We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Avenida Central Entre Calle 7 Y 9, San Jose 10104 Costa Rica
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
travelup.com
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (248)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (358)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 21/11/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Balmoral Hotel
Updated 21/11/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#27 of 97 in San Jose
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Hotel Full of Life, Where Everything is Within Reach! The Balmoral is a lively, full service, landmark hotel located on the famous Central Avenue in the historical and vibrant heart of downtown San Jose, Costa Rica and only 10 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO). The Balmoral is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. Within walking distance of the hotel, you will find San Jose's main art, cultural, financial, government and historical landmarks, as well as some of city's best entertainment, shopping, and healthcare facilities. From the hotel, you can also take a wide variety of one-day tours to discover Costa Rica's natural beauties.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Walking tours
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1873Reviews38Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 725
  • 689
  • 285
  • 93
  • 81
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
wolfeyes wrote a review 14 May
Calgary, Canada53 contributions14 helpful votes
The hotel is clean, the beds are very comfortable, it's quiet and safe. We enjoyed our stay and the staff at the hotel and the El Patio restaurant were super friendly and helpful. It came in handy to have a nice big fridge since we bought some fruit and didn't want to leave it on the counter.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Alessandra Graziano, Guest Services / Front Office at Balmoral Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to see you soon again. Best regards,
Read more
Chloe C wrote a review 13 May
Atlanta, Georgia25 contributions
+1
Stayed for 4 nights- hotel is in the HEART of downtown. The hotel, although dated was clean and simple. The rooms reminded me of college dorm rooms- they were very simple. The t.v. was extremely staticy and there was only one channel in English. There was no alarm clock... the bathroom was pretty basic- I will mention they do not supply wash rags ONLY towels. There is NO WHERE onsite to get any snacks or beverages, but they do offer ice. El Patio, their featured restaurant served a daily made to order breakfast...there absolutely nothing spectacular about this breakfast and the coffee was horrible BUT it was acceptable as far as breakfasts go- I didn't like how I asked for a watermelon juice and the waiter refused me- I don't think he realized I was willing to pay additional for it (as it was not included in the free breakfast) but he wouldn't give the option he just kept saying no you cant have...I understand that he didn't speak English and I'm in a Spanish speaking country but instead of continuously repeating I couldn't have it he should have just brought it and charged me which after going back in forth for 5 mins he finally realized i was going to pay the additional money. I locked my belongings in my safe that malfunctioned (IM SURE I WAS THE CAUSE OF THE MALFUNTION!!! MY FAULT lol) but i was so grateful that the staff took over an hour to get into my safe so that I could retrieve my belongings...again the hotel was CLEAN and the staff was GREAT...but if you are looking for standard U.S. amenities this isnt for you....if you are looking for a clean budget friendly place to lay your head at night in the middle of the city and shopping THIS IS THE PLACE
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Alessandra Graziano, Guest Services / Front Office at Balmoral Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your review . We appreciate your feedback. We do have different rooms with different sizes. If next time you wish to stay at a bigger room you can ask the front desk and if there is availability we will be glad to accommodate you. I am sorry you didn’t get your watermelon juice but I think we don’t serve watermelon juice. So there was a problem of miscommunication. I am glad that the staff was polite and helpful to you. I apologize for any other inconvenience you had and I do hope you will visit us again. Best regards,
Read more
Ari T wrote a review 10 May
1 contribution
Very nice hotel in the center of San Jose and within minute walk to hundreds of stores that offer anything you can think of at great price. San Jose Airport is a short 20 minute car Ride. The hotel staff is outstanding. Rooms are excellent, clean, and very cold A/C that you will need. Highly recommend this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Alessandra Graziano, Guest Services / Front Office at Balmoral Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to see you soon again. Best regards,
Read more
Herman H wrote a review Apr 2022
Cibolo, Texas16 contributions7 helpful votes
On 7 April I arrived in Costa Rica for An 8 day visit to my wife and my family who live in San Jose, so I thought it was a great idea to stay at Hotel Balmoral who is in the middle for both. The arrival we coordinated directly with the Hotel with Joseph to have a taxi to pick us from the airport as previous trip couple years back; nobody came to pick us up, at around midnight we took an UBER ride. We arrived at the hotel around past midnight; we got our room and asked the clerk at that time why the Taxi never showed up; he check the logged and said I don’t see anything, so we went to our room. In the morning we went to eat breakfast, there were maybe around 40 people spread in a large area, there were only three people serving breakfast ( I will make a pause for what the breakfast used to be at this hotel, one of the best in town; will continue) the servers were really slow, one of the three must do dishes, then is only two, when you want coffee you are lucky is you are close to the coffee as they must stop by there (make another pause, this is now one of the worst breakfast) they took long to bring breakfast only three options, the “pinto” famous in Costa Rica, I give a 3 of 10, three pieces of plaintain, and Turrialba Cheese, same size as the plaintain (this is larger than a banana) the other was pancakes and the last one fruit) the serving for the fruits you can spend maybe a dollar for big pineapple and big papaya, with one of each you can serve easy 10 people and they will charge over a dollar if you order something than fruit, the bread dry, no butter no jelly; I asked the first three days for butter and jelly, (frozen butter and almost frozen Jelly), I stopped asking for these after the third day, the coffee was good but sometimes it was cold, I like hot coffee. Now my second day was worst, we arrive at 0745 by the side, the door was close so we went by the from, is now 7:48 PM and we see somebody holding the door and we tell them or better (Oscar at the door) and he said we are closed, you must go by the side with attitude, I said we went, so he let us in, once inside we asked can we eat here, he said is closed, another person come and said we can make you something and you can take to the room, so we said, that’s okay.(we had to take UBER and went to eat outside), next day we eat breakfast and leave then after and we split in our visit to our families. The next day everybody knew about what Oscar did and apologized, we said that’s okay. At night we come back late and see a large group of tourist including children and most were Americans, the kitchen closes at 0800 hours, and they are hungry and the clerk tell you can go out, there are places open; let me tell you San Jose at night is dangerous once you leave the central avenue; I said to my wife with children they sent them outside, not nice from a Hotel to do that. We only ate at night the night before leaving and the servers except for “Oscar” are really nice, they make us a nice pizza and some other Costa Rican specialties. I have many options for locations, I will stick to the Intercontinental which the service is a 10+ Balmoral service 3-, we have options in the middle, I would stay at Irazu or any IHG hotels or even Hilton. Very good service by Joshua who showed us all the communication with the taxi Driver and even called and told him in our presence about why they failed to go to the Airport; also good service by Desiderio, Robert Mauricio and Alexander all these were excellent as well as the cleaning team.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Not sure how, I got this thru Southwest.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Alessandra Graziano, Guest Services / Front Office at Balmoral Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We have made changes since your comments and when the restaurant closes you can order sandwiches and small snacks at the front desk. So thank you so much for that constructive criticism. We strive to improve. Thank you.
Read more
Joanna Davila wrote a review Apr 2022
4 contributions
This hotel has a wonderful location to explore San Jose, Coata Rica. The people, employees are extremely nice everywhere. The problem is the facility itself. I arrived on Monday, the 11th. Waited 3 Hours for check in, fine, the room has no workable AC that turned off every ten minutes. The closet door was broken, tv was the worst and the security box did not work. I called reception, they send a lady that nicely told me the problem was the card for the air conditioner. Second night was unbelievable hot. I called again. A nice gentlement offered us to change us to another room because room 329 was not ready uet when they located us there. Next day, I left. It was a shame. The hote employees and restaurant deserve better review beacause they work hard in order to satisfy customer needs, I can say that but thay failed with our accomodation which is the most important thing that you look when you pay for a hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$75 - US$162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
balmoral hotel san jose
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of San JoseSan Jose MetroSan Jose
NUMBER OF ROOMS
116
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Balmoral Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Balmoral Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Carpe Chepe (0.5 km), Galeria Namu (0.3 km), and Teatro Nacional Costa Rica (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Balmoral Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Balmoral Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Balmoral Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Balmoral Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Balmoral Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Rojo, La Esquina de Buenos Aires, and Tenedor Argentino.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Balmoral Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Balmoral Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Balmoral Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Balmoral Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of San Jose.
Are pets allowed at Balmoral Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Balmoral Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.