St Aidan's Manor

St Aidan's Manor

Cnr Milner & Constitution Str., Grahamstown 6139 South Africa

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#5 of 22 B&Bs in Grahamstown
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Upmarket 5 bedroom ensuite guesthouse centrally located, within walking distance to schools, university and Mall. We offer full breakfast, DSTV and wireless internet. Your Home from Home - more than just a bed!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Cnr Milner & Constitution Str., Grahamstown 6139 South Africa
53Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 38
  • 10
  • 2
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Proudsaffer wrote a review Jun 2022
Cape Town Central, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Ideal base for Grahamstown especially for the schools as walking distance to everything. Amazing host and manager and had everything we needed. The rooms have aircon and are carpeted but spacious so are warm in winter which was an added bonus as it was extremely cold when we were there.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
candicebarber01 wrote a review Jan 2024
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean accommodation with a welcoming atmosphere, thanks to the delightful host Natalie. The rooms were spotless and well-maintained, creating a comfortable and hygienic stay. Natalie's friendly and attentive demeanour added a personal touch to the experience, making it a memorable and enjoyable stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rick wrote a review Jul 2022
Brisbane, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What started off a nightmare of a booking with the previous owner turned around to be one of the most pleasant trips I've had to date. Cheryl - the new owner - took the time to fix the rudeness of the previous owner and respond in detail to my questions and re-assure me that my booking was confirmed.
On arrival I wasn't able to meet Cheryl as she'd just experienced a loss in the family but Caroline jumped in and took charge and attended to every little detail, making my stay a pleasurable one. St Aidans is now in good hands with an experienced host who has experience in at least two other very high quality guest houses in Grahamstown and I highly recommend any of these to prospective guests. St Aidan's was perfectly situated for the event I was attending and the breakfasts were just awesome.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
swissgirl1 wrote a review Mar 2020
Connecticut
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We are seniors with underlying health problems. Because of the worldwide health crisis we cancelled our stay at St. Aiden’s Guesthouse more than 2 months in advance. Hotel refuses to refund our money. They did not offer us any options. They just want to keep our money. Very disappointed
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aidans, Owner at St Aidan's Manor
Responded 11 Mar 2020
I am completely confused. Who is "swissgirl"? We have a very strict policy on refunding money IN FULL when there is death, illness or some emergency that has caused our guests to cancel. Regards Robyn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
amatsi499243 wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the same review I gave to Booking.com. I loved staying at St Aidans. Great location, totally quiet and safe. Rooms so homely and neatly decorated.
Then Robyn and Angie treated me like their sister, made me dinner on the house when I said I would order takeaway. I was so grateful for that. Angie made and brought for me, all at no payment. I have never seen that before. I left so early and needed packed breakfast and they made sure I had that too.
May you be blessed in your business Robyn, Celeste and Angie. It was truly a home away from home for me. I will be back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mflemi872210 wrote a review Oct 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lebo, Robyn and kitchen staff were fantastic and very friendly. We had a wonderful stay and will certainly stay at St Aidans again. The Courtyard Room is our favourite. The rooms were warm and cosy. It was freezing, lows of 5 degrees Celcius. Very good bed linen quality, the room had underfloor heating and electric blankets. It also has an aircon for the hot weather.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracey H wrote a review Dec 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This has been one of the most fabulous guesthouses I’ve ever stayed in. Natalie and staff, you’ve made our stay incredibly memorable. Nothing was ever too much trouble, and we were a demanding bunch! Accommodation was so comfortable, breakfast spectacular - especially the croissants! If you’re anywhere near/in Grahamstown, this is the place to stay, the jewel of the Eastern Cape.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cheryl THOMPSON, General Manager at St Aidan's Manor
Responded 20 Dec 2022
Dear Tracey, It was such a pleasure to have you stay at St Aidan's Manor and thank you for such a wonderful review. As part of our St Aidan's family now, I hope to see you again when you have a family reunion and your croissants will be waiting along with our smiles, Warmest Regards Natalie and the team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janine C wrote a review Jan 2024
Harare Province, Zimbabwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A beautiful historic house in the heart of Grahamstown. We loved our stay, it was very comfortable and our bed and linen was very luxurious. The breakfasts were delicious and Natalie and the staff helpful and friendly. The only thing is they need to make provisions for loadshedding. Otherwise perfect and we will be back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from St Aidan's Manor, General Manager at St Aidan's Manor
Responded 22 Jan 2024
Hi Janine Thank you so much for such a super review, it is much appreciated by myself and my team! I am so happy that you had a great stay here and we are in the process of making provisions for loadshedding and exploring a number of options. You and John were super to host and I look forward to seeing you again (I will order extra croissants for you) :-) Warmest Regards Natalie
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ToniArnold wrote a review Feb 2023
Knysna, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at St Aidens was very pleasant. It was a particularly hot time, but the rooms were lovely and cool and breezy. Staff were wonderfully helpful and friendly.The location of St Aidens to town and the local schools is fantastic ,it is a very easy stroll to St Andrews.
Would have been perfect if the swimming pool had been usable.....but that is the joys of loadshedding.
Would definitely recommend St Aidens.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nhadbe357180 wrote a review Mar 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely quiet place with helpful and sweet host. Thanks thanks and, why 200 characters? when the whole thing can be described simply and with relatively few words. Again it's a nice place to visit if you want to spend the night in (Grahams Town) have forgotten the new name the town has been given...
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Dbn_Trekker wrote a tip Jun 2018
Durban, South Africa141 contributions78 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"maybe not the two rooms right by the breakfast area"
Read full review
mikeyd513 wrote a tip Nov 2015
Cape Town Central, South Africa2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you a group ask for the hill street house"
Read full review
Sushie123 wrote a tip Feb 2015
Istanbul, Türkiye1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure that all the facilities work on arrival.when you pay for 4 star see you receive 4 star service and not 2 star"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Grahamstown area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,324 - R 1,360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
St. Aidan's Guest Cottage
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapeGrahamstown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ST AIDAN'S MANOR | UPDATED 2024 B&B Reviews & Price Comparison (Grahamstown, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about St Aidan's Manor
Which popular attractions are close to St Aidan's Manor?
Nearby attractions include Cathedral of St Michael and St George (0.6 km), Brothers Safaris (1.1 km), and St Patrick's Catholic Church (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at St Aidan's Manor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at St Aidan's Manor?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at St Aidan's Manor?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to St Aidan's Manor?
Conveniently located restaurants include Major Fraser's Craft Bar & Eatery, The Rat & Parrot, and The Barista.
Are there opportunities to exercise at St Aidan's Manor?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at St Aidan's Manor?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
All Grahamstown HotelsGrahamstown Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GrahamstownHotels near St Aidan's Manor
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire