The Bungalow Plett - Raw Africa Collection

The Bungalow Plett - Raw Africa Collection

5 Meeding Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600 South Africa
Traveller (153)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (25)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
R 2 402
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#7 of 21 lodges in Plettenberg Bay
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
With Robberg Beach reachable in 500 metres, The Bungalow provides accommodation, a restaurant, a bar, a shared lounge and a garden. Free WiFi is provided throughout the property. There is a private bathroom with shower in all units, along with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Guests at the bed and breakfast can enjoy a continental breakfast. The Bungalow offers a terrace. The accommodation provides an ironing service, as well as business facilities like fax and photocopying. An outdoor pool and water sports facilities can be found at The Bungalow, along with a barbecue. Robberg Nature Reserve is 8 km from the bed and breakfast, while The Market Square Shopping Centre Plettenberg Bay is 2.6 km away. The nearest airport is Plettenberg Bay, 6 km from The Bungalow, and the property offers a paid airport shuttle service.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Executive lounge access
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Room features
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Family

Location

5 Meeding Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 79 out of 100
79
Plettenberg Airport
252Reviews1Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 172
  • 56
  • 11
  • 8
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ita216 wrote a review May 2022
Hertford, United Kingdom69 contributions33 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed just one night and the staff were extremely welcoming particularly the manager in the small restaurant. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment which was huge with amazing views out to sea. The apartment was very clean if quite dated and we had a few power cuts as we used the tumble dryer and I think overloaded the electric supply. I would have liked to stay longer !
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The apartment we had was massive with huge sitting room, balcony and kitchen facilities . It was...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manager The Bungalow, General Manager at The Bungalow Plett - Raw Africa Collection
Responded 07 Jun 2022
Dear Ita, Thank you for taking the time to rate us, we value all feedback, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for showing us how we can improve. We look foreword to welcoming you back in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cosmopolitan766499 wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is the best of you’re looking for a place to chill, have a drink at the bar while listening to great music (...and starring at beautiful God created views of the ocean and the silhouette of the mountains on the sea horizontal) until you tire and take a nap and repeat or take a walk at the front door beach...👌🏾

The room was clean and comfortable, everything is close, centrally located in the busy beach front of Plettenberg where we hires a ski next door and went skiing in front of the Bangalow...this place is perfect, my husband wanted to stay even longer because we work from home, but it was a surprise from me so he didn’t prepare.

We loved it so much there we wanted to return in December but the quote we were given was 3 times what we paid; unfortunately way over our budget!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
desparatehousewife07 wrote a review Oct 2020
South Africa318 contributions104 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed the visit as a lot of locals and families did on the same night
Turns out. Thursday is pizza special. Buy one. Get one fo free
Waiters all very friendly and helpful. Young man even offered to show us around and we could get a peek at some of the unoccupied rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elmar Killian, General Manager at The Bungalow Plett - Raw Africa Collection
Responded 11 Nov 2020
Dear desparatehousewife07 trust you are well Thank you very much for the review. We look forward to seeing you return to The Bungalow and enjoying some more pizza and good views. Kindest Regards The Bungalow
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eddie wrote a review Dec 2020
Dubai, United Arab Emirates3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
What a disgrace of a hotel!
Having booked a full trip to the garden route I was forced to cancel it all after Covid restrictions meant we could not travel. All hotels except ‘the bungalow’ were accommodating and refunded our money.

After 3 direct phone calls to the hotel they promised to get back to me which they still haven’t done.

I’m absolutely shocked and disgusted they can just take your money knowing you cannot travel because of government policies and then completely ignore you when you need help or assistance.

Never again would I consider this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Duverge, Other at The Bungalow Plett - Raw Africa Collection
Responded 30 Jan 2021
Dear Enredavi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. Thank you for your valued feedback. We are deeply disappointed that you did not have that great experience with us. Rest assured that we have taken this up with the relevant parties. We hope to welcome you back soon to give you the best experience that The Bungalow strives for. Kindest Regards, The Bungalow Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mslymfl wrote a review Nov 2023
Toronto, Canada40 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Really nice, comfortable place. We stayed in one of the bigger suites up the stairs (they upgraded us for free since we were there in winter and it’s low season 😊) The room was very well appointed, with a very comfortable bed - the most comfortable bed we found in South Africa. The bathroom was nice and clean, and had heated floors, which was great because it was quite cold at night. The room itself was a bit cold, so we asked for heaters, and then we were fine.

The beach is beautiful with lots of places to walk and explore. Load-shedding was no problem because they have generators. The restaurant was really good: you could order anything off the menu at breakfast, and it was good – eggs, toast, cereal, fruit, pancakes, etc. We ate there every night for dinner too. The “Prawns Night” was awesome, if you like seafood. It was very good.

Plettenberg Bay is a very nice town, and safe; we walked around and went grocery shopping.

Some reviews said that this is a “party place” and can be loud; now, we were there in low season, but we found it very quiet and peaceful.

The only downside (and our particular room), is that the windows are facing a fairly public boardwalk, including the window in the shower! Anyway, it does fog up pretty quickly to sort of hide you from the public. Otherwise, an awesome place to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Verena Smit, Owner at The Bungalow Plett - Raw Africa Collection
Responded 16 Nov 2023
Good day, Thank you for your feedback! It is lovely to read how positive your experience was. We truly appreciate that you took the time to write this review. Kind regards, The Bungalow Plett
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pamela B wrote a review Aug 2022
Cape Town, South Africa3 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Unfortunately we were very disappointed with our stay. Not at all what we had hoped for or expected. We were led to believe that this was a 5 * establishment - we wouldn’t give it 3 stars. The room was very very small, the bathroom was very small too, there was no heating in the room although the facilities offered did say there would be electric blankets on the bed which there weren’t, the safe parking facilities were a long walk from our room! And so we had a most unhappy time there. We only had breakfast there, which was fine, and the position right on Hobie Beach is great, but for the price we paid we definitely felt it was far too much for what we got. After one night there we were offered a transfer to their sister hotel, which we accepted……and this was a totally different story. Beautiful views from our very comfortable, much larger room, safe parking right at the entrance to the hotel, good food, beautiful pool and gardens and good value for money. We definitely won’t be going back to The Bungalow…..Sky Villa yes!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jessica Mtsweni, Other at The Bungalow Plett - Raw Africa Collection
Responded 08 Sept 2022
Dear Pamela Thank you for taking the time to review you stay with us. It is unfortunate to hear that your stay with us was not as you'd hoped it would be. We aim to provide details about our rooms that are a true reflection of what guests should expect, it does however not always come across as such when third-party reservation channels such as booking.com are used. We are aware that, despite the air conditioner not working, our team did make an effort to make the room as comfortable as they could by providing you with an extra heater. Sincerest apologies from us if that was not sufficient enough. We would love the opportunity to exceed your expectations and would like to invite you back to to our guesthouse in the future. Please take care. Kind Regards Jessica (Guest Relations)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mevmol wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom39 contributions11 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
“Cocktails” are artificially flavoured ice slushies. Nasty. Took 2 sips and sent them back. Could feel my throat close up from all the colourants, preservatives…Was told to pay anyway. No drinks menu, just the waiting selling their amazing cocktails when you sit down and when they arrive you realise you’ve been had. Another guest complained that her “passion fruit juice” wasn’t real but instead artificial concentrate. She was also told to pay anyway. Bronwyn, the manager, in her black suit was clearly doing everything in her power to make us all leave in quick succession. Bravo, job well done. A masterclass in how NOT to treat guests. Setting is good but oh lord this place needs new management. Will never return here . If you go, have a beer or something from a bottle.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manager The Bungalow, General Manager at The Bungalow Plett - Raw Africa Collection
Responded 07 Jun 2022
Dear Mevmol, thank you for your for taking the time to rate us, we value your feedback. We are truly sorry that you had a bad experience, we strive to only give the best service and we are sorry that you did not experience that. Thank you for showing us how we can improve.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melissa S wrote a review Apr 2023
Port Elizabeth, South Africa10 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Heaven on Earth! I had the pleasure of staying in the luxury apartment that features a washing machine in a private kitchen, gorgeous patio with breathtaking views of the bay and loads of extra amenities. Unforgettable experience as the beachside location is unbeatable, with Hobie beach just steps away. What I loved most about the Bungalow was the attention to detail and the friendly, attentive staff. I absolutely loved the Restaurant and bar experience! Amazing food and great vibe (especially the Prawns special on a Wednesday evening)👌🏼
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kim Prince, Owner at The Bungalow Plett - Raw Africa Collection
Responded 21 Apr 2023
Good Day Melissa Thank you for taking the time to revie our establishment. Your positive comments on our property, staff and food is appreciated, We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful experience. We hope we can welcome you back in the near future, Kind Regards The Bungalow team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CIAO BELLA PIZZA wrote a review Apr 2021
Harare, Zimbabwe6 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Positives - Staff are excellent and attentive - they simply couldn’t have done more to make our stay comfortable. Food is great, especially the breakfast which have generous portions and are great. The property is right on the beach and well secured.
Negatives - interiors are tired and need updated. Rooms are small. We changed rooms on arrival and were upgraded to a slightly larger room (again excellent customer service) but even the room was quite small and a little tired.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
delon119 wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very friendly staff, lovely location. will recommend The Bungalow to anyone that wants a homely seaside visit. will happily book there again for a short getaway. The food from the restaurant was also very good along with the delicious breakfast. even tho we were the only guests we were made to feel special, many thanks to the owner and management and staff on duty.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Duverge, Other at The Bungalow Plett - Raw Africa Collection
Responded 29 Jan 2021
Dear delon119 Thank you for leaving us such an amazing review. We are very happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you had such a lovely experience at The Bungalow, we loved having you here. Looking forward to welcoming you back in near future. Kindest Regards, The Bungalow Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
katyVerdonk asked a question Mar 2017
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa34 contributions2 helpful votes
Phone number? Can we book table for dinner? Thanks Katy
Answer from spanishfarm
3 contributions
Hi ladies I do apologize for the very late response, we have had technical difficulties with our tripadvisor page. We are all fixed now and will be 110% better with responses in the future. Our phone number is 044 533 1864 / 082 077 0260 Our restaurant does not do bookings unless it is for a birthday celebration, event that you would like to host at The Bungalow or a special occasion. I do apologize for not responding sooner. If you have any other questions, please do not hesitate to contact us. Kind Regards Management
Tony B wrote a tip Apr 2024
Limerick Ireland9 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ideal Hotel for Relaxation, Sightseeing and enjoying Great Food served with a smile."
Read full review
Marlene S wrote a tip Feb 2024
202 contributions116 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Water view is amazing !"
Read full review
andyjanec wrote a tip Sept 2023
Soham, United Kingdom269 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Walk to the rocks at the left side of the beach for great bird and sealife watching. Check out La Cafeteria for breakfast/lunch, just 3 mins walk to the right of the beach."
Read full review
Chomel M wrote a tip Jun 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book for the special so that you’re not disappointed"
Read full review
Ita216 wrote a tip May 2022
Hertford, United Kingdom69 contributions33 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The apartment we had was massive with huge sitting room, balcony and kitchen facilities . It was somewhat dated but I didn’t mind this."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Plettenberg Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,065 - R 2,434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapePlettenberg Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE BUNGALOW PLETT - RAW AFRICA COLLECTION - Lodge Reviews & Price Comparison (Plettenberg Bay, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Bungalow Plettenberg Bay
Which popular attractions are close to The Bungalow Plettenberg Bay?
Nearby attractions include Plettenberg Beach (0.5 km), Garden Route (0.5 km), and St Peters Anglican Church (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Bungalow Plettenberg Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at The Bungalow Plettenberg Bay?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Bungalow Plettenberg Bay?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Bungalow Plettenberg Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nguni Restaurant, Nineteen89, and The Fat Fish.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Bungalow Plettenberg Bay?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Bungalow Plettenberg Bay?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Timber Shed (0.2 km), Nelson Bay Cave (4.9 km), and Van Plettenberg Beacon (0.2 km).
All Plettenberg Bay HotelsPlettenberg Bay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Plettenberg BayHotels near The Bungalow Plettenberg Bay
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire