We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Cnr Milner & Constitution Str., Grahamstown 6139 South Africa
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1)
Room & Suite (6)

About

#13 of 52 in Grahamstown
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Upmarket 5 bedroom ensuite guesthouse centrally located, within walking distance to schools, university and Mall. We offer full breakfast, DSTV and wireless internet. Your Home from Home - more than just a bed!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
44Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 31
  • 8
  • 2
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Proudsaffer wrote a review 24 Jun
Cape Town Central, South Africa14 contributions1 helpful vote
Ideal base for Grahamstown especially for the schools as walking distance to everything. Amazing host and manager and had everything we needed. The rooms have aircon and are carpeted but spacious so are warm in winter which was an added bonus as it was extremely cold when we were there.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
mflemi872210 wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Lebo, Robyn and kitchen staff were fantastic and very friendly. We had a wonderful stay and will certainly stay at St Aidans again. The Courtyard Room is our favourite. The rooms were warm and cosy. It was freezing, lows of 5 degrees Celcius. Very good bed linen quality, the room had underfloor heating and electric blankets. It also has an aircon for the hot weather.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
swissgirl1 wrote a review Mar 2020
Connecticut13 contributions
We are seniors with underlying health problems. Because of the worldwide health crisis we cancelled our stay at St. Aiden’s Guesthouse more than 2 months in advance. Hotel refuses to refund our money. They did not offer us any options. They just want to keep our money. Very disappointed
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Aidans, Owner at St. Aidan's Guest Cottage
Responded 11 Mar 2020
I am completely confused. Who is "swissgirl"? We have a very strict policy on refunding money IN FULL when there is death, illness or some emergency that has caused our guests to cancel. Regards Robyn
Read more
amatsi499243 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
This is the same review I gave to Booking.com. I loved staying at St Aidans. Great location, totally quiet and safe. Rooms so homely and neatly decorated. Then Robyn and Angie treated me like their sister, made me dinner on the house when I said I would order takeaway. I was so grateful for that. Angie made and brought for me, all at no payment. I have never seen that before. I left so early and needed packed breakfast and they made sure I had that too. May you be blessed in your business Robyn, Celeste and Angie. It was truly a home away from home for me. I will be back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Di L wrote a review Oct 2019
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa24 contributions10 helpful votes
I have stayed at St Aidan's previously - liked the property enough to have return visits. I think some of the non-Antique parts of the rooms need updating - curtains, bathroom style, chair cushions (some seating at dining table and in the rooms was lumpy). Sad to see these changes. I hope that all at St Aidan's will receive the comments well and update what can be updated.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
juledaniels wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution
Thanks to George for accommodating my WiFi requirements and the excellent scrambled eggs he prepared personally on my day of departure. The continental breakfast spread was perfect for my requirements and the location itself was super convenient. Overall a great experience, will definitely consider staying there again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
ahmedkR5802TA wrote a review Jul 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
The service was exceptional. George treated me well from the word go and accommodated my late check-in after a flight delay from Johannesburg. The cold never phased me thanks to the heated room. And the borehole allowed warm showers in the morning for me as well. Great experience.10/10
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Dbn_Trekker wrote a review Apr 2019
Durban, South Africa132 contributions73 helpful votes
This is the 2nd time I have stayed here, both times with my wife and both times for 4 days or more. The good: location - just far enough out of the CBD yet close enough to get done whatever you need done. Check in - smooth and hassle free. Friendliness and welcome - George could not be more helpful and more welcoming. Safety - never felt at risk at any stage. Sleep - slept very well every night. Not much traffic noise and not much other noise; it is in a quiet part of town. Areas which could improve (they are not bad but need improving) Rooms are a nice size but are in need of some renovation; curtains, cupboards, rugs, beds are all probably due for replacement. Bathroom is fine but needs some repainting and the general appearance needs uplifting. Breakfasts are standard and could do with a bit of something extra or different; had the same thing every morning for five mornings, eventually skipped breakfast for two days. Do not take this as a negative review; I would happily stay here again but would like the owners to take note of the comments
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Passport20493729389 wrote a review Feb 2019
Port Elizabeth, South Africa1 contribution
Spent last weekend in Grahamstown doing some talks on Plastic pollution. Was shocked at the state of Grahamstown, and after some tough question-and-answer sessions, it was good to take refuge at St Aidans Guest Cottage. Comfortable, friendly, wi-fi friendly, good food and great people. I even left some beers there...by mistake !!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Cruiser55362179020 wrote a review Jan 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
We enjoyed our stay at this establishment. It was peaceful and quiet the entire time; even on Christmas day the place was tranquil. I also love the fact that the property is clean and has all amenities and really feels homely. Staff was friend and efficient, always available and willing to assist.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2018
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$75 - US$82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapeGrahamstown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about St. Aidan's Guest Cottage
Which popular attractions are close to St. Aidan's Guest Cottage?
Nearby attractions include Cathedral of St Michael and St George (1.0 km), St Patrick's Catholic Church (1.1 km), and Brothers Safaris (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at St. Aidan's Guest Cottage?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at St. Aidan's Guest Cottage?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at St. Aidan's Guest Cottage?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to St. Aidan's Guest Cottage?
Conveniently located restaurants include Major Fraser's Craft Bar & Eatery, Haricot's Deli & Bistro, and The Rat & Parrot.
Are there opportunities to exercise at St. Aidan's Guest Cottage?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at St. Aidan's Guest Cottage?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at St. Aidan's Guest Cottage?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.