We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Zum Kaiser

Hotels.comUS$146*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Zum Kaiser
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 160: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Zum Kaiser
 Click to rate
New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a lovely hotel in a good location (just by the beach). The breakfast selection was also good enough. The room was good enough with balcony. It was a very nice view especially at sunset. The wifi in the room was very weak, better to use it at the lobby. The 2 star for this review was because of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CedKe_13
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the moment we entered we felt welcome and at home. Although we arrived early, the staff went out of their way to ensure that we can enter our rooms. Everything was neat and in its place. We just loved it. Breakfast was fresh and well prepared. Although the last morning there were black ants in the set out breakfast....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank izane2017
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Hotel Zum Kaiser, responded to this review

Dear Izane, Thank you for the fantastic rating! Glad you enjoyed the warm hospitality, the neat facilities and breakfast. Our apologies for inconvenience the ants caused. We are looking forward to welcome you back! Best wishes, The Hotel Zum Kaiser Team

Napier, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Situated at the lower end of the main street of the Old Town of Swakopmund, with the air of a brisk but unhurried German country town. Zum Kaiser Hotel is immediately welcoming, friendly, efficient. The lift takes you to well-designed rooms with comfortable furniture, mod-cons (tea/coffee making, a jar of biscuits, fridge - empty until you request contents - television)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay H
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Hotel Zum Kaiser, responded to this review

Dear Jay, Thank you for the wonderful rating and review! Glad you enjoyed our location, the warm welcome , the comfortable rooms and spacious bathrooms. We are looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to the old town of Swakopmund! Best wishes, The Hotel Zum Kaiser Team

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great small hotel in Swakopmund. Convenient location able to walk into town and to the sea. Very comfortable rooms. Good breakfasts. Slight traffic noise but very quiet after 21.00. Big bathrooms. Good decor in hotel. Free tea and coffee all day in lounge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Merith
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Hotel Zum Kaiser, responded to this review

Dear Merith, Thank you for the great rating and review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our location, comfortable rooms, big bathrooms and the tea / coffee in the lounge. Looking forward to welcome you back! Best wishes, The Hotel Zum Kaiser Team

Pleasanton, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room is nicely furnished with a big bath room the size of the bedroom. Everything you need including a power adaptor can be found in the room. My room was not facing the beach but you can hear the waves. Right the hotel is a primary school which starts at about 7 AM. Good walking distance to beach and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VT94588
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Hotel Zum Kaiser, responded to this review

Dear VT94588, Thank you for the wonderful rating and review! Glad you enjoyed the furnishings of the room, big bathroom, our location and the breakfast. We are looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Swakopmund. Best wishes, The Hotel Zum Kaiser Team

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 24 April 2017

A very pleasant hotel very well located, at walking distance of good restaurants and the shopping area. Professional staff, comfortable rooms, large bathrooms, and a very convenient parking facilities.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank teofiloa674
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Hotel Zum Kaiser, responded to this review

Dear Teofiloa, Thank you for the great rating and review! Glad you enjoyed our location, the comfortable rooms, large bathrooms and the professional service you received. We are looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Swakopmund. Best wishes, The Hotel Zum Kaiser Team

Katy, Texas
Reviewed 20 April 2017

This is a beautifully done and high class hotel. We were greeted by a gentlemen who took it upon himself to kindly wipe down our overly dusty bags with a wet rag and a smile on his face (we didn't even get that service at the upscale Hilton in Windhoek, we just got attitude and dirty looks!). The rooms are...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Hotel Zum Kaiser, responded to this review

Dear Melissa, Thank you for the fantastic rating! Glad you enjoyed our hotel and the friendly service you received! Our apologies that the cleanup of your room were to quick - our staff assumed you checked out. We are looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Namibia! Best wishes, The Hotel Zum Kaiser Team

Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Fantastic we had such a good time!! We had a fab time and will definitely visit you again with my family. The breakfast was excellent and the staff went the extra mile to ensure that our visit was a memorable one!!! Well done to the staff and management of the hotel!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank anjap516
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Hotel Zum Kaiser, responded to this review

Dear Anja, Thank you so much for the excellent rating and review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, the breakfast and the quality of service you received from our staff! We are looking forward to welcome you and your family back during your next visit to Swakopmund! Best wishes, The Hotel Zum Kaiser Team

Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed 10 April 2017

I am sure they can put some shade nets for the parking. The wifi is not user friendly. It's difficult to work on the computer to see e-mails and do business. The room was excellent with enough space. I loved the bathroom.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewdM5429EA
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Hotel Zum Kaiser, responded to this review

Dear Andrew, Thank you for your rating and review. Glad you enjoyed the view, the spacious room and the bathroom. We will look into the wifi issue and your comment of adding shade nets. Looking forward to welcome you back! Best wishes, The Hotel Zum Kaiser Team

Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

Service and just service is the worst thing you can find at this place, One waiter on duty for breakfast (Martin). No menu knowledge, wrong food orders after he said 'Do not feel pity for me, my bones are very strong and I can handle 28 pax at a time'. He cud not handle 15 pax (3 different tables) In...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay-Jay W
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Hotel Zum Kaiser, responded to this review

Dear Jay-Jay, Thank you for your review and informing us of this incident. This is definitely not our standard of service or how we train our staff and are addressing this issue immediately. We are terribly sorry that you had to experience this behavior and sincerely wish that we can show you our real standard of service in the future....

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.4 km away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
308 reviews
0.8 km away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
243 reviews
0.6 km away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#4 of 19 in Swakopmund
331 reviews
0.6 km away
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
#1 of 48 in Swakopmund
432 reviews
0.2 km away
Swakopmund Luxury Suites
Swakopmund Luxury Suites
#2 of 35 in Swakopmund
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly positioned on Sam Nujoma Avenue in the picturesque Swakopmund, the luxurious Hotel Zum Kaiser offers direct access to the beach and the town's vibrant street life, quaint architecture, shopping and fine dining. This exclusive hotel houses 21 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, each featuring a full en-suite bathroom, television, coffee-and tea making facilities, bar fridge, electronic safe and wireless internet. The tastefully decorated hotel offers a combination of Court Yard Suites, Front Facing Suites and 3 family rooms with inter-leading doors. Each of the Front Facing Suites is equipped with a private balcony to enjoy splendid views of the historic town and partial views of the nearby Atlantic seaboard. Uniquely combining modern furnishings with a touch of classic elegance dating from imperial times, the Hotel Zum Kaiser creates a truly authentic and intimate ambiance. Enjoy delectable cuisine at the on-site Bistro Zum Kaiser and sip sun-downers whilst experiencing the spectacular sunsets over the Atlantic from the hotel's idyllic Roof Terrace. The Hotel Zum Kaiser is fully equipped and offers the ideal setting for conferences, banqueting and celebrations. Exciting activities in the area can be booked directly at reception. Let our attentive team welcome you to our kingdom and make you feel like an Emperor. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Zum Kaiser

Address: 4 Sam Nujoma Avenue, Swakopmund 9000, Namibia (Formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel)
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Price Range: R1 559 - R2 230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zum Kaiser 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Zum Kaiser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Zum Kaiser staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea-facing rooms are fun ... when the frequent sea mist isn't obscuring the view.”
478JayH, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“They only have 3-4 floors. Avoid the first floor is you want a quiet room”
  • 106 is facing the street and the school and avove the hotel entrance
  • 106 window is facing the walk way to the restaurant no privacy
  • The batch room is as big as the bed room
VT94588, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room to front with a sea view Our suite was on the busy street”
StefanSwanepoel2, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“our room was on the side-very quiet and pleasent”
fionah628, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“request one of the 3 rooms over the bistro”
Kev-Julie, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$146* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$171
Hotwire.comUS$147
Expedia.comUS$147
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates