The Delight Swakopmund

The Delight Swakopmund

Corner Theo Ben Gurirab Avenue And Nathaniel Maxuilili Street opposite the Swakopmund Hotel and Entertainment Centre, Swakopmund 9000 Namibia
Traveller (415)
Room & Suite (121)
Dining (23)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 21 hotels in Swakopmund
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Amongst the town's captivating contrasts and old traditions, Gondwana's Delight is a fresh breeze in the desert. A refreshing, relaxing, modern, light and airy establishment to uplift and inspire. Effortless and comfortable, with the distinctively warm and welcoming Gondwana service and charm, your stay is always a memorable experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Secured parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, German

Location

Corner Theo Ben Gurirab Avenue And Nathaniel Maxuilili Street opposite the Swakopmund Hotel and Entertainment Centre, Swakopmund 9000 Namibia
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 90 out of 100
90
Rooikop Airport
Hosea Kutako Intl Airport
302.8 km
See all flights
853Reviews8Q+A45Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 602
  • 217
  • 27
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Esther Shigwedha wrote a review Jan 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Delight Swakopmund is as delightful as its name suggests. Starting from the friendly reception to the beautiful rooms and friendly breakfast treatment, everything is a delight. The rooms are spacious, colorful, bright and equipped with what you may need. Washing and ironing is offered at an additional cost but super affordable. I would visit this gem again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GondwanaCollection, Intern at The Delight Swakopmund
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Dear Ms. Kandoloma, Thank you so much for your review and for staying with us! It is great to hear that you had a delightful time and we cannot wait for your return! We're very happy to have been able to provide you with a good time and we hope we can create many more memories together! All the best of adventure in this new year. Kind regards on behalf of Gondwana, Daniela
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
danielgc205 wrote a review Jan 2021
Windhoek, Namibia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This has been an excellent stay in a chic and excellently-run Delight of a place.
Staff members made our stay amazing and their politeness and diligence were admirable, thanks!
The room was impeccable and really good, whilst breakfast (included in our price) was also really good and neatly served every single day of the three days we stayed.
In fact, our initial plan was to stay for only two days but we extended because it was a great place.
Thanks!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernd Grahl, Other at The Delight Swakopmund
Responded 18 Jan 2021
Dear danielgc205, Thank you for the excellent feedback. We count ourselves lucky to have guests like you! It was indeed a delight hosting you and we cannot wait to offer you such a unique experience again in the future. Warm regards Koney
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mariabalurb wrote a review Nov 2022
Berlin, Germany
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nicely decorated hotel in a quiet location. We had a two-storey family room, so it was very spacious and full of air. We liked a well-equipped bathroom, a large refrigerator, a Nespresso machine and a nice little balcony overlooking the patio with palm trees, where it was very nice to drink coffee. A great variety at breakfast with oysters and sparkling wine. Very convenient parking in a closed courtyard and a wonderful guy who helped with our luggage.
One of the disadvantages is an ice-cold bathroom, because there is no heating provided and there is no heated towel rail. The room is heated by the air conditioner, however, back at the hotel late at night from the restaurant, we found that the air conditioner no longer works for heating, but only blows cold air. In the morning, on the way to breakfast, we met a woman who introduced herself as the general manager and asked us if we were all right. We complained about the air conditioning and after that we had to listen for almost 10 minutes to how carefully the hotel treats the needs and complaints of customers, how the hotel monitors the high quality of work and that after complaints all the necessary are taken. She said all this without a smile, in a stern voice, never apologizing for the fact that we had to spend a very cold night. As a result, it began to seem to us that we were schoolchildren who were caught by a strict director and did not want to let go, although we were already late for breakfast))
In addition, there is not a single outlet for a hair dryer in the bathroom, although the hotel provides a hairdryer, and there is no mirror in the room next to the grove of coy) To admit, this is the first time I encountered such a feature) I had to style my hair looking at my reflection in the TV screen.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gondwana Collection Namibia, Other at The Delight Swakopmund
Responded 15 Dec 2022
Dear Mariabalurb Thank you for review. Please note that we take your concerns serious and have forwarded them to the Hotel Team for review. We hope to welcome you back sometime. kind regards Gondwana
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RiittaS wrote a review Jan 2020
Helsinki, Finland
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel location is very good, it’s on walking distance both to the city centre and the beach. Our room was facing the street, but as it’s low season, the street was very quiet.
The breakfast was great, they even had oysters and champagne! They do not serve other neals. The staff was very friendly, one staff member even lent me her own electric adapter, as the hotel had none to lend or to sell - big minus for that. I would also not use the hairdryer provided, as that one would have required yet another type of adapter.
The wifi seemed unreliable, did break ever so often, and on the second day it didn’t work at all.
Small things matter!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GondwanaCollection, Community Coordinator at The Delight Swakopmund
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Dear 885riittas, Thank you for your feedback and for making us aware of the difficulties you have encountered. Small things really matter. Please know that it is feedback such as yours that help us do better and we cannot wait to make it up to you! Please let us know if there are any other concerning issues that you would like to share with us. Kind regards Koney
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SabiyyahZardad wrote a review Jan 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I did not know what to expect, however, I was absolutely blown away. This hotel had such a homely look and feel. The decor and detail in the rooms are refreshing and retro-like, yet still warm and welcoming. The breakfast served here was absolutely incredible. The oysters and champagne was the highlight!

The staff were incredibly amazing. I was stationed in the reception area for most of the day and I was never short of anything I needed or wanted. The staff attended to my work related and personal requirements without any hassles at all. They really made my job so much easier and took me in as one of their own. Our guests staying here were just as delighted at the place and service received.

I would give The Delight 10/10 and would recommend it to anyone visiting Swakopmund. I look forward to staying here again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GondwanaCollection, Community Coordinator at The Delight Swakopmund
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Dear SabiyyahZardad, Thank you so much for the excellent review. We are happy to hear that this was a home away from home experience for you. We cannot wait to see you again! Warm regards Koney
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HMRAtlanta wrote a review Nov 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for two nights in room 19. The WiFi strength gets weaker the further your room is from reception area. They have oysters and champagne every AM along with a nice breakfast buffet. The star of the experience was Denise. She moved our room on the fly because we are light sleepers, she got us last minute restaurant reservations, called around and juggled our short timeframe to get excursions booked and just managed all our requests with excellence. Loved the treats in the room and the hot water bottle turn down service. Abed in the bar area was also a delight and always greeted us warmly with a smile. He offered recommendations for dinner selections at The Tug. He also was just engaging and pleasant. Michael was a quiet kind spirit who was also very helpful during our stay. The breakfast restaurant staff always said good AM and keep everything on tables cleared off and tidy. It’s a small town so the beach was a 5 minute walk and many restaurants and shops are super convenient.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gondwana Collection Namibia, Other at The Delight Swakopmund
Responded 15 Dec 2022
Thank you so much for your feedback. We have shared your compliments with Denise, we hope to welcome you back some time. kind regards Gondwana
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
g1obetrotter wrote a review Jul 2023
Sydney, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Delight. It is a modern hotel, with a consistent decorative theme throughout the rooms and common areas (turquoise with red). The bar area is laid back and a good place to relax. The breakfast buffet is great, with eggs cooked to order, and lots of staff helping clear tables & serve drinks etc. It’s a pity they don’t offer dinner at the hotel. There are plenty of restaurants in Swakopmund, and we walked to one a couple of blocks away. There are some lovely little touches in the hotel service, like bottled water provided daily and some cookie snacks.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
savvy_dave wrote a review Aug 2022
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautifully designed boutique hotel in the centre of town, just a short walk from the seafront. The large rooms are colourfully and stylishly furnished with Nespresso coffee makers and private terraces.

The breakfast is outstanding - the best in Namibia. Where else can you enjoyed fresh oysters and sparkling wine on a breakfast buffet? Packed lunches are available at reasonable cost and were very good. Highly recommended place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gondwana Collection Namibia, Other at The Delight Swakopmund
Responded 17 Aug 2022
Dear Guest Thank you so much for your positive review and for taking the time to provide feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a positive experience with us at Gondwana Collection Namibia. We will convey your feedback to our team. Kind regards The Gondwana Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Curious18485242213 wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A comfortable stay with lovely touches in the room. The turn down service was an extra spoil! The friendly and helpful service during the busy festive season was greatly appreciated. The breakfast buffet with oysters and champagne, waffles and omelettes made to order was a real treat!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GondwanaCollection, Community Coordinator at The Delight Swakopmund
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Dear Curious, Thank you for the five star feedback. It is always a delight at The Delight! Please come back again when you get the chance. Kind regards Koney
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Debra D wrote a review Oct 2023
Boulder, Colorado
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Staying two nights at The Delight Swakopmund was on our itinerary through Ultimate Safaris in Windhoek, and the experience did not disappoint. I loved crawling into our comfortable bed at night with a hot water bottle tucked inside during turndown. The grounds were beautifully manicured, and the breakfast buffet substantial. The staff were courteous and professional. The Delight was our base for sea kayaking among the thousands of Cape Fur Seals at Walvis Bay and seeing all the flamingos, as well as, visiting the Snake Park in Swakopmund. It is conveniently located such that one can walk to a couple of good restaurants nearby or go shopping.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alby asked a question Dec 2022
Zaporizhzhya, Ukraine
Hi are pets allowed?
Alby asked a question Dec 2022
Zaporizhzhya, Ukraine
Are pets allowed?
allybear30 asked a question Sept 2022
London, United Kingdom137 contributions16 helpful votes
Hi, do the rooms have hairdryers? Thanks
Answer from jackmoolman
George, South Africa9 contributions
Yes.
Answer from NJG15
Windhoek, Namibia89 contributions39 helpful votes
As far as I can say, the cost is per person sharing and not per room. It is worth asking them directly is they can add a bed into a family room. I know they mention adding baby cots but you should check about a regular one. You can send them an e-mail to res6@gondwana-collection. I''m sure they will advise you what your best options are.
FamilyRossouw wrote a tip Jun 2024
London, United Kingdom109 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Safe parking on the premises. Do enjoy the breakfast, its good"
Read full review
Greatexperiences wrote a tip Mar 2024
Windhoek, Namibia53 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose the room carefully. Parking is also limitesld when full."
Read full review
Lisa P wrote a tip Apr 2021
Cape Town, South Africa41 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"we chose a loft room, facing the inner courtyard, so being away from the roadie was quiet and overlooked a pretty courtyard"
Read full review
Jill G wrote a tip Oct 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa22 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Think all rooms were much of a muchness."
Read full review
Karen S wrote a tip Aug 2019
Gloucestershire69 contributions50 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"First floor rooms in my opinion overlooking the lovely central garden."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Swakopmund area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,629 - R 3,064 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NamibiaErongo RegionSwakopmund
NUMBER OF ROOMS
54
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE DELIGHT SWAKOPMUND | UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Namibia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Delight Swakopmund
Which popular attractions are close to The Delight Swakopmund?
Nearby attractions include Kristall Galerie (0.2 km), Bar Zonder Naam (0.4 km), and Hohenzollernhaus (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Delight Swakopmund?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Delight Swakopmund?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Delight Swakopmund?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Delight Swakopmund?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Delight Swakopmund?
Conveniently located restaurants include Village Café, The Fish Deli, and Slowtown Coffee Roasters - Swakopmund.
Is The Delight Swakopmund located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Swakopmund.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Delight Swakopmund?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Delight Swakopmund?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to The Delight Swakopmund?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Damara Tower (0.6 km).
Is The Delight Swakopmund accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Swakopmund HotelsSwakopmund Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SwakopmundHotels near The Delight Swakopmund
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire