Shabanga Guest Farm

Shabanga Guest Farm

Traveller (67)
Restruant/Bar
Dining (4)
Room & Suite (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#8 of 73 guest houses in East London
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Take time out in the countryside at Shabanga Guest Farm. It is located in Cove Rock along the popular Sunshine Coast tourist route of the Eastern Cape, you are sure to feel rejuvenated after spending time in the country air at one of the best accommodation sites to be found just outside East London. We have 13 suites which differ in look, ensuring that every stay is more exciting than the last. We have a restaurant on site which promises you only the finest meals made with the finest ingredients. Enjoy your meal outside on the deck which overlooks a dam or inside the restaurant next to our homy fireplace. Shabanga offers you the true African experience and guarantees an enjoyable stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Shuttle bus service
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Kitchenette
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Romantic

Location

Farm 964, Cove Rock, East London 5208 South Africa
80Reviews2Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 70
  • 6
  • 0
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lana P wrote a review Nov 2020
East London, South Africa
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thank you Pieter and Pieter Jnr and staff for your friendliness and hospitality. The food was as usual fantastic. Always so relaxing to visit you guys! So much to do and see! The nature is something special and you should always protect it like you do now. Keep up the good work!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Natascha S wrote a review Jan 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Shabanga is a welcoming, friendly, relaxing place to be.
We had a great time there!! And that's why we keep going back!!

Delicious food, friendly staff, best slush puppies ever!!
Beautiful Succulents, Petting Farm with the cuttest Chameleons and so much more.

Peaceful and fun!!
Always have lots of laughs and a great time!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pieter G wrote a review Jan 2016
Phalaborwa, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a special and pleasant surprise when we arrived this is an outstanding family run accommodation rooms are clean have aircon with dstv garden is very well kept and add to the pleasant in the nature feeling we enjoyed dinner I had rump which were prepared just as requested my wife had ribs which also was very tastefully view on the mountains and sea add to this gem can absolutely recommend
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Henk B wrote a review Dec 2015
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Home from home. Very friendly and accomadating staff. Personal service de lux. Rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. Own restaurant on the premises. The lamb neck must be the best on the planet. Full breakfast included home baked bread and fresh roast potatoes. Well done!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bongiswa M wrote a review Jan 2015
Mthatha, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Shabanga guest farm is a must visit establishment in East London. It is a very beautiful farm guest house in Cove Rock. We stayed there 3nights with my family and we enjoyed every bit of our stay..... HIGHLIGHTS: clean rooms, friendly hosts/owners, divine food, beautiful surroundings,country feel... This is a must visit place and I recommend it 100%.

Thank you Piet and your family for your hospitality, we will visit again
From Melane family (Mthatha)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pieter S, Owner at Shabanga Guest Farm
Responded 16 Jul 2015
The experience to host you was as good as your experience in staying here. Thanks a lot for the review. Seeing that you have done 14 reviews before, we take it as a compliment. We hope to see you and your family here again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael P wrote a review Dec 2014
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely shocking service. Rooms were dirty, towels stained, toliet leaked which led so some friends sleeping on matresses in the floor, kettle didn't work and was mouldy inside, roof was mouldy in 2 of the 3 rooms. Overall a bad experience...really hope they can sort out the problems
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pieter S, Owner at Shabanga Guest Farm
Responded 16 Jul 2015
Again we want to apologise for a terrible misunderstanding. When we received the enquiry, both were under the same surname and were 3 months apart. The office lady at the time, put the first enquiry as pending. When we received an email for confirmation that the booking was in order, it was under the same surname and for the same function, so we took it as one booking. Unfortunately this email didn’t alert us to the fact that it was another group of the same family, booking in at the same time. Only on arrival of some of the guests did we realise it was 2 different bookings, but for the same family. At the time, 4 of our rooms were under construction when you arrived. We explained the situation and apologised. I then offered to show you 2 of these rooms. The reason for only 2 was the other 2 had recently been painted, therefore had a very strong paint smell. We offered you the two other rooms as a last resort. We can totally understand your disappointing experience with us, but this is honestly not a true reflection of our service we offer our guests. Once again we sincerely apologise and hope you will visit us again and have an enjoyable experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Antony G wrote a review Dec 2022
Cairns Region, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The perfect setting , the guest accommodation was very well set up with everything you need for a great stay, the beds are superb with really nice fresh linen ,and a small but inclusive kitchen for those meal time preparations, plenty to do and see around the farm ,all set in a really nice area with friendly attentive staff
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
709danier wrote a review Jul 2019
East London, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
this is an amazing place. the room is clean and the decor beautiful. The host and staff are excellent and the food is really good. we had a dinner and breakfast that cannot be beaten easily. one of the best guest farms I have ever visited
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marc wrote a review Jan 2019
Sersheim, Germany
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Such a beautiful place to be! A very lovely and quiet area. The children playground and the animal farm makes it just better as it already is. The rooms are clean and in a African style built up, very nice. The employees are super kindly and helpful. The breakfast and the food is totally tasty as well the drinks 😏
The owner Peter is such a nice friendly guys, he will love to BBQ with you!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucas Albano wrote a review Jan 2019
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Peter is the best host I’ve ever seen. The rooms are clean. The breakfast is amazing and has flexible schedule. You can find very good food and drinks at the restaurant. The workers are very friendly. It’s a quiet place to relax.
I really enjoyed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dennis869 wrote a tip Sept 2018
Amanzimtoti, South Africa2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are good."
Read full review
Jenny B wrote a tip Mar 2016
London, United Kingdom42 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms looked great"
Read full review
skye229 wrote a tip Jan 2016
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Peaceful location"
Read full review
sammynena07 wrote a tip Aug 2015
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 12 and 13, you will never go wrong with them...classy and trendy!!!"
Read full review
giada k wrote a tip Jul 2015
Umdloti, South Africa41 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"very nice and friendly people and lot of animals to see specialy for the kids fun and a nice playground"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the East London area.
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapeEast London
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHABANGA GUEST FARM - Guesthouse Reviews (East London, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Shabanga Guest Farm
What are some of the property amenities at Shabanga Guest Farm?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Shabanga Guest Farm?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Shabanga Guest Farm?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Shabanga Guest Farm?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shabanga Guest Farm?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wimpy, Mugg & Bean, and Fishaways.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shabanga Guest Farm?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Shabanga Guest Farm have airport transportation?
Yes, Shabanga Guest Farm offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Shabanga Guest Farm?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All East London HotelsEast London Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in East LondonHotels near Shabanga Guest Farm
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire