Aluna Hostel B&B

Aluna Hostel B&B

Calle 21 No. 5-72 Centro Histórico, Santa Marta, Santa Marta Municipality 470004 Colombia
C&C en Santa Marta, Colombia
Traveller (54)
Cama
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#11 of 117 hostels in Santa Marta
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Coffee shop
Bicycle rental
Boating
Children's television networks
Airport transportation
Body wrap
Wifi
Restaurant
Rooftop bar
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Diving
Water sport equipment rentals
Aerobics offsite
Bicycle tours
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Car hire
Taxi service
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Solarium
Waxing services
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun terrace
Doorperson
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenware
Room types
Non-smoking rooms

Location

Calle 21 No. 5-72 Centro Histórico, Santa Marta, Santa Marta Municipality 470004 Colombia
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Simon Bolivar Airport
13.3 km
See all flights
E Cortissoz Airport
261Reviews1Q+A21Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 132
  • 97
  • 19
  • 6
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
sadeeyor wrote a review Mar 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When you are poorly, come here, beyond the cathedral. It's not a fancy hostel, but people will take care of you. Which happened to me after rampants diarrhoeoa. The girl fully made sure I was ok, mopped up my brown with no thing after from asks to call the hospital three times. I kept assuring her I was ok, as I crawled back to bed. I emerged weak. Just a ceviche wich processed the wrong way with vinegar. These things normally don't happen. When they did, she was concern. Next day, I was drained yet fine. Well, well enough to enjoy meeting my friend somewhere else in Colombia again. When you travel and inopportune things happen, that simple no fuss sure-you're-ok attitude is lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MorrisMinor8 wrote a review Jun 2015
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I've been travelling for 9 months now and this is without doubt one of the nicest hostels I've stayed in. I'm not really sure it should be called a hostel. It's actually more like a midrange hotel in Greece/Spain! Rooms are clean modern and spacious. Air-conditioning and fans are a blessing. The staff are informative and helpful without being intrusive. The courtyard is cooling and relaxing with free coffee! The breakfasts are delicious and excellent value. If you're looking for an affordable treat then go here, it's wonderful.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frances R wrote a review Sept 2018
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed before going to Tayrona park. The staff were helpful when we asked about how to get there and had free maps. The accommodation was basic, with WiFi only on communal areas. Kitchen facilities available. We had booked a room with air con but got one with a fan that was good enough
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob P wrote a review Jul 2022
Surbiton, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
First of all - the staff are lovely. Wonderful kind people doing their best in difficult circumstances.

It’s not at all as pictured or reviewed here and no way justifies the high reviews. It’s shabby, dirty and run down and smells pretty bad. The bathrooms are pretty disgusting and it’s infested with mosquitoes.

Breakfast is nice but there are no options. Local area is shabby, smelly and a short walk from main area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kava32 wrote a review Jun 2014
New York City, New York
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Let me say good things first. Owner responded I emails (at the beginning) very fast. Greeted warmly, they informed us of the restaurants plaza and all was great. Rooms are pretty and clean, communal areas too. Ac and wifi were not working. The other person that came later To work at front desk offered no apologies, ignored us when we told him it wasn't working telling us that we probably wanted a freezing cold temperature? He didn't offer any help he just said that we should give it more time and that it might not cool the room because during the day it's too hot. But this is the reason why we asked for a room with Ac! It's hi in the 90's in the coast. We need a cool room specially during the day when it's hot. After and hour or more waiting for the Ac to cool I had to go downstairs to talk to the guy and finally came up and realized that it was just blowing the same hot air that was in the room. He didn't offer anything either. He face just expressed something Iile "oh well". No offer of a discount, or another room, or refer us to another place. We had to ask for a discount which is not really a discount is just the price for a room with no AC. At This point we didn't feel respected anymore, we felt like we were bothering them so we went out to look for another place which we found right away. When we came back we told the front desk guy we were leaving and he didn't even make eye contact with us. We were even saying "sorry but we have to go. It's just too hot". We were apologetic and he looked pissed. As I return the keys to him he rolled his eyes at me. I'm writing this review because I don't think it's difficult to treat people Nicely and with respect and because I emailed the owner about what happened and he didn't email back. So here you go my fellow travelers, don't stay at Casa Aluna.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SupaHon wrote a review Jan 2015
Cork, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Architect designed by someone e who knows what travelers are looking for. Really nice dorm room, well equipped kitchen, lovely cafe if you don't feel like cooking, well located, great owner & staff and then to top it all the cat, Aluna is totally divine!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
maarten1986 wrote a review Sept 2014
Barcelona, Spain
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice hostel/hotel with cosy rooms. Rooms are cleaned every day. We stayed five nights in total.

Breakfast is not included, but that's actually good news since you get to choose your own and it's reasonably priced. Tasty as well, a lot better than the included crap they serve you in other places in this price range. Coffee is free though.

Staff speaks English and is very helpful. Transport during a strike, bag storage, discount for cinema, tips about where to go, etc.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lotte D wrote a review Sept 2014
Hasselt, Belgium
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It is a small and cosy hotel with an amazing breakfast comparing to other hotels. When you go to Ciudad Perdida or the lost city you can leave you're bags locked and safe in the hotel. The people from the hotel are very kind!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin G wrote a review Sept 2013
Brisbane, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed only one night here with my partner. We got a private room with our own bathroom. Room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff spoke English and were extremely helpful with where to go to eat and what attractions to see. We had breakfast at the cafe and was very nice and pretty cheap. I would highly recommend this hostel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrea wrote a review Feb 2013
Massachusetts
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The owner and staff are very helpful w. travel info. The guests often share tips, too, so the place has a very friendly feel, but not a backpackers’ dorm. Excellent location. Some rooms more attractive than others.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Glad I chose air conditioning.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from JimAluna
Santa Marta, Colombia5 contributions
As Maarten above answered, yes we can store your luggage. Jim Aluna
Andymurphy90 wrote a tip Oct 2017
26 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A room closer to reception is best as the Wifi wasn't particularly good when we stayed further back."
Read full review
Fabio V wrote a tip Nov 2016
281 contributions75 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"A room on the third floor, they say that internet works there"
Read full review
geraldine g wrote a tip Dec 2015
Paris, France11 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"chose more the rooms in the first floors, not the last one because no wifi"
Read full review
Matt S wrote a tip Jul 2015
Sydney, Australia30 contributions15 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get air conditioning"
Read full review
Andrew-M-Fenn wrote a tip May 2015
Omaha, Nebraska10 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All good rooms with aircon or/and fans"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Santa Marta area.
PRICE RANGE
R 215 - R 521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Aluna Casa y Cafe
LOCATION
ColombiaMagdalena DepartmentSanta Marta MunicipalitySanta Marta
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ALUNA HOSTEL B&B - Reviews & Price Comparison (Santa Marta, Colombia)

Frequently Asked Questions about Aluna Hostel B&B
Which popular attractions are close to Aluna Hostel B&B?
Nearby attractions include La Cocoteria (0.3 km), El Mono Rojo (0.3 km), and Parque Nacional Natural Tayrona (0.09 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Aluna Hostel B&B?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Aluna Hostel B&B?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Aluna Hostel B&B?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aluna Hostel B&B?
Conveniently located restaurants include Marrakech Restaurante, Porthos Steakhouse & Pub Santa Marta, and Artesanal Restobar.
Does Aluna Hostel B&B have airport transportation?
Yes, Aluna Hostel B&B offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Aluna Hostel B&B?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Aluna Hostel B&B?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Aluna Hostel B&B?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Paseo El Camellón (0.09 km), Centro Historico de Santa Marta (0.5 km), and Alcaldia de Santa Marta (5.0 km).
All Santa Marta HotelsSanta Marta Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Santa MartaHotels near Aluna Hostel B&B
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire