We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
5 Meeding Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$108
View deal
Expedia.com
US$114
View deal
FindHotel
US$95
View deal
TravelocityUS$114
Hotels.comUS$114
PricelineUS$113
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (103)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (25)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#16 of 126 Specialty lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
With Robberg Beach reachable in 500 metres, The Bungalow provides accommodation, a restaurant, a bar, a shared lounge and a garden. Free WiFi is provided throughout the property. There is a private bathroom with shower in all units, along with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Guests at the bed and breakfast can enjoy a continental breakfast. The Bungalow offers a terrace. The accommodation provides an ironing service, as well as business facilities like fax and photocopying. An outdoor pool and water sports facilities can be found at The Bungalow, along with a barbecue. Robberg Nature Reserve is 8 km from the bed and breakfast, while The Market Square Shopping Centre Plettenberg Bay is 2.6 km away. The nearest airport is Plettenberg Bay, 6 km from The Bungalow, and the property offers a paid airport shuttle service.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Executive lounge access
Non-smoking hotel
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Family
182Reviews1Q+A14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 111
  • 48
  • 11
  • 8
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Michael P wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Had an amazing stay. The accommodation was clean and well equipped. The staff friendly. Especially the young lady who was studying at Hotel School. She made the stay special and went out of her way to help and connect. Thank you for a lovely stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica Mtsweni, Other at The Bungalow
Responded 1 week ago
We're thrilled to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us Michael! We certainly hope to welcome you back at our property in the near future again. :)
Read more
Ita216 wrote a review May 2022
Hertford, United Kingdom47 contributions33 helpful votes
We stayed just one night and the staff were extremely welcoming particularly the manager in the small restaurant. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment which was huge with amazing views out to sea. The apartment was very clean if quite dated and we had a few power cuts as we used the tumble dryer and I think overloaded the electric supply. I would have liked to stay longer !
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The apartment we had was massive with huge sitting room, balcony and kitchen facilities . It was...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager The Bungalow, General Manager at The Bungalow
Responded 07 Jun 2022
Dear Ita, Thank you for taking the time to rate us, we value all feedback, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for showing us how we can improve. We look foreword to welcoming you back in the near future.
Read more
mevmol wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom42 contributions10 helpful votes
“Cocktails” are artificially flavoured ice slushies. Nasty. Took 2 sips and sent them back. Could feel my throat close up from all the colourants, preservatives…Was told to pay anyway. No drinks menu, just the waiting selling their amazing cocktails when you sit down and when they arrive you realise you’ve been had. Another guest complained that her “passion fruit juice” wasn’t real but instead artificial concentrate. She was also told to pay anyway. Bronwyn, the manager, in her black suit was clearly doing everything in her power to make us all leave in quick succession. Bravo, job well done. A masterclass in how NOT to treat guests. Setting is good but oh lord this place needs new management. Will never return here . If you go, have a beer or something from a bottle.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager The Bungalow, General Manager at The Bungalow
Responded 07 Jun 2022
Dear Mevmol, thank you for your for taking the time to rate us, we value your feedback. We are truly sorry that you had a bad experience, we strive to only give the best service and we are sorry that you did not experience that. Thank you for showing us how we can improve.
Read more
dlicious4 wrote a review Feb 2022
Durban,South Africa7 contributions2 helpful votes
Had the pleasure to spend two nights at the Bungalow. Breakfast was hot, tasty and just what one needs to start the day. Their bread is baked in house and delicious. Staff are pleasant and the rooms although small are neat, comfortable and perfect for a relaxing stay. We didn't make use of the TV as the beach was our relaxing spot. Parking is safe and secure behind electric gates. The staff are friendly and always smiling. Ask for beach towels at reception. There is a fan in the room which is effective and keeps the room cool. A lovely stay with lots to see and do. The bungalow is definitely a popular place to unwind, sip on a cocktail and have a restful stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager The Bungalow, General Manager at The Bungalow
Responded 07 Jun 2022
Dear Dlicious4, thank you for the lovely revue, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and can't wait to welcome you back.
Read more
Inspiration561368 wrote a review Jan 2022
2 contributions
It is a beautiful place, although I was a bit disapointed about the room. It was on the cliff side, no view, realy small space with only beds, no chairs/ table. The restaurant was great and also very nice people!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager The Bungalow, General Manager at The Bungalow
Responded 07 Jun 2022
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to rate us, we advertise the cliff side rooms with photos and are truly sorry that you were expecting something else. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us.
Read more
nadinearnolds wrote a review Jan 2022
Taif, Saudi Arabia1 contribution
Amazing 5 star hotel with an island style vibe, right on the beach. Service and staff excellent. I stayed in 'The Beach', It was very comfortable and safe and beautifully decorated. Was later moved to 'Cliff side 2'. It needs a bit of work with regards where the fridge and coffee machine is located. It needs to be removed from the room where both parties has access to it.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager The Bungalow, General Manager at The Bungalow
Responded 07 Jun 2022
Dear Nadine, thank you for taking the time to rate us, we value all feedback. so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the suggestions on how we can improve.
Read more
gtoit193379 wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
We had one night in Plettenberg Bay. We decided on the Bungalow as it is on the beach and an early morning walk on what promised to be a beautiful day, Well, we got going with great enthusiasm at 05h00 just to find that there is no way out. We were locked into the hotel premises and there was not a soul in sight to help us to get out. The first staff members arrived at 07h30. The most expensive jail ever. Breakfast was only served from 8am. In the middle of summer with the sun rising at 05h15. 5 stars: No no face cloth or hard soap. A broken bedside lamp. Bedside tables the size of saucers. A coffee machine without instructions in English. In general, if you are looking for value, don't go there.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager The Bungalow, General Manager at The Bungalow
Responded 07 Jun 2022
Dear gdutoit, thank you for taking the time to rate us, we value all feedback. We are truly sorry that you had a bad experience with us, we thrive to give excellent service and we take pride in our product. We are so sorry that you did not experience this, thank you for showing us how we can improve.
Read more
100Coconuts wrote a review Dec 2021
Cape Town Central, South Africa60 contributions61 helpful votes
We had three nights here staying with our kids in The Spot. The room was spacious and well equipped and the pods were a hit with the children. The deck was wonderful for relaxing in the evenings. Loved the fact that it was only a stones throw from the best beach in Plett. Restaurant was really good too and the breakfast was fantastic. The staff is really friendly. Great holiday! Would love to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Christian A wrote a review Nov 2021
London, United Kingdom4 contributions
Wonderful boutique hotel with a deck that overlooks the beach. Very stylish and trendy, great place to sit outside and enjoy drinks and/or dinner. The rooms are comfortable with a coffee maker and beautiful modern bathrooms. The staff are very friendly, the food is great. Very relaxing, I would stay here again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
NompuCozycox wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
What a wonderful place. The staff was so very friendly and the rooms were so clean. The breakfast from the restaurant was out of this world. All in all we had a five star treatment.. We were treated like royalty from all the staff members.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$95 - US$140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapePlettenberg Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Bungalow
Which popular attractions are close to The Bungalow?
Nearby attractions include Robberg Nature Reserve (0.5 km), Plettenberg Beach (0.5 km), and Garden Route (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Bungalow?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at The Bungalow?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Bungalow?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Bungalow?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Fat Fish, SeaFood at The Plettenberg, and Mobys.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Bungalow?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Bungalow?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Timber Shed (0.2 km), Van Plettenberg Beacon (0.2 km), and Nelson Bay Cave (4.9 km).