Mvuli Hotel

Mvuli Hotel

Entrata
Traveller (119)
Room & Suite (34)
Pool & Beach (22)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#16 of 82 hotels in Arusha
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Mvuli Hotel provides a countryside environment within a city. The hotel is surrounded with large lush gardens bordering a beautiful tree plantation and a stream of fresh clear water flowing all year round from the surrounding mountains, providing a unique charm. Mvuli Hotel has 17 spacious rooms with private balconies designed to make your stay comfortable and memorable, all on a single story building. The Mvuli Hotel is situated just 3km from the Arusha business area and 800 meters off the Moshi-Arusha Highway.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Walking tours
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Swahili
210Reviews9Q+A24Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 88
  • 86
  • 24
  • 7
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
wandis2020 wrote a review Apr 2020
109 contributions79 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Tucked away from the noisy roads, my companion and I were very satisfied with the cleanliness and the service at Mvuli. The staff was quite friendly and attentive and provided us with a quiet room to wind down in near the end of my stay in Arusha. We awakened to the crows of nearby chickens, however, that simply added to the ambiance of the experience.

The bed was very comfy and the bathroom was spotless, with great hot water pressure each time we needed to shower.

Poolside was perfect for entertaining guests. The casual dining room served up a plentiful and delicious breakfast buffet.

A van stood by for quick runs into town for errands, however since my friend was driving, he was able to find ample parking in the lot. I would definitely recommend Mvuli.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The pool is just outside the patio doors.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Awadia Ogillo, General Manager at Mvuli Hotel
Responded 25 Sept 2022
Dear wandis2020, Thank you for staying at Mvuli Hotel. We would like to offer our gratitude for your kind review of our property. It is our pleasure to know that you have a pleasant stay with us. Appreciate your comments and we have shared your feedback with our entire team; it is a motivation for us to keep on improving. We certainly cannot wait to welcome you back soon. Yours sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MontyAreI wrote a review Jan 2021
Toronto, Canada23 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent our very first night in Tanzania here and it was a great start to our trip.

My partner and I stayed here as part of our trip to Kilimanjaro, organized by a tour group. We stayed here one night before and one night after. Our room was decently sized with a comfortable bed. The staff were super helpful with everything we needed. When we arrived after Kilimanjaro, we were able to pay a very reasonable fee to have our laundry done.

There is a restaurant attached which served breakfast each morning. The food was relatively good and very affordable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Awadia Ogillo, General Manager at Mvuli Hotel
Responded 05 Mar 2021
Dear MontyArel, Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate the time you took to review us. Thank you very much for appreciating and noticing the little things we do to make our guests happy. A Very Big Thank You from All of Us. We look forward to your visit at Mvuli Hotel in the near future. Best Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brandan S wrote a review Mar 2023
20 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mvuli Hotels is a lovely hotel for the price you pay and it is situated in Arusha. We stayed here for 1 night either side of our 5 day safari. Upon arrival we were greeted with fresh made juice , our bags were carried to our rooms and check in was smooth with a detailed briefing by the receptionist. The grounds of the hotel are well kept and they have a guy doing maintenance everyday. You also have a pool which is nice after a hot day in the sun. You get a balcony in your room if you want to chill outside, and they also have a small TV in the room if you prefer to be inside with the AC. The room is self was to a fairly good standard . Could use some TLC in areas but nothing major, and for the price you can't really complain . I will say the bed is is quite firm so we found this a bit uncomfortable especially when lying on your side. Breakfast was included in our price too , there's some hot food you can have but we just had the fresh fruits, juice and toast during our stay. They definitely need to buy a new toaster as the staff had to do our toast for us due to the handle being broke. Also with the menu I think it's important the meals are labelled so you know if they're vegetarian, vegan and even gluten free for people with dietary requirements / intolerance. We are both Vegan and we managed to eat breakfast, lunch & dinner both times we stayed here with a little bit of explaining to the waiters/ waitresses. Food was good portion size and tasted nice too , and we appreciate they altered the dishes to suit our diet. All the staff were lovely and very friendly , always smiling and happy to help! So overall no major complaints just a bit of modernising possibly to bring it up to a high level.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is available, you definitely need to a good 4x4 if you rent a car to come here as the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Awadia Ogillo, General Manager at Mvuli Hotel
Responded 19 Mar 2023
Dear Brandan S, Thank you very much for your very detailed review and kind rating. We were truly pleased to hear that you enjoyed our service, rooms and food. The entire team is very motivated whenever we receive a positive review. We are very grateful for your excellent recommendations, and we will be sure to work on them. Once again, thank you for your excellent review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon at Mvuli Hotel. With Kind Regards, Jonathan.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian wrote a review Mar 2021
Moshi, Tanzania48 contributions23 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
It was my son's birthday, so we decided to take him to Arusha for the weekend to have a change of scenery from Moshi. Initially, we struggled to find the hotel because you have to navigate some dirt roads to find it. On arrival the hotel looks nice from the outside and we have a friendly welcome.

I phoned a few days earlier to book the room and to ask for a deal for residents. The guy I spoke to on the phone said clearly that it would be 108,000 shillings for the night but we were told by the receptionist that it was 180,000 shillings, which was significantly more. We had no choice but to pay because we were tired by then and didn't want to start trying to look for another hotel, so we reluctantly paid.

The lady asked if we wanted to order dinner and gave us menus to choose from. Please bear in mind that there is nothing else around this hotel, so there really isn't any choice unless you want to drive back into Arusha. We therefore ordered dinner for 7:30pm. I think we were the only guests in the place because it was 'dead'. The food was ok and reasonably priced but the restaurant lacked atmosphere. There was also no alcohol available to order nor any bar! Just a bland room with some tables.

The room (executive suite) was nice enough but luckily it was cool enough not to have to use the AC because it made a terribly loud noise. There is no way anyone could sleep with that noise. The beds were very comfortable with nice clean linen but we were awoken in the middle of the night by barking dogs and in the early hours by gospel singers from a nearby church (Sunday morning).

The bathroom looked fine on the surface but you had to hold the shower head to shower and because there is a gap between the end of the bath and the wall, water literally flooded all over the bathroom floor and into the hallway area. There was also a very bad drain smell.

The breakfast was fairly decent to be fair!

Unfortunately, I don't think we would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Awadia Ogillo, General Manager at Mvuli Hotel
Responded 01 Apr 2021
Sorry that you were not happy with your stay at our hotel. We have taken note of what you have written and will ensure that this does not happen again. About the prize, it is higher than what you paid and you can cross check the price online but because of the low season, they gave you at a discount. I appreciate your review and as I mentioned, we will do all we can to sort the issues out. Also I will really appreciate it if you can give me a call and ask to talk to the Director Awadia. Thanks and Best Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roxanne. wrote a review Jan 2022
4 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The safari company we used booked this hotel on our behalf and we were very pleased. It is a clean, quiet and safe hotel tucked away from hustle of Arusha. We spent almost a full day here because we had finished our safari but had a late night flight the next day. The staff were very friendly and helpful - even helping us to arrange the documentation we needed for the airport and printing/scanning on our behalf. They have an onsite restaurant which was excellent value for money and was open for 3 meals a day. We enjoyed a comfortable, quiet room that overlooked the pool. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you need someone to stop off between travels.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Awadia Ogillo, General Manager at Mvuli Hotel
Responded 11 Jan 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet at Mvuli and you found the team to be friendly and helpful. We love to receive compliments from our guests. We are also glad you enjoyed the services at our restaurant. We hope to see you soon again sometime in the future. Thank you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Akulasthraxus wrote a review Oct 2021
Cedar Park, Texas203 contributions49 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
High level, the Mvuli is a great place to stay, very helpful staff, grounds are nice, food is very good. As you look closer, there are lots that need fixing and polishing, but for the price, it's pretty worth it. I have been traveling for work and need good wifi, the wifi here is not good, but they were willing to bend over backwards to get me a temporary set up so I could work as needed with little to no delay. If you're just doing social, it's fine.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: If you can get it, the executive suite is very nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Awadia Ogillo, General Manager at Mvuli Hotel
Responded 31 Oct 2021
Thank you very much for your amazing review. We strive to reach the highest standard and are continuously improving our services to reach there. Here at Mvuli, we believe in going above and beyond for our guests and we are very happy that you appreciate it. We hope that you can visit us again in the future. Best Regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark S wrote a review Mar 2022
Austin, Texas20 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I stayed at Mvuli Hotel for 3 nights before our safari in Ngorongoro/Serengeti. The hotel was VERY accommodating, especially to our young children (ages 2, 4), and went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. With a pool, playground and cold A/C, it was the perfect place to bide our time before our safari began.

The restaurant was also VERY good (as other reviewers have mentioned). We ate almost every meal there, and again, they were very good about making anything off-menu that our kids were craving that day. We HIGHLY recommend the carrot & ginger soup. Amazingly delicious!

The only negatives we had with our stay was a fairly strong "tepid water" smell from the bathroom (pretty common with older Tanzanian hotels), which we were able to avoid if always kept the door shut with a towel beneath.

Otherwise, we definitely would stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Awadia Ogillo, General Manager at Mvuli Hotel
Responded 04 May 2022
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are very happy that you had a great stay and we appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We love going the extra mile for our guests and we hope we can have you over again at Mvuli. Thank you for informing us about the bathroom, we assure you that we are working on it to ensure our systems will be as good as new. Asante sana na karibu tena!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Don A wrote a review Aug 2021
8 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Mvuli Hotels in Arusha is fantastic and very happy that we stayed here! The staff is incredibly friendly. They have large rooms, strong wifi and hot water for the guests. The outdoor pool is great to have after a long day. The attached restaurant has excellent food options. Both breakfast and dinner is served and they even have beer. The restaurant staff is very sweet and really make you feel welcome. Overall a great place to stay and would come again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Awadia Ogillo, General Manager at Mvuli Hotel
Responded 30 Aug 2021
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this excellent review. We are glad that you had a great stay at Mvuli Hotel. The team always strives to go above and beyond for our guests and we are glad you felt at home! We are all looking forward to your next visit. Asante Sana!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
327nomad wrote a review Feb 2023
United Kingdom12 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I received a very warm welcome from the moment I arrived at Mvuli Hotel following a very, very long flight. The staff were all so kind and helpful. My room was lovely and clean. The swimming pool was a very welcome treat! The on-site restaurant served tasty food ( I had breakfast and dinner there ). The hotel has a very relaxed, chilled vibe…..it really feels like home! Every request I made was happily attended to….from powdered milk in my room to various transfer/taxi needs.
Thank you to Kelvin and the rest of the Mvuli team for making my stays so comfortable and fun! ( yes….I returned for a second night before leaving Arusha ).
Keep up the good work!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Awadia Ogillo, General Manager at Mvuli Hotel
Responded 06 Feb 2023
Dear 327nomad, Thank you for choosing to stay at Mvuli Hotel. We are committed to making our guests stay with us a memorable one and we really appreciate your feedback. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Your kind words mean a lot to everyone in the team, and we are super motivated to continue serving our guests as best as we can. We would love to welcome you back to your home in Mvuli soon. With Kind Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenni G wrote a review Oct 2021
8 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had 2 nites before my Hike, these were amazing the staff incredibly friendly, rooms lovely and peaceful. The pool AMAZING!
I was helped with getting to Arusha, sorting out my SIM card, nothing was to much.
After my hike I was scheduled to stay in Moshi, but contacted Mvuli because I wanted to rest "at home" the kindness I was shown over the next 3 days by ALL the staff was amazing.
Breakfast and restaurant meals are Devine.
A little piece of heaven!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Awadia Ogillo, General Manager at Mvuli Hotel
Responded 31 Oct 2021
Hello Jenni, Hope you are well. Thank you so much for making Mvuli your "home" :) It was a pleasure having you and the entire team is moved by your kind words. We really look forward to having you over again some time in the future. We wish all the very best. The warmest heartfelt regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Arusha area.
PRICE RANGE
R 980 - R 1,942 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
TanzaniaArusha RegionArusha
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MVULI HOTEL - UPDATED 2023 Reviews & Price Comparison (Arusha, Tanzania) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mvuli Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mvuli Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Tanzanite Experience (2.7 km), Moivaro Cultural Tourism Programme (7.2 km), and Utopia safaris (1.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mvuli Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Mvuli Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Mvuli Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Mvuli Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mvuli Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chinese Whispers, Five Chutneys, and Georges Tavern.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mvuli Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Mvuli Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Mvuli Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mvuli Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Swahili.
All Arusha HotelsArusha Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ArushaHotels near Mvuli Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire