Hathaway Guest House Pty Ltd

Hathaway Guest House Pty Ltd

4 Turnberry Avenue Bunkers Hill, East London 5241 South Africa
Hathaway and Huxley Guest Houses
Traveller (3)
Room & Suite (20)
Pool & Beach (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#15 of 73 guest houses in East London
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Beautifully refurbished / Spacious rooms / Tranquil setting Hathaway Guest House is a beautiful stately hideaway set in the upmarket suburb of Bunkers Hill - around the bend from the East London Golf Club, home to the Africa Open Golf Challenge. Nestled in expansive gardens, this exclusive guest house is perfectly styled to retain the Tudor character of the original homestead.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Golf course
Evening entertainment
Kids stay free
Babysitting
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Patio
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Washing machine
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Air purifier
Desk
Dining area
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Greek, Xhosa and 1 more
23Reviews0Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 14
  • 4
  • 3
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Marelise wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here on our way down to Cpt. What a lovely surprise. Spacious rooms, beautifully decorated, with great views of the ocean from the family apartment. Warm welcome with very good service. The only downside was Breakfast that took a bit long as it seems there is only one chef making the food to order. Based on total of guests maybe a small buffet breakfast can be considered. We will definitely stay here again and recommend to friends and family as well.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from hathawayguesthouse, Manager at Hathaway Guest House Pty Ltd
Responded 08 Jan 2020
Good day Marelise, Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It is greatly appreciated. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. With regards to the breakfast, we will definitely consider this as an option going forward. Please accept deepest apologies about this. We hope to host you and your family again soon. Keep well. :) Kindest regards, Hathaway Management.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ClaudineGliddon wrote a review Feb 2022
Cape Town, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We accompanied a girls' rowing club to take part in the Buffalo regatta and Hathaway House catered to all their needs, feeding them at 5am, packing lunches, etc. Nothing was too much trouble for staff to arrange. Our relax time was also super - a safe, quiet, beautiful outdoors pool area.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elen Manganadelis, Owner at Hathaway Guest House Pty Ltd
Responded 22 Feb 2022
Thank you so much for your review. We really do appreciate it, and enjoyed hosting you all. We wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kindest Regards, Hathaway Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephanie wrote a review Nov 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
55 years since I was last in East London. The place has changed so much. Hathaway is ideally located to get everywhere in the town, and everyone was very welcoming. The rooms are spacious and clean. A few issues with noise from the next-door property, but probably a once off that won't affect another stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francois P wrote a review Oct 2021
Midrand, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked for three nights. We were booked into a satellite venue of 5 Hudson. We arrive home to find the house has been booked out for a party of approximately 30 people. Remember this is a house and we are 8 people. Returning to find every room opened and strangers urinating in your room is not a pleasant experience. Avoid this guesthouse, and any of them in the group, at all cost.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elen Manganadelis, Owner at Hathaway Guest House Pty Ltd
Responded 05 Oct 2021
Good Day Sir, Thank you for your review, however this is false. You booked for 4 people, 4 bedrooms, and the house has many bedrooms and units which was booked by other guests as well. There is a communal area, and you were informed well in advance that there will be other guests residing at the guest house. We are truly sorry for your experience. Thank you, and we will await payment which has not yet been made.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
iacker948183 wrote a review Mar 2023
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
For the value you pay for the stay it could have been so much better!
The room was nice, bed very comfortable, Breakfast was average, WIfi VERY good. Roof fan is amazing! Second night stay a lot more pleasant than the 1st evening.
Lots can be improved in the rooms i.e. milk for guests to have coffee with, there were no hair dryer in our room, no cloth to wipe counter tops with, breakfast table only 2 pepper on no salt. If you used the salt that was on the counter - it was filthy and clogged.
The pool were very dirty. There were HOT days when we stayed there and could have used the pool in the afternoons but the condition of it was not good at all.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel R wrote a review Apr 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very lovely Stuff with Kyra. She takes care when something is not as expected. The rooms a really nice with a lot of space. The hotel have a pool area where you also can have a Braai. When you need wood or something you can tell it to Kyra or Tylor and they will organize it. I stayed the a few times for 4 weeks and more and it was all the time a pleasure to stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elen Manganadelis, Owner at Hathaway Guest House Pty Ltd
Responded 11 May 2022
Good Day, Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate it. Keep well and we are always here to assist you. Kindest Regards, Hathaway Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
unathimkontwana wrote a review Jan 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a heartfelt stay❤️, they were very friendly and supportive. It is a place called home. Their rooms were immaculate and we loved their services. I had an injury after arrival in town and when they heard, they supported me throughout, frequently checked up on my progress. We are planning to go there every year as family, our new culture.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elen Manganadelis, Owner at Hathaway Guest House Pty Ltd
Responded 22 Feb 2022
Thank you so much for your review. We really do appreciate it, and enjoyed hosting you all. We wish you all the best. Kindest Regards, Hathaway Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Keegan V wrote a review Dec 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely loved our stay at Hathaway Guest House. The staff were super friendly, the breakfast was delicious & we had such a variety! And our room was perfect...clean & modern & the guest house has a lovely pool area that we enjoyed. Thank you, we'll definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elen Manganadelis, Owner at Hathaway Guest House Pty Ltd
Responded 29 Dec 2022
Good Day Keegan, Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure hosting you. Keep well. Hathaway Guest House
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian B wrote a review Sept 2022
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A very comfortable, up-market guest house, conveniently situated on Bunkers Hill in East london. Rooms extremely comfortable & well appointed, with the beds & linen being first class. Friendly & helpful staff made the stay very special
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elen Manganadelis, Owner at Hathaway Guest House Pty Ltd
Responded 18 Sept 2022
Good Day, Thank you so much for your review. We enjoyed hosting you, and we are always here to assist you. Keep well and safe. Kind Regards, Hathaway Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sdlami647070 wrote a review May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I were looking for something exactly like this. A little heaven that is also Central. The staff was extra helpful and very kind. Also got a free upgrade choice!!! Definitely coming back 🙌🏾❤️
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elen Manganadelis, Owner at Hathaway Guest House Pty Ltd
Responded 11 May 2022
Good Day, Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate it, and we are always here to assist you. Safe travels and keep well:)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
James wrote a tip Aug 2023
Dubai, United Arab Emirates11 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request to check out later, they allow it and it’s so devine."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the East London area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,597 - R 1,815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapeEast London
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HATHAWAY GUEST HOUSE PTY LTD | UPDATED 2024 Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (East London, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hathaway Guest House Pty Ltd
Which popular attractions are close to Hathaway Guest House Pty Ltd?
Nearby attractions include Nahoon Beach (2.5 km), Hemingways Mall (4.0 km), and East London Museum (2.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hathaway Guest House Pty Ltd?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hathaway Guest House Pty Ltd?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hathaway Guest House Pty Ltd?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Hathaway Guest House Pty Ltd?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hathaway Guest House Pty Ltd?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sanook Cafe, Grazia Fine Food & Wine, and Irana Indian Cuisine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hathaway Guest House Pty Ltd?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hathaway Guest House Pty Ltd have airport transportation?
Yes, Hathaway Guest House Pty Ltd offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hathaway Guest House Pty Ltd?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hathaway Guest House Pty Ltd?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hathaway Guest House Pty Ltd offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
All East London HotelsEast London Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in East LondonHotels near Hathaway Guest House Pty Ltd
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire