We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Puerto Azul Boutique Resort & Marina

Visit hotel website
Traveller (155)
360
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (230)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Known as one of the best hotels in Puntarenas, Puerto Azul Boutique Resort & Marina shows the avant-garde style of architecture surrounded by a magnificent atmosphere of comfort and good taste. Located just 75 minutes from San Jose city. Nestled between the sea and the lush vegetation of Puntarenas mangrove, Puerto Azul Boutique Resort & Marina is perfect as a middle and starting point for pleasure, outdoor activities and several attractions in the whole country. Costa Rica is 51,000 square KM so distance is not a problem. Our Resort offers comfortable rooms, outdoor swimming pool, nautical club and a great Restaurant with the best seafood dishes in the area. All our prices include BREAKFAST and we have the biggest parking lot in the area. Free WiFi in all areas o of the hotel. TOURS and concierge services available.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
249Reviews
473Photos
12Q+A
13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 83
  • 94
  • 38
  • 15
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The check in experience was dreadful. We booked and paid for a deluxe Marina view. They tried to put us in a ground floor room with no view. We asked to move to a room that we had booked. Eventually got a first floor room with a view of the marina, IF there hadn’t been a great
Read more
Stayed at the hotel for two nights. A very pleasant stay. The restaurant had good food and very nice service. The reception at the hotel helped us with several bookings and managed to book a trip to Tortuga Island even if we asked for it very late in the evening. The hotel is
Read more
Response from Miguel A, Director de Recepción at Puerto Azul Boutique Resort & Marina
Responded 28 Jan 2019
Dear Myrisen Thank you for visiting Puerto Azul Boutique and Marina. First of all, we would like to let you know how glad we are due to your recent visit and your kind comments, we are proud to know that you stay with us was a wonderful time. It´s very sweet of you recognizing the great work of our team does, we are confident they truly care about you and they were happy to be at your service. Please do not hesitate to recommend Puerto Azul to your friends and family, they are going to be attended with the same warmth and kindness as we did with you. Best Regards
Read more
We were there from dec 30th thru jan 1st, 6 adults + 2 kids (11 years old + 16 year old) Our room was not ready till after 3pm, we ended up getting a pen/house with amazing views, we were also offer a new years party event for $40 dollars per person with sangria included +
Read more
Response from Miguel A, Director de Recepción at Puerto Azul Boutique Resort & Marina
Responded 28 Jan 2019
Dear Johan r. Thank you for staying at Puerto Azul Boutique Resort and Marina, it was a real pleasure for us to have served you during your recent vacation. We are glad you and your family had a good time at the New Year´s Eve Party. I’d like to thank you for your valuable comments, I can assure you that your comments have been heard by our management, and they are going to be taken into consideration in order to improve the services we provide to our guests. At Puerto Azul we are looking forward to welcome you again, so you can make sure by yourself that we will make your next stay even better. Best Regards
Read more
This hotel had/has everything to be a breath of fresh air in Puntarenas. Instead, the rooms are worn, the mattresses are old and cheap spring mattresses, at the reception personnel is clearly not trained in Customer Service first, the restaurant is just plainly bed and the pool
Read more
Response from Miguel A, Director de Recepción at Puerto Azul Boutique Resort & Marina
Responded 26 Jan 2019
Dear mjhvanrossum: Thank you very much for your review, we are deeply sorry to know that your stay wasn´t as pleasant as we would liked to. At Puerto Azul, we take our guest's satisfaction seriously so, i'd like to invite you to contact me to provide me more details of your stay so we can take your suggestions to consideration to enhance our services. Please feel free to mail me to info@hotelclubpuertoazul.com. Best Regards
Read more
We were hugely disappointed with our stay at Puerto Azul in Puntarenas. Not only was the hotel - and our room - not very clean and extremely run down, but the concierge and staff seemed very uninterested in assisting guests or helping make our stay comfortable. We aren't too
Read more
Response from Miguel A, Director de Recepción at Puerto Azul Boutique Resort & Marina
Responded 26 Jan 2019
Dear Siv_and_Keddy First of all, thank for visiting Puerto Azul Boutique Resort & Marina, we appreciate you have taken time for giving us you review. We work very hard for providing our guest a great lodging experience, therefore we are very disappointed of knowing that we were not successful with you during your stay. We promise that every single aspect you highlighted is going to be carefully analyzed in order to improve our service and facilities. We can assure you that we work under the highest standards, which are going to be reinforced with our staff, in addition, your comments are going to be taken in to consideration, in order help us to get better as a hotel. Best Regards.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorPuerto Azul Boutique Resort & Marina
The Two Bedroom Suite at the Puerto Azul Hotel & Club Nautico
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorPuerto Azul Boutique Resort & Marina
The Studio at the Puerto Azul Hotel & Club Nautico
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorPuerto Azul Boutique Resort & Marina
The Standard Double Room at the Puerto Azul Hotel & Club Nautico
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorPuerto Azul Boutique Resort & Marina
The Penthouse at the Puerto Azul Hotel & Club Nautico
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorPuerto Azul Boutique Resort & Marina
The Penthouse at the Puerto Azul Hotel & Club Nautico
PreviousNext
12345645
Thank you very much for choosing Puerto Azul Boutique Resort & Marina. There are plenty of options to get to our resort, so you can choose the one that fits better to your needs. If you have a rented car, the fastest way to be here will be following the 27th hideway all the way down to Puntareas. A GPS device would make your driving much more easy. Also, you can hire a private transfer, wich would cost around US$100, per way, either with the official airport taxis, or a private driver, we only recomend you to make sure it has authorization for tourist transportation. We can provide you with the name of some drivers that fulfills al the requirements, and had proved to be reliables. For lower cost options, you'll probably would like to take a look of interbus options, uber is another option as well, or you can use th regular public buses. For more information, please, feel free to contact us by any other mean. See you soon.
0 votes
Muchas gracias por su interés en visitarnos. En cuanto a sus consultas sobre seguridad, la zona es muy segura sin embargo siempre es recomendable que se sigan algunas precauciones mínimas, como no portar grandes cantidades de dinero en efectivo o no dejar objetos de valor a la vista, eso es mientras se encuentre en lugares circunvecinos, en nuestras instalaciones contamos con CCTV y seguridad privada 24/7. Y aceptamos todas las tarjetas, e esperamos Saludos
1 vote
El precio que sale publicado es por noche.??
Si, correcto por noche! tome en cuenta que muchas paginas de internet publican precios sin impuestos incluidos, en tal caso debe sumar un 13% adicional! Saludos
0 votes
PreviousNext
123
"The views are best to the rear of the hotel. Nothing but parking lot in front."
"Tower suites have washer and dryer in room"
"Look over the water to the north, not the main road on the south side."
"Ask for river/estuary oriented room/apartment on upper level location."
"Tower rooms are the best"
PreviousNext
123
PRICE RANGE
US$77 - US$216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasPuntarenas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
64
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing