Sea Notes

Sea Notes

9 Elizabeth Road Clarendon Marine, Seaview, Port Elizabeth 6070 South Africa
Traveller (82)
Room & Suite (39)
View from the lounge
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#1 of 2 ranches in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Self-Catering Guest House overlooking the sea, close to beach and game parks, on the Garden Route. Short drive to airport and city centre. One hour drive to Addo Elephant National Park and Shamwari Game Park. Suitable for family or business stays.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Trendy
66Reviews1Q+A14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 63
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
GlobalTrendSetter wrote a review Nov 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Home from Home
Excellent value for money.
Third time at Sea Notes and we will return next time we are in South Africa.
Magnificent location with uninterrupted views of the sea, calming sound of waves breaking, splendid sunsets and wonderful wildlife. It doesn't get much better.
Very helpful owner, Robyn, who managed all requirements and exceeded expectations.
Relaxing on the deck with a glass of wine or having BBQ ('Braai' as they say in SA) Sea Notes is perfect.
Also, a fantatstic restarant 'Barnacles' only 400m up the road. Best Calamari ever!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Robyn Evans, Owner at Sea Notes
Responded 28 Nov 2021
Thank you so much David for your wonderful review. It has been such a pleasure having you all stay here for your Overseas holiday. We will miss your guitar playing on the deck and evenings shared with you all at Barnacles ....enjoying the Calamari and Wine! Till next time .... stay well and happy. Robyn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mr Smith wrote a review Oct 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
An incredible surprise for our Anniversary. We where greeted by a most gracious host, stunning views and beautiful accommodation. Right on the ocean off a quiet street.
Spacious private rooms with all the amenities. All in all we would highly recommend a stay at Sea Notes!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pieter V wrote a review Mar 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Expectations were high after seeing the photos and the reviews, and they were well exceeded! Robyn is a fantastic host and the location is sublime! Will definitely be back again, best seaside accommodation I have stayed in. Thanks for everything Robyn
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SDP3423 wrote a review Jun 2021
Ontario, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Buildings located at the side of the road in a village with no charm. From cottage, view of rocky shoreline and big waves. Old style kitchen and bedroom. Furnishings, plumbing, and decor reminiscent of grandma's lakeside cottage. Could have a cozy vibe without the aggressive demeanor of check in person. Big mistake not to nail down the rate in writing.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Located on the main road into the residential village. Disappointing place considering how...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Robyn Evans, Owner at Sea Notes
Responded 28 Nov 2021
Hello Marian Sorry I have not responded to your review. I was not made aware of it. I have now. I do remember you very well. You were travelling on your own from Natal on your way to the Garden Route. I am so sorry your one night stay here left you so angry and upset. You stayed in the Oyster Apartment not the Seaweed Cottage. The Oyster Apartment was built in 1930 so the decor and old fashioned styled bathroom fittings were bought to blend in with that era. I appreciate it is not everyone's cup of tea. You were angry about the rate of R750.00 ($65.00) for one night stay. Once you showed me that the rates stipulated on my website were STILL R550.00 ($45.00) per night single .... I had no problem in accepting the R550.00 . I had increased the rate to R750.00 per night single a few days before which had not yet been updated by my Website Host. Again, my apologies for upsetting you and leaving you with such a bad memory of our beautiful quaint Seaview and my special Guest House. Kind regards, Robyn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter A wrote a review Jun 2014
Brisbane And Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at Sea Notes 3 times ( or maybe 4?? ) and heading back there again next February ( 2015 ). Whilst I am predominantly working, the down time that I do get here is extremely pleasant. Great to braai and have dinner on the stoop and watch the sun go down in the west...yes Seaview is one place on the east coast where you can see the sun go down in the west!

Robyn is always very helpful...if I do have one issue it would be that as a business person I would love to have the internet but I suppose for most people it may well be great to be away from it!!

Now that I have recommended Sea Notes, will I ever get back in myself????!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SA_Traveller12 wrote a review Apr 2014
Gauteng, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great value for money and lovely host .This is my second time here and I wish we had stayed longer

The views and the settings is beautiful. The place is also in a safe and easy to access route. Robyn and her lil puppies are great company as well
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
skl58 wrote a review Sept 2014
Alberton, Gauteng, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This B&B is situated right on the beach front with unobstructed view of the Sea, you watch dolphins and whales from your patio. a lovely neat, B & B offering two bedrooms with own bathrooms, lounge, diningroom, kitchen, immaculate. Well worth staying at. Swimming beach 7 minutes away and long walks along the beach recommended. A relaxing, pleasant stay with restaurants within walking distance, lovely seaside village on the Garden Route. Thank you Robyn for a most enjoyable stay, I shall definitely contact you again if I come down this way. Best regards Sandy Lupton
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Birgitta H wrote a review Apr 2014
Knivsta, Sweden
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sea Notes is indeed a pearl with the soft music of the Indian Ocean constantly playing. The wonderful doggies and their lovely "mum" Robyn give you a completely perfect vacation! My best friend and I spent most of our time just watching the dogs play and spotting dolphines swim through the big waves and wales blowing close to the shore. There are of course many things to do in the neighbourhood - good restaurants, exciting wildlife parks and long, sandy beaches. I already look forward to going back to this paradise outside Port Elisabeth.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SueJS wrote a review Mar 2014
Knightwick, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful accommodation with amazing views. On a good day you can sit and watch the dolphins swim past. Robyn and the dogs are welcoming hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Close to PE but far enough away to feel secluded. A good location all round.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The cottage for 4 people or the oyster room for 2 people
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Birgitta H wrote a review Nov 2014
Knivsta, Sweden
5.0 of 5 bubbles
How can I best describe Seanotes, the wonderful and cosy little home away from home next to the ocean in Seaview, outside Port Elizabeth?
What about mentioning the everlasting beautiful music from the ocean, the rock pools just at the bottom of the slope, the schools of dolphins swimming lazily by and the whales – mums and babies – jumping out of the sea?
Seanotes has it all. Including a most hospitable lady of the house, Robyn Evans, and her miracle dogs, saved from misery by Robyn and her friends at the Save a Pet organization.
Just to let you know about the facilities, the rooms and the cottage have nicely designed interiors, including satellite TV as well as Wifi. And you sleep well in the comfortable beds.
Would you be surprised to hear that I have been here many times? And that I intend to come back as soon as possible, even if it is a long way from my country, Sweden? Right you are – I’ll be here soon again and meanwhile, why don’t you stay here?
Thank you, Robyn, for 16 marvellous days!
Birgitta
Read more
Date of stay: November 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SDP3423 wrote a tip Jun 2021
Ontario, Canada152 contributions18 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Located on the main road into the residential village. Disappointing place considering how charming coastal South Africa can be."
Read full review
Tim Truter wrote a tip Jan 2019
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sea weed cottage is excellent for the family of four."
Read full review
Rene R wrote a tip Jul 2018
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Seaweed have a stunning view."
Read full review
Larni V wrote a tip Jun 2018
South Africa203 contributions38 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just being there is good!"
Read full review
GlobalTrendSetter wrote a tip May 2018
121 contributions113 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room with a view"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Port Elizabeth area.
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapePort Elizabeth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SEA NOTES - Ranch Reviews (Port Elizabeth, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Sea Notes
Which popular attractions are close to Sea Notes?
Nearby attractions include Holmeleigh Farmyard (5.3 km), Animals in Wonderland (0.3 km), and Apiarista (7.0 km).
Is parking available at Sea Notes?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sea Notes?
Conveniently located restaurants include Elephant Walk, Barnacles Restaurant, and Bluvibez Café.
Are pets allowed at Sea Notes?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Port Elizabeth HotelsPort Elizabeth Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Port ElizabethHotels near Sea Notes
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire