We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (1820)
Pool & Beach (306)
Room & Suite (245)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Located on the western coast of this lush volcanic island, LUX* Saint Gilles (formerly LUX* Ile de La Reunion) faces a shimmering expanse of aqua-blue waters, fringed by a stretch of immaculate sands. Tucked away in acres of beautiful tropical gardens, Creole villas sit in the shade of coconut palms and filao trees, just steps from the coral-sheltered lagoon at L'Hermitage.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room service
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Airport transportation
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Tennis Court
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
Ocean View
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
Contact
28 Rue du Lagon L'Ermitage, Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains 97434 Reunion Island
Getting there
Gillot Airport38 km
St. Pierre de la Reunion Airport38 km
See all nearby hotels
3 109Reviews
1 936Photos
46Q+A
74Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1 806
  • 816
  • 342
  • 109
  • 38
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Overall experience a bit disappointing. room so far from everything (difficult with children). also expensive. not value for the money. only the breakfast was perfect. (varied and good food) and cleanliness good.
Read more
Response from LUXSaintGilles, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Rguy, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your exprience. I feel really sorry that we did not meet all your expectations during your stay. However, I am glad to read to read that you enjoyed the breakfast and the cleanliness. Our team members work hard every day to maintain our 7- hectares property. Nonetheless, we do hope that you enjoyed our beautiful Island. Warm regards. Sincerely always, Stéphane Baras General manager
Read more
Optical - It's a nice hotel in Colonial style. But unfortunatly, the rooms are a bit "dated", the overall service quality could be improved (in comparison to other 5* Hotels) - especially in breakfast area. It's located at the beach, but disjointed by a wire mesh fence. If the
Read more
Response from LUXSaintGilles, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Happyist, Thank you for sharing your experience on trip advisor. I have read with great attention your comments and please rest assured that we all aim at satisfying our guest to the fullest. We look forward to welcoming you again. Sincerely always Stéphane Baras General manager
Read more
At check-in at this 5 star establishment we were asked to fill in our details ourselves as the staff had better things to do apparently. The white buildings with shingles on the roofs give the place a colonial feeling, or maybe a New England feeling. Difficult to see where the
Read more
Response from LUXSaintGilles, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles
Responded 30 Jan 2019
Dear Endre, Thank you for sharing your experience on trip advisor. Please accept our apologies as it seems we have not been able to meet your expectations. Your comments have been shared with the entire team and rest assured that actions have been taken regarding the points you mentionned. We do hope that you had the chance to enjoy the beauty of Reunion Island. Sincerely always, Stéphane Baras General manager
Read more
Had a very enjoyable experience. Staff have been friendly a vastst majority have a very good standard of English Chantal has been extremely helpful All the reception staff have been very courteous Not had any issues to resolve The food variety and standard has been very good
Read more
Response from LUXSaintGilles, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles
Responded 20 Jan 2019
Dear Jon, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. I see that we were all able to help you celebrate life during your stay! I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Warm regards, Stephane Baras General manager
Read more
I came here with my family to seek a gateway between Christmas and NYE, the least I can say is that the Lux fulfilled our desires to the most. The setup is beautiful and the personnel very helpful. This truly is a place where you can rest your head and can easily access other
Read more
Response from LUXSaintGilles, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles
Responded 03 Jan 2019
Dear Maliktunc, Sunny greetings from LUX*Saint Gilles! I am so delighted to read your comments and that you got the rest that you needed. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon for another getaway All our best for 2019! Sincerely always, Stéphane Baras General manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerPool & BeachRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Vue depuis la chambre vers salon et SdB
PreviousNext
12345649
Hi. Meals at the main restaurant are buffet with a vegetarian section. The la Plage restaurant has a la cart vegetarian dishes. Enjoy.
0 votes
Hi Are the drinks expensive as it’s HB Do they offer an AI rate? Thank you
Hi, I don’t think it was expensive (especially now after my Maledives holidays, that was ridiculous expensive, like $8+ tax for a can of coke), if i recall it correctly the prices at the LUX were normal. about 300 meters from the hotel you find a small shopping mall in case ....
1 vote
Show all answers
HI, I am not quiet sure about the shuttle service to town but my advice would be use public means as it might be very cheap. Taxis are very expensive.
0 votes
Bonjour, avez vous un service d'excursions ou visites?
Bonjour, je suis de l'île de la réunion donc nous n'avons pas besoin d'excursions mais il me semble qu'il y avait un poste à l'accueil de l'hôtel je ne pourrais malheureusement pas vous en dire plus
1 vote
Show all answers
Nous avons pris une chambre à l'étage avec balcon et c'était ce qui correspondait au de luxe c'est mieux car en rez de chaussée tous les gens qui passent voient ce que vous faites dans la chambre et sur votre terrasse soi disant privé
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12345610
"choose one close to the beach or swimming pool."
"room on 2 floors"
"Rooms away from main hotel area are quieter. Downstairs better for families & adjoining rooms are great. Upstairs better for couples."
"Ask for a room on a first floor to get a better view and not facing the tennis courts."
"Ask for a room on a high level with a view of the sea"
PreviousNext
12345615
PRICE RANGE
US$194 - US$441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lux ile de la reunion hotel saint-gilles-les-bains
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
LUX Ile de La Reunion
LOCATION
Reunion IslandArrondissement of Saint-PaulSaint-Gilles-Les-Bains
NUMBER OF ROOMS
174
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing