We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe

Save
Share
36-40 Sebugwawo Drive Entebbe Road, Entebbe Uganda
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
US$216
View deal
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (234)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (20)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 20/06/29 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
Updated 20/06/29 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 65 hotels in Entebbe
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Entebbe is ideally located on the glistening shores of Lake Victoria a convenient 1km from Entebbe International Airport. Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Entebbe's trendy restaurant, Tides, is a must visit, offering an exciting and truly inviting a la carte menu 7 days a week. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, specialties include fresh Tilapia and Nile Perch. Daily specials are also a firm favorite with locals and tourists alike. After a busy day, the Agama Terrace or Pool Bar with its own special ambience and uninterrupted lake views, the perfect place to kick off a decadent evening out or simply just to relax and enjoy the sunset with an aperitif before dinner. Added attractions include the Entebbe Golf Club, Botanical Gardens, Mabamba Swamps and Uganda Wildlife Education Center. As part of the education center day trips can be arranged to Ngamba Island Chimpanzee Sanctuary, Ssese Island Trips, Fishing trips for Nile Perch - the largest fresh water game fish in the world or sunset cruises for the less adventurous.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Breakfast buffet
Bicycle rental
Free airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Car hire
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Hindi, Portuguese and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
376Reviews12Q+A92Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 109
  • 163
  • 69
  • 19
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Craig A wrote a review Dec 2020
4 contributions
I always put fair reviews but this has been the worse hotel I’ve stayed in and paid so much. The food was dreadful only dared eat fruit after first meal. The staff not friendly the rooms where poorly maintained. Example the shower control was impossible the toilet back up etc. Overall it’s tiered and in need of updating along with staff. Will not be staying there again. Moved mid holiday to the garden hotel different all together
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: There wasn’t any
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Martha Nabaasa, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
Responded 29 Dec 2020
Dear M2596PKcraiga, Thank you for the feedback received, the experiences that you have detailed are most certainly not in keeping with that which the TEAM at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe strive to deliver. Please be assured that the review of your experience will be reviewed with our Management TEAM. We value such feedback from GUESTS, as this makes us immediately aware of any downfalls which we may have and where to focus our TEAM training. For this we are grateful. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us during these difficult times.
Read more
Alinga C wrote a review Oct 2020
Kampala, Uganda1 contribution
Am very very disapointed for the second time!! As a tour company, we are not booking Protea hotel Entebbe anymore. The customer care services are extremely poor! Our client went to the restaurant for dinner at 8pm and waited for over 30minutes without anyone attending to him, after the waitress came, she simply told him that the kitchen is closed🤔 and the manager said they couldn't offer him anything at all even simple bread. That's so annoying given that we are under lockdown and curfew starts at 9pm they made him wait until curfew then said no food. How can you let your client sleep hungry?? Besides they ddn't communicate earlier on what time their kitchen closes!!!! That was very bad, what if someone has alcers???
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Kibugo, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
Responded 23 Oct 2020
Dear AlingaC, Thank you for choosing to to book your client at the Protea Hotel Entebbe and providing your feedback on Trpadvisor. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that your client experienced during his stay. Considering curfew time of 9pm, the restaurant closes early to allow staff travel back home within the allowed time. Please, be advised that operating hours for all hotel facilities including the restaurant are documented in a welcome letter given to GUESTS at check in, same was given to your client. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate you choosing to book with us during these unusual times.
Read more
nachogmf wrote a review Oct 2020
3 contributions
I was not told kitchen was closed at 20h , I went down ta 20:05 and made wait for 20 minutes till the waiter came and told me kitchen is closed. I had a banana in all day so I was quite hungry!! I asked for the manager who came 20 minutes later and told so sorry but he could do nothing about it , not even a sandwich or fruit or anything.So I went to bed quite angry with empty stomach. The service in this hotel which is suppose top be one of the best is worthless and optic. They care nothing about guesses and I reckoned to bring food with you if you stay one night. Avoid problems because the manager is hopeless and care nothing. Hope everyone intending to come to Entebbe reads this mails prior book in this hotel. Other than that Uganda is a beautiful country!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Kibugo, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
Responded 23 Oct 2020
Dear nachogmf, Thank you for for your feedback received following your recent stay with Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe. Indeed it is regrettable that your experience was not a pleasant one, we heartily apologize Your feedback regarding the restaurant service is by no means reflective of of the high standards of service we strive to offer our GUESTS. I confirm therefore that your comments have been followed up and remedial action has been taken to ensure that our GUESTS are not inconvenienced in this way again. Please note all the information regarding the operating time for different hotel facilities was included in the letter handed to you at check in. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us during these unusual times.
Read more
Sameer Pandya wrote a review Mar 2020
Kampala, Uganda46 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I am staying in protea Entebbe which is now a Marriott hotel. The room is full of black ants and they are everywhere including bed. The balcony is full of bird droppings and no one bothers to clean them. As much as the location of the hotel is one of the best in Uganda, the upkeep is the worst.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pemba E, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
Responded 31 Mar 2020
Dear sampandya999, Whilst we sympathize to the frustrations that you are experiencing as a result of the COVID19 government restrictions in place. As stipulated by the Ministry of Health - Uganda you are in 14 day quarantine and you agreed to their conditions when they checked you into our property on the 22/03/2020. One of which being that hotel employees are not permitted access your room for any reason beyond that of medical emergency. As previously requested and now again on this platform that you have elected to use, we now humbly insist that you timeously place your completed meals outside you bedroom door so they may be removed with same efficiency and thus curb any invitation to attract ants. Again, regrettably we are not permitted onto your balcony to clear same. We thank you in advance for your co-cooperation during this challenging time. Thank you, Cymon Charnley General Manager
Read more
Jennifer C wrote a review Mar 2020
Trabuco Canyon, California20 contributions
+1
A beautiful location and close to the airport. We were picked up at the airport around midnight and were greeted by staff when we arrived. Everyone was very friendly. The only issue, was a excursion we had planned was not what we expected when we booked, so decided not to go, but not until after we arrived to the departure destination. I think it was a language issue, but the person at the hotel who set it up for us got a very nice tip from us for something that didn’t work out.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Martha Nabaasa, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
Responded 29 Dec 2020
Dear Jennifer C, Thank you for your feedback received following your recent stay with us. It is always rewarding for the TEAM to receive such positive GUEST feedback, knowing that we have achieved our goal in meeting and exceeding valued GUEST expectations. We trust that next time the excursion will be better planned so that you go back with fond memories of Entebbe. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe in the not too distant future.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$130 - US$255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Protea Hotel Entebbe
LOCATION
UgandaCentral RegionEntebbe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
86
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
Which popular attractions are close to Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe?
Nearby attractions include Uganda Wildlife Conservation Education Centre (3.5 km), Entebbe Botanic Gardens (3.8 km), and Lake Victoria (2.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a spa, and airport transportation.
Is parking available at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe?
Conveniently located restaurants include Thai Garden, Cafe Javas, and Faze 3.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Does Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Portuguese, Hindi, Afrikaans, and Swahili.
Does Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.