Salt Lick Safari Lodge

Salt Lick Safari Lodge

Taita Hills -Taita Mwatate Road West Of Road A23, Tsavo National Park West 00200 Kenya
Traveller (3358)
Park View Room
Room & Suite (218)
Dining (82)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#2 of 4 hotels in Tsavo National Park West
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Located in the heart of the private Taita Hills Sanctuary, bordering Tsavo West National Park in south-eastern Kenya, Salt Lick Safari Lodge is a truly unique concept consisting of 96 rooms elevated on stilts, each overlooking a waterhole and linked by suspended walkways. At night, the waterholes are floodlit ensuring that you enjoy an uninterrupted view of the numerous animals arriving to quench their thirst. The elevated restaurant, and the bar a level higher, also offer stunning views of the sanctuary and are the ideal vantage points to view game. The lodge has its own fleet of well-equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. The climate is very moderate with temperatures averaging between 18 and 30 degrees Celsius all year round. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November and December. Due to the unique layout of the lodge, it is not suitable for children below 8 years. Salt Lick Safari Lodge is 400 km from Nairobi and 200 km from Mombasa. The lodge is a one-hour flight from Nairobi or 30 minutes from Mombasa by private charter which lands at the Lodge's own airstrip. The Sanctuary is a 3-hour drive from Mombasa and a 6-hour drive from Nairobi on tarmac roads. So, if you intend to make the most out of your African safari holidays, Salt Lick Safari Lodge is the right place to be. No matter if you plan to head-over to Nairobi or Mombasa, the Lodge turns out to be a perfect check-in option.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Secured parking
Internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Doorperson
First aid kit
Infirmary
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Walk-in shower
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Tile / marble floor
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Taita Hills -Taita Mwatate Road West Of Road A23, Tsavo National Park West 00200 Kenya
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,716 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in a picturesque setting, Salt Lick Safari Lodge is celebrated for its tranquil atmosphere and exceptional wildlife viewing opportunities, which many guests find enhance their stay. Service at the lodge receives high marks for warmth and efficiency, although there are occasional communication hitches. While some guests believe the lodge provides superb value, others feel it's somewhat overpriced. The rooms are generally lauded for their cleanliness and comfort, yet a few guests suggest improvements in maintenance and amenities. Overall, the lodge promises a serene retreat for nature lovers.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Serene
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Mixed
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,716Review40Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,250
  • 337
  • 85
  • 28
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Raj M wrote a review Dec 2020
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
After a year of uncertainty and travel in Kenya closed down due to the pandemic and of course budgets for travel were minimal.

We opted for Tsavo, Taita Hills Safari Lodge and they have 2 properties We stayed at the Taita Hills for two nights and Salt Lick for 1 night.

Taita Hills Lodge is outside the sanctuary and Salt Lick is inside that game sanctuary. Both owned and managed by the same group.

The unique design of a hotel on pillars took the children by surprise and the setting is truly amazing.

The staff , the food , and the ambiance of the two establishments are polite , hard working and fulfill all requests as best as they can.

Free water, juices and soft drinks at meal times is an added bonus to the visitors.

The pool has a make shift bar and all smiles and staff there to keep social distancing rules as best as they could.

We don't eat beef as we are Sikh and they had an amazing spread at the buffet each day for the 4 days we spent there.

The game drives were amazing , however the elephants coming to the Lodge water pans were just amazing.

The pandemic safety rules were followed to the maximum and hygiene was addressed properly. Hand washing points at the dining area , electronic thermometers and all surfaces are cleaned regularly. One must wear a mask all the time, and on a lighterb note mnot when eating.

There are times like these you need to be pampered in Taita Hills at their spa, I had a deep tissue and my wife the Swedish massage from Esther and she is amazing at her job.

These two properties fit right in your budget for large and small families and gives a luxury feeling to the guests from food to friendliness of staff.

We shall be here soon and wish all the Satff and Guests a Happy New Year
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kennedy Uduny, Marketing at Salt Lick Safari Lodge
Responded 04 Jan 2021
Dear Guest, Warm greetings from Salt Lick Safari Lodge. We appreciate your candid and elaborate feedback on the resort. It is through such feedback that we get motivated to continue providing impeccable services to our esteemed guests. As part of our on-going commitment to meeting your health and wellbeing standards during these challenging times, We embarked on stringent safety and hygiene protocol based upon guidance provided by the World Health Organization,(WHO), Government of Kenya (GK) and the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), to addresses everything from our guest rooms, Food and Beverage and common areas, Thank you for having the confidence in us. Please be assured that your kind comments and wonderful sentiments will be shared with the rest of the team - We have no doubt that they will be delighted to hear from you. We look forward to welcoming you back to now what we believe is your new home wherever you are in Tsavo. Safe travels. Kind Regards, Kennedy Uduny Marketing Executive marketing@saltlicksafarilodge.com Tel: +254 011 094 3777
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Keith B wrote a review Mar 2020
Harlow, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As an overnight hotel as part of a two day safari from Mombassa/Diani, this was great.
A good welcome after a long, tedious drive included a cold fruit juice and hot towel.
Rooms are well rounded and really quite quirky.
A ggod size with a functional bathroom. Very clean.
Not air conditioned, but has variable speed ceiling fan.
The bed was comfortable and included mosquito nets, but not thta there were any about when we were there mid February.
If you get a room overlooking the waterhole you will spend anyspare time watching the animals, although you can also watch from the restaurant and bar terrace.
Food was excellent with a good choice, buffet style.
Drinks prices were reasonable, but you don't stay here for a late night as innevitably you will be up early for a pre-breakfast game drive.
Incidently, the hotel lay on tea/coffee and cake while you're waiting to get on your truck.
All in all a marvellous stay, and the bonus was a full set of the big 5 before we left with an elephant escort off the reserve.
Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from sarovahotelskenya, Manager at Salt Lick Safari Lodge
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Dear Keith_B, Thank you for taking the time out to share your valuable review. We are delighted to know that you had a marvelous all round experience from arrival to departure. We convey sincere appreciation to you for the kind positive votes on the different facets of our product offerings and hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warm regards, Sarova Hotels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Homerange P wrote a review Oct 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Where does one even begin to describe the experience at Salt Lick Safari lodge?
Wow!! This place is excellent especially this time of year (October 2020) when there aren't many guests and place isn't crowded.
We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and the moment we arrived we were welcomed by a wonderful experience of a herd of elephants drinking at the watering hole. The hotel has erected a watering point right on the waiting baby balcony and the elephants drink 2 meters away from you. It is a totally surreal experience! You will never get more closer to nature than this!
The rooms are excellent especially the ones facing the watering whole where you can just watch the animals go wild right from the comfort of your bed!! Where else in the world can you do this??
The breakfast menu is so extensive once you eat to your fill you may consider skipping lunch and waiting for dinner. All meals are delicious and fresh to the core 👌👌👌
The game drive especially in the evening was excellent and we got to see a pack of lions feeding on a waterbuck they had just hunted! Massive massive herds of Buffalos meet you all over as you drive through, not to mention giraffes, more and more elephants, gazelles, etc. You have never been to a wild life sanctuary with a wider variety of animals.
Service by all the staff is excellent. The barman there is a gentleman called Robert...wonderful guy!! Josiah, Samuel, Dorothy and the rest of the team gave world class service too!
Salt lick is a hotel you will come back over and over again! Worth every penny!!
#magicalkenya #wildatheart #big5 #kenyansafari
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kennedy Uduny, Marketing at Salt Lick Safari Lodge
Responded 31 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing such a glowing review of our lodge. We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your stay in our favourite corner of paradise. Thank you for your kind words about our remarkable wildlife location, surreal experiences and rooms with great views. Salt Lick Safari Lodge really is an excellent destination for travellers that enjoy spending time in nature. In particular, we must thank you for sharing such incredibly kind comments about the friendly and personable service you received at our lodge. At Salt Lick, we believe that luxury hospitality is about people and their talent for creating warm and memorable encounters. We are delighted that this was your experience. I hope that it is not too long until we are able to welcome you back to Tsavo and back to our Lodge. Safe travels. Kind Regards, Kennedy Uduny Marketing Executive marketing@saltlicksafarilodge.com Tel: +254 011 094 3777
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TrAt wrote a review Dec 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
No one can deny that the location is amazing. Although water hole is almost empty during our stay and we’ve seen more wildlife from other lodges we’ve stayed in….
Hotel needs serious work. Our door key hole locking mechanism broke to the point that we were locked out of our room for hours today. A serious safety issue. None of the four rooms that we’re using as a family have fully working screens on windows, meaning that our rooms have been an open invitation for insects. Safes don’t work.
Room is dusty, our shoes were left under the bed, and the dust there is thick and plentiful. No one came to do our nets in the afternoon.
COVID regulations are awful. All meals are packed inside, no space whatsoever on dining areas or buffets. I asked for them to open a window at dinner and had to go through three people until someone did it. Of course there’s no screens at the dining room windows citing that “the building was built in the 70’s” - as if insects didn’t exist then…
This hotel is really taking advantage of its location to overcharge, but service, maintenance, cleanliness and food is no where near its price range.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kennedy Uduny, Marketing at Salt Lick Safari Lodge
Responded 04 Jan 2022
Dear Guest, Warm greetings from Salt Lick Safari Lodge. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us here in the heart of Tsavo. We always welcome feedback from guests who are familiar with our lodge and the level of service we offer and will certainly share your observations with the rest of the team in order to bring our service in line with our guest's expectations. We certainly do take your comments very seriously and will be sure to address them with the departments concerned. The training and re-training of our staff is an on-going process and, based on your feedback, we will certainly investigate on how we can improve. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any further assistance. Kind Regards, Kennedy Uduny Marketing Executive marketing@saltlicksafarilodge.com Tel: +254 011 094 3777
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ala Z wrote a review Feb 2020
Europe
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Seeing the photo of Salt Lick Lodge some years ago I came to conclusion it could have been drawn by a child with a lot of fantasy. I still suspect that was the case especially when you look at round huts on stilts linked by suspended walkways.

It is located in Taita Hills Sanctuary and it has over 90 rooms so the restaurant is also very big specially as the Lodge is quite popular.

The lady looking after the guests is extremely competent and we get a table No 16 which offers a feeling of privacy where hornbills come to check if the food you get is good enough.
It is good, the food I mean. The buffet offers enormous selection at all meals and the staff are very observant and helpful. Despite the number of guests everything goes smoothly.

We get room No 112, and it is round of course. There is a fan over the bed, a mosquito net, a desk, an arm chair, a chair, 2 bed side tables, many lamps, a tray with an electric kettle, coffee, tea etc.
Bathroom is also round, like everything here.

The next day, before breakfast, we go to an underground observation post (round, naturally) situated at the end of a long tunnel right by the water hole. It is uncanny to see all the animals just a few feet away totally unaware of the humans watching them. The only shortcoming are badly scratched and not very clean Perspex windows. Somehow nobody seems to care which is a pity as the idea is brilliant.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from sarovahotelskenya, Manager at Salt Lick Safari Lodge
Responded 28 Feb 2020
Dear Ala_Z, Thank you for sharing your positive review. We are grateful for your kind commendations on our location, layout, facilities, food as well as hospitality from our team. Your feedback is valuable to us as we endeavor to always exceed our guests' expectations at all touch points. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Warm regards, Sarova Hotels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NorthStar823273 wrote a review Jan 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We did not enjoy the food here at all. Literally everything tasted bland and no condiments were provided on the table. Outside windows were left completely open so you are sharing your food with the flies and the smell of the animals from the waterhole. You would think the staff would notice this and close the windows so people can eat a nice clean meal but it seems the customer service is lacking. I will not bring my family here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kennedy Uduny, Marketing at Salt Lick Safari Lodge
Responded 08 Jan 2021
Dear Guest, Warm greetings from the Stilts. Thank you so much for sharing this review. It is only with the honest feedback from our guests that we are able to improve our service, and I really appreciate you taking the time to share such a detailed account of your stay. We sincerely regret and were disheartened to learn, that you were disappointed with your stay at Salt Lick Safari Lodge - especially given the favourable feedback you had heard about our Lodge. We regret that we were not given the opportunity to address some of your concerns during your stay with us. Our dedicated Guest Services team are available 24 hours a day to assist our guests with any queries or issues they may experience and to try to remedy any concerns that arise. We're sorry that they were not given the chance to find a solution before your departure. While we completely understand that you wanted to relax and enjoy your holiday, had we been informed of your concerns earlier we could have happily arranged with our chefs something better suited to your tastes. Please do feel free to contact us if we can be of any further assistance. We would love to hear from you. Kennedy Uduny Marketing Executive marketing@saltlicksafarilodge.com Tel: +254 011 094 3777
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KPNBO wrote a review Jan 2020
Nairobi, Kenya
3.0 of 5 bubbles
From the outside it looks great, its an awesome concept. When the animals come to the water holes its pretty cool. But while there are some pluses, and the reviews show it works for lots of people, its not a hotel I am likely to return to.

The joy of the hotel should be peacefully watching animals at waterholes, but that experience is spoilt by the fact that viewing spots are crowded and - at least while we were there - very noisy. Further, the bedrooms were hot, stuffy and when arranged as a twin (rather than double) felt cramped.

While many of the staff were lovely, the check-in was painfully slow. In sum, a tremendous concept; and I can see it works well for some people in some seasons ... but not one I ill add as a priority for a return visit
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from sarovahotelskenya, Manager at Salt Lick Safari Lodge
Responded 24 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to share your review. We are humbled to note your positive compliments particularly on the concept, water holes as well as our team's hospitality. We are also following through on the areas that you have highlighted for our attention and improvement. We are sorry to note that your wildlife viewing experience at the time of your visit fell short of your expectations. Please be assured that we are using your valuable feedback for further refinement of the refreshing experiences that we endeavor to extend to our guests always. We look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you. Warm regards, Sarova Hotels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
skidude wrote a review Nov 2022
Ottawa, Canada
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Salt lick is a unique place to stay, built on stilts over a water hole. We stayed here in an excellent value package which included the return train from Mombasa to Voi, transfers to and from the train station, 2 game drives, 2 nights stay and all of our meals. I wish more lodges offered this as it's a great way to do a Safari on a budget. The water hole is amazing, I have never been so close to elephants and buffalo. You can sit and watch it day and night from the restaurant and it is great entertainment. The food was good and we saw lion, elephant, giraffe, buffalo, zebra, etc on our game drives. Our driver, Stanlous, was very helpful, even dropping is off in town and helping us get the bus to Taveta, on the Tanzanian border. The only reason for giving it 4 stars instead of 5 was we booked and paid extra for a room with a water hole view, but it was not possible to see the water hole from our room. When I explained this to the front desk they said the room was on the water hole side, which is true, but there was no way to see the water hole from the room because of the angle. They said there was nothing they could do. I was disappointed because it would have been much more convenient to watch the water hole from our room instead of coming to the restaurant. I feel if you are going to charge extra for a view of the water hole, you should be able to see it from the room or refund the extra cost. I still feel it's worth going because it's so unique, but be warned that a water hole view room is just on the water hole side and may not have a view of the water hole.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Water hole view rooms can't necessarily see the water hole
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sanjeev Kumar, General Manager at Salt Lick Safari Lodge
Responded 21 Dec 2022
Dear Guest, Jambo! Thank you so much for having chosen The Salt Lick Safari Lodge for your stay and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us through such an amazing review on the Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read that your expectations were mostly exceeded. Your detailed feedback is appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavor to provide to our guests. Thank you for your kind words of appreciation for the team. I have shared your feedback with the team, this will surely go a long way in motivating the team & even higher levels of excellence. Personalized and dedicated care for our guests is part of our values. People are our key assets and we are fortunate to have a dedicated team of ladies and gentlemen who go the extra mile to delight guests with genuine care and personalized service. Salt Lick is nestled in the wildlife-rich and spectacular Taita Hills Wildlife Sanctuary in East Africa, lodge provides great views of the endless Tsavo plains and the active waterhole where wildlife comes to quench their thirst and allows interaction with many of the myriad birdlife and wildlife within the property. Famed for being one of the world's most photographed lodges, Salt Lick Safari Lodge is one of Kenya's flagship safari lodges. Staying in Salt Lick Safari lodge is definitely unique - it brings you close to the nature & wildlife without compromising on luxury and comfort. The team and I thank you for your gracious feedback once again and we look forward to your continued patronage of our hotel and welcoming you back with us in not too distant future. Do connect with us on our social media page for regular updates and promos. Facebook: @saltlicksafarilodge Insta: saltlicksafarilodge Twitter: @saltlicklodge Thank you and Warm regards, Sanjeev Kumar General Manager gm@saltlicksafarilodge.com Tel:+254 110943790
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BRUNOMOMBASA wrote a review Feb 2020
Mombasa, Kenya
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Lodge is since years a very good place to go. Location is perfect, accomodation is unique, but needs urgent rennovation.
Windows and Mosquito Grill are very worne out and difficult to open and close.
Shower is really bad, the Showerhead needs cleaning or replacment. Worst the foot matt in the shower. The moldy grey and black plastic matt is terrible.
Outside my room, dirty dishes and empty bottles on the floor on arrival. Same is still there next day on departure.
Small things, making a bad impression on a overall good lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: ask for rennovated rooms with view to the waterhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from sarovahotelskenya, Manager at Salt Lick Safari Lodge
Responded 06 Feb 2020
Dear @Bruno, Thank you for taking the time out to share your valuable review. We appreciate your positive highlights particularly on the uniqueness of our location as well as accommodation. We also take note of your feedback on room experience and the aspects that you have shared for our attention. We apologize for the shortcomings and take this opportunity to assure you that we are following through with corrective adjustments. We are consistently monitoring and refining our offerings as we endeavor to make your stays with us refreshing as always. Thank you once again for the continued support. We look forward to more opportunities of welcoming you in future. Warm regards, Sarova Hotels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nigel B wrote a review Mar 2020
Guernsey, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for one night during safari tour. Had lunch, dinner and breakfast. Good quality food which was plentiful, quite large choice of beverages.
The staff are very helpful and efficient
The rooms are well laid out there is no air-con but a ceiling fan to circulate the air.
The frogs at night are quite noisy
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The rooms on one side of ther building have a view of the watering holes where various animals...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from sarovahotelskenya, Manager at Salt Lick Safari Lodge
Responded 03 May 2020
Dear Nigel_B, Thank you for sharing your review. It was our pleasure extending our hospitality to you and we are delighted to know that you experienced refreshing quality all round. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Warm regards, Sarova Hotels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
leggy3108 asked a question Sept 2023
King's Lynn, United Kingdom4 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi, my 19year old and his grandad are coming here in 2 weeks, any tips that l need to tell them about
Answer from LisaLouWigan
Wigan, United Kingdom105 contributions20 helpful votes
If mobility is an issue, let them know they don't need to go to the underground viewing station to see the elephants. They come right upto the ground floor area where your practically eye to eye. If they can make it the underground viewing station is good to see other animals swell
leggy3108 asked a question Sept 2023
King's Lynn, United Kingdom4 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi, are mosquito a problem here? If so are mosquitoe nets in the rooms.
Answer from LisaLouWigan
Wigan, United Kingdom105 contributions20 helpful votes
There was a mosquito net in the room. But they weren't an issue when I visited in September
Arek asked a question Jul 2023
Warsaw, Poland132 contributions48 helpful votes
Do we have to pay some entrance fees to the park as Your guests?
Answer from Visible Tours
Mombasa, Kenya26 contributions
There is a sanctuary fee of usd 35 per person for non residents amd 500 ksh for residents Depending with the travel agency that is taking care of your booking. For us,we include the sanctuary fees in the invoice. Hope this is helpful
SEM1976 asked a question May 2023
Chester, United Kingdom135 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi, please can you advise whether the lodge accepts credit cards for incidentals such as drinks? Thank you.
Brussels, Belgium53 contributions43 helpful votes
They do
Clare S wrote a tip 05 Jul
Nottingham, United Kingdom83 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t forget your camera and binoculars!"
Read full review
Damaris M wrote a tip 01 Jul
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No TV in the rooms, pre download your own entertainment. Sadly internet was down during our stay. Pls run to the tunnel when animals come. "
Read full review
Rendra K wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get all coverage insurance before you come."
Read full review
Voyager57558936230 wrote a tip Jun 2024
25 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There’s an underground that takes you to the watering hole so you can see the animals up close without risk."
Read full review
SOLEYL TOURS AND TRAVELS wrote a tip Jun 2024
Nairobi, Kenya15 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The best way to go to Saltlick from Nairobi is by SGR if you have a private vehicle then driving down is also amazing. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tsavo National Park West area.
PRICE RANGE
R 4,624 - R 6,219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sarova salt lick game hotel tsavo national park west
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
LOCATION
KenyaCoast ProvinceTsavo National Park West
NUMBER OF ROOMS
96
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SALT LICK SAFARI LODGE - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Tsavo National Park West, Kenya)

Frequently Asked Questions about Salt Lick Safari Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Salt Lick Safari Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Taita Hills Wildlife Sanctuary (5.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Salt Lick Safari Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Salt Lick Safari Lodge?
Top room amenities include blackout curtains, a desk, and a mosquito net.
What food & drink options are available at Salt Lick Safari Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Salt Lick Safari Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are any cleaning services offered at Salt Lick Safari Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Salt Lick Safari Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Tsavo National Park West HotelsTsavo National Park West Hotel DealsHotels near Salt Lick Safari Lodge
Things to DoFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire