Sun Sea Sand Hotel

Sun Sea Sand Hotel

184/22 Phangmuang Sai Goh Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150 Thailand
Traveller (46)
Dining (3)
Room & Suite (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#233 of 408 hotels in Patong
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Value

Looking for a place to stay in Patong? Then look no further than Sun Sea Sand Hotel, a family-friendly hotel that brings the best of Patong to your doorstep.

Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Sun Sea Sand Hotel offer a minibar, air conditioning, and a seating area.

During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including 24 hour front desk, 24 hour check-in, and a concierge. Guests of Sun Sea Sand Hotel are also welcome to enjoy a rooftop pool and an on-site restaurant. For travellers arriving by car, parking is available.

Nearby landmarks such as Bangla Boxing Stadium (0.7 mi) and Patong Mosque (1.4 mi) make Sun Sea Sand Hotel a great place to stay when visiting Patong.

While visiting Patong, you may want to try some crab at one of the nearby restaurants, such as No.6 Restaurant, Baan Rim Pa Patong, or No.6 Restaurant.

During your visit, be sure to check out popular attractions like Patong Beach (0.7 mi), Bangla Road (0.5 mi), and Patong Boxing Stadium (0.9 mi), which are all within walking distance of the hotel.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Sun Sea Sand Hotel as you experience everything Patong has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Boating
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Canoeing
Diving
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Entertainment staff
Nightclub / DJ
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Burmese, Filipino, Hindi and 1 more

Location

184/22 Phangmuang Sai Goh Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150 Thailand
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Phuket Intl Airport
25.2 km
See all flights
Krabi Airport
51Reviews6Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 12
  • 18
  • 11
  • 3
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kelly S wrote a review Feb 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner as I stayed here for a week in January, I would stay here again but only for a few days. And It wouldn’t be my first choice of hotels.
Positives:- The room is beautiful, beds are comfortable and plenty of storage for clothes etc, the hotel itself is generally clean and tidy. Comfortable sun loungers around the pool.
Negatives:- The WiFi didn’t reach our room very well (708) so was very frustrating. Only had air-con in the rooms, so lifts and reception areas uncomfortably hot, staff don’t really acknowledge you unless you ask them a question, pool area is very small with little area to sunbathe and the pool itself is in need of renovation, green coloured water with many tiles missing on the floor of the pool, the areas around the pool are pebble dashed which is very uncomfortable to walk around on. We had room 708 which happened to be ajoined to another room in another hotel (hotels back to back on a street) and we were woken up twice at silly hours of the morning with people in that room screaming, did Inform reception but nothing done about it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KarinaLandim wrote a review Feb 2020
Joao Pessoa, PB
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Good location near restaurants, 7eleven, bike rental, ATM, money exchange, BIG C, Jungceylon shopping, Banzaan Fresh Market and Bangla Boxing Stadium. Spacious room. English channels on TV. I suggest staying on the higher floors, on the 6th floor I didn't smell anything from the market next door, nor loud noise. Nice view from balcony.
Old rooms. Internet is not good. Hard bed. Bad smell in reception. Terrible room service, they didn't change the bed linen for 4 days and the towels was replaced for dirty ones. You must leave $1,000 baht cash deposit. There are better hotels nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jutharat Kwan, Owner at Sun Sea Sand Hotel
Responded 15 Oct 2023
The deposit is noral policy which happen to all hotel now If you dislike the room we can change pls inform the front desk which 24 hrs to assist you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katarina D wrote a review Feb 2020
Belgrade, Serbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a pleasant stay, the room is lovely and the staff is wonderful. Love the complementary beach towels. Be prepared to pay a deposit of 1000baht on your arrival. The location is great, close to the beach and all the main spots. Taking one star off due to problems with brown running water. Complementary bottles of water are given daily so it's not that big of an issue.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Judy E wrote a review Feb 2024
Birmingham, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Generous and friendly treatment of all staff beginning with Jan Blythe greeting you on arrival.
The rooms on certain floors have been maintained to a high standard, rooms are spacious, well lit, well ventilated, comfy,clean, well-maintained plus complimentary water every day.
Television has 50 channels with various languages.
Also the WiFi has been upgraded.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nadya.jaafar wrote a review Dec 2019
Shah Alam, Malaysia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was a bit hard to find for foreigner drivers into Phuket. So look out for the turning in between buildings. Might need to do a few rounds around the block before you can actually find it. Look out for the 99 mart signage in what looks like a wide alley (not really an alley)

You need to provide deposit upon checking in ours was 1,000 baht. Which is refundable.

Its walking distance :
- next door to Baanzan night market
- to shopping mall Jungceylon
- above a convinient store
- nearby massage place

It has no carpark of its own. We parked nearby around the corner. This nook/wide alley is not so busy and quite hidden. This alley alone has more than 3 other hotels.

The pool was decent too. The room furniture was nice.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lex Brit wrote a review Nov 2019
Malaysia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The guy who welcomed us is very hospitable and we were also able to check in early. Our room is exactly as I requested.

Room is just enough for 2 persons. Bedsheet has some stains.

The lady in the reception though is a bit unkind.

Location is very good.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jackie O wrote a review Apr 2019
Europe
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Despite paying in full before arrival for 4 roomsX2 nights, we arrived to find the hotel full and they wanted to move us to another, 30mins away without any prior notice. We picked the hotel for its location and informed them we will be checking in at 7pm but they still sold our rooms! The receptionist that night PANG is one of the most dishonest person I've ever met!

He piled on 1 lie after another leading us on and wasting our time as follows:

1) He promised us 24hr transfers to and from Patong and airport transfers if we agree to move to the Hotel 30mins away, just to get us out of their hotel. Just as we were about to agree he said no, only till midnight. It was Songkran weekend and traffic would've been crazy! We told him to find us a hotel in the same area

2) He then took us to FunDee Hotel 10mins away and showed us a balcony room. When we agreed, he said, the balcony rooms are full. FunDee's owner Eillot who overheard the commotion was kind enough to help us out with our rooms. Elliot said balcony rooms were available, it was PANG who DID NOT WANT TO PAY FOR THEM.

3) After we checked into FunDee Pang said he only paid for 1 night for us and we have to choose between the second night or airport transfers when we have paid everything to them in full! When I yelled at him he threatened not to book the rooms nor the transfers for us! They moved us to yet another hotel for the 2nd night the next morning. But not before sending us an email randomly at 12:01pm to have us check out at noon when we are out in the city.

We were only in Patong for 36 hours after a week long dive trip. We moved 3 hotels all because of the lack of integrity and ethics of this hotel and their staff to honor our payment. We arrived at 7pm on a Friday night and didn't get into our rooms till 11.30pm. I've travelled to 98 countries in 42 years and I've never ever encountered this! This hotel should be shut down for how they take advantage of tourist! It only gives Thailand tourism a bad name. I will be taking this all the way to the tourism board. Trip advisor should stop listing them!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: AVOID This hotel at all cost
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kiwibrent1968 wrote a review Oct 2018
Brisbane
3.0 of 5 bubbles
8 rooms in block c, 3 couples had ongoing air con trouble, 1 couple had to move room as air con could not be fixed. 1 room had no hot water and lumpy bed. Staff at front desk had very little English, and weren't friendly and helpful. Pool and spa had green slime in them. No rain cover connecting elevator to main food restaurant. Some of the lights in the pool were held in by zip ties. Rooms smelt of smoke, seemed to be coming through the air con ducts. Dinner at restaurant for 16 people was a disaster, Incorrect drinks, Slow food, Some peoples meals didn't even arrive, big mistakes with billing, crazy as we were the only people in the restaurant. Singers at the restaurant were very good, breakfast was nice with good variety. Gardens were very nice and well maintained.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: ocean view rooms are nicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deepak Biswas wrote a review Jan 2018
Chennai (Madras), India
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Went there with my family from 18th to 21 December 2017. Location wise took near about 45 mins from Phuket International Airport. However, when I arrived at the destination, I found I have made the right choice as it had an easy access to the main attractions. Bangla road beach, Muay Thay stadium was at a walking distance from the hotel. A street food corner next to the hotel gives an easy access to an array of Thai foods. Coming to the hotel, receptionists were very polite and always served with a smile. Rooms were quite good and clean but certain basic amenities like coffee machine, room slippers, hair dryers were missing. Cleaning and changing were done regularly. The hotel didn't have food facilities apart from coffee/Tea tea self-service in the reception area. One more thing, it has a rooftop swimming pool though was too occupied to use that.
Overall, I would rate the hotel 7.5 out of 10 as some areas need further improvement.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Horlicks88 wrote a review Nov 2017
Canning Vale, Australia
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is smack bang where the shops, food, night life and beach all in walking distance you save alot from the expensive transport. Quite a new hotel and reasonably clean. No kettle in rooms but in lobby kettle and coffee tea is available. Small hotel in a cluster of other hotels it's quiet at night and good Wi-Fi and cold air conditioning. Has a roof top pool with a covered balcony with lots of mattress. Overall good value for the price I paid.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jackie O wrote a tip Apr 2019
Europe19 contributions14 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"AVOID This hotel at all cost"
Read full review
kiwibrent1968 wrote a tip Oct 2018
Brisbane434 contributions185 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"ocean view rooms are nicer"
Read full review
aveshan k wrote a tip Nov 2016
Istanbul, Türkiye72 contributions43 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Budget hotel that will ruin your vacation"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Patong area.
PRICE RANGE
R 287 - R 341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ThailandPhuketKathuPatong
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SUN SEA SAND HOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Patong, Thailand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sun Sea Sand Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sun Sea Sand Hotel?
Nearby attractions include David Jone Fashion (0.3 km), Cashmere Suit Tailor Phuket (0.4 km), and Patong World Fashion (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sun Sea Sand Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Sun Sea Sand Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sun Sea Sand Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Is parking available at Sun Sea Sand Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sun Sea Sand Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bubbles Restaurant, Chou Chou Deli Shop, and I Kroon Cafe & Hotel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sun Sea Sand Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Sun Sea Sand Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Sun Sea Sand Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sun Sea Sand Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Sun Sea Sand Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sun Sea Sand Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Hindi, Thai, Filipino, and Burmese.
All Patong HotelsPatong Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Patong
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire