We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Road Lodge East London

Save
Share
Cheltenham Road Selbourne, East London 5201 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (4)
Room & Suite (8)
Pool & Beach (3)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20/06/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Road Lodge East London
Updated 20/06/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 17 hotels in East London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Conveniently located between Cheltenham Road and Union Avenue, Road Lodge East London offers business and leisure travellers 90 value for money rooms close to all of East London’s major facilities. It provides a variety of features synonymous with Road Lodges around the country and is an ideal accommodation option for visitors to the city and those venturing elsewhere into the Eastern Cape.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
52Reviews3Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 8
  • 19
  • 14
  • 2
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Leon wrote a review Dec 2020
South Africa4 contributions
I enjoyed my stay in East London Road Lodge. Their frontline reception staff are always professional, friendly and willing to help. The hotel was sparkling neat and taken care of. Their rooms were clean and family friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at Road Lodge East London
Responded 18 Jan 2021
Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
Mike wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
Rooms are tiny and very clairaudient, very loud guests, no fridge and when you asked for an ice bucket, like it is described in the guest directory, you get a laundry bag? Really? Wouldn’t consider this place again nor recommend it...
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at Road Lodge East London
Responded 26 Nov 2020
Thank you for staying at Road Lodge East London. We apologise for the mix up with the ice bucket, and the other disruptions you experienced. Please note, we do not have fridges in any of our Road Lodges. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
Read more
Khanya wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
What's the use of having an app that is an inconvenience to us. I left my bank card and I used the pay now option and it didn't work I had to wait for close to an hour for someone to bring my card. I have been a loyal customer for the past 2 years and this experience was embarrassing as if I could not afford to pay for my stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at Road Lodge East London
Responded 05 Sep 2020
Thank you for choosing to stay at Road Lodge East London and taking the time to share feedback on your experience. We are sorry to hear that you had difficulties booking and paying via the app. We are truly grateful that you are a loyal customer and as such, we hope you understand our policy of ensuring that the card that a guest uses to book and pay with is in fact owned by that guest, in this case by your travelling companion, is to keep all parties safe. We are sorry that you felt frustrated and disappointed during this process, and hope that you will understand why we have these protocols in place. We trust the rest of your stay was enjoyable and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
Zakariya N wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
Worst place I have ever stayed at. Staff were on a go slow, rooms were appalling and lacked circulation. Noise from the next door rooms and outside dis not allow me to sleep. the TV did not work. The Bed had stains on it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Mohamed K wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
Very Disappointing Upon booking the accommodation telephonically, I was asked how many people will be attending breakfast Only to arrive here and be told breakfast is not included in the booking after having queried prices and been questioned about it upon booking. On arrival we were shown to our room. Which was reasonably neat However the bathroom had an extremely strong stench of urine as if it were not cleaned.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from CLHGMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London
Responded 30 Apr 2020
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for sharing feedback on your experience. We apologise for any confusion caused around breakfast pricing. Road Lodges offer room only rates, for up to three people sharing one room and breakfast is charged separately per head. Hotel management have been alerted to your cleanliness concern and you have our assurance that this will be resolved. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$39 - US$48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapeEast London
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Road Lodge East London
Which popular attractions are close to Road Lodge East London?
Nearby attractions include Nahoon Beach (4.8 km), Hemingways Mall (2.3 km), and Mpongo Park Game Private Reserve (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Road Lodge East London?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
Is parking available at Road Lodge East London?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Road Lodge East London?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sanook Cafe, Sanook Eatery, and Grazia Fine Food & Wine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Road Lodge East London?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.