Villa Sonia Ubud

Villa Sonia Ubud

Jl. Nyuh Bojog, Banjar Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571 Indonesia
Traveller (575)
Panorama of the Deluxe Room at the Villa Sonia
360
Panoramas (17)
Chambre deluxe n° 2
Room & Suite (290)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#16 of 267 villas in Ubud
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Indonesian
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Airport transportation
Spa
24-hour security
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites

Location

Jl. Nyuh Bojog, Banjar Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571 Indonesia
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 90 out of 100
90
Bali Ngurah Rai Airport
27.1 km
See all flights
555Reviews8Q+A76Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 380
  • 140
  • 23
  • 9
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
LightPacker224890 wrote a review Jun 2020
Guildford, United Kingdom
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 4 nights in a Suite with Garden View room. It was located next to the main swimming pool and set behind tropical plants and trees with a small path leading into its outdoor terraced area and kitchen. It featured a seating area next to a small pond and fountain that was turned off every night by staff. On arrival we were greeted with fruit juice and fruit and shown to the room. The room features a large bed with mosquito net, large windows and TV. The bathroom had a large bath indoors which we didn't use and an amazing secluded outdoor shower. The hotel itself is quiet with only a few people around the pool at any given time. We ate dinner on the first night at the hotel and had cocktails and their vegan burgers which were brilliant. The restaurant is located above the pool and looks out over the pool and jungle. Breakfast was also great and had a good range of options to start the day. The hotels location is the only downside as in the evenings when the hotel shuttle isn't running, your only option is to get a taxi or walk through a tight motorcycle trail next to the monkey sanctuary which is dangerous and I wouldn't recommend. It was probably the best place we stayed in Bali and I would stay here again without a doubt.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Villa Sonia Ubud, General Manager at Villa Sonia Ubud
Responded 12 Jan 2021
Dear LightPacker224890, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Villa Sonia Ubud. We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. We are grateful for your affirmation of the hotel’s service and facilities. We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Sonia Ubud in the near future. Regards Buana and Villa Sonia Team manager@villasoniaubud.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jasmine W wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is so special! Myself and my partner loved our four night stay here, our room was beautiful and clean and the air conditioning worked perfectly. At night the staff always came to lay out stuff to prevent mozzies which was great as we weren’t bitten.

The pool areas are beautiful and so tranquil and quite. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful.

The floating breakfast was a lovely touch and was so cheap!

Location is great to.

Only one pointer- book trips etc outside of the hotel as we found them a lot cheaper.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BU4N4, Manajer Umum at Villa Sonia Ubud
Responded 12 Jan 2020
Dear Wanderer624898, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Villa Sonia Ubud. We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. We are grateful for your affirmation of the hotel’s service and facilities. We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Sonia Ubud in the near future. Regards Buana and Villa Sonia Team manager@villasoniaubud.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dimi H wrote a review Jan 2020
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Whatever you do book a suite with a garden view at Villa Sonia, you will not regret it. The pool, the breakfast, the gardens and the staff were amazing! You have to try the floating breakfast and massage. The location was perfect, close to monkey forest and it was nice and quiet. Everything was so clean and pretty. The restaurant also accomodates to anyone with a dietry requirements including Vegan which was a plus for us. We will definitely be booking here again. It was just beautiful!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BU4N4, Manajer Umum at Villa Sonia Ubud
Responded 15 Jan 2020
Dear DimiH607, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Villa Sonia Ubud. We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. We are grateful for your affirmation of the hotel’s service and facilities. We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Sonia Ubud in the near future. Regards Buana and Villa Sonia Team manager@villasoniaubud.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
marwabay91 wrote a review Jan 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Only good thing about this place is the way it looks and the pool. Staff werent very helpful, when we needed a taxi, they didnt guide us how to get one, and theres literally a taxi service right outside!
Breakfast buffet, only a few options, you're outside so its hot and the flies and mozzies everywhere, was just so uncomfortable we couldn't even sit and eat.

The door on our room wouldnt lock, you could just push it open, there was lizards in our room (fair enough cause of the location) the aircon was shocking, when they said they "fixed" it, I'm not sure what they did as we had trouble sleeping from the heat. Overall, would never stay there again and wouldnt reccomend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BU4N4, Manajer Umum at Villa Sonia Ubud
Responded 06 Jan 2020
Dear marwabay91, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Villa Sonia Ubud. We are pleased to note that you are not happy staying with us, your room is number #17. after we investigate we notice that you complaining about the Aircon only. We check the Aircon was normal function and also we ask feedback who stays in your room (Stay 7 nights right now)no problem at all. we check the door also can be lock properly. We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Sonia Ubud in the near future. Regards Buana and Villa Sonia Team manager@villasoniaubud.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
miabell wrote a review Nov 2022
Kingston Beach, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed here before in the past and booked 8 days. Was looking forwards to staying here again but it was not the same. Still beautiful villas and rooms and beautiful gardens and pool but everything else was a complete failure. First they no longer do a shuttle run into Ubud centre. My room was not available for my first night. So put in an alternative one which I was happy with. Just not happy that because I was going to be moved the next day I really couldn't unpack and settle in. They could have asked me if I wanted to stay in that room as it didn't get anyone else in for the next 7 days. In your room you no longer get the supply of tea, coffee and sugar but you get the cups and kettle. I had to plug mine in in the bathroom as there was no socket near the tray on the cupboard. So I also washed my cup in the bathroom and one day left my teaspoon in there next to my toothbrush. When I came home after an outing the receptionist pulled me up about housekeeping said a teaspoon was missing!!! Really awkward and not appropriate. Then one morning I wanted to have a nice early bath in the beautiful bathtub, but the plug would not stay down and keep the water in. So that didn't happen until later in the day. Also the bathroom towels had seen better days. At the start of my stay I ordered dinner from the restaurant. That was a big failure. The cordeon Blue was rough and dry with no self saucing, only a little bowl of tartare sauce which is normal for a fish meal but not chicken and the chips were the frozen type and uneatable. So I didn't eat here for the rest of my stay. The street outside has become very popular since the pandemic with several new really good restaurants, cafes and lovely spas.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nyoman Buana, General Manager at Villa Sonia Ubud
Responded 19 Mar 2023
Dear miabell, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Villa Sonia Ubud. We are pleased to note that you are not happy staying with us, We are so sorry that we can not full fill all amenities, on that time we have financial problems after COVID 19 pandemic. right now we set back to normal again in terms of amenities We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Sonia Ubud in the near future. Regards Buana and Villa Sonia Team manager@villasoniaubud.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Musavvir Ahmed wrote a review Jul 2022
Berlin, Germany
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
For the amount of money we paid (21 EUR per night with breakfast for 3 nights), this was a fantastic deal. Fresh, white linen, big bathroom with bathtub, two separate pools, pool-facing balcony, and being situated at an amazing location. It’s only a 5 min walk from the Monkey Forest Sanctuary.

There are a handful of nice cafes, warung, and a laundry right on the opposite side of the street.

The only reason the place does not get a fifth star from me is because they forgot or lost our breakfast reservation details on the 4th day, right before we were scheduled to check out. The bathroom also had a funky smell on the 1st night, which was gone on the 2nd day after room service.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Villa Sonia Ubud, Manajer Umum at Villa Sonia Ubud
Responded 07 Nov 2022
Dear Musavvir A, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Villa Sonia Ubud. We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. We are grateful for your affirmation of the hotel’s service and facilities. We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Sonia Ubud in the near future. Regards Buana and Villa Sonia Team manager@villasoniaubud.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deb wrote a review Jan 2023
Bangkok, Thailand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a quaint beautiful property, nestled within Ubud, Bali.

It has 2 pools - you can choose the one that suits you.

We had booked a Balinese Garden View Room, and the room was BIG !! Even the balcony was so big and good, I would recommend staying in this property if you want a simple, homely feel.

The location is also near the Main Areas like Monkey Forest Road, while being tucked away in one of the bylanes, which makes you feel at home to nature, yet being accessible to all the places you would want to be

The staff was always smiling, very helpful, and super amazing !!

Thank you Sonia Villas Ubud, for making our trip memorable.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There are 2 pools to choose from. The wifi may be patchy at a few places.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nyoman Buana, General Manager at Villa Sonia Ubud
Responded 19 Mar 2023
Dear debster2222, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Villa Sonia Ubud. We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. We are grateful for your affirmation of the hotel’s service and facilities. We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Sonia Ubud in the near future. Regards Buana and Villa Sonia Team manager@villasoniaubud.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jen M wrote a review Apr 2020
Brooklyn, New York
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I ended up extending my trip in Ubud and spent 4 nights in this hotel. I had room 9, which was towards the front of the hotel, and I absolutely loved it. My room had an outdoor shower, huge windows with a sitting nook and a comfy bed which was lovely. Loved the location south of the monkey forest, it was more quiet and calm than staying closed to middle of town. I would definitely recommend this place!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Front room number 9 was beautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BU4N4, Manajer Umum at Villa Sonia Ubud
Responded 09 Apr 2020
DearJen M, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Villa Sonia Ubud. We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. We are grateful for your affirmation of the hotel’s service and facilities. We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Sonia Ubud in the near future. Regards Buana and Villa Sonia Team manager@villasoniaubud.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul T wrote a review Jan 2020
Bundaberg, Australia
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is within walking distance from Ubud centre and close to the monkey forest. The hotel provides a bus to town but you need to get a taxi back. You shouldn't have to pay more than about Rp 700.000 about $7.00 au. They have to take quite a long way back because of the one way system. Great hotel,pleasant staff good breakfast,clean pools.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BU4N4, Manajer Umum at Villa Sonia Ubud
Responded 30 Jan 2020
Dear Paul T, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Villa Sonia Ubud. We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. We are grateful for your affirmation of the hotel’s service and facilities. We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Sonia Ubud in the near future. Regards Buana and Villa Sonia Team manager@villasoniaubud.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rdk1 wrote a review Jan 2024
Melbourne, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the perfect small hotel for a stay in Ubud. Lovely gardens and pools (especially the front pool), spacious rooms, spotlessly clean and with excellent service. The onsite restaurant serves breakfast and other meals and has a nice outlook over the pool and gardens. On top of that great value. I loved my stay here.

The street outside is quiet for Ubud (it is a no through road for cars) and has a good selection restaurants and also cafes serving excellent coffee.

Be aware that walking into Ubud (about 800m to the Monkey Forest entrance) requires walking along a narrow, rough, path that has scooters both ways. It is also absolutely pitch black at night, so maybe not for those of a nervous disposition.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: I think the rooms looking over the front pool are a bit ncier.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nixy23 asked a question Nov 2019
Manchester, United Kingdom46 contributions18 helpful votes
Would anyone recommend this place for me travelling on my own & is there an airport pick up / drop off available? Thanks
Answer from Michaela J
Gaithersburg, Maryland258 contributions57 helpful votes
Yes, I would not be afraid at all. This place is great and everyone is very respectful. If you message the hotel, they will arrange a driver to pick you up from the airport. We did that.
Answer from Buan4
Ubud, Indonesia
Dear Guest, Thank you for choose and staying with us, We can arrange airport pick up with additional charge at IDR 350. 000 net/car/away. If you agree with the price, Please kindly send your flight details Thank you and regards Buana
Milcombe wrote a tip Jun 2024
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom30 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wifi better near to reception. Monkey comes in morning looking for food from the offerings. Wear repellent."
Read full review
rdk1 wrote a tip Jan 2024
Melbourne, Australia185 contributions96 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I think the rooms looking over the front pool are a bit ncier."
Read full review
Deb wrote a tip Jan 2023
Bangkok, Thailand30 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are 2 pools to choose from. The wifi may be patchy at a few places."
Read full review
Jen M wrote a tip Apr 2020
Brooklyn, New York109 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Front room number 9 was beautiful"
Read full review
JL2000 wrote a tip Mar 2020
Paris, France1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"upper floor has more luminosity"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ubud area.
PRICE RANGE
R 897 - R 2,488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
villa sonia hotel bali, sonia hotel ubud
LOCATION
IndonesiaBaliGianyar RegencyUbud
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VILLA SONIA UBUD - Reviews & Price Comparison (Indonesia)

Frequently Asked Questions about Villa Sonia Ubud
Which popular attractions are close to Villa Sonia Ubud?
Nearby attractions include Tradisi Fabric and Cushions (0.08 km) and Pura Dalem Agung (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Villa Sonia Ubud?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Villa Sonia Ubud?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Villa Sonia Ubud?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Villa Sonia Ubud?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Villa Sonia Ubud?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kaukau Restaurant, Warung Rama, and Bali Soul Ubud.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Villa Sonia Ubud?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Villa Sonia Ubud have airport transportation?
Yes, Villa Sonia Ubud offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Villa Sonia Ubud?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Villa Sonia Ubud?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Indonesian.
Are there any historical sites close to Villa Sonia Ubud?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Peliatan Royal Palace (1.4 km), Yeh Pulu Temple (2.1 km), and Pura Penataran Sasih (4.1 km).
All Ubud HotelsUbud Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in UbudHotels near Villa Sonia Ubud
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire