We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Balay Tuko Garden Inn

Purok Bayanihan San Manuel Rd Barangay San Manuel, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300 Philippines
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (192)
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (208)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 20/10/03 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Balay Tuko Garden Inn
Updated 20/10/03 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#2 of 243 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Travellers' Choice
Balay Tuko is accredited by the Department of Tourism (DOT) & has the Certificate of Authority to Operate (CAO) under COVID 19 GCQ & New Normal. Balay Tuko Garden Inn is a boutique hotel built in a residential area. We have the largest indoor pool in town and a lovely tropical garden with lots of flowers and trees to attract birds and butterflies. Our location is close to Robinson's Place Mall, Bureau of Immigration and San Jose Bus Station where you can take all public transportation to all island destinations. The airport transportation (PHP 350-500 one way for a 10 seater van) is available from 07:00 to 19:00. You must contact us with your flight details. Due to the many delays of domestic flights, when boarding or if the waiting time is too long on the runway, you must text or call us to confirm your ETA to PPS. In case we have not had confirmation of your departure, on your arrival you can simply go to the Tourist Office outside the terminal: they will help you call us and you can wait for our van there. (+/- 15 minutes). Outside of these hours (6:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.), you must either take a taxi, a tricycle or any other available public transport. You can contact us by email if you wish to organize the day tours. It is recommended to book the tours with us as sometimes the pick up time is around 5:30 am so we have to wake you up on time and make your breakfast. As we are one of the few B&B hotels located on North Highway, our position is ideal as you are the last passengers to be picked up by the Tour operator and the first to disembark.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Kids pool
Secured parking
Public wifi
Indoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French, Filipino, Korean
445Reviews11Q+A62Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 331
  • 91
  • 16
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Clarity W wrote a review Nov 2020
Metro Manila, Philippines5 contributions1 helpful vote
My experience with the place itself was good at first. The rooms were average but the grounds nice. The breakfast was good as far as menu goes. I cannot recommend this hotel to families anymore. The owners were down right rude and unhospitable after my 2yr old had an overnight accident on the bed. I suggested to them to provide a plastic sheet for parents with children but the owner hung up on me. I will not be recommending this stay for friends or family. Too bad. They are missing out on lots of business.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Response from Maria Theresa Walgraeve, Owner at Balay Tuko Garden Inn
Responded 28 Nov 2020
Attn: Owner of MaryGold Beachfront Inn of El Nido. Thank you for your review. Now here are the facts: You were here from September 29 to October 1, 2020 but until November 27, you did not bother to write us a review (but for 3 days you were trying to come back here). The next morning, you asked the room maid to give you a pair of new bed sheets and she did. When you left, you did not report that our mattress was wet. Obviously, your child was not wearing any baby diapers the last two nights. Luckily he did not poop in bed. As per COVID 19 protocol, it is recommended to clean and sanitize the room after 24 hours, so it was not until the next day that we saw the disaster and had to wash on the mattress and let it dry for a few days in the sun. Very nice “carte de visite” left by your son for future customers staying in this room: unforgivable on behalf of someone who also operates a resort. We have regular couples with young children or babies and mothers are more responsible and use diapers. Some couples are also from El Nido and I'll let them read this review and our response. My wife and I also had children and we never let them unprotected if they slept in a hotel room. Now your review does not reflect reality: November 22: You called the front desk and we told you we didn't have room for you. November 23 at 10:23 am: you sent us this email: Obviously you really enjoyed coming back here, didn't you? HELLO, it's Cxxxxy Oxxxx. I stayed there 1 month ago with my son Kala. We tried to book a room but the staff told us that they are not available. Could you please message us on XXXXXXX My response to this email was: Yes, we do not have space available. Please book at another hotel. November 24, 3:45 p.m: You managed to get my private cell phone number because you wanted to talk to the owner. So I took the call and told you to book somewhere else as we don't have room for you. As you insisted on knowing the reason, so I told you the truth and then you got aggressive on the phone and were telling me to write a bad review (and you did after trying for 3 days to book a room here). So yes I hung up the phone because I didn't like to argue with you. But after the call, you insisted on texting me at 3:55 p.m: “I will review you and let parents know you are not a friendly hotel. Instead of letting me know what happened you send me an ignorant message. I let your staff know as soon as it happened that we needed to clean it. Parents have children. It is bound to happen. Your way of dealing with it is not professional at all. And at 03:58PM: “If I have a child and we are checking in maybe offer a plastic sheet. Use your head”. Now as you can see we are # 2 of 243 B&B in Puerto Princesa against a poor # 13 against 39 hotels in El Nido for your beach resort so it means your services are average. Looking at your pictures of the rooms, I think our rooms are 100% better with Inverter type split aircon. There is no contest! Do not worry we will also promote your place! Regards,
Read more
HautzA wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
We have a nice room,its big room with hot and cold shower.good enternet,breakfast delicious.staff of the hotel always smilling and kind and Help full and always clean our room.garden is big and beautiful nice swimming poll and coverd. well recommended these nice hotel and surely back again.😊❤️
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Maria Theresa Walgraeve, Owner at Balay Tuko Garden Inn
Responded 15 Aug 2020
The entire Balay Tuko Garden Inn team thanks you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant time with the comfort of your room and our breakfast. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
Thomas B wrote a review Aug 2020
6 contributions5 helpful votes
After years in Palawan, we discovered this little gem in the middle of a beautiful tropical garden. One of our friends recomanded this place and she was sooo right. Nice and calm ambiance, welcoming owners, the biggest pool I've seen on the island... AND GREAT FOOD!!! Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Maria Theresa Walgraeve, Propriétaire at Balay Tuko Garden Inn
Responded 12 Aug 2020
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are indeed ideally placed and the calm atmosphere that reigns there generally surprises our guests. We are happy that you recommend our hotel and look forward to welcoming you if you return to Puerto Princesa in the near future!
Read more
Marco lili wrote a review Aug 2020
4 contributions
Country club like hotel w/ only 14 rooms.large swimming pool which has roof & many sitting area for pool side party. Dining room is vast w/ a well equipped kitchen. Trees are tall & the gardens have various flowers. A huge bird cage let you see tropical birds enjoying their stay w/o becoming a pray of larger animals. It is a family run operation where you feel secure & enjoy A quiet atmosphere in a jungle like part of the island. The owner who is a seaman has sail boats which are a big plus.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
Response from Maria Theresa Walgraeve, Owner at Balay Tuko Garden Inn
Responded 08 Aug 2020
Many thanks for your wonderful review. It is always good to know that what we aim to provide here at Balay Tuko B&B is appreciated by our guests. It is a pleasure to have you here and to know that you were happy and comfortable with your room and the service. It is also noted that you are fully aware of the difference between a big hotel and a family boutique hotel. You are one of longest staying guests due to this pandemic of COVID 19 & that you feel safe for your health.
Read more
Rosie L wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution
I recently stayed here for 5 nights, the hotel os extrmely clean and comfortable, the garden and pool are exceptional. Perfect place to stay in the city, with beautiful nature, and kind staff. All covid measures in place for a safe stay. Highly reccomend and hope to return soon
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Joel Walgraeve, Owner at Balay Tuko Garden Inn
Responded 13 Jun 2020
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate all our measures taken for this COVID 19 pandemic. As you may have read in the previous comment, it does not please everyone but we did not have too much choice for our health and to follow the directives of the Department of tourism. We hope that you will recover soon. Regards, Maria Theresa & Joel
Read more
US$24 - US$40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
PhilippinesMimaropaPalawan ProvincePalawan IslandPuerto Princesa
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Balay Tuko Garden Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Balay Tuko Garden Inn?
Nearby attractions include Palawan Special Battalion WW2 Memorial Museum (4.4 km), Baker's Hill (4.1 km), and Cowrie Island (7.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Balay Tuko Garden Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Balay Tuko Garden Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Balay Tuko Garden Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Balay Tuko Garden Inn?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Balay Tuko Garden Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include NomNom Comfort Food, Eightynine Cafe Palawan, and CAPTAIN RIBS.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Balay Tuko Garden Inn?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Does Balay Tuko Garden Inn have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Balay Tuko Garden Inn offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Balay Tuko Garden Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Korean, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Balay Tuko Garden Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Plaza Cuartel (5.0 km).
Is Balay Tuko Garden Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.