgeable and did everything he could to find the...More

    Thank Adrian M
    Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

    We are the first time in South Africa and friends recommended the Shamwari Park as a starting program as we are located in Capetown. So we booked the Bayethe Lodge and were totally amazed by the lodge and especially by the people running it. We...More

    Thank AnBerni
    A TripAdvisor Member
    10
    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    What an amazing lodge. We were so spoiled from the moment we arrived, all the staff are polite and happy to interact with the guests. The food was excellent as was the wine. Our ranger S.J was so knowledgable he seemed to have a second...More

    Thank A TripAdvisor Member
    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    Two three plus hours game drives a day. Comfortable vehicles knowledgeable rangers. Close encounters felt very safe. Constant food supplied and care was taken over my gluten free diet. Our tented accommodation was clean perhaps requiring a little tlcMore

    Thank happy-travel22
    Response from SGR_socialmedia, Guest Relations Manager at Shamwari Bayethe LodgeResponded 1 week ago

    Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear that you had a fantastic safari experience with your ranger at Shamwari Game Reserve. We pride ourselves on presenting wildlife interaction that is the highlight of our guests' stay. We’re...More

    A TripAdvisor Member
    166
    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    We had a three day safari here last week and stayed in the tented lodges. Our initial welcome was a little brusque and the lodges and communal area are now looking a little shabby. Rather more 4star than 5star and really could do with a...More

    Thank A TripAdvisor Member
    Response from SGR_socialmedia, Guest Relations Manager at Shamwari Bayethe LodgeResponded 1 week ago

    Dear Rachel & Jeremy, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I am saddened to hear that your stay with us did not meet all your expectations. It is disappointing to hear that your welcoming at Bayethe did not feel special, this certainly is not...More

    PreviousNext
    12345643
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Internet
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Spa
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Dry Cleaning
    • Laundry Service
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Airport Transportation
    • Room amenities
    • Minibar
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Spa
    • Outdoor pool
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$107 - US$1 450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Suites
    • Number of rooms
    • 12
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Shamwari Bayethe Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • Eastern Cape >
    • Port Elizabeth
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (343)
    Room & Suite (92)
    Dining (34)
    Pool & Beach (3)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Nearby
    Nearby HotelsSee all 33 hotels in Port Elizabeth
    Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
    373 reviews
    7.23 km away
    Bushman Sands Golf Lodge
    129 reviews
    13.42 km away
    Graham Hotel
    121 reviews
    33.04 km away
    Hotel Victoria Mews
    12 reviews
    33.26 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    Tam'JaZi Farm Stall
    31 reviews
    31.24 km away
    Haricots Bistro & Deli
    179 reviews
    32.93 km away
    Oakly Farm Stall
    19 reviews
    25.52 km away
    The Rat & Parrot
    128 reviews
    32.91 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Tootabi Hunting Safaris
    38 reviews
    21.80 km away
    Cathedral of St Michael and St George
    50 reviews
    33.34 km away
    Quin Sculpture Garden
    6 reviews
    35.40 km away
    Addo Elephant National Park
    2 454 reviews
    38.83 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    James S
    2 October 2017|
    Answer
    Response from SGR_socialmedia | Property representative |
    Dear James, Thank you for your enquiry and interest shown in Shamwari Game Reserve. We are delighted that you have chosen Shamwari Game Reserve as your safari destination! At Bayethe Tented Lodge all tents are superior... More
    0
    Votes
    louloulou77
    24 August 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from SGR_socialmedia | Property representative |
    Good Day, Thank you for your enquiry and interest shown in Shamwari Game Reserve. We are delighted that you have chosen Shamwari Game Reserve as your safari destination! During your stay with us, a visit to the Rhino... More
    0
    Votes
    BeckyKTroy_oh
    16 August 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from SGR_socialmedia | Property representative |
    Dear Becky, Thank you for your enquiry and interest shown in Shamwari Game Reserve. We are delighted that you have chosen Shamwari Game Reserve as your safari destination! It is not required that you bring a gift for the... More
    1
    Vote
    PreviousNext
    12345
    Room Tips
    "I think all the lodges offer the same high standard so don't worry!"
    Read review
    "This is a Game Reserve and Tents are Luxury Tents!"
    Read review
    "Lodge 3 had an indoor shower , as by end of April it was only 8C at night. But dont worry , there is even an..."
    Read review
    "The rooms that overlooks the watering hole are private and quiet. Wonderful choice!"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing