Elephant Trail Guesthouse and Backpackers

Elephant Trail Guesthouse and Backpackers

Plot 4849, Kazungula, Kasane, Chobe National Park Botswana
Traveller (21)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, 25 May
No prepayment needed
R 566
Get rewarded with One Key
R 809
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hostel in Kasane
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
We are always thinking in our guests. We know that the most important thing is that they feel welcomed, comfortable and relaxed. Our place is one of the best sellers in Kasane, because our friendly and helpful staff. We offer different alternatives of accommodation (for different budgets and/or preferences): Double Air Conditioned Rooms Triple Air Conditioned Rooms Shared 4-Beds Female Dormitory (with Air Conditioning) Shared 4-Beds Mixed Dormitory (with Air Conditioning) Shared 2-Beds Mixed Dormitories (with Fan) We offer an outside complete kitchen for self catering and outside sitting area. Our guests could enjoy of our activities in Chobe National Park and Victoria Falls (with competitive and affordable prices), as: Game Drives (3 hrs, Half Day and Full Day) Boat Cruises (3 hrs, Half Day and Full Day) Days Trip To Victoria Falls Mobile Safaris (customizable alternatives) etc. You can also try our meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) or a cold beer in our bar.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycle tours
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Snack bar
Fishing
Walking tours
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Massage
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Seating area
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
35Reviews7Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 15
  • 10
  • 3
  • 5
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
MumbaiRiders wrote a review Oct 2022
Mumbai, India1,793 contribution571 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Elephant Trail Guesthouse" is in a isolated location in Kazungula village of Kasane and close to the Zimbabwean border.Early morning at 0230 -0300 hrs could hear the cooing of wild doves in my isolated single log cabin as also the cockrels crowing , absolute blend of nature with human habitation. The most isolated hostel/ Hotel or guesthouse I have lived in but otherwise excellent in all other respects in comparison to the rentals. You require a taxi or should have your own private transport to travel from "Elephant Trail Guesthouse".A melting pot of meeting tourists from various Country's travelling across Africa. Although a "Solo Traveller" never ever felt lonely in isolated "Elephant Trail Guesthouse" and the owners two pets , a hilarious Jack Russel terrier named "Rambo" and a Australian Terrier named "Mimi" kept me company within the hostel complex. If you want isolation in a jungle as well as sightseeing this is a ideal place.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sivananthan Kokul wrote a review Mar 2020
Lusaka, Zambia248 contributions59 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed two nights at this property. This is about few kilometers from kazungula. They also offer gam drives, boat cruise, transfer to Borders, vic falls trip. All the staffs very friendly and all the facilities are basic/ This property is best value money and the best budget hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shelley B wrote a review Mar 2021
Cape Town Central, South Africa99 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great stay here! The staff are really lovely and it's quite the unique stay. If there is an issue (we had a plug issue) it was seen to immediately. The staff assisted us with the boat safari (cannot recommend this enough) and breakfast was great!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Isidoor M wrote a review Jan 2020
Livingstone, Zambia2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a horrible experience at this ‘hotel’. The toilet did not flush, which was very disgusting. We asked to fixed it, somebody managed to flush it once and then left it broken for the rest of our stay.
On the second day when we got back to our room, it wasn’t cleaned, which they promised. There were no clean towels. The shower is a gross bath with insects in it and you can not hang the shower. All of this wouldn’t be a problem if the shower would work fine but the only temperatures are very cold or very hot.
The tap at the sink in the bathroom didn’t work either.
You will hear every noice from the room above you, including toilet visits. We slept only a few hours per night because of this.

This is the type of service and hygiene you expect at the worst hostels in Africa for a cheap dorm-room price. However we paid 45$ per night.. total rip-off.

We told the owner about all these problems. He did not really respond and did not apologise for any of it. We think he was afraid we would write a bad review, so a few hours after the check out he cancelled our check in on Booking, so we couldn’t write a review. How cowardice.
Unfortunately for him, we have the receipt and proof that we stayed there.

Please fellow traveler, DONT GO HERE! We are warning you.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elephant Trail ... K, Owner at Elephant Trail Guesthouse and Backpackers
Responded 26 Jan 2020
We are really sorry for the inconvenience that you had with us. We don't like and we are not used to hear that our guests don't enjoy their staying with us. We only knew about the problem with the toilet (it didn't flush) the last night that you stayed with us (you told us the last night) and we tried to fix it, but finally we only could do it properly and definitively the following day (with the plumber when you already had checked out). We apologize for that. We are not a 5 star hotel, we're a small hostel and can't always match those standards, because also our rates are so far from the 5 star hotels, but we also know that we are a clean and comfortable place with an excellent value for money in Kasane. The rest of your complaints are pretty innacurate and unfair and we prefer not mention them, because is easy to read other reviews to realize that our reality is different. Thank you and have a good trip. Best regards, The Elephant Trail Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Riano wrote a review Oct 2023
28 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We upgrade to the "Garden Room" witch is supposed to be the best. What a joke!
This is a dump. The bed was dirty, toilet seat broken and it looks like someone just had a shower, it was brown inside with dirt.
Fridge in the room was not working.

The air-conditioning unit looks like it came out of a war zone, it worked for 5 min then died, it is literally held together with duck tape.

The room size is that of a prison cell and is purple.

Upon arrival we had a tour, there is a shared kitchen with no utensils and a broken down fridge witch does not keep anything cold.
There is a braai area but no braai grid or braai utensils.
When we enqiured about this the receptionist said there is none and we can buy our own by the shops in town.

The food they serve (no choice at all) looks like prison food and has an awful smell. There is also no vegetarian or vegan options. This is survival.

The bar area is nothing like on the web site, it is the size of a single room, cramped, dark and decapitated.

The whole backpackers is held together by a prayer and is situated in the hart of a rural area with nothing around but houses and nothing is in walking distance.

The staff is extremely rude and unhelpful, any positive reviews was surely posted by them or there friend's.

Rather burn your money or flush it down the toilet. This is really cheap and nasty.
This is a horror show. Do not go there.
Sic and discussed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ruben T wrote a review Sept 2023
Tenerife, Spain1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The accommodation is fine but the staff is below standard. Basic things you ask seems like a thing too much to do. Like asking breakfast, after that you get a stare "do I really need to make you breakfast?" The lodge has opportunity but lacks motivated staf
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joh G wrote a review Aug 2019
Hanoi, Vietnam14 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
They are so nice and easy to get along with. Can sort out tours from there and great meals if you need them. Or there is the kitchen to cook your own food. It’s clean and unique. Come in with an open mind this is why we travel. For on a budget accommodation this the place to be in kasane.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mikkel L wrote a review Aug 2018
15 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed one night before entering Chobe and thought this would be a night in comfort. However, the rooms are so poor isolated that this is not possible! We stayed at the ground floor and could hear everything going on upstairs, just hearing them walking was a big chok. We asked if we could have another room and that was no problem, why the two stars. We where moved up on the first floor, but we could with out any problem hear the conversation down stairs, and now they could hear us walking. We didnt sleep much from the noise of people talking and the trees hitting the sheet plated roof, again not isolated. The room was in itself fine and seemed clean but could have used a door to the bathroom!
the staffs are really friendly and the self cooking kitchen is okay but not very clean.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Buiten166 wrote a review Jul 2017
Cape Town Central, South Africa27 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The 2 ladies who welcomed us were charming & went to so much effort to make our room look nice, they also washed and ironed for us. If you are into retro hippy this is the place for you but I won't be staying there again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ask for a room without a reed ceiling-there were strange scratching noises.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
YvonneMoscow wrote a review Oct 2019
Ede, The Netherlands181 contributions121 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Some things were very good about this guesthouse: atmosphere, staff, dinners we had.
Some things could have been better: room was very dark and could do with some renovation. We booked a triple room, because it was the only room left when we booked with private bathroom. That said, it was in fact only a toilet and washbasin, because the bath could only be used by dwarfs.
Location is far from the center, but we had our own car (parked safely) and we had very tasty meals.
Although there is a kitchen and you can prepare your own food.
Water is not safe for drinking, but on the first day we got two small bottles of mineral water.
I had some clothes washed for a very small amount of money.
We booked a tour to the Victoria Falls and were the only two on that day and our transport was in a nice car.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from conorlyne
Sydney, Australia50 contributions15 helpful votes
You do not necessarily need to book anything, as the owner David will handle everything for you as soon as you arrive. I arrived at the Guesthouse in the late evening and was able to go on a land and boat safari the very next day. He also has private transfers to Victoria Falls on the Zimbabwean side. 3 days is the perfect amount of time! I managed to do everything in 2, but an extra day would make it more enjoyable. Best of luck on your trip!
Thabang S asked a question Nov 2017
Grahamstown, South Africa
Is there an operational pool?
Answer from Buiten166
Cape Town Central, South Africa27 contributions7 helpful votes
No pool and I can imagine pretty hot at this time of year.
jstevens19872017 wrote a tip Feb 2018
Utrecht, The Netherlands3 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Contact the guesthouse to arrange transport, they are happy to help."
Read full review
conorlyne wrote a tip Sept 2017
Sydney, Australia50 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try and get your own room with a bathroom, they are nicer than the dorms!"
Read full review
Buiten166 wrote a tip Jul 2017
Cape Town Central, South Africa27 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room without a reed ceiling-there were strange scratching noises."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kasane area.
PRICE RANGE
R 455 - R 564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Elephant Trail Guesthouse
LOCATION
BotswanaNorth-West DistrictChobe National ParkKasane
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ELEPHANT TRAIL GUESTHOUSE AND BACKPACKERS - Now R 483 (Was R̶ ̶6̶1̶3̶) - UPDATED 2023 Hostel Reviews & Price Comparison (Kasane, Botswana) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Elephant Trail Guesthouse and Backpackers
Which popular attractions are close to Elephant Trail Guesthouse and Backpackers?
Nearby attractions include CARACAL Biodiversity Center (6.2 km), Boab Prison Tree (6.6 km), and Impalila Island (7.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Elephant Trail Guesthouse and Backpackers?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Elephant Trail Guesthouse and Backpackers?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Elephant Trail Guesthouse and Backpackers?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Elephant Trail Guesthouse and Backpackers?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Elephant Trail Guesthouse and Backpackers?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pizza Plus Coffee & Curry, The Old House, and Chobe Safari Lodge Restaurant menu.
Does Elephant Trail Guesthouse and Backpackers have airport transportation?
Yes, Elephant Trail Guesthouse and Backpackers offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Elephant Trail Guesthouse and Backpackers?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Elephant Trail Guesthouse and Backpackers?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Elephant Trail Guesthouse and Backpackers?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
All Kasane HotelsKasane Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KasaneHotels near Elephant Trail Guesthouse and Backpackers
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire