Lobengula Lodge at Shamwari Game Reserve

Lobengula Lodge at Shamwari Game Reserve

Between Grahamstown and Port Elizabeth Off the N2, Port Elizabeth 6130 South Africa
Traveller (55)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#8 of 24 lodges in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tucked away in the depths of the bushveld lies the tranquil Lobengula Lodge at Shamwari Game Reserve. This private lodge experience has been designed to resemble a traditional African kraal, boasting panoramic views of the mountains and valleys. Staying here means that you also have the option to book the whole lodge exclusively. This plush area of the game reserve boasts 6 suites, each of which can accommodate 2 adults in either twin or king sized beds. For a private and fulfilling experience that you and your party won't forget, consider a retreat into nature. Book your two night stay at the luxurious Lobengula Lodge at Shamwari Game Reserve
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Public wifi
Hot bath
Breakfast available
Airport transportation
Spa
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Outdoor pool
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Minibar
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Family
33Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 32
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Paul H wrote a review Nov 2019
Devizes, United Kingdom97 contributions52 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our 5th stay at Shamwari & our first at this particular lodge. We love staying at Shamwari & this latest visit did not disappoint. We received the customary warm welcome & the staff are extremely friendly & courteous. Our accommodation was very spacious with all the creature comforts that you could hope for, including our own plunge pool. The catering is extraordinary & be prepared to put on a few pounds. Best of all are the game rides & our Ranger Tim is an extremely caring & professional man. His passion for the bush is infectious & he is also extremely knowledgeable; this was our second time with Tim.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SGR_socialmedia, Manager at Lobengula Lodge at Shamwari Game Reserve
Responded 26 Nov 2019
Dear paulahowlett365, Thank you for your wonderful review and continued support! We’re thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic return visit at Lobengula with Tim as your ranger for a second time. We sincerely hope to see you return to Shamwari Private Game Reserve yet again in in future. Best Regards, The Shamwari Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Willjoh wrote a review Jan 2018
51 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What an amazing place! We spent 3 nights at Lobengula Lodge, had an incredible experience and made some wonderful friends. All of the staff were so friendly and went out of their way to make our stay so special. The food and accommodation was wonderful. Our ranger was SJ who was fantastic. He was so knowledgeable and made sure we saw as much as possible and we learnt a lot from him. We didn’t want to leave - wish we could give it more stars!

Thank you to Nina and the team and SJ for making this a truly amazing experience.

To anyone considering booking - just do it :)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alan W wrote a review Oct 2017
23 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Lobengula Lodge for three days which was a truly amazing experience. The lodge is beautiful with great attention to detail from Nina and all the staff ensuring guests are made to feel so welcome and looked after.

The lodge is in a beautiful location with amazing 5 star service and facilities.

The drives were the highlight expertly guided by Sihle who was so knowledge, always ensuring we saw as much of the game by and wildlife as possible.

The spa treatments we're great and the whole experience left us feeling very relaxed.

Highly recommended and will definitely be back....
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Richard M wrote a review Feb 2017
London, United Kingdom30 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had the most wonderful 2 nights at Shamwari, staying at Lobengula Lodge. Great rooms and meals.
But obviously the highlight was the game drives - our wonderful ranger Sihle went above and beyond to show us all the animals we could find, getting very close and explaining so much.
Amazing experience, would highly recommend.
NB: if using GPS, don't input Shamwari Game Reserve. The main entrance is at the other end of the reserve from Lobengula. You want to drive up the N10, not the N2.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynn06883 wrote a review Dec 2018
Weston, Connecticut17 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family just returned from a 2 week trip to South Africa, which ended with a wonderful 3 night stay at Lobengula Lodge at the Shamwari Game Reserve. We were met at the door by Nina and some of her staff. We felt welcomed from the minute we arrived to the minute we left Lobengula.

Both of our rooms were beautiful and comfortable. Our rooms did not have the private plunge pools - but that didn't matter at all, because the large pool was great. The food was delicious and the staff went out of their way to cater to my daughter's food allergies. It was clear to me that her safety was important to them and she had many food choices at every meal. The service at meals was very friendly and extremely attentive.

Patrick was our ranger and he was amazing. He has been at Shamwari for almost 10 years, and his extensive knowledge of the reserve and the animals was spot on. He gave insightful information about the animal behavior that we witnessed and was happy to answer our endless amount of questions. Every one of our game drives was different and memorable.

Nina, the lodge manager, went out of her way to ensure a perfect stay for us. Thank you Nina and staff for an amazing stay at Lobengula.

Lynn, John, Emma and Gillian
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sylvie M wrote a review Sept 2018
Staffordshire, United Kingdom130 contributions90 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are almost at the end of our Garden Route Trip...and what an amazing stay here, there’s not many rooms here so book early to avoid disappointment...Nina and her team all make everyone feel welcome...food is great, varied and nicely presented..rooms are clean ,tea and coffee facilities are provided.
We stayed for 3 nights 6 Safaris and all meals included...
The safaris were amazing!!!! Our ranger was CJ great guy...the animals we saw during our stay:-cheetah,leopard, many elephants, giraffe, warthog,hippo,lions and of course the usual impala springbok etc..we didn,t have our last Safari on the a.m we left there was no need we,d seen everything..
It was early spring when we visited mornings can be cold we were provided with hot water bottles (nice touch) blankets,&ponchos,,,There were even waterproof capes provided should it rain.
Whilst staying at Lobengula Lodge we visited the Born Free centre just situated inside the security gates as you enter the property,,there are several lions there and also leopard,,ask your ranger to take you he,ll be more than happy ...the staff at the centre will show you around..visit their newest arrival King..he’s a young male lion arrived early July 2018..Centre is free to visit but donations are welcome and are greatly needed to support the welfare of these beautiful animals...You can also adopt a lion or leopard for 450Rand..you get a gift pack containing a certificate/cuddly lion or leopard, the money helps towards caring for the animal for 12mths.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: All rooms good built around courtyard.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chantel H wrote a review Mar 2018
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. The staff were incredibly professional, yet genuinely friendly and welcoming. We were situated in Suite 2 with our own private pool which was thoroughly enjoyed. The small personal touches were especially appreciated and made us feel at home. A special shout out to Patrick, our assigned game ranger, who went above and beyond to assure that we got the most out of our short stay. The hospitality student Annerique (hope we got her name right!) was especially helpful. Let her stay! Nina the lodge manager was also a wonderful host working behind the scenes ensuring everything ran smoothly and everyone was well taken care of. The food was also amazing. When we think of kingklip we will always reference you! Keep up the good work. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen B wrote a review Feb 2018
Greater London, United Kingdom58 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nina and her team made us so welcome at Lobengula. On the game drives we were looked after by Morne. The whole place is simply amazing . Accommodation and Food are of a standard one would expect to find at a six star resort. We were totally blown away by the place. We were a group of twelve six adults six children. We were lucky enough to book the entire lodge. The children had the experience of a lifetime. Seeing all the big five and many others in our two night stay. If you are in the Cape it’s a must visit.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David P wrote a review Jan 2018
21 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a fantastic place, the staff, the facilities, the accommodation, the food, the setting all outstanding. Even the free WiFi was excellent!! The safari drives were incredible and despite some mixed weather the experience was exceptional. Well done to all of the Lobengula team who made it all happen. Thoroughly recommended!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KCat wrote a review Mar 2017
Kauai87 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything about Lobengula Lodge exceeded my expectations. Our villa was lovely, with a large living area, a comfortable bedroom and a bathroom with every amenity. We also had a private patio and plunge pool. The Lodge sitting area, pool and dining areas are comfortably rustic, with lots of African touches. But the best thing about Shamwari is the people, who extend such a warm welcome and especially our wonderful ranger, Sihle, who has amazing knowledge about the animals, birds and the bush. He somehow managed to always find the animals we wanted to see. It was a dream come true. To Nina, Sihle and all the Lobengula staff, thank-you for a wonderful experience. We hope to be back! George & Donna
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Sylvie M wrote a tip Sept 2018
Staffordshire, United Kingdom130 contributions90 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms good built around courtyard."
Read full review
pe4all4 wrote a tip Nov 2017
Long Island, NY131 contributions136 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms 1 and 2 are more "isolated" and have their own private pool. Beautiful views!"
Read full review
jcgd2016 wrote a tip Feb 2017
Somerset West, South Africa18 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Suites on western side with own plunge pools"
Read full review
marksK538UW wrote a tip Nov 2016
3 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I believe all rooms are the same except for the Chief's room which has it's own dip pool"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Port Elizabeth area.
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapePort Elizabeth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LOBENGULA LODGE AT SHAMWARI GAME RESERVE - Reviews (Port Elizabeth, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Lobengula Lodge at Shamwari Game Reserve
Which popular attractions are close to Lobengula Lodge at Shamwari Game Reserve?
Nearby attractions include Hand In Hand Visual Art Studio (7.2 km), Kwantu Private Game Reserve - Day Visits (5.2 km), and Kwantu Elephant Sanctuary (4.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lobengula Lodge at Shamwari Game Reserve?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a spa, airport transportation, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at Lobengula Lodge at Shamwari Game Reserve?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Lobengula Lodge at Shamwari Game Reserve?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Lobengula Lodge at Shamwari Game Reserve?
Conveniently located restaurants include Blue Ocean Fisheries, The Pallet Doctor, and Louis Pub.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lobengula Lodge at Shamwari Game Reserve?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Does Lobengula Lodge at Shamwari Game Reserve have airport transportation?
Yes, Lobengula Lodge at Shamwari Game Reserve offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lobengula Lodge at Shamwari Game Reserve?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Lobengula Lodge at Shamwari Game Reserve?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Prince Alfred's Guard Memorial (12.5 km), The Prince Alfred's Guard Drill Hall (12.3 km), and Old Post Office Building (12.4 km).
All Port Elizabeth HotelsPort Elizabeth Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Port ElizabethHotels near Lobengula Lodge at Shamwari Game Reserve
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire