Ginganga Lodge

Ginganga Lodge

Weeravila Vaththa, No. 41/16 Sri Priyarathana Mawatha Bope, Galle 80000 Sri Lanka
Traveller (334)
Room & Suite (59)
Jumbo prawns
Dining (30)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#1 of 44 lodges in Galle
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Massage
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
130Reviews2Q+A14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 123
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
mariastone1989 wrote a review Jan 2020
Horsham, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My fiancé and I booked a stay here for 4 out of 8 nights we were in Sri Lanka, but ended up staying an extra 2 as we didn’t want to leave!
This is a real hidden gem of a hotel. The immediate location is remote- nestled amongst greenery next to the river, but you’re only a 10 minute tuk tuk ride from Galle, and 20 mins from Unawatuna. The hotel even has its own tuk tuk and you can book a ride whenever you like.
There are only 5 rooms, and as such the service feels so personal. All the staff are amazing, Indeka the owner is so friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble!
The decor and attention to detail is really something to behold, a perfect combination between rustic and luxury. We particularly enjoyed the outdoor bathroom, and the air con in the room was super efficient!
The food was incredible... Traditional Sri Lankan breakfast was delightful, and the dinners and lunch we had were outstanding (we are massive foodies so that was very important!!)
I could literally go on forever about how amazing this place is!
Thank you so much Indeka and co, we’ll definitely be back!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from StephenO1248, Owner at Ginganga Lodge
Responded 31 Jan 2020
So glad you could come, that you stayed, and hope you come back :-)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
petesaund wrote a review Mar 2023
United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our second lengthy stay at Ginganga Lodge having stayed there prior to the pandemic in 2020 and we were unsure what to expect - would the previous high standards of the accommodation and cuisine still exist in spite of the challenges that the hospitality industry faced.The reviews suggested so and we were relieved that it was the case for us as well.It felt like home and the irrepressible Indika and his delightful wife Dineshi made us so welcome and treated us like family.
Indika in the meantime had become an avid collector of figurative antique pieces, some with Hindu imagery,animal and human, from the north of country.In some ways you felt you were in a small scale museum but all the artefacts were tasteful and strategically located throughout the common area to create a striking ambiance.
Our deluxe room also had added collector's items and had been maintained as well
He had retained his staff during the pandemic and their sense of loyalty and positivity was apparent and only enhanced our stay as they were so attentive and respectful to our needs.A special thanks to.Mahir who ably manages in absence of Indika
As the lodge is located directly on Mahamodara River we had the opportunity to do two sunrise boat bird watching safaris with Krishan - a very convenient few minutes walk to the boat.
You shared the lodge with the ever present water monitor lizards and purple face leaf monkeys not to mention the different bird songs emanating form everywhere corner of the property.
The heliconia plants in their array of shapes and colour (see images )are ever present not to mention torch ginger or porcelain rose and the stunning red bamboo in this verdant jungle paradise
Fresh juice,fresh fruit and the eponymous Sri Lankan breakfast with egg hopper coconut sambol and dahl curry are the mainstay of breakfast.
As dinner can be ordered in advance we chose to eat in three nights during our two week stay - we had jumbo prawns from fish market one evening and Sri Lankan curries another
Indika is an engaging passionate dynamic and hard working as well as a humble hands on owner who is ever present and places a high priority on first class service.
As Ginganga Lodge is 20 mins away from Galle Fort he is always available at anytime of the day within reason to drive you in his own Tuk Tuk back and forth and even to Unawatuna Mirissa and Hikkadawa and his fare is very reasonable
It is not surprising that it is rated 1* on trip advisor and it is close enough to Galle Fort but yet remains a quiet unspoilt oasis
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ginganga Lodge, Owner at Ginganga Lodge
Responded 26 Oct 2023
Thank you so much!! So good to have had you stay again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samantha D wrote a review Jan 2024
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at Ginganga Lodge exceeded all expectations. Indika and his team are just fantastic, the quality of the Lodge and rooms are outstanding.
When you arrive you step into an oasis of calm, you know you are in a luxury hotel. The attention to detail in the decoration is extremely high and yet it still feels authentically Sri Lankan, very cleverly done.
There are only 6 rooms, all individual bungalows set well away from each other. The terrace and pool and gardens are great for just relaxing in the shade or sipping cocktails.
We ate dinner here two nights and it was some of the best food we had locally, try it.
Breakfast was truly excellent, fresh juice, beautiful platter of fresh fruit, traditional curd and then whatever else you wanted.
On top of all this Indika sorted out all of our local travel needs for a very reasonable price as well as our transfers. The Lodge is a bit too far to walk into the Fort area but the cost there and back in a tuk tuk til is only about £3.50 so well worth it for the quiet location.
The Lodge was spotlessly clean and the room was serviced to a very high standard every day.
Honestly don’t look any further just stay here it’s amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ginganga Lodge, Owner at Ginganga Lodge
Responded 14 Jan 2024
Thank you so much for this glowing review! I’m delighted you had such a great experience. Do come again!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon wrote a review Aug 2023
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Perfect boutique hotel, hidden in the middle of a wooded area, you step into paradise, the rooms are immaculate, every little detail though of, decorated with taste, with local artifacts. You can see the owner Indika pours his heart into it and so does all the staff, everyone friendly and attentive, food is delicious, pool great size and surroundings are beautiful in the middle of nature.
We were sorry to leave this pampering place. But will definitely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ginganga Lodge, Owner at Ginganga Lodge
Responded 26 Oct 2023
Thank you 🙏
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah C wrote a review Feb 2022
Beirut, Lebanon
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My mom and I stayed here in 2018 and planned our trip around their availability this trip as we had been dreaming of coming back to this place the last 2 years. This time we stayed in the newly built rice paddy villa, a gorgeous suite/bungalow with 2 private patios (and soon to be private pool). The beautiful decor, style and being surrounded by tree with monkeys running around is truly magical. It's a super short tuk tuk ride in Galle Fort for happy hours and shopping and Indika the owner is always around to take you. Thank you Indika, Dineshi and staff we hope to be back next year!

Also to note the hotel arranges PCRs on site, affordable transport around the island etc,. so feel free to just book and really they can help organize everything as you lounge by the pool. Super relaxing and beautiful place to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: All the room are gorgeous
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stephen Oliver, Owner at Ginganga Lodge
Responded 08 Dec 2023
Dear Sarah This is a very late response! I apologise for that. Thanks for the review and I do hope you come again some time. All best
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephnie M wrote a review Mar 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Had the worst experience in our entire life!! We made the booking 1 month back and explained Indika our requirement to have a private party and to have the entire villa to our self due to Covid situation in our country. and he *agreed* to provide everything we asked. Indika was very nice to us over the phone and we were more than happy to select this place and this whole mess happened when we went there.

Even though we paid for the entire villa we were shocked to see many outsiders roaming around the place. unfortunately they had given out the place for a photo shoot the 1st day and there were about 10 people around the place till 4pm. and when we complained, Indika had some excuse to say and then we said Okai. The next day morning same scenario another photo shoot from early morning and then around 11am the whole restaurant and the pool area was filled with outsiders way before our check out time. We had no privacy at all during the whole stay of ours and was treated so badly.

Worst part was after we complained, the owners reaction. Had a huge argument and almost had a fight infront of everyone. He even tried to hit one of our friends. Had no courtesy even to apologies. Treated us so badly. Out of no where even his wife came and started shouting without accepting their falt for giving out the place for outsiders when we paid for the “entire villa”.

Don’t EVER book this place if you are looking for a “private villa”. THIS IS NOT. They don’t even understand the concept of what a private villa means ! They don’t even know what customer service means! It was a total nightmare for us. Very sad and very disappointing. Eventually we left even without having lunch.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Will Oliver, Guest Services / Front Office at Ginganga Lodge
Responded 23 Mar 2021
We are sorry you had a bad experience and we are investigating what happened. We should, however, point out that this is a hotel, NOT a villa, and therefore it is normal that other guests are present in the hotel. Nonetheless we will investigate the matter.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marino B wrote a review Oct 2021
Toronto, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you're planning to go to Galle,Sri Lanka this should be on your list when it comes to accommodation. Owner of the resort is so professional and friendly that you will have a feeling that you know him for a long time. Rooms are beautifully decorated, pool is amazing and breakfast is uh-la-la. Make sure to ask them to put Lion beer in a fridge in advance because you will need it while seating on a terrace and watching monkeys playing in a jungle.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Stay away from the beach restaurants and ask a host to give you some good references where to...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark T wrote a review Feb 2024
Madeira, Portugal
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
An absolutely superb well run establishment, excellent amenities in a cared for environment, top to bottom this is without doubt a great asset to Galle area providing tourists like ourselves with an class above accommodation & attention to detail, room was beautiful & quirky with everything required for a week long stay, no tv but no loss, quietest possible nights sleep on a very comfortable bed, sexy outside bathroom & shower area & probably the best shower gel I’ve had in any hotel anywhere!
Now the food, breakfast is a delight plenty of choice for all tastes, & the chef is on duty all day & evening so top quality food available at most times, probably should have eaten here a bit more as other guests told us dishes they had had were brilliant, not overly expensive just a fare price to quality/ quantity ratio as was our whole stay.
The area around is a swamp, now don’t be put off as this is the over riding beauty of it, wildlife everywhere & the river at the bottom of the garden - well, just book a spotting cruise on it & see for yourself.

All in all a class act, want Galle area accommodation, you’ve just found it go!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Boss has a tuk tuk & is happy to ferry in to Galle centre for a very small charge. Plenty of...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ginganga Lodge, Owner at Ginganga Lodge
Responded 21 Feb 2024
We’re so glad you enjoyed it!! Yes, chef does a great job 😊
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
katykitt wrote a review Feb 2024
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Can’t think of single thing to fault about this place. The room (more like a villa) we stayed in was stunning with an amazing outdoor bathroom. The staff are so lovely and nothing is a problem. Indika (the owner) is often around and is happy to organise very reasonable tuk tuks to/from town (or further…we did a bike ride and Indika took us there and picked us up. The food was delivered and the presentation was always immaculate. I also took the kayak out for a quick paddle down the river. Although I didn’t see much wildlife, it was so peaceful. Watching monkeys play in the trees as I relaxed by the gorgeous pool with a cold drink is something that will remain me for a long time.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book the rice paddy room if it is available
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda T wrote a review Feb 2024
Arco da Calheta, Portugal
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the greeting on arrival to the leaving our experience was spectacular.
Clean, well run and operated with such a charming team.
Very well prepared and cooked food.
Excellent room, in size and discrete location, facilities and amenities. ( akin to western standards)
Very clean and operated pool, although a few extra sun beds on the grassed area over looking the river could be considered as not everyone wishes to sit regimented around the pool deck.
We so enjoyed the natural feel in the plantation and seeing such close up wildlife ( many monkeys and monitor lizards) was a treasure to behold.
Certainly the best of our month long tour in Sri Lanka.
The early morning boat safari and cooking demo were notable memories.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Rice paddy room is divine !😉
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ginganga Lodge, Owner at Ginganga Lodge
Responded 22 Feb 2024
Thank you so much for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us! And thanks also for the constructive feedback. We always strive to improve.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Clive D asked a question Jun 2020
Ipswich, United Kingdom120 contributions76 helpful votes
How far is the beach away? Is the sea rough?
Answer from Will O
Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Belgium
The beach can be reached in about 15 minutes by TukTuk. The conditions can vary but in general they aren't swimmable, due to it being an unsheltered area. Hope this helps!
Answer from Will O
Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Belgium
Hi Jacquelin, All our rooms have outdoor showers, but you don't need to worry about the monkeys, you may see a Gecko, but that's about it. The bathrooms have very high walls, so you are only "missing" the ceiling. Regards, Will
karenponholiday wrote a tip May 2024
Chepstow, United Kingdom173 contributions115 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are no coffee and tea making facilities in the room .. and perhaps buy a mobile package from town for a touch over 1000 Srilankan rupees for WiFi 28 days (£3 )"
Read full review
Mark T wrote a tip Feb 2024
Madeira, Portugal37 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Boss has a tuk tuk & is happy to ferry in to Galle centre for a very small charge. Plenty of secure parking on site."
Read full review
Amanda T wrote a tip Feb 2024
Arco da Calheta, Portugal302 contributions151 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rice paddy room is divine !😉"
Read full review
katykitt wrote a tip Feb 2024
35 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book the rice paddy room if it is available"
Read full review
Laura wrote a tip Apr 2023
San Francisco, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Better to have someone from the inn fetch you from the train rather then hire someone you need to haggle with after a long ride from Colombo"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Galle area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,571 - R 2,228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceGalle DistrictGalle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GINGANGA LODGE - Reviews & Price Comparison (Galle, Sri Lanka)

Frequently Asked Questions about Ginganga Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Ginganga Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Forbes Gems & Jewellers (3.3 km), Sooriya Weaving (7.3 km), and Lihiniya Gems (4.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ginganga Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Ginganga Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ginganga Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ginganga Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Church Street Gourmet, Cafe 82, and Luuma Beach.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ginganga Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Ginganga Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Ginganga Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Ginganga Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ginganga Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Ginganga Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Galle Fort (4.0 km), Old Town of Galle and its Fortifications (4.6 km), and Galle Fort Clock Tower (4.4 km).
Is Ginganga Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Galle HotelsGalle Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GalleHotels near Ginganga Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire