We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Boardwalk Casino & Entertainment World, Marine Drive, Port Elizabeth 6013 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Destinia.com
US$41
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/07/07
Travelocity
FindHotel
Orbitz.comUS$48
View all 10 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (4)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20/06/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Updated 20/06/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#27 of 47 hotels in Port Elizabeth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth is situated on Marine Drive in the Boardwalk Casino and Resort complex, directly opposite the famed Humewood International Beach of the Eastern Cape. Situated 8 minutes from the CBD and 5 minutes from Port Elizabeth Airport. This is the best value in the City Lodge Group of hotels. The same rate is charged whether there is one, two or even three people sharing the comfortably furnished and tastefully decorated rooms.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Internet
Beach
Airport transportation
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
80Reviews2Q+A17Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 13
  • 28
  • 24
  • 6
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Nafisa R wrote a review Mar 2022
Verulam, South Africa1 contribution
Given room on 2nd floor. No lifts. I would never have booked this place had I known there are no lifts. The photos of rooms are very deceptive. Small room, noisy aircon, hard beds, smelly pillows. Only 1 soap to use in wash basin and shower. Room and carpets smell stale. No hairdryer in room, have to request for it from reception. Worst room n hotel I've ever stayed at.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Ndyebo Fefe wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
My experience at this hotel was horrible and it was the worst hotel I’ve ever been hands down. The iron doesn’t get hot enough to iron my clothes no matter what setting it’s on. I asked the receptionist for my breakfast to go because I was in a hurry and she told me I should have requested it the night before so if I’m unable to sit and eat I can’t get breakfast, how was I supposed to know I have to request it the night before? That information is not available anywhere I looked. The restaurant area at the hotel is at reception so while you eat there are people walking in and out, checking in and out and it’s noisy as hell. The receptionist that helps everyone check in and out also helps dish food for you in between her front desk duties, why? Now you have to wait to get food when she’s busy with someone or you have to wait for checking in while she dishes food for someone. The TV in the rooms is the size of my tablet you can hardly see anything on it from the bed.Don’t come to this place, you will regret it. Tonight is my last night and I can’t wait to get out of here. Also the breakfast selection is awful, there are B&Bs with a better breakfast
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Responded 09 Jan 2022
Thank you for choosing Road Lodge Port Elizabeth and taking the time to review your experience. Firstly, we would like to apologise profusely that your stay was not a happy one and thank you for taking our call so that we could apologise to you in person and discuss satisfactory resolutions. We are so grateful for your time as we value the opinion of each and every one of our guests to better deliver on service excellence. We have several brands within the City Lodge Hotel Group available in Gqeberha in addition to our one-star Road Lodge – two-star Town Lodge, three-star City Lodge Hotel and four-star Courtyard Hotel – and together we are able to meet the varying needs of guests across all budgets. We look forward to welcoming you back to our family of hotels and the opportunity to redeem ourselves.
Read more
Stephen L wrote a review Jun 2021
Cape Town, South Africa45 contributions4 helpful votes
Typical CLHG welcome. Safe, ample parking. COVID restrictions adhered, screening and temperature taken and masks were worn. Rooms were comfortable enough with crisp linen and TV. Bathroom is in the room though so best for couples or comfortable couples. Road Lodge is the cheapest hotel out of the CLHG, but really nothing to complain at the price. Good for a night to two. Thanks to the staff for being kind and courteous. Didn’t have breakfast but do understand reviews which don’t like the layout, as the seating area is right by reception/entrance. Definitely a solid budget option in PE.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Responded 11 Jun 2021
Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
lungile mtwana wrote a review Oct 2020
Cape Town, South Africa6 contributions
The typical professional welcoming of City Lodge hotels, the clean rooms and free, convenient and ample parking makes the stay one of many to come. This was a late booking and it was concluded in a short space of time.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Responded 03 Nov 2020
Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Terry butts wrote a review Feb 2020
Townsville, Australia5 contributions
by far the worst of all up hotels we stayed in out trip from capetown up the fabulous garden route.the first room they tried to bundle us into was no bigger than a broom cabinet.we ended up in a room sst aside for wheelchair guests.no fridge and no bar.not a lounge and breakfast served in same room as reception.must say staff were fri endly and efficient.but the place itself offers s no more comforts than a backpacker joint.shame our south african journey had to end up in a place that had no semblance of what is portrayed in the glossy ads.never ever again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from CLHGMarketing, Front Office Manager at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Responded 30 Apr 2020
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for sharing your feedback. Being a budget hotel brand, Road Lodge rooms are compact and facilities and services are limited. We apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this visit. For future visits we highly recommend the four star Courtyard Hotel brand, which you may find better suited to accommodation requirements. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to our group of hotels in the future.
Read more
Zama S wrote a review Feb 2020
Boksburg, South Africa23 contributions
Hotel experience was below average, very few staff was friendly, white short chubby lady gave her all in trying to provide best service, I salute her. Otherwise the hotel is not so good. Rooms are so small, toilet shower and bed are squeezed in one open planned place. Facility is very bad and very old stylish, old smelling mats.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from CLHGMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Responded 30 Apr 2020
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for sharing your constructive feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future in order to improve upon your experience.
Read more
Jeanine L wrote a review Feb 2020
6 contributions
We always choose a road lodge when budget is tight, but that doesn't mean their rooms are bad! We always have a good experience at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth. Rooms are clean and neat, they even had a generator for loadshedding. The view to the sea was also breathtaking. Service is always friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear that we met your expectations. It is always very rewarding to receive such great feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
phumba wrote a review Feb 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa129 contributions49 helpful votes
The best thing about this hotel is it's location directly across the road from Hobie Beach, with a wide selection of restaurants within easy walking distance.The hotel itself is fairly uninspiring with very compact, though adequate rooms. An annoyance was that the cleaning trolleys and dirty linen seemed to be stored in the corridors so you had to negotiate around them and other guests irrespective of the time of day.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from CLHGMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Responded 30 Apr 2020
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for sharing your constructive feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future in order to improve upon your experience.
Read more
Thelma L wrote a review Jan 2020
Port Elizabeth, South Africa5 contributions1 helpful vote
Absolute value for money. Very accommodating reception and friendly staff. Very clean I left my cellphone charger in the room and only to find out 2 days later that it was handed in at reception. Thank you for honest staff. We will definitely stay over again
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Responded 24 Jan 2020
Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Debbie E wrote a review Jan 2020
The Royal Town of Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom205 contributions91 helpful votes
A family of five in three rooms, arrived way after official check in time to be told the rooms had no towels and it would be 45 mins before we could have some minimum, this is clearly not acceptable and I made that very clear, we also asked for extra towels (only 1 bath towels pp, no hand towels) to be told we couldn’t have any, poor customer service. Rooms small, with shower actually in room so you can see each other in shower! Bedding in one room badly stained, had to request it was changed, which was done swiftly but again not acceptable. On plus side hotel in good location with free parking. Would not stay in this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from CLHGMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Responded 30 Apr 2020
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for sharing your feedback. We do agree, this hotel is well located, but we are so sorry to hear that we did not meet your other requirements. Your concerns regarding customer service have been addressed with the hotel team. Thank you again for sharing your feedback.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$43 - US$51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the road hotel port elizabeth, road lodge
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapePort Elizabeth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
92
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Which popular attractions are close to Road Lodge Port Elizabeth?
Nearby attractions include The Boardwalk Casino & Entertainment World (0.3 km), Nu Metro Boardwalk (0.4 km), and Pollock Beach (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Is parking available at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Road Lodge Port Elizabeth?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ginger The Restaurant, Blue Waters Cafe, and Barney's Tavern.
Does Road Lodge Port Elizabeth have airport transportation?
Yes, Road Lodge Port Elizabeth offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Road Lodge Port Elizabeth?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Prince Alfred's Guard Memorial (5.5 km), Old Post Office Building (3.4 km), and The Prince Alfred's Guard Drill Hall (3.7 km).