We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jollyboys International Backpackers

Share
Traveller (172)
Pool & Beach (33)
Traveller (172)
Pool & Beach (33)
Room & Suite (32)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good37%
  • Average11%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Certificate of Excellence
Zambia's original backpacker! Jollyboys is the quintessential backpackers lodge and has been catering to budget travelers since 1995. Our friendly and helpful staff are well versed in up-to-the-minute travel information and regulations throughout Southern Africa. Jollyboys have recently established 'Responsible Tourism' initiatives such as worm farms for food waste, solar power, reduced water use and waste by up-cycling as well as supporting local social enterprise organizations. The Jollyboys restaurant has FREE WiFi, provides meals of exceptional value or try your hand at cooking in the self catering kitchen. We offer FREE daily shuttles to the Victoria Falls and FREE pick ups from Livingstone Airport. Whether you are a long term traveler, on a short weekend break, on honeymoon or traveling with a group volunteering, Jollyboys has something to offer everyone. We look forward to welcoming you to Jollyboys Backpackers and Camp and being part of your Livingstone adventure!
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Shuttle Bus Service
Free Internet
Free Parking
Wheelchair Access
Bar/Lounge
Airport Transportation
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
510 results
Traveller rating
239
187
57
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
239
187
57
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jolly boys meet other travellers shared bathroom free shuttle victoria falls local orphanage bed dorm every morning mosquito net swimming pool book activities nice pool common areas livingstone museum stayed here for two nights visit livingstone sunset cruise
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 510 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Overall we had a very good stay. A bit pricey if you take private room with a bathroom. And internet is very bad as you have to be in the bar. You can't reach it in the room. Atmosphere is exceptional.More

Thank 737draganac
Response from MichZIMZAM, General Manager at Jollyboys International BackpackersResponded 3 days ago

Many thanks for your review ... glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! The WiFi is intentionally only available in the social areas; the bar, restaurant and pool. Reason being is that if it reached the rooms .... we would never see anyone, and the...More

Reviewed 7 October 2018

I stayed at Jollyboys for two nights at the very end of my trip in Zambia, the place is great, my only regret is that I didn't have more time. I have no doubt that I will visit Zambia and stay here again. The hostel...More

Thank Lainy-Loo-Loo
Reviewed 30 September 2018

Stayed here for one night and enjoyed it well. Cozy area and good and reasonably priced food. Nice pool. a bit too bad that the wifi does not work in the room but just at the pool and the bar. This means that you only...More

Thank fnillan
Response from MichZIMZAM, General Manager at Jollyboys International BackpackersResponded 5 October 2018

Many thanks for your review Emelie ... very happy to read how you enjoyed your stay, especially the food as ingredients are VERY expensive in Zambia. The reason we do not have WiFi in the rooms is that nobody would leave their rooms and socialize!...More

Reviewed 19 September 2018

Mini paradise in the middle of Livingstone! I cannot say enough about how amazing the staff members were - they were always going out of their way to help me and others book activities, recommend things to do in town, and even took me to...More

Thank Victoria W
Response from MichZIMZAM, General Manager at Jollyboys International BackpackersResponded 25 September 2018

Many thanks for your review Victoria, we are really pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very lucky, we have a great team, without them Jollyboys just wouldn't be Jollyboys! We wish you all the best for your future...More

Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Really wanted to stay in town this time and soak up what's on offer. Had a great time here, nice food, clean ablutions and plenty of drink on offer. Good fun and easy place to stay in the heart of Livingstone.More

Thank Bilbo_Baggins64
Response from MichZIMZAM, General Manager at Jollyboys International BackpackersResponded 17 September 2018

Hey Bilbo_Baggins - what a great review! We are very happy to hear you had a great time in Livingstone and especially whilst staying with us at Jollyboys! Hopefully your next visit with us will be a 5* experience! We wish you all the best...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
joolsmap
18 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jonny H | Reviewed this property |
No the bar shuts at 11-12. It was quiet when I was there
1
Vote
RajeevM19
21 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jambia1998 | Reviewed this property |
The bar has meals but they don’t come with the stay.
0
Votes
Shamiso D
16 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Ashley B | Reviewed this property |
Yep. It is possible.I stayed at The Backpackers camp. They were super great about responding to all of my lodging questions.
2
Votes
Room Tips
"Try the cheif specials, you won't regret it."
Lainy-Loo-Loo
07 Oct 2018
Read review
"Rooms in the back offer most privacy and least noise from communal area"
JacobB345
12 Aug 2018
Read review
"Loved my room tucked in corner - very peaceful spot."
teafin2018
08 Aug 2018
Read review
"All rooms - from dorms to private en-suite - are excellent; clean, comfortable, well-appointed."
principal2018
28 May 2018
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$28 - US$44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
jollyboys international backpackers hotel livingstone
LOCATION
ZambiaSouthern ProvinceLivingstone
NUMBER OF ROOMS
31
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing