Victory Guest House

Victory Guest House

National Rd 6A Taphoul Village, Svaydungkom Commune, Siem Reap Cambodia
Traveller (21)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#25 of 167 guest houses in Siem Reap
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Victory Guest House has serve guest 24 hours when guest come stay in it. It is free breakfast to guest and can help guest when guest have problem in guest house.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Restaurant
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Massage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Car hire
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Safe
Minibar
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Khmer

Location

National Rd 6A Taphoul Village, Svaydungkom Commune, Siem Reap Cambodia
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Siem Reap-Angkor International Airport
39.8 km
See all flights
155Reviews0Q+A24Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 88
  • 48
  • 12
  • 5
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Denise wrote a review Feb 2024
Sydney, Australia7 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff were the highlight, caring and attentive, I was there on volunteer work for a month and loved the simple homely environment. The room was basic, the bathrooms and could have been a bit cleaner also have smelt fresher. The personalized service at meal time was the best, I loved the fruit platter and morning coffee. Comfortable caring setting for young volunteers travelling, kapun (visit October 2022)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ethical traveller wrote a review Nov 2023
62 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here while volunteering to build a house through VBC. Initially we were in a basic room which was basic but once we were informed of the potential of an upgrade in the new building for only $4 it was perfect for us.
The family who run the guest house made us feel very welcomed and when we were running late for a tour they even made us breakfast on the go. They truely made us feel at home.
The pool was great too.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Upgrade if you can.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FMP85 wrote a review Dec 2022
Milan, Italy158 contributions114 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent a week feeling at home. The feeling in the guesthouse was really like a home, caring, looking after the stay, food, and laundry. Quiet and with a cozy pool to relax. The guesthouse is about 15 minutes walk from the city center but the area where it is located is full of nice spots and restaurants
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen D wrote a review Sept 2022
Greater Melbourne, Australia11 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This guest house is amazing! Manager Moi could not do enough for us. Tuk tuk driver Kay who drove us everywhere and ensured we were safe, watered and beautifully fed. Very reasonably priced transport and accommodation, air conditioned, clean and comfortable. Easy to walk to market and Pub street. Made our Siem Reap stay the best.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
suegreenhow2017 wrote a review Apr 2020
Luang Prabang, Laos10 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here From Jan to march 2020 when I was a volunteer teacher. The family could not have been more helpful. My room was clean and with a good fan. When I asked for a kettle one was provided. Good choice of breakfast included in room price. Victory is within walking distance of town centre so ideal location. All in all a great stay sadly cut short when I returned home early while I could still get a flight. I will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: some rooms have windows very close to adjoining buildings and are therefore quite dark but cooler...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter B wrote a review Aug 2013
Wyndham Vale, Australia201 contributions243 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This would have to be my favourite guesthouse that I stayed in Cambodia. Its located off the main street, so is very quiet, rooms were large with a fan and air conditioning and the bed was very comfortable. Rooms were very clean and the bathroom had plenty of hot water. It's about a 15 minute walk to Pub street and the night markets, or you can go by tuk tuk for $2. Not a large range for breakfast, but for only $2, it is quite adequate and gets you through to lunch. They also have free WIFI, and plenty of cable tv to view, after a long day trekking through the temples of Angkor Wat. For only $13 per night, it is well worth the stay here, and will stay here again when I return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: $13 for an air conditioned room, free WIFI and plenty of cable TV, bargain!!!!!!!!!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lindsayh wrote a review Aug 2017
44 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the Victory Guesthouse for two weeks from 18th July, whilst volunteering. I was in a party of 6 and shared a twin room in the building opposite the restaurant. This is a lovely guesthouse situated down a quiet lane in amongst other small guesthouses. The room we had was very nice, two double beds and a fairly good sized alcove to hang up your clothes. We also had a fridge, a tv and good sized dresser with mirror. Please note that there is a charge for air conditioning - $4 per night. It may be less if you're in a single room. Other guests told us that air conditioning was included in their total price so it's probably best to check this out. There is a fan in the room but it's so noisy we found it difficult to sleep. There is also a quirky aspect to the rooms in that the bathroom is a wet room with the shower situated next to the toilet (facing). The shower was pretty good however and the water hot!
Our room was on the second floor and the stairs are fairly steep so be prepared if you have heavy luggage! There is a lovely balcony on the floor, complete with hammock, such a nice place to sit in the evening.
We didn't eat any evening meals in the guesthouse but we did have breakfast every morning. Their banana pancakes are really tasty! Most drinks on the menu are $1 and if I remember rightly most meals are too so really good value if you're on a budget.
The Victory Guesthouse is family run and the owners and staff couldn't have been nicer. Everyone is so helpful and friendly. We arranged a Tuk Tuk for the day with the brother and he was very reasonable and nothing was too much trouble. I also commented that I liked the coffee they serve and asked where I could buy it and Penny (I think this was her name) offered to buy it for me. The Victory also offers a laundry service and charges $1 per kilo. Most times washing came back the following day but on occasion the same day. If you're looking for a good value, quiet guesthouse which is away from the main tourist part of Siem Reap then the Victory Guesthouse is perfect. You can also use the pools in the surrounding Guesthouses for a small fee (usually $3 or the equivalent in food/drink). I wouldn't hesitate to go back to the Victory, I really enjoyed my stay. And make sure you say hello to Coconut, the family's 10 year old Collie who will let you scratch his ears for hours!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MoyK4, Manager at Victory Guest House
Responded 27 Sept 2017
Dear Lindsay, Thanks so much for spending your time to writing this on TripAdvisor. All rooms have air-con and fan but you are coming as volunteer so the project paid just fan for you so if you need air-con you have to pay more for this . All volunteers always confused with this because when they pay to project they did not tell you about extra air-con , when they booked us they just booked fan only . Anyways thanks so much for stayed here and hope to welcoming you to say here again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Natalie A wrote a review Jul 2017
6 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at Victory guesthouse for 3 months as I volunteered in Cambodia. I can recommend the guesthouse to anyone! The staff is really friendly and helpful and you are cared for. If you have any problem, they will try to solve it for you straight away. Also, the rooms are all spacious and clean. Furthermore, the location is close the centre and shops (5 min cycling) but still in a quiet peaceful area. It really feels like a quiet oasis in the middle of all the busy traffic. Also, the included breakfast offers many nice options. I can recommend this place to everyone!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MoyK4, Manager at Victory Guest House
Responded 27 Sept 2017
Dear Natalie, Thanks so much for spending you time on this. Thanks so much for stayed and enjoy in siem reap , hope to see you next time soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SueMorrisSRN wrote a review Jan 2016
Leeds, United Kingdom32 contributions58 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My daughter-law and I volunteered to work for a charity teaching English to children in Cambodia over Christmas and New Year. The charity arranged accommodation for us in the Victory Guest House for the three weeks we were there. Prior to leaving for Cambodia I had read most of the reviews on Trip Advisor and apart from one, they all praised the accommodation highly giving it four or five star rating across the board. Sadly, the one review that gave it 1 star was the only accurate one. I was expecting a basic hotel given that the charity organised it for us - what I did not expect was a hotel that was dirty and dangerous. Lets start with what was good - the staff were lovely and tried to be very helpful; the banana pancakes and iced coffee were excellent at breakfast. Sadly this is really all I can say that was good. The hotel name was painted by hand on the wall in the 'restaurant' in black paint and looked like something from a horror movie - an accurate depiction! We arrived late at night and were taken to our rooms on the third floor by a helpful young man who himself was sleeping on the floor in the reception area. Having climbed the three flights of stairs we entered our rooms to find them dirty, with stained bedding, paper stuck on the doors with duct tape to literally paper over the cracks which you could fit your fingers through, a sink that was falling off the wall and a shower that provided cold water at a trickle, certainly not powerful enough to have a decent cold shower, let alone a hot one. There were insects all over the floor and it looked as though it had not been cleaned for a few days. The one towel provided smelt damp. The information informed us that the rooms would not be cleaned and bedding would not be changed unless we asked specifically.
The internet connection, despite having been reported on other reviews as excellent, was at best intermittent and at worst non-existent. There were three different options and none of them worked. The only way we could contact home was to piggy back on the hotel next door, a major issue for my daughter-in-law who was missing her 2 year old terribly over the period we were in Cambodia
Perhaps my main concern, however, was the safety issues in the hotel. Two of the three flights of stairs which were all on a bend had very uneven and broken steps with one three times as deep as the rest - not so bad when climbing but when coming down the stairs the unexpected 'drop' could have been lethal and I almost fell down the stairs on three occasions. There was no fire safety equipment, no fire alarm, no lighting on the stairs, standard or emergency. It is true that Health and Safety is a concept that has passed Cambodia by somewhat and standards are nowhere near the standards we expect in the UK but, when a charity is organising accommodation for volunteers who are paying for the accommodation I do feel that this should be a consideration if the volunteers are to feel valued. If your expectations are very low you will not be disappointed; however, we could not stay in this guest house and moved to another at our own expense after four nights.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the annexe if you have to stay here - not quite a dangerous as the main house
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
L0stInWanderlust wrote a review Jun 2014
Sydney, Australia14 contributions18 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It's a nice family guesthouse situated on a quiet street off the main road. It has a really nice family vibe to it and it's quiet. I stayed in the other building across the main one. I was there in April, it's hottest month and the ac wasn't strong enough. The room is basic, spacious and somewhat clean. It's a good 10-15mins walk to Pub street, which is like Bangkok's Khao San Road. There's plenty of other restaurants too if you wish somewhere quieter. Also, the guesthouse offer some really nice food too. I particularly liked their pancakes and Khmer noodle soups. I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Siem Reap area.
LOCATION
CambodiaSiem Reap ProvinceSiem Reap
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VICTORY GUEST HOUSE - Guesthouse Reviews (Siem Reap, Cambodia)

Frequently Asked Questions about Victory Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Victory Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Angkor Family Guide (0.2 km), Daniel English Speaking Tuk Tuk Driver (0.2 km), and Mr. Nin Tuk Tuk Driver (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Victory Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, airport transportation, and dry cleaning.
Which room amenities are available at Victory Guest House?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Victory Guest House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Victory Guest House?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Victory Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Indochine, The Grill Lounge, and Bayon Pastry School Coffee Shop.
Does Victory Guest House have airport transportation?
Yes, Victory Guest House offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Victory Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Siem Reap.
Are any cleaning services offered at Victory Guest House?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Victory Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Khmer.
Are there any historical sites close to Victory Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Angkor Archaeological Park (5.6 km), The Victory Gate (7.0 km), and Wat Thmey (Killing Fields) (2.2 km).
All Siem Reap HotelsSiem Reap Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Siem ReapHotels near Victory Guest House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire