We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous

Save
Share
27 Main Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$69
View deal
Expedia.com
US$71
View deal
Etrip
US$63
View deal
Hotels.comUS$71
TravelocityUS$71
travelup.comUS$86
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (273)
Room & Suite (101)
Dining (55)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 21/11/10 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 21/11/10 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 15 hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
There are few places that can transport you somewhere else in time & emotion. One of these is Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous, where a sense of elegant and worldly charm reflects upon its setting over one of Africa's most beautiful bays - Plettenberg Bay. Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous, with her eleven uniquely styled rooms, presents a beautifully appointed deck, our Leopard Lounge and a pool all exclusively for our Hotel guests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Archery
Boating
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Diving
Hiking
Water sport equipment rentals
Bicycle tours
Canoeing offsite
Evening entertainment
Water park offsite
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa
543Reviews3Q+A75Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 341
  • 129
  • 34
  • 17
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
717salvatore wrote a review Jul 2022
Polokwane, South Africa6 contributions
I would not booking this place again when travelling to Plett. The unit was spacious,big bed,white linen,very clean and very friendly staff. I really really enjoyed my breakfast ,stayed only for 1 night as I had other towns to visit.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Life Brand, Agency / Consultant at Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous
Responded 1 week ago
Good day 717Salvatore, Thank you for your review of Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and tucking into your mouth-watering breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Best regards, Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous
Read more
Nikki Langner wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions4 helpful votes
The Grand found its way into our hearts through a google search on: luxury accomodation in Plett x Happiness and Prosper who team up reception went thee extra mile before we arrived in helping us select our suites based on availability. We had 3 nights in Suite 8 and 3 nights in suite 3.( both expertly captured on the website.) As a chef I was nervous about the bed and breakfast option as I'm particular about food and self catering has always been our choice on holiday, but I was delighted to find a really interesting al la carte breakfast menu so we could try a new breakfast each day, in a 5 hour time frame which allowed for flexibility on our morning activities. Moses and Sweetness on the floor as well as bar and room service were the friendliest ,kindest of people and nothing was too much trouble. The cocktails were delicious. The view outstanding and truly this ' not so hidden' gem has been a wonderful discovery after generations of holidaying in Plett. Little touches like our candlebra lit and our bed turned down made a difference. The linen and towels were excellent quality... but truly it was the service, value for money and good honest food that left an impression on a truly magical week. Thank you team we will see you next year.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Life Brand, Agency / Consultant at Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good day Eatlovefeast, Thank you for your splendid review! We are always looking to serve up a wonderful experience - glad you enjoyed your stay at Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous. We look forward to having you back soon. Kind regards, Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous
Read more
Nicky wrote a review Jul 2022
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
This is honestly one of the best hotel experiences we have had by far. Apart from the warm and friendly hospitality, the food is amazing, giving you an ala carte breakfast option instead of the traditional buffet. The location in Plett is epic and to top it all we were also allowed to bring our four legged baby. He was treated like royalty, being served treats of the doggy menu by our favourite waitress Sweetness! Thank you Grand Africa Rooms Plett, we will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Life Brand, Agency / Consultant at Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hey there Companion29226948298, Thank you for your lovely feedback of Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous. Our aim is to provide a great service and meal experience for all our customers and we're delighted to know that our team did exactly that! We look forward to having you visit us again, soon. Best regards, Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous
Read more
SouthAfricaSanta wrote a review Jun 2022
Cape St Francis, South Africa121 contributions17 helpful votes
Coming to The Grand after lockdown may have amplified the experience but every time we return, the consistent service, great rooms and pleasant staff make it Our first choice for a getaway from our home and work in St Francis Bay. After an amazing sleep, breakfast over the Bay does not disappoint. I chose the salmon and hash browns - it’s simply outstanding. Asanda has served us before and took great care today. We’ll be back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for rooms 7 or 8 for the view but check them all out on line.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Life Brand, Agency / Consultant at Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous
Responded 01 Jul 2022
Hi Southafricasanta, Thank you for your splendid review! We are always looking to serve up a wonderful experience for our guests - glad you enjoyed our service, rooms and food! We hope to have you join us again, soon. Kind regards, Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous
Read more
Carmen wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Sweetness..what a GEM you have here! She was in one word just SPECTACULAR! Thank you Sweetness for you kind lovey Helpfull attitude..we will be back. We also love the puppy menu you have ..pity I didn’t take a picture. A solid menu for your four legged child. Well done to this beautiful restaurant to include them too..🌈
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Life Brand, Agency / Consultant at Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous
Responded 28 Jun 2022
Dear I_Love_Good_Food1977, Thank you for your positive review! We're pleased to know that you received such amazing service from Sweetness and the menu selection at Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous. We look forward to having you back for more memorable experiences! Many thanks, Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous
Read more
TVG03 wrote a review Jun 2022
East London, South Africa10 contributions1 helpful vote
Room 7. Clean and comfortable stay. Lovely room. Staff all friendly and very helpful. Breakfast options were different to the usual and very good. Everything about the experience from the deco to the room to the meals all lived up to the Grand name. Will stay again. Especially good for couples. But we stayed with a 9yr old. Stunning view too.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Life Brand, Agency / Consultant at Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous
Responded 27 Jun 2022
Dear Tracy G, The team here at Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous are thrilled to receive such a great review. Delighted to hear that you and your family enjoy your stay accompanied by delicious breakfasts', wonderful ambience and service. We hope to see you again soon for another Grand visit. Kind regards, Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous
Read more
RenierS wrote a review Jun 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
The only thing better than the comfortable beds and view is the friendly service. Very personal , remembered how I drank my coffee each morning, small note on the bed. I just can't get over how friendly the staff is
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Life Brand, Agency / Consultant at Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous
Responded 27 Jun 2022
Good day Srenier, The team here at Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous are thrilled to receive such a great review. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful rooms! We hope to see you again soon for another Grand visit. Warm regards, Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous
Read more
dmcglo758355 wrote a review Jun 2022
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa1 contribution
My fiance' and I had an incredible stay at the Grand!! Beautiful views and best place to watch the sunrise, friendly staff and attention to detail :) Thank you, we will definitely be back again soon!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Life Brand, Agency / Consultant at Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous
Responded 23 Jun 2022
Good day Dmcglo758355, Thank you for the Grand 5-star review. Our aim is to provide a great service experience for all our customers and we're delighted to know that our team did exactly that! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Best regards, Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous
Read more
stormclark wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
Wonderful dinner at Grand Plettenberg Bay. The restaurant is beautiful with great atmosphere, we were there on a cold evening and the fire places were all lit which made it so welcoming. The food was well prepared and presented and absolutely delicious! The staff were all very friendly and professional and Asanda took such good care of us! Thank you for a really lovely experience! I look forward to going back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Life Brand, Agency / Consultant at Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous
Responded 17 Jun 2022
Dear Stormclark, Thank you for your splendid review! Our aim is to provide a great meal, wonderful ambience and service experience for all our customers and we're delighted to know that our team did exactly that! We look forward to having you back soon. Many thanks, Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous
Read more
ChanteldaSilva1234 wrote a review Jun 2022
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution
As part of the last leg of our honeymoon we got to enjoy Plett and all its beauty from the Grand Rooms. Our room was wonderful, charming and clean. The bath was just delicious to enjoy every evening. The breakfast sublime and the staff friendly and helpful. Thank you so much to the lovely ladies in the front and their suggestions of things to do. We will definitely be back soon.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Life Brand, Agency / Consultant at Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous
Responded 10 Jun 2022
Good day Chanteldasilva1234, Thank you for your lovely feedback of Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous. We are always looking to serve up a wonderful experience - glad you enjoyed the last leg of your honeymoon! We look forward to having you and your partner back soon. Best regards, Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$56 - US$115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand cafe and rooms hotel plettenberg bay
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapePlettenberg Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous?
Nearby attractions include The Old House Shop (0.5 km), The Village Bookshop (0.4 km), and St. Christopher Catholic Church (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nguni, The Pie Shop, and The Table Restaurant and Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous have airport transportation?
Yes, Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Plettenberg Bay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Xhosa.
Are there any historical sites close to Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Timber Shed (0.6 km), Van Plettenberg Beacon (0.7 km), and Nelson Bay Cave (5.5 km).