We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Road Lodge Port Elizabeth

Save
Share
Boardwalk Casino & Entertainment World, Marine Drive, Port Elizabeth 6013 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 9 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (4)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20/06/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Updated 20/06/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#24 of 42 hotels in Port Elizabeth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth is situated on Marine Drive in the Boardwalk Casino and Resort complex, directly opposite the famed Humewood International Beach of the Eastern Cape. Situated 8 minutes from the CBD and 5 minutes from Port Elizabeth Airport. This is the best value in the City Lodge Group of hotels. The same rate is charged whether there is one, two or even three people sharing the comfortably furnished and tastefully decorated rooms.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Internet
Beach
Airport transportation
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
77Reviews2Q+A17Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 13
  • 27
  • 24
  • 6
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
lungilemtwana wrote a review Oct 2020
Cape Town, South Africa6 contributions
The typical professional welcoming of City Lodge hotels, the clean rooms and free, convenient and ample parking makes the stay one of many to come. This was a late booking and it was concluded in a short space of time.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Responded 03 Nov 2020
Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Terry butts wrote a review Feb 2020
Townsville, Australia5 contributions
by far the worst of all up hotels we stayed in out trip from capetown up the fabulous garden route.the first room they tried to bundle us into was no bigger than a broom cabinet.we ended up in a room sst aside for wheelchair guests.no fridge and no bar.not a lounge and breakfast served in same room as reception.must say staff were fri endly and efficient.but the place itself offers s no more comforts than a backpacker joint.shame our south african journey had to end up in a place that had no semblance of what is portrayed in the glossy ads.never ever again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from CLHGMarketing, Front Office Manager at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Responded 30 Apr 2020
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for sharing your feedback. Being a budget hotel brand, Road Lodge rooms are compact and facilities and services are limited. We apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this visit. For future visits we highly recommend the four star Courtyard Hotel brand, which you may find better suited to accommodation requirements. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to our group of hotels in the future.
Read more
Zama S wrote a review Feb 2020
Boksburg, South Africa23 contributions
Hotel experience was below average, very few staff was friendly, white short chubby lady gave her all in trying to provide best service, I salute her. Otherwise the hotel is not so good. Rooms are so small, toilet shower and bed are squeezed in one open planned place. Facility is very bad and very old stylish, old smelling mats.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from CLHGMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Responded 30 Apr 2020
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for sharing your constructive feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future in order to improve upon your experience.
Read more
Jeanine L wrote a review Feb 2020
6 contributions
We always choose a road lodge when budget is tight, but that doesn't mean their rooms are bad! We always have a good experience at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth. Rooms are clean and neat, they even had a generator for loadshedding. The view to the sea was also breathtaking. Service is always friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear that we met your expectations. It is always very rewarding to receive such great feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
phumba wrote a review Feb 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa119 contributions46 helpful votes
The best thing about this hotel is it's location directly across the road from Hobie Beach, with a wide selection of restaurants within easy walking distance.The hotel itself is fairly uninspiring with very compact, though adequate rooms. An annoyance was that the cleaning trolleys and dirty linen seemed to be stored in the corridors so you had to negotiate around them and other guests irrespective of the time of day.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from CLHGMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Responded 30 Apr 2020
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for sharing your constructive feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future in order to improve upon your experience.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$40 - US$49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the road hotel port elizabeth, road lodge
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapePort Elizabeth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
92
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Which popular attractions are close to Road Lodge Port Elizabeth?
Nearby attractions include The Boardwalk Casino & Entertainment World (0.3 km), Nu Metro Boardwalk (0.4 km), and Schoenmakerskop Beach (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Is parking available at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Road Lodge Port Elizabeth?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ginger The Restaurant, Blue Waters Cafe, and Barney's Tavern.
Does Road Lodge Port Elizabeth have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Road Lodge Port Elizabeth offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Road Lodge Port Elizabeth?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Prince Alfred's Guard Memorial (5.5 km), Old Post Office Building (3.4 km), and Holy Trinity Anglican Church (4.2 km).