We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

AVANI Victoria Falls Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1 607 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,456: English reviews
Start your review of AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
 Click to rate
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

As I am currently rooming here, I decided to write this review. Overall, this is one of the nicer hotels, but as an avid world traveler, this is a 3.5 star hotel at best. PROS: The outside is pretty lovely. That's how it entices you. The breakfast is decent and their lunch and dinner menus are good. It's nice to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alina M
Caron c, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Firstly allow me to thank you for taking time to send us feedback on your stay with us via TripAdvisor, all feedback from my guests whether positive or negative is very welcoming and for this I am extremely grateful. I truly hope that you have been well looked after by my team, I am so glad that...

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Absolutely beautiful hotel and grounds. Avani and Livingston share the location so you can seamlessly go between restaurants etc. Wild but friendly animals roam the grounds as well. Good food and good people.

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeffhail
Caron c, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Firstly allow me to thank you for taking time to send us feedback on your stay with us via TripAdvisor, all feedback from my guests whether positive or negative is very welcoming and for this I am extremely grateful. I hope that you managed to take many stunning photos of the wild animals roaming the resort and...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Lovely location and beautiful grounds and pool/dining facilities. 16% surcharge plus 10%gratuities added to bill. Rooms were small and dated No fly wires on doors, so had to have doors closed because of marauding monkeys. Poor circulating air conditioning with set temperature made for uncomfortable nights.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ann c
Prezley, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ann, Firstly allow me to thank you for taking time to send us feedback on your stay with us, all feedback from my guests whether positive or negative is very welcoming and for this I am extremely grateful. Thank you kindly for advising us of your wonderful stay. I am very happy to hear that you had a wonderful...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

One of the best hotels, staff and atmosphere in the world! Unbelievable value for your money. We can't say enough about the staff. Food was excellent and a great verity. We will definitely return with more family and/or friends!

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas Rountree J
Prezley, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this review

Dear Thomas, Firstly allow me to thank you for taking time to send us feedback on your stay with us, all feedback from my guests whether positive or negative is very welcoming and for this I am extremely grateful. Thank you kindly for advising us of your wonderful stay. I am very happy to hear that you had a wonderful...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is walking distance to the amazing Victoria Falls. The spacious grounds are well kept and interesting. Zebra, monkeys and Impala share the grounds. It is very children friendly with plenty of room for them to run around. The rooms were clean. The restaurant good but if you want a spoil you can go to the Royal Livingston, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gudrun S
Prezley, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ben, Firstly allow me to thank you for taking time to send us feedback on your stay with us, all feedback from my guests whether positive or negative is very welcoming and for this I am extremely grateful. Thank you kindly for advising us of your wonderful stay. I am very happy to hear that you had a wonderful...

Lusaka, Zambia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Please improve on courtesy of room service and apply same standards for all your customers otherwise my stay was very good. Why insist on cash on selected customers? My suspicion was perhaps the waitress was not being honest.

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clavers2017
Prezley, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Firstly allow me to thank you for taking time to send us feedback on your stay with us via TripAdvisor, all feedback from my guests whether positive or negative is very welcoming and for this I am extremely grateful. Thank you kindly for advising us of your wonderful stay. I am very happy to hear that you...

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Rooms are inferior quality. Flooring dated and uncomfortable. Showers are dated. Bed duvet and pillows are old and lumpy. Food in breakfast is poor quality with too many guests - leading to queues at cook stations. Dinner restaurant has also poor quality food and not enough quantity. Hotel is away from any restaurants so you don't have choice to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jane d
Prezley, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jane, Firstly allow me to thank you for taking time to send us feedback on your stay with us via TripAdvisor, all feedback from my guests whether positive or negative is very welcoming and for this I am extremely grateful. My sincerest apology for the food and rooms experience, this feedback has been escalated directly to my chef and...

Ndola, Zambia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I think it is not a surprise for the majority of travellers that fcilities try to make money on you and only. Be careful when checking in. Stuff members will make every thing to steal your money. Check and recheck rates.

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bakhtiyorm2017
Prezley, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Firstly allow me to thank you for taking time to send us feedback on your stay with us via TripAdvisor, all feedback from my guests whether positive or negative is very welcoming and for this I am extremely grateful. My sincerest apology for the booking problem and can only assure you that your feedback has been escalated...

Nairobi Region, Kenya
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great hotel, we enjoyed our time there for 4 days. Great customer service from reception to restaurant to room service. There was variety of food which was fairly food. The room was excellent in size as we were a family of 5, 2 adults and 3 kids. We loved the separate bath tub and shower areas. The pool was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
Prezley, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ben, Firstly allow me to thank you for taking time to send us feedback on your stay with us via TripAdvisor, all feedback from my guests whether positive or negative is very welcoming and for this I am extremely grateful. Thank you kindly for advising us of your wonderful stay. I am very happy to hear that you had...

Senegal
Reviewed 1 week ago

Location was good, amenities well packaged, room was well kept. View from the room was beautiful, animals where gracing around in the resort. Zebras and springboks could be seen while sitting at pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tumza15
Prezley, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Firstly allow me to thank you for taking time to send us feedback on your stay with us via TripAdvisor, all feedback from my guests whether positive or negative is very welcoming and for this I am extremely grateful. Thank you kindly for advising us of your wonderful stay. I am very happy to hear that you...

1 259 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1113)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (391)
Viewed
View from Room (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (108)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (360)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (146)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
0.6 km away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
2.5 km away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2 186 reviews
6.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 km away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
372 reviews
2.5 km away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1 076 reviews
5.2 km away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Zambezi Sun, located on the edge of the eastern cataract of the Victoria Falls, reflects the richness and diversity of the country’s heritage; capturing the very soul of Africa – unpretentious, fun and welcoming. With its warm, earthy architecture, inspired by an African walled village and simple finishes highlighted in bright mosaics and fabrics as well as intoxicating Zambian artworks and accessories, the Zambezi Sun is set to turn your stay into a memorable experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about AVANI Victoria Falls Resort

Address: Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia (Formerly Zambezi Sun)
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Price Range: R4 094 - R6 213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Victoria Falls Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Victoria Falls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zambezi Sun Livingstone
Zambezi Sun Hotel Livingstone
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Livingstone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livingstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Livingstone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from AVANI Victoria Falls Resort staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from AVANI Victoria Falls Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have a good view of flora and fauna”
Tumza15, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“all rooms seemed well positioned”
SamMac17, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room on groundlevel on the side of the falls”
hgrobler1956, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the ground floor have entry to the pool side and hotels yard”
  • Beautiful colorful sink in the restaurant's bathroom
  • Restaurant's bathroom
Maggie1508, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room was terrible and all others rooms were the same so not sure if they had good rooms”
  • this was in the shower cubicle
  • look at all the insects on the floor
  • shower floor
anila240, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5