We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mena Holiday Beach Resort Half Moon Bay

Save
Share
Azizzia Area Half Moon Bay, Al Khobar 39246 Saudi Arabia
Official Hotel Site
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
FindHotel
Destinia.com
View all 9 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (87)
Pool & Beach (19)
Dining (6)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Mena Holiday Beach Resort Half Moon Bay
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#85 of 199 hotels in Al Khobar
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Being the only 5-star resort in Al Khobar, Holiday Inn Half Moon Bay Resort is a beautiful resort where family can enjoy the Holiday Inn Standard.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Horseback riding
Tennis court
Fishing
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Iron
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Arabic
121Reviews3Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 18
  • 33
  • 22
  • 19
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
TAIN2013 wrote a review Jan 2022
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia2877 contributions952 helpful votes
The hotel is located far from the city on the half moon bay beach giving it exclusivity and privacy. Apart from normal rooms, you can also rent villas and cottages. The hotel has its own private beach and also offers boating excursions. Rooms are a bit dated but the location and the views more than make up for it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
kaleissa wrote a review May 2021
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia169 contributions75 helpful votes
I have visited this hotel 20 years ago during very early days of the opening, and the services were not great. This time, we, the same family member, the services still the same. We decide to leave the hotel but we could not get the payment refund at the checkout time, however, We have been promised to get in two to three weeks.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Get towels and basic catering and you have to have your car.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Mena Holiday Beach Resort Half Moon Bay
Responded 05 Jun 2021
Hi kaleissa, Thank you for taking the time to write us your feedback from your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to learn that the level of staff service you received was still not at par with the usual high standards we are known for. We always commit to providing the best service that we can offer but failed to deliver this time. We take all the feedback we receive very seriously and would like to assure you that the issues you have raised have been shared with our hotel management for their reference. I'm confident they will take the necessary steps to ensure this doesn’t happen again. If you have further inquiries about your refund, kindly reach out directly to our hotel management. I hope you stay with us again so we will have the opportunity to change your impression and provide an excellent visit. Regards, Virgil N. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Salam H wrote a review Dec 2020
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia11 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
I checked in today 20 Dec for 2 days with my family, we are 6 people (3 adults and 3 kids), at first we saw that we have 5 beds only, I asked the house keeping for an extra bed, the employee was extremely rude telling me you pay i bring you. He manipulated me, I kept quiet but very upset because the rate is not cheap at all, the minimum you expect is a good service. I visited the reception complaining about my right, asking for a bed, any way after several trials they brought a mattress (see picture) how shall I use it? It is cold, I can't keep my son on it, the floor is dirty, greasy and full of dust. For the towels, of course there were no towels, i asked for 6 shower towels many times, they brought 3, i asked again twice to bring me another 3, as if am begging them for my right, they brought them after I changed my tone and showed dissatisfaction. Additionally of course no hand towels were provided. In brief, It was my worst choice and experience. I know IHG services very well, I've stayed in many different countries but non of them shown me such experience. Being at a time of a pandemic as well I felt very worried about our safety considering the very weak hygiene measures (pictures attached). We thought the hotel is really following safety measures with less capacity booking we expected much better service. We came to relax we ended up being more stressed spraying our own room beds door handles, sofas... with dettol, because of what we witnessed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Mena Holiday Beach Resort Half Moon Bay
Responded 07 Jan 2021
Hello Salam H, I understand how you feel, and I have notified our management about your concerns and the situations you describe in your review. I have also sent you a PM to know more details about it. Our wish is to provide the best of experiences to every guest we have, and I'm sorry we did not achieve this goal during your stay. I hope you can accept my humble apology. I want to express my utmost gratitude for choosing us for your stay. Rest assured, we will improve our service and avoid such hiccups in the future. Alejandro G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Jerrick Stephen D wrote a review Oct 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
My stay here is terrible. The room was handed very late 5pm which is supposedly 2pm. They are shorthanded, housekeeping is very difficult to reach, the phone in my room is broken, towels are dirty the reception dont give much attention and is always away. They promise to give us late checkout due to the delay in our checkin but only gave us 1 hour. The room is dirty which is supposedly clean specially during this pandemic times.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Mena Holiday Beach Resort Half Moon Bay
Responded 12 Nov 2020
Dear Jerrick, Our IHG Clean Promise states that we want to ensure you enjoy a clean, safe, and healthy stay. I'm sorry to see we did not meet these expectations, and for that, I want to apologize. I have notified our management about the cleanliness of the room, the service at the reception area, and the issues with the check-in and check-out to ensure that measures are taken. I have also sent you a PM to discuss a bit more about the details of these irregularities. Thank you so much for choosing our establishment to stay. I hope we get another chance in the future to show you all the changes and improvements based on your feedback. Alejandro G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Gipsy King wrote a review Aug 2020
Dhahran 80 contributions19 helpful votes
I went there today with my family for lunch to celebrate my wife's birthday. The resort is located at a picturesque location and it looks very well laid out. As we entered, security stopped the car and told that day guests are supposed to pay up front at the security check gate. That's a kind of first time experience for me in such a property. Anyway, we were given coupons that include either buffet lunch or dinner and beach and pool access. The buffet was a HUGE disappointment. Only the salad section looked okay. Main course choices were very limited. We were definitely among first guests of the day. I felt pity on the waiter who was struggling to find chicken pieces in Chicken Bukhari? By the way, they were encouraging us to use cheap disposable plastic plates but we insisted for proper dinner plates and then only they brought the plates closer so that we can take. Cutlery on table were again cheap disposable plastic. There was broasted chicken, fish cakes, veg salouna, white rice, white pasta and meat balls. No lamb, shrimps etc. No grilled items. No live counter. No bread. Taste was unfortunately below average. Desserts were definitely not all fresh and tasted below par. Watermelon cuts were good though. The buffet doesn't stand anywhere near what similar properties in Al Khobar offer at similar price. Sorry to say, even some budget eateries in Khobar area serve much better lunch buffets. Never came across such food in a Holiday Inn elsewhere. (Have visited five in past) Coming to decor, the place cries for renovation. Old furniture, dirty cushions, not a single glass top on outdoor tables around the pool was clean, although there was not much crowd. Sorry to see the condition of such a nice property that has potential to be a very sought after destination. IHG must up their game here. Good luck.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Mena Holiday Beach Resort Half Moon Bay
Responded 29 Aug 2020
Hello Nabajyoti B, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave us feedback. Belated happy birthday to your wife! We always try our best to make sure that the service we provide is world-class, and I am sorry to learn that the buffet served and the condition of the furniture was below par. I have shared your comments with the hotel management. I am confident that the steps taken will avoid similar issues from reoccurring in the future. I have also sent you a private message regarding your experience. I hope you give our hotel another try! Best regards, Dianne L. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
DaveBruudenall wrote a review Mar 2020
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia61 contributions19 helpful votes
Sounds great but really not that good. Very dated with limited menu options. The staff don’t seem to know about IHG. Will find another hotel next time I’m down this way. Some staff are very good, some are not so.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
AliZma wrote a review Jan 2020
Islamabad Capital Territory, Pakistan296 contributions1679 helpful votes
It's a world renown chain of hotels n resort so no need of any introduction. The location of the resort is marvellous, situated on Half Moon Bay Khobar. Secondly all the rooms almost have pool n ocean view, which is the best thing once you are visiting such a place.. Views. There private beach is simply amazing. Its wide n spacious and roam for huge number of people at a time. The date trees around the beach gives it a more majestical environment. It will be unfair if not mentioning the breathtaking sunset view. Breakfast is also reasonably good. The lunch n dinner buffet has variety but bit over priced I would say. The room furniture is old and the worst part is the bathroom, which quite frankly was not upto the name standard of the hotel. The staff is attentive, helpful and polite, which is a positive as compared to staff of other hotels. Also water sports and boating facilities are available on site, so no need to go outside for that. Overall I would say a nice place for family vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
12 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Mena Holiday Beach Resort Half Moon Bay
Responded 09 Feb 2020
Hello AliZma, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Half Moon Bay, Saudi Arabia. We are always Making guests smile, however, it seems that we failed this time. On behalf of the hotel, I'm sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the furniture and bathroom. Not what we want you to experience. We will address these concerns. I have shared your comment to the hotel's management and ownership for review and service improvement. On the brighter side, I appreciate your nice comment about the view and our staff. I hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. Sincerely, Orlando Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Tanya de Villiers wrote a review Dec 2019
Diryah, Saudi Arabia46 contributions21 helpful votes
The facilities are a bit dated but they are busy upgrading it. Facilities are clean. Breakfast was an absolute treat as well as dinner. The breakfast and dinner buffet catered for everyone, from very delicious traditional meals, to vegetarian dishes. Staff is well trained and very polite.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
David Rex-Jones wrote a review Oct 2019
Saudi Arabia8 contributions5 helpful votes
Love this hotel. Large clean room and very clean. The staff are excellent and family friendly nothing is to much for the staff always willing to help. Food is good, breakfast is a feast and all you can eat. Enjoy
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
noor j wrote a review Oct 2019
25 contributions8 helpful votes
I have booked a stay at holiday inn halfmoon through booking because the hotel doesn’t pick up the phone, after getting my reservation confirmation, one day before my visit the hotel cancels my reservation for no given reason.. I’d respect the property more and who’d have continued to visit it if it was more polite and clear with their actions.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Mena Holiday Beach Resort Half Moon Bay
Responded 24 Oct 2019
Hello noor j, I'm glad you choose our hotel for your visit to Al Khobar. Thank you for staying. We're always grateful for getting feedback from one of our guests. As a family-friendly hotel, we ensure our hotels are always clean, our service is always friendly, and everything always works. I'm sorry that time, we fell below standards. I understand you have concerns with your reservation. I can see how the wait is a bit of a hassle. I also sent a private message to further assist. We appreciate you leaving feedback about your stay, and looking forward to your next travel. Regards, Dianne L. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$96 - US$130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn resort half moon bay hotel al khobar
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Holiday Inn Rst Half Moon Bay
LOCATION
Saudi ArabiaEastern ProvinceAl Khobar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
101
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mena Holiday Beach Resort Half Moon Bay
Which popular attractions are close to Mena Holiday Beach Resort Half Moon Bay?
Nearby attractions include Half Moon Beach (1.2 km) and Taybeen Museum (7.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mena Holiday Beach Resort Half Moon Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Mena Holiday Beach Resort Half Moon Bay?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mena Holiday Beach Resort Half Moon Bay?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Mena Holiday Beach Resort Half Moon Bay?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mena Holiday Beach Resort Half Moon Bay?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mena Holiday Beach Resort Half Moon Bay?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mena Holiday Beach Resort Half Moon Bay offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mena Holiday Beach Resort Half Moon Bay?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Arabic.
Is Mena Holiday Beach Resort Half Moon Bay accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.