We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Milkwood Manor on Sea

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Milkwood Manor on Sea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

714 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 521: English reviews
Plettenberg Bay
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Fantastic setting. You couldn't find a better place to stay in Plettenburg Bay for the price.. Staff and accommodation first rate, with three excellent restaurants within walking distance. Wonderful to have your car cleaned each day !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank geoffreyh941
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review

Dear geoffreyh941, Thanks for leaving a review of your visit with us. We thoroughly enjoyed having you holiday with us and we can't wait to hear from you again. Kind regards, Milkwood Manor on Sea

Plettenberg Bay
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Fantastic location on the beach. The room was spacious with a huge balcony overlooking the sea. Wonderfully peaceful and the attached restaurant was superb. Thank you to reception staff for our room upgrade.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolrS6279PR
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review

Dear carolrS6279PR, It is always so nice to hear back from happy guests, and we are thrilled that we could improve your experience with a room upgrade. We look forward to taking your next reservation, and welcoming you back as friends. Kind regards, Milkwood Manor on Sea

Buntingford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed 3 nights in room 12, a comfortable room which had excellent views of the Bay plus a large balcony area. We were impressed by the standard of decoration throughout the Hotel. One of the reasons we chose Milkwood was its proximity to the Bay - just walk outside the front door and you are on the sands. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review

Dear Nick M, Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad to hear that you had a great Milkwood Manor experience and that you plan to return to us - we can't wait! Kind regards, Milkwood Manor on Sea

Plettenberg Bay
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel with great staff but dont go to the Lemongrass restaurant which is attached as the manager is a very rude arrogant man who was only interested in his regular customers. We ended up not eating there because of this but the restaurant across the small bay is wonderful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank shO7794HI
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review

Dear shO7794HI, Thank you for leaving a message about your Milkwood Manor experience. It is a disappointed that you didn't have the best occurrence in the Lemon Grass restaurant, which is usually a highlight of our guests' stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future - until then the golden beach awaits your footprints in the sand....

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The first thing that strikes you is the location. It is situated on a huge beach, close to the central area but far enough away to be nice and quiet. There is no elevator so it seems disabled access is not possible. Our room had no air conditioning, just a portable fan. There was no phone to contact reception, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dom H
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review

Dear Dom H, Thank you for your review. We hope that your injuries have healed and that your mobility has improved. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of your company again in the near future. Kind regards, Milkwood Manor on Sea

New Forest, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were shown to room No. 10 which was like an oven despite two fans going full blast in the room, and an oven it stayed throughout our 2 nights and days there. No air conditioning. Because managers at the bottom of a review always say "if you had told us about the problem we could have done something about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane I
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review

Dear Jane I, Thank you for your review and for bringing your grievances to our attention. Unfortunately it is true that the municipality will not supply more electricity to the manor, so for the time being our misting-fans are the best we can do in climate control. Luckily there are only a few really unbearably hot days during the summer...

Eschbach, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect service, nice rooms, very good food and close to the beach. Very friendly and helpful staff. We had lovely days and can highly recommend the accommodation. Only an air conditioning was missing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank P7422DQmichaelz
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review

Dear P7422DQmichaelz, Thanks for your review! We really hope to see you again soon. Until then the golden beach awaits your footprints in the sand. Regards, Milkwood Manor on Sea

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fabulous location. The receptionist was a little unwelcoming when we arrived 40 minutes prior to check in; however when we reappeared at the allocated time the room was very pleasant and a good size. After our first encounter all the staff were very friends and accommodating. We certainly would return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank karonparsons
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review

Dear karonparsons, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your Milkwood Manor experience; we are glad to hear that you found everything to your liking. Kind regards, Milkwood Manor on Sea

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic location right on the beach with a lovely restaurant on site and more within a short walk. The hotel décor was lovely and very comfortable. It was great to be able to walk out on the beach straight from the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steveweb
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review

Dear Steveweb, It was so nice to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back as friends. Until then, Kind regards, Milkwood Manor

Plettenberg Bay
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location, excellent service, lovely food, great views, walk out straight onto the beach and lagoon. Clean and spacious rooms. You need to stay more than 1 night to really enjoy the area. No air conditioning so can be a bit warm at night. You get your car cleaned every morning.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 977alane
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review

Dear 977alane, Thanks for your review! Hopefully next item you come visit you'll stay a bit longer so as to enjoy all the wonders Plettenberg Bay has to offer. We cant wait to welcome you back. Kind regards, Milkwood Manor

306 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (243)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
2.9 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
637 reviews
0.4 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
495 reviews
6.9 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
223 reviews
1.2 km away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
758 reviews
1.8 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Location: The most enviable location on the Garden Route. At the end of a quiet cul-de-sac, jutting into the ocean - any closer and you would be in it! - as well as the estuary of a large lagoon- no neighbours but nature! Exquisite, unimpeded 180 views (360 from the roof deck) of the vast blue ocean, golden beaches, large lagoon and the imposing Tsitsikamma Mountain Range. Nature all'round, yet not isolated, but only a 2-minute drive from the town centre and its trendy shops.A pristine beach: accessible from the sheltered cove adjacent to the Manor - ideal for swimming in natural water – you may boat across to an unspoiled and usually deserted beach, far from built-up areas, traffic, crowds and noise. Blissful solitude and a complete immersion in nature, with only the sound of white-crested surf tumbling at one’s feet and the calls of a medley of seabirds – a veritable bird sanctuary. Becalming and rejuvenating - the perfect antidote for stress,. With luck you may even find the mysterious and sought-after pansy shell (sand dollar).The Manor: built in classic Georgian style, with an airy double-volume foyer and eleven double bedrooms, most with private patio or balcony. All rooms are decorated in crisp white and en-suite to a shower cubicle with/without bath, and a queen bed or twin beds, TV-hospitality package, free uncapped Wi-Fi, tea/coffee making facilities, safe, fan, heater and hairdryer. The sash windows allow the fresh ocean air straight in. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Milkwood Manor on Sea

Address: Salmack Road | Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: R733 - R2 042 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Milkwood Manor on Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Milkwood Manor on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milkwood Manor Guest House Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Milkwood Manor on Sea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't accept room No. 10 it's like an oven.”
 of 5 bubbles 752janei, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best views”
 of 5 bubbles _lpsonic79, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Definatly get a 'room with a view'”
 of 5 bubbles Mary195556, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms have the best view”
 of 5 bubbles gfoley2016, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ground floor sea & lagoon facing”
 of 5 bubbles BobandSue19, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5