We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lidwala Backpacker Lodge

Save
Share
103 Main Road MR, Ezulwini H106 Eswatini (Swaziland)
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (64)
Room & Suite (18)
Pool & Beach (2)

About

#3 of 7 Speciality lodging in Ezulwini
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Lidwala Lodge offers award winning affordable accommodation in the heart of the Ezulwini valley nestled on the slopes of beautiful Sheba's breast mountain. A range of accommodation is available including double rooms, dorms, self catering private chalets, camping sites and camper van sites.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Airport transportation
Facial treatments
BBQ facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Dining area
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Zulu
129Reviews3Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 67
  • 41
  • 13
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
melusilukhele wrote a review Mar 2021
Ezulwini, Eswatini (Swaziland)1 contribution
Please put signs for the hiking. We got lost with my friend. Other wise your service is excellent. Please also try to improve on internet, And it can be better to have TV with DSTV in the room. The pool was dirty. Please clean it daily.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Lidwala Lodge, General Manager at Lidwala Backpacker Lodge
Responded 25 Mar 2021
Thank you for taking your time to review us, we value your feedback and will keep doing our best to provide an amazing accommodation experience. Thank you very much for and hope you travelled safely from the lodge. Hope to see you again.
Read more
markyparka wrote a review Jan 2020
Cheltenham, United Kingdom198 contributions27 helpful votes
Lovely peaceful place. Very clean and well maintained, efficient, friendly and helpful staff. Stayed here and relaxed for 10 days after long months of travel, it was perfect for that. All sports channels on tv so could watch uk premiership. Recommended.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from GrandTour59918623159, Manager at Lidwala Backpacker Lodge
Responded 17 Jan 2020
thanks for the lovely review Mark. it was a pleasure having you stay with us from the initial 3 nights you booked and eventually extended to ten nights.
Read more
Lyds wrote a review Nov 2019
London, United Kingdom462 contributions79 helpful votes
Pros: Pool Staff friendly Good location Well stocked kitchen Cons: Wifi was very intermittent Lots of noise in the mornings, we were awake by 06:30 every morning because of activity! Dorm is quite tight and gets very hot at night. Tip: only do the hike they recommend if you’re really fit! It’s a steady uphill climb for an hour or so and don’t go if it’s raining or has just rained as it will be very slippy! Go to Mlilwane and hike the Hippo route! It’s great!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from GrandTour59918623159, Manager at Lidwala Backpacker Lodge
Responded 27 Nov 2019
thank you for the review. Thought we do have a noise policy in place sometimes guests wake up earlier than most for whatever reason but we do try to keep an eye for it. Sheba's breast hiking trail is challenging but i hope the view at the top was worth it.
Read more
Lisbet T wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
We loved the place - cosy, pretty, great people and hospitality. But the restaurant was a disaster. The breakfast was expensive and not worth the very long wait. Bring your own breakfast, then everything is great.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from GrandTour59918623159, Manager at Lidwala Backpacker Lodge
Responded 21 Nov 2019
thank you for the review Lisbet. the restaurant has not worked out the way we were promised by the owners so we shall be providing from now on.
Read more
Robert-DutCHie wrote a review Oct 2019
10 contributions12 helpful votes
We had a good stay at this beuatifil park-like location. Our two appartments were back to back and nicely decorated. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Our teenagers enjoyed the contact with the other guests on the main terrace.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LidwalaLodge, Manager at Lidwala Backpacker Lodge
Responded 11 Nov 2019
thank you for your review Robert. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Lidwala.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$16 - US$54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Eswatini (Swaziland)Hhohho DistrictEzulwini
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lidwala Backpacker Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Lidwala Backpacker Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary (6.5 km), Mantenga Nature Reserve (2.2 km), and Royal Swazi Spa (2.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lidwala Backpacker Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Lidwala Backpacker Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Lidwala Backpacker Lodge?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Lidwala Backpacker Lodge?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lidwala Backpacker Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include eDladleni Swazi Restaurant, Luxy garden restaurant, and Planters Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lidwala Backpacker Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Lidwala Backpacker Lodge have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Lidwala Backpacker Lodge offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lidwala Backpacker Lodge?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lidwala Backpacker Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Zulu.
Are there any historical sites close to Lidwala Backpacker Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Swaziland Islamic Centre (3.0 km).