We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

African House Resort

Traveller (69)
Pool & Beach (19)
Room & Suite (13)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
African House Resort, a jewel of its kind within the coastal region with 7 superior double rooms only featuring columns and art, sits on a very quiet and peaceful 1.5 acres. African House Resort is immersed in a beautiful tropical garden dotted with tall palms and beautiful plants. There is a special relaxing atmosphere where you will feel spoiled and enjoy the comfort and privacy of a friend's home. The African House, run by an Italian owner who has lived in Africa for many decades, stands out for its attention to detail. The resort fuses love of African culture with Italian taste and tradition.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Room service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Airport transportation
Babysitting
Concierge
Golf Course
Laundry Service
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator in room
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Quaint
HOTEL CLASS
59Reviews
83Photos
3Q+A
10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 48
  • 7
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Fans were excellent at moving around air, however the mosquito netting did stop the air flow. Bathrooms were large and clean. Restaurant food was good, however the menu was larger than what they had on hand. A little out of the way, but
Read more
At times a bad review for a facility comes down to being given the last resort room, the room that has nothing nice well management at AFRICAN HOUSE RESORT IN MALINDI gave me the worst room they could ever give leading to a bad review. The room ZEBRA had a very bad smell
Read more
African house was a stunning surprise. We loved it there. The mixture of the green trees, birds, the antique decorations, everything was delightful. Every one there were so nice to us, we totally enjoyed our time there and worth every penny. If you can, don't doubt about staying
Read more
Perfect getaway.... if you need a quiet place to recollect your thoughts. Popular terms used by staff " feel free".....the fact that it hosts a small number of occupants enables you to enjoy the place and decor....accessibility to the town using the tuk tuk service is just a
Read more
On face value the hotel is lovely and the rooms are very grand, but sadly the service was terrible. I waited an hour as the only one in the restaurant for food, to be told when I asked why it was so that the owner was having a party and the chef was busy, I walked. The
Read more
Response from AfricanHouse, Manager at African House Resort
Responded 23 Apr 2018
Dear James, Thank you for taking time to express your experience here. All this scenario has been put out of context and we are not in anyway defensive. We appreciate where we are corrected. Our staff on arrival as norm take guests' luggage to the room but surprisingly, you opted not other than take it yourself. When you were served with welcome juice, you also declined. When our staff came to take orders for dinner you indicated to the waiter that you needed time to make up your mind and only placed the order while already seated in the restaurant. Being an ala carte restaurant, our policy always is to serve freshly prepared dishes, considerable time was necessary. The chef was attending to other clients who had placed their order earlier on. It is not true that you were the only client in the resort. The management was apologetic to that extend about the whole incident but you opted to cancel your reservation. All said and done, you have every right to complain and we always take our guests' concerns positively to improve our services. We have served hundreds of clients with over 94% satisfaction and will always listen and improve to areas where improvement is needed. We run our establishment from January to December and all guests and seasons are equally important and we do not have selective quality for low season and high season.
Read more
Previous
1234568
Album Categories
All photosTravellerPool & BeachRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play Areas
meine Liege ;-)
The "lizard" room, complete with not one, not two, but three antique lamps doubling as night lig
Il nostro letto
PreviousNext
123
"Lizard or the other room on the first floor of the main building"
"One after the other was beautifully decorated, appointed with a combination of antique furnishings and comfortable seating and beds."
"Ask! All the rooms looks great but we just asked for a nice one and they gave us a beautiful suite."
"All Rooms are excellent but the "Temple of Love", inspired by Greece , is the most unique one."
"Our room was called" Lizard" and excellent situated on the first floor"
PreviousNext
12
PRICE RANGE
US$61 - US$67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
KenyaCoast ProvinceMalindi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing