Ivy Beach Resort
Message from Tripadvisor:This business is temporarily closed until 2024/12/31

Ivy Beach Resort

175 Temple Junction Boossa, Galle 80000 Sri Lanka
Traveller (20)
Pool & Beach (15)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 3 resorts in Galle
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located between the white sand beach of the aqua blue Indian ocean and the Galle - Colombo main road with an exclusive access to the beach. 10 bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, a restaurant, a private pool and a garden overlooking the ocean. Property is available for functions, events, lodging and all meals can be arranged at the property. (Previously known Old Lady At the Sea) A beautiful beachfront villa in south coast of Sri Lanka. Perfect for family vacations or Romantic getaways.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Indoor play area for children
Kids pool
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Car hire
Taxi service
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Mosquito net
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Washing machine
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Housekeeping
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Budget
Languages Spoken
English

Location

175 Temple Junction Boossa, Galle 80000 Sri Lanka
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 51 out of 100
51
Koggala Airport
20.5 km
See all flights
Mawella Lagoon Airport
58.1 km
See all flights
9Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Priyam2787 wrote a review Aug 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Ivy beach resort is nestled on a tiny beach strip in Galle. We visited as 7 couples and a child and booked the entire place.
The rooms are spacious, comfortable and have basic amenities. The pool is clean and perfect for a big group. The villa is on the beach but be wary that the ocean is rough so you can have a great time at the beach hearing the waves and taking a quick dip but it’s not conducive to swimming. The villa has an adorable beachfront setup for meals and the food is par excellence.

But the highlight of the resort was the staff! There is nothing that’s too much for them. Special meal requests, runs to grocery stores for forgotten items, midnight visits for minor electrical issues - they help you with anything and everything and with a big smile. Diluj, the manager was just fabulous. He kept a check on every guest, took care of our individual needs and came up with his own ( very very good ) suggestions. I had a toddler wit me and he diligently checked on her prior to every meal to make sure she was taken care of.

Our host had arranged massages by the beachfront and a DJ and since we had booked out the whole place it was perfect for our a weekend getaway.

Great for groups of 14-20 who want to get away from the world and enjoy a small piece of heaven.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SrkPoorna wrote a review Nov 2021
Colombo, Sri Lanka
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Literally a stone's throw away from the beach. This is an excellent place to stay. The service was astonishing. The staff members are customer-friendly, Especially Mr. Dulaj Madushan who gave us stunning service and inside information about the surrounding area. Would like to visit again soon. Thank you very much!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ShivajiAtre wrote a review Mar 2024
Pune, India
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
To start with Malith is an excellent host with a fantastic team of amazing people who cater to our needs and requirements. His manager, Isuru was always available at the property and very attentive and welcoming. His staff is also very efficient and helping. especially Sanjay was always there with us whenever required. everything person right from the watchman is genuine. Sanjay also teached us how to eat crab and helped with cutting it.
The staff helped us with authentic information and all support. They also helped us in understanding what food to order and how much to order.
Now about the property. It was a dream come true. I had travelled with my parents and family and the property was perfect for all age groups. It is right on the beach. Privacy is very well maintained yet everyone is together. It is also a very safe place to stay. Would highly recommend this property to anyone who wants to spend a nice quality time with family or friends.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dineshi H wrote a review Apr 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Very dissapointing! Beautiful place by the beach but they did not serve enough food for 22 pax. Our 2 night stay was horrible because of their meals. They couldn't serve breakfast as they promised(string hoppers)

And their charges are really high for ala carte without giving enough proportions for 22 people. We were given fried rice saying it's nasigoreng for dinner.

Their Western menu is 975/- pp for which they only gave 2 slices of bread for 1 person.
Only 1 water bottle for each double and triple rooms for 2 nights so they can charge extra for more.
ACs are not working in many rooms. Old place needs repairs

However, the place is beautiful, nice pool and rooms were alright even though they're smaller than shown in the pictures.
They need to learn how to serve meals in correct proportions for ala carte ! Mismanaged place!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ivy Beach resort, Owner at Ivy Beach Resort
Responded 07 May 2021
For the breakfast we had 5 options (English breakfast/ milk rice / pol rotti / rice and curry / string hoppers) and they wanted the only unavailable option. and it was unavailable due to the vacation season at that time (Sinhala and Tamil new year). Thank you for your understanding regarding the situation. No one ever provides refills for la carte options and it is the first time we have been asked for refills for a la carte menu. We have buffet options available as well. Sorry for your budgeting issues regarding the prices as you were not able to buy the 2200 per person buffet option. The a la carte menu price for western menu is 975/- per person is true but even after the 50% discounted rate due to the pandemic situation, you were given an additional special discount making the breakfast for the whole pack free of charge. Please refer the bill for your confusion. We have provided the refills of the bread as well. Sorry if that is not enough as well. We have provided one 1 liter water bottle per room per night and sorry if that cause an inconvenience as well because we are having a hard time facing the covid-19 situation. This property is recently purchased and completely renovated. But we had to close down the premises for about six months due to the pandemic situation. We apologize for any inconvenience caused. We hope to make it better for everyone in the future. Thank you for the help you have rendered to us in this pandemic situation and putting the first review a negative one.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yasiru Jayathilaka wrote a review 02 Jun
Nugegoda, Sri Lanka
5.0 of 5 bubbles
IVY Beach Resort is the perfect place to spend a vacation, whether with friends or family. From the moment we arrived, the resort's staff provided friendly and attentive service, making us feel completely at home. Our beachfront villa came with a private pool and offered luxurious comfort, stunning views, and direct beach access. The highlight was undoubtedly the exceptional customer service that made our relaxing escape truly special. Highly recommend IVY Beach Resort for a perfect beach getaway with loved ones!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shafeer Z wrote a review Feb 2024
Mawanella, Sri Lanka
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This villa accommodate 22 pax. Double and Triple sharing rooms are available. Our Stay was BB and booked whole villa. Local breakfast was up to satisfactory level. Milk Rice was so yummy. But bread was not so fresh. Staff members are very kind so helpfully, I should specifically mention that. They arranged a bond fire as per request near beach. Over all this stay was worth the price.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Check the parking facility before you book.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beacon Holidays wrote a review Nov 2021
Colombo, Sri Lanka
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hi. Our clients had a wonderful time! We highly recommend the Resort & the area. It was perfect for not being crowded on the beach w/ Covid concerns. The staff offers amazing customer service and is greatly appreciated. Thank you again for all of your help planning our tour smoothly. It's always a pleasure to work with the Ivy Beach Resort.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ocean View rooms were nice.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sangeeth W wrote a review Nov 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The best of best , The staff was very friendly and attentive. The rooms are very comfy, We had a amazing time and thank you very much to the team. We’ll be back definitely . The food was really good. Thank you very much !
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dhanud R wrote a review Nov 2021
Moratuwa, Sri Lanka
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Such a wonderful villa! The view was even more amazing at sunset! We had a very nice stay. There are good shots for a photographer.
You can easily go to the beach.
Perfect for a day outing. Great Friendly Flexible Staff.
Thank you for the great hospitality. Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms are perfect in every way
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Shafeer Z wrote a tip Feb 2024
Mawanella, Sri Lanka75 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check the parking facility before you book."
Read full review
Beacon Holidays wrote a tip Nov 2021
Colombo, Sri Lanka2 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ocean View rooms were nice."
Read full review
Dhanud R wrote a tip Nov 2021
Moratuwa, Sri Lanka5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms are perfect in every way"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Galle area.
PRICE RANGE
R 8,395 - R 9,348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceGalle DistrictGalle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

IVY BEACH RESORT - Reviews & Price Comparison (Galle, Sri Lanka)

Frequently Asked Questions about Ivy Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Ivy Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Forbes Gems & Jewellers (6.0 km), Lihiniya Gems (7.3 km), and Cara Jewellers (7.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ivy Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Ivy Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Ivy Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Ivy Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ivy Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Church Street Gourmet, Cafe 82, and Luuma Beach.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ivy Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Ivy Beach Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Ivy Beach Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Ivy Beach Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Galle Fort (6.6 km), Old Town of Galle and its Fortifications (7.2 km), and Galle Fort Clock Tower (7.0 km).
Does Ivy Beach Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Ivy Beach Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Galle HotelsGalle Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GalleHotels near Ivy Beach Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire