We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
8 Serica Place P.O. Box 871, Plettenberg Bay 6600 South Africa
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
StayForLong
Agoda.com
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (330)
Room & Suite (90)
Dining (59)

About

#1 of 114 in Plettenberg Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Aquavit Guest House is a purposely built contemporary Guest House with 5 en-suite guestrooms offering the most updated fixtures and finishes. Aquavit has a welcoming environment with attention to detail to ensure your stay a memorable one. Our guestrooms boast single, queen and king beds. A beautiful bathtub awaits you in our luxury king canopy suite "One" with salt crystals to soothe away your stress. The terrace has an area to relax, within steps of the 10-metre Infinity pool and lovely garden, where you can gaze at the sea and mountains. A full gourmet English breakfast is served on the terrace with attention to detail so your breakfast will taste as good as it looks - a perfect start to your day! All our en-suite guestrooms have spectacular views and steps out to a terrace or patio, 32” DSTV, WIFI, Internet availability, and private lounge. Our entire staff welcomes you, including Zoe and Dakota, our Golden Retrievers who will also happily greet you upon your arrival. Come see why we are called “Water of Life”!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Danish
598Reviews1Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 571
  • 19
  • 6
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lisa wrote a review 16 May
6 contributions
We had the most amazing stay at Aquavit Guest House. Rooms are spacious, cozy and perfectly clean. You can see with how much love and tase the rooms are equipt. Linda and Ole gave us the warmest welcome. The view is beautyful and the house is perfectly located for your visit at Plettenberg Bay. The breakfast was amazing. Everything you can wish for and a lot more. Don't miss the scrambled eggs! Thank you so much, Linda and Ole for making our stay special. We enjoyed it so much and it was war to short. Hopefully we will be able to visit again one day.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Olsen, Owner at Aquavit Guest House
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Jesco & Lisa, wow, thanks for such a warm review. Ole and I also wished your stay was longer as Plett has so much to offer. I am sure you will come again, that longing for the return to South Africa stays with you forever :-)
Read more
David M wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
We stayed at Aquavit for five days, 26th to 30th March. The guest house is situated in a suburban area, a short walk from shops and restaurants and the sandy beach. Inside the guest house is stunning, designed by the owners. It is very well laid out with magnificent views across Plettenberg Bay and the Tsitsikamma Mountains. All around the guest house are all sorts of nik naks, ornaments, pictures, interesting pieces of furniture brought from around the world to adorn Aquavit. Now to the folks that own and run Aquavit, Ole & Linda. they are a lovely couple who make the stay at Aquavit a truly five star experience. From the moment we arrived we felt at home, we were looked after really well all the time we were there. It was a sad moment when we left. The breakfast on offer is stunning in quality and variety. The cooked breakfast is a carefully crafted offering rather than a huge 'full English'. There's fruit, meats, freshly made cake, the list goes on. Linda is lovely, ensuring everyone is happy. Whilst we were there we wanted to remember a dear friend who had passed one year previously, Linda helped us do this and make it something very special. Ole is a great guy with a great, but dry, sense of humour. His contribution to the five star experience is essential, he looks after the wine collection! He pointed us in the direction of the best local restaurants and even took our laundry to the cleaners as a courtesy. If you want a five star experience whilst staying in Plettenberg Bay, stay at Aquavit, you won't be disappointed. If we're ever back in Plettenberg, this is where we'll stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: All rooms are great, some higher up with views, some lower by the pool, but still with views.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Olsen, Owner at Aquavit Guest House
Responded 3 weeks ago
To our friends of “The Magnificent Seven”.....Greetings from sunny "Plett"! I t was a pleasure having all of you stay with us, what fun. Thank you, thank you, for leaving Aquavit a 5-star rating and review, it's truly appreciated! I'm so glad to hear that Ole and I and our staff were able to make your experience with us a memorable one and that you enjoyed all of the amenities we offered, including Ole's sense of humor! See you next time!
Read more
DayTrip33038683828 wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Highly recommened. We arrived as guests and were leaving as friends. We actualy were sad to leave. We originally booked for 2 nights but stayed one extra night. Absolutely beautiful accomodation with breathtaking views and AMAZING breakfast. The rooms are beautifuly decorated with everything that you might need, the beds are very comfortable with soft, very good quality linen. Everything in the house are of exceptional quality. Linda's breakast is so delicious, all ingredients are of the best quality and freshness. Thank you Linda and Ole. We hope to come again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Olsen, Owner at Aquavit Guest House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Irina & Serguei, Many thanks for your thoughtful remarks and observations on Trip Advisor. We are always amazed when people take the time to comment and write a review. It so helps our flow of business and to share this lovely piece of South Africa with our guests. We hope in the not too distant future you will return and stay with us again. The flowering plant is doing beautifully, thank you for your thoughtfulness. Kindest regards from sunny Plett! Linda & Ole
Read more
Robert A wrote a review Mar 2022
Zurich, Switzerland91 contributions20 helpful votes
We loved the beautifully decorated guesthouse with much artwork, the breathtaking views and the very large swimming pool. The most charming hosts Linda and Ole were spoiling us totally! Thanks again! Elegant architecture!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: upstair room with views
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Olsen, Owner at Aquavit Guest House
Responded 23 Mar 2022
Hi Robert & Beatrice, thank you again for staying with us. We are always amazed that people do take the time to write a review and we appreciate the kind words. We hope to see you again in the not to distant future. Linda & Ole
Read more
David S wrote a review Mar 2022
5 contributions
+1
We think it's about time we shared our thoughts on our favourite and 5* best guest house in the wester cape. We have stayed with Linda and Ole every year for our past trips to southern Africa. This five bedroomed guest house is outstanding in every way, from breakfasts to bedrooms with a sparkling infinity pool in a gorgeous verdant garden. The interiors are beautiful, you won't tire of looking at their art collections and family paintings. Breakfasts on the first floor terrace looking out to kerbooms bay and the mountains beyond is a bonus to go with the sumptuous food. You have to go yourselves and be wowed, Linda and Ole are definitely the best hosts to give you a memorable stay you won't be disappointed. We leave with heavy hearts but so happy tohave already booked for next year.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2 and 3 garden and pool level, 4 and 5 first floor deck level
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Olsen, Owner at Aquavit Guest House
Responded 18 Mar 2022
David & Gillian, we were blown away by your remarks. We are so pleased to host the both of you every year and look forward to seeing you again, reservation confirmed in February! Many thanks and stay well, Fondly, Linda & Ole
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$156 - US$179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
aquavit guest house hotel plettenberg bay
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapePlettenberg Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Aquavit Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Aquavit Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Robberg Nature Reserve (1.1 km), Plettenberg Beach (1.1 km), and Global Village (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Aquavit Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Aquavit Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Aquavit Guest House?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aquavit Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nineteen89, Nguni, and Molly's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Aquavit Guest House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Aquavit Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Plettenberg Bay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Aquavit Guest House?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Aquavit Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Danish.
Are there any historical sites close to Aquavit Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Timber Shed (1.3 km), Van Plettenberg Beacon (1.4 km), and Nelson Bay Cave (5.5 km).
Does Aquavit Guest House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.