We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Road Lodge East London

Save
Share
Cheltenham Road Selbourne, East London 5201 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$51
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/01/29
Trip.com
US$45
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/01/28
StayForLong
CheapTicketsUS$51
TravelocityUS$51
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (4)
Room & Suite (8)
Pool & Beach (3)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20/06/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Road Lodge East London
Updated 20/06/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 18 hotels in East London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Conveniently located between Cheltenham Road and Union Avenue, Road Lodge East London offers business and leisure travellers 90 value for money rooms close to all of East London’s major facilities. It provides a variety of features synonymous with Road Lodges around the country and is an ideal accommodation option for visitors to the city and those venturing elsewhere into the Eastern Cape.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
54Reviews3Q+A17Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 9
  • 19
  • 14
  • 2
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lindo wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
This place is outdated, the food is terrible and needs a make-over. it's perfect as an old age home. NB the walls are not soundproof so you will be very frustrated. I would never recommend this. The beds make a squeaky noise. The Aircon does not work. book at you own risk
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Book at your own risk.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from CLHG Marketing, Owner at Road Lodge East London
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for staying with us at Road Lodge East London and taking the time to review your stay. Firstly, we are so sorry that you had a poor experience overall. Thank you for taking our call to discuss the matter further and we hope that it has been resolved to your satisfaction. We have raised your concerns with our central office. We strive to offer tip-top, loving and clean accommodation that caters for all budgets and regret that we weren’t able to wow you during your stay.
Read more
Philip M wrote a review Nov 2021
Duban6 contributions
I forgot my keys when checking outing my room , I was contacted the same day by the hotel management , staff then arranged a courier service to get them to me as soon as possible from east London to Durban
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at Road Lodge East London
Responded 15 Nov 2021
We are so pleased to read such a review! Thank you for staying with us and commending our staff for their great efforts to give you a comfortable stay, meeting all your requirements and needs. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Leon wrote a review Dec 2020
South Africa5 contributions
I enjoyed my stay in East London Road Lodge. Their frontline reception staff are always professional, friendly and willing to help. The hotel was sparkling neat and taken care of. Their rooms were clean and family friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at Road Lodge East London
Responded 18 Jan 2021
Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
Mike wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
Rooms are tiny and very clairaudient, very loud guests, no fridge and when you asked for an ice bucket, like it is described in the guest directory, you get a laundry bag? Really? Wouldn’t consider this place again nor recommend it...
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at Road Lodge East London
Responded 26 Nov 2020
Thank you for staying at Road Lodge East London. We apologise for the mix up with the ice bucket, and the other disruptions you experienced. Please note, we do not have fridges in any of our Road Lodges. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
Read more
Khanya wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
What's the use of having an app that is an inconvenience to us. I left my bank card and I used the pay now option and it didn't work I had to wait for close to an hour for someone to bring my card. I have been a loyal customer for the past 2 years and this experience was embarrassing as if I could not afford to pay for my stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at Road Lodge East London
Responded 05 Sep 2020
Thank you for choosing to stay at Road Lodge East London and taking the time to share feedback on your experience. We are sorry to hear that you had difficulties booking and paying via the app. We are truly grateful that you are a loyal customer and as such, we hope you understand our policy of ensuring that the card that a guest uses to book and pay with is in fact owned by that guest, in this case by your travelling companion, is to keep all parties safe. We are sorry that you felt frustrated and disappointed during this process, and hope that you will understand why we have these protocols in place. We trust the rest of your stay was enjoyable and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$39 - US$48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapeEast London
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Road Lodge East London
Which popular attractions are close to Road Lodge East London?
Nearby attractions include Nahoon Beach (4.8 km), Hemingways Mall (2.3 km), and East London Museum (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Road Lodge East London?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
Is parking available at Road Lodge East London?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Road Lodge East London?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sanook Cafe, Sanook Eatery, and Grazia Fine Food & Wine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Road Lodge East London?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.