Arusha Safari Lodge

Arusha Safari Lodge

notre chambre
Traveller (164)
                  Bedroom in cottage eight
Room & Suite (33)
Main lodge building
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 spa in Arusha
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to Arusha Safari Lodge, a grand private residence set in lush expansive grounds complete with an " Out of Africa" style gazebo summerhouse for afternoon tea and sun downers.Arusha Safari Lodge is a small-secluded luxury haven equipped to cater for discerning travelers and consists of 9 rooms in total, 7 luxurious and spacious guest cottages plus 2 spacious rooms in the main building. The lodge is trucked away on volcanic hills with spectacular views of Mt. Kilimanjaro and Mt. Meru, located only four kilometers out of Arusha.The lodge goes to great lengths to ensure all guests are personally taken care of. all cottages are privately set with views of the swimming pool and lush gardens and furnished with Zanzibar beds. Facilities include a tennis court, a swimming pool, a spa with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, providing pampering at its very best. Massage is available and especially appreciated by guests arriving back from climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Mosquito net
Public wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Safe
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Swahili
154Reviews3Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 81
  • 39
  • 18
  • 12
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Rhonda C wrote a review Aug 2023
14 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Climbing Kilimanjaro was a life changing experience. My trip was enhanced by staying at Arusha Safari Lodge pampered by Faith and her team. Bed was so soft and staff very friendly. Our climbing team stayed there before and after our summit. So appreciated their care and interest in our comfort and safety. The grounds are so beautiful and well kept.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rahul Habbu wrote a review Jan 2024
Mumbai, India116 contributions56 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very good experience, one of the best place to stay in this national park, good ambiance and food , rooms are not that great but you can’t expect more than what it’s available. Friendly and helpful staff . Very good performances at night overall good entertainment at the end.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mambogoddessLondon wrote a review Apr 2012
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania11 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We live on Zanzibar and run a small hotel there, and went for a break in Arusha in march. We were absolutely blown away by the setting of Arusha Safari Lodge, it feels like you are right under Mount Meru and Mount Kilimanjaro is majestic in the distance. My husband and I both loved all the indigenous birds in the garden - from seeing resident Eagle Owl every night, to regularly spotting 2 Red-billed hornbills, 2 Agur buzzards, lots of crested flycatchers and many more. My husband Simon was enthralled with the blue monkey eating fruits in an old Indian plum tree. We felt totally relaxed, enjoying the swimming pool, outstanding food and very friendly staff. It doesn't get better than this! We had planned to stay for the weekend but ended up staying all week because we just didn't want to leave!! Another favourite feature of mine was the gorgeous roll top bath in our cottage and log burning fires.
The location is perfect, with the stunning views and gardens already mentioned, but within easy driving distance of Arusha town - and also safari day trips, such as Tangarire National Park which we visited one day. In Arusha, we loved visiting SHANGA, which also deserves a mention - Shanga is a heartwarming project in Arusha, Tanzania. They employ 50 disabled people in workshops to make the most wonderful lifestyle products, mainly from recycled materials.They also have a restaurant, the River House, and the Shanga Shop.
Arusha Safari Lodge is now run by English couple Becca and Alex, Alex is a chef which accounts for the high standard of cuisine! We wish them all the best, and feel sure that this is now THE place to go in Arusha!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: I think we were in Cottage number 2, which was very spacious and had the gorgeous bath!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grace Simon wrote a review Jan 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The place just needs to shutdown already. the food is expensive for nothing, the water in the shower is dirty and their excuse is the bathrooms haven't been used in a while that's why! Not to mention the electricity problem at night leading to sleeping in darkness. Never been disappointed this much, just find somewhere else to take your money.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
madinadubai wrote a review Feb 2014
Dubai, United Arab Emirates32 contributions104 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in Arusha Safari Lodge twice during our trip to Kili. Our choice was based on TripAdvisor reviews, which, unfortunately for us, by some reason,did not reflect the real picture.

Important: when you are getting a taxi, make sure, your driver knows exactly where he's going, because the lodge is located a bit outside of town. Once you hear ''maybe'' or ''i think''- try to find someone who sounds more confident.

Pool area and its open terrace look quite nice and clean. We enjoyed spending the daytime just chilling out on the sunbeds. I also appreciated the fact, that after lunchtime, the terrace was set up as an afternoon tea unit, where you could enjoy coffee, tea and some bakery.

There are just a few cute lodges, which look like individual cottages. The decoration is very simple and the overall condition definitely need some improvement ( the cushion seats are fully stained, some of the lamps don't work, the mosquito net protecting the sleeping bed is so dirty with nasty stains, there are spider webs, dead flies and dust all around the windows etc.)

In the entire room there was only one electrical outlet, which worked, and it was located against the wall- below the bed. Consequently, if you want to charge something, you have to crawl under the bed to access the plug. This is ridiculous...

Before leaving for Kili climb, we asked the management to store our belongings while we are away. I don't know, where they stored it, but when our bags came back, the clothes inside smelled really bad...

We went for a little stroll to explore the garden surrounding the lodge and were disappointed to realize, that there was a trash in the bushes, piles of plastic bottles and bags just in the open. Overall, it wasn't very pleasant.

All the flaws described above indicate, that the management is either not doing its job or isn't training the staff properly. They could have asked people to pick up the trash, could have verified, that the rooms are clean and tidy...

Talking about the staff training: I realize, that we are in Arusha in the middle of Africa and not in a five star hotel, but still there are basic skills , which we expect from such a highly rated hotel staff. For example, we had lunch three times in the hotel and every time we asked what the soup of the day was, the waiter seemed lost and had to run all across the lodge to the kitchen to ask. Twice, we placed an order for a sandwich only to see the waiter come back half an hour later, telling us, that this sandwich was no longer available for that day. Overall, the staff is friendly, but they just need to be more professional. But this, of course, depends on the quality of the management.

I wasn't impressed by the way the couple is managing the lodge (i saw only woman; her husband only appeared once when he had his breakfast next to us). I read all other reviews and praises and, honestly, I didn't experienced this at all. On the contrary. In the evening of our last day, we learned that our flight back home scheduled next morning was cancelled. We had to make urgently other arrangements and asked the woman managing the lodge for help and advice. She was really not very helpful and only gave us few names of alternative airlines flying to Arusha ( some of them- we found out later- are not even operating anymore) and proposed us to use her cell phone. And she left...

It was 9pm. We had no specific numbers to call, no clue how to deal with such situations in a place like Arusha and no knowledge where to buy the ticket at such a late hour. We were hoping for a management to assist us, but... NOTHING.

We finely managed- completely on our own!- to identify available airline, make a reservation, arrange a taxi driver to take us to Arusha at 10pm where we had to bring cash in order to transfer the money to the airline (because the purchasing an air ticket for the next morning with a credit card was not possible).

Since the moment the woman manager gave us her phone, we didn't see her ever again. We left her phone with the receptionist. Even the next morning, when we checked out, noone from the management was present, and noone required if we resolved our situation.

Overall, with a tighter management, Arusha Safari lodge could be a nice place. In the meantime- average.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BeccaArusha, Owner at Arusha Safari Lodge
Responded 11 Feb 2014
Dear Madina Thanks for your review of Arusha Safari Lodge and we appreciate the initial kind words regarding the pool and the cottages. However we are very upset to hear that you did not in general enjoy your time here, this is so disappointing as we really want all of our guests to be happy. We always take any feedback seriously and we appreciate comments to help improve our lodge. In response to your comments regarding the cleanliness and maintenance of the rooms, we apologise that this was not to your satisfaction, since reading your review, we have discussed the issues raised with the housekeeping staff and will be doing stringent checks to make sure that they clean the windows etc better. We are now approaching low season, this is our annual time where we focus on routine maintenance of the rooms, the issues you have raised will be fixed. In the room that you stayed in there are 3 electrical outlets, had you mentioned it to us that 2 were not working, we would have sent maintenance in to fix them, sorry but we were not aware of this. In response to your comments regarding your clothes smelling after you left luggage with us, I honestly cannot think why this would have happened, we store all luggage in the office where we both work daily, we have the windows open in the day time and it does not smell, maybe the clothes were damp / unclean when you put them in there? we never have had anybody mention this before. The comments about the trash including the picture that you have put on there, I feel are a little misleading, there is certainly not trash all over the lodge, you have taken a photo of our rubbish dump which is not located in the main public area of the lodge. Apologies that you walked into that area but we do need to stress that this is NOT in the main hotel. in Tanzania, waste disposal is a tricky area, most people burn waste, but we find that burning plastic is certainly not good, however a few months ago we found a project which is recycling items and this "trash" issue that you mention is no longer there. We also have a dedicated staff member who picks up any rubbish that is located within the lodge. I am upset to hear that you were not happy with the service that you received, we really never get any complaints about this, actually it is usually the opposite. However the comments you have made about not knowing what the soup is and what is not available etc we have taken onboard and trained the relevant staff members accordingly. I am most upset about the comments you make about us, we are not only the managers of the lodge but 2 of the owners, this is a family business and our livelihood therefore guest satisfaction is incredibly important to us. I am sorry that you feel that in the situation of your flight being cancelled, that I did "nothing" , when in fact I lent you my personal lap top to search for flights, I helped to call airlines, I organized a car for you to take you to the airport (which you then told me to cancel as you wanted to book your own driver), I even offered to move your booking from here to our sister lodge that is located at the airport with no charge so that you could be close to there, but you declined. It was 9pm as you say, so I cannot really think what more I could have done apart from go to the airport myself, I assume this is what you were expecting. It is perfectly understandable that you would have had more contact with me (Rebecca) than my husband as I am responsible for the front of house and my husband is in charge of the kitchen, while I was helping you, he would have been cooking dinner for your self and the other guests. Apologies that I was not there when you checked out the following morning but our working day is usually from 8am until around 9pm so if you checked out very early, sorry that we missed you. Regards Rebecca, Alex and the Arusha Safari Lodge team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ajp1985 wrote a review Jul 2012
1 contribution6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Staying here after a wonderful safari was the most perfect way to complete the whole experience. Safely away from hectic Arusha centre, whilst remaining very close and easy for transport, this hotel really is the most beautiful luxurious get away.
Arriving, the grounds are breath-taking with stunning views over the old polo field to Kili. There’s a beautiful pool, with gorgeous sun loungers and a lovely area to enjoy lunch outside. Our room was stunning, beautifully decorated and spacious with a pretty divine shower!
The setting for dinner was incredible, sitting outside to enjoy the grounds, with individualised menus in little scrolls at our table, and the food.....without exception the best food I’ve had on my 3 month trip. Alex, who manages the hotel with his wife Becca, is an absolutely incredible chef. I don't think I’ve been able to stop thinking about the vanilla panna cotta since eating it!!! And the breakfast too, including some delicious poached eggs from the free range chickens they keep on the grounds.
What really stands out is the exemplary service from Alex and Becca, who really go out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful stay, and all the personal touches that really make you feel you’ve stumbled across something entirely special.
Really would not hesitate to recommend this wonderful hotel and I can’t wait to find an excuse to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jackie U wrote a review Feb 2017
Bristol, United Kingdom11 contributions35 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Friends had recommended this place as it's beautiful and has a nice pool. They have a 20,000tzs 3 course lunch and a swim is included. Which is really reasonable.
Me and a friend went last Sunday. We get charged 50,000tzs each for a 2 course lunch (salad and a small main), then an extra 10,000tzs for a swim!
We would have recommended Arusha Safari Lodge to lots of people as we live here. We won't now however as we felt we got completely ripped off!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Back To Nature with Jo Fox wrote a review Feb 2012
Tarifa, Spain45 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently spent 4 nights at the Arusha Safari Lodge and left feeling rejuvenated, restored and healthy.

The setting is tranquil and beautiful. Sprawling grounds full of bird life and a wide variety of trees against a backdrop of Mount Meru.

The management couple, Rebecca and Alex were really hospitable and nothing was too much trouble. Alex is also the chef and he consistently produced varied and tasty dishes - ask for the banana crumble!

Service all round was excellent with friendly waiting staff always on hand but not intrusive.

Perfect place for a Yoga retreat!

I didnt want to leave. Thank you to Rebecca and Alex and all the staff for a wonderful few days!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie N wrote a review Mar 2016
Grosse Pointe Far107 contributions84 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed there for two nights, fully paid in advance. When we arrived, the manager acted like we didn't have a reservation at all, even though he later admitted that he in fact had a copy of the Jovago reservation, but just had figured that we probably we weren't coming because we arrived later in the evening. When we first checked into our rooms, there were no towels, no toilet paper - literally nothing to make it ready for guests at all. We had to traipse back to the main house in the dark to essentially remind him how to do his job. This type of thing continued all weekend. We constantly had to ask for the most basic elements of our accommodation. The food we were served was dried out, cold and distinctly seemed left over. It was truly a bizarre stay. Then, when we were leaving, this same manager attempted to collect payment for an additional nights' stay. When I explained that the stay was paid in full prior to our arrival - he said, "Well, so you say, but you can't prove it," It was outrageous. I was having difficulty pulling up the email confirmation, due to the lack of wifi - at which point he literally called me a "stubborn woman." To think that this was the manager of a hotel, someone who owes a guest a higher standard of courtesy than the average individual. Anyway, I was finally able to find an email that confirmed the full pre-payment, and he just smirked and said, "Well, there, that was simple, why didn't you just show me that in the first place." No apology for his rudeness. No professional records available of my payment on his end. Crazy, awful, experience.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel/lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MoivaroLodges, Guest Relations Manager at Arusha Safari Lodge
Responded 20 May 2016
Dear Katie, Thank you for staying at Safari Lodge and posting your feedback, which comes as an unpleasant surprise to us. Please accept our deepest apologies, the service in our lodge is very different to what you have described. Months ago we had interim management, yet we were closely monitoring the operation of the lodge. We really appreciate your comments, and once again, please let us assure you, this is not representative of our standards of service or hospitality. Asante sana.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EasyMancTraveller wrote a review Mar 2015
Manchester14 contributions18 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for a night at the start and also one after our Kilimanjaro climb. This is potentially a lovely property but is tired and not very well kept, and by our experience a bit Faulty Towers!
Firstly we booked a double room, but were given a room with 2 single beds. The room was tired and didn't seem particularly clean. To apologise for the room mix up, they offered us complimentary drinks with dinner, but when I asked for some wine - apparently they had none as it had all 'gone bad' ??? The food was ok, but no choice available. The swimming pool was only half full and seemed unusable.
On our return, we got a better room, but there was no hot water for a shower which we desperately needed. We were promised hot water in 20 minutes, which never came - even the next morning! They did find us another room to take a shower in, but even so... The pool was still out of action. The staff and owners seemed friendly and helpful, but this does not make up for the rest of the downfalls. The villas and grounds themselves could be beautiful with a bit of care and attention. I am not sure how this hotel became No 2 on Tripadvisor and we didn't stay elsewhere, so perhaps this is one of the best, but it could be so much better! We were very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Wifi only by the reception area.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
vsorrone asked a question May 2015
East Lansing, Michigan20 contributions2 helpful votes
what is their phone number
Answer from Natalya S
Novosibirsk, Russia69 contributions42 helpful votes
Hi! Sorry, i didn't catch your question... What do you mean?
Vince wrote a tip Aug 2023
Chicago, Illinois3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a poolside room. "
Read full review
nicolas s wrote a tip Sept 2019
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Excellent place"
Read full review
Anne F wrote a tip Jun 2016
Galway, Ireland12 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms exceptionally clean"
Read full review
Katie N wrote a tip Mar 2016
Grosse Pointe Far107 contributions84 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay at a different hotel/lodge"
Read full review
Bradley wrote a tip Jan 2016
London, United Kingdom146 contributions122 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Around the pool is ideal for being sociable."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Arusha area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,771 - R 3,744 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
TanzaniaArusha RegionArusha
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARUSHA SAFARI LODGE - Now R 3 071 (Was R̶ ̶3̶ ̶6̶2̶2̶) - UPDATED 2024 Spa Reviews & Price Comparison (Tanzania) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Arusha Safari Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Arusha Safari Lodge?
Nearby attractions include The Tanzanite Experience (7.8 km), Utopia safaris (4.6 km), and Kilitanzania Pride Tours and Safaris (5.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Arusha Safari Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Arusha Safari Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Arusha Safari Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Arusha Safari Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chinese Whispers, Georges Tavern, and Pablo Picasso Café.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Arusha Safari Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Arusha Safari Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Arusha Safari Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Arusha Safari Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Swahili.
All Arusha HotelsArusha Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ArushaHotels near Arusha Safari Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire