Mombasa Beach Hotel

Mombasa Beach Hotel

Mount Kenya Road Off Links Road, Mombasa 80100 Kenya
Święty Mikołaj - zabawy dla dzieci
Traveller (165)
Pool & Beach (40)
view from our room
Room & Suite (23)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.0
#63 of 74 hotels in Mombasa
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
2.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Mombasa Beach Hotel is under the flagship of Kenya Safari Lodges & Hotels is located in the Kenya’s North Coast. It is only 10 km from Mombasa Town and 18 km from the Moi international Airport Mombasa.. It is a prime destination for conferencing and leisure in its many conference outlets. Various kinds of water-sports are available, in addition to excursions to Marine Park, nature trails, Old Mombasa Town and cultural villages.Despite the Hotel’s proximity to Mombasa itself, it exudes an air of tranquility with huge and well maintained tropical gardens that provide welcome shade in the heat of the day. Overlooking the Indian Ocean are its white sand beach suitable for sand bathing, wedding and public functions at the Cavern Beach Bistro. All the 152 rooms have SPACIOUS SEA FACING BALCONIES. The hotel has 145 Standard rooms and 6 Executive Suites. All the rooms are equipped with guest amenities with a recent addition of satellite TV/DSTV, wireless internet connections and split unit air conditioning systems.The hotel has four bars namely:-Kaskazi Bar, Deck Bar, Pool bar, Sports Centre Bar.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Taxi service
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Seating area
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Bidet
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Swahili

Location

Mount Kenya Road Off Links Road, Mombasa 80100 Kenya
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 58 out of 100
58
Moi Intl Airport
13.7 km
See all flights
Vipingo Airport
26.7 km
See all flights
1 Attraction
within 0.5 kilometers
139Reviews3Q+A30Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 20
  • 35
  • 36
  • 21
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Laurajct wrote a review Dec 2006
Coventry
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just came back from spending a week at this hotel and was very pleased. The rooms are basic, but the beds were comfy, shower was good and the air con worked, so it was a comfortable stay. There seems to be some work going on in the hotel to update some of the rooms, but there was no noise caused by this.

The food was lovely. A good selection every night, choices for everyone.

The staff were very friendly, although the animation team do tend to keep approaching you to take part in various activities - but guess that's their job.

Nyali beach is very nice, but you will get hassled the moment you set your foot on the sand. We found a nice little pool attached to the hotel by the beach where you were left alone with lovely views of the sea.

We went on the 1.5 day safari to Tsavo East and would highly recommend it, but be aware back pain sufferers - the drive to Tsavo East along the main Mombassa/Nairobi road is not a comforting one, lots of pot holes for a lot of the journey, so a very bumpy ride! We paid £110 each and that included 3 game drives and a night at the Ngutuni Lodge in the sancturary where the food and rooms were spot on. The guy who took us round the sanctuary was very knowledgeable and his English was excellent. Animals we saw were lions, zebras, giraffes, elephants, antelope, various birds and other small animals. On the way back to Mombasa, you also have the opportunity to visit the Maasai Tribe for 500 kenyan shilling (ks).

We also did the Dolphin Safari (Pilli Pipa) and it was great. The staff on the boat were fantastic. Got to see some dolphins and do snorkling (or diving if you wanted) on the Coral Reefs.

Down the road from the hotel is a Crocodile Farm which was Ok. Got to see some huge crocs and also you get to hold a baby one and a python if you wanted. We got there by taxi and the Airtours rep advised us we should offer the driver 500ks which we did and on the way back learnt that was way over priced and the driver back to the hotel said 300ks. The Airtours rep was innacurate with information on a couple of accasions.

Couple of things to be aware of at the airport:
When you get to Mombasa airport, you need to pay for your Visa in either US Dollars or English pounds - they won't accept Kenyan Shilling
When you leave Mombasa, make sure you have 1500ks (or equivalent in english or dollars)

Overall, Mombassa was a fantastic experience and would recommend the Mombasa Beach Hotel for those looking for a comfortable stay.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joe G wrote a review Feb 2007
Bristol UK
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Mombasa Beach Hotel (MBH) is situated above the beautiful Nyali beach, one of the most Southernmost beaches that is North of Mombasa. Steps lead down to the beach, but as there are no available loungers available for use or hire on the beach, it is empty most of the day. This isn't a MBH 'feature', none of the hotels offer this, and you can't rent them from the beach boys either.

ROOMS: the rooms are of a good standard, clean and tidy, and you don't get much noise from the other rooms creeping through. The sheets and towels are changed every 2 days but you can request more frequent changes if required.
You get a TV, and can ask for a fridge also. I would recommend the latter, as a cold drink in your room goes down very nicely. All rooms come with good aircon units. Y
You will probably get some noise from the entertainment up till about 11pm, but this varies on your distance from the bar and what time you go to bed!
The bathrooms are of a standard size, and all rooms appear to have a balcony, most with a sea view. You get tables and chairs too.

FOOD: the food provided is always in a buffet style, and is of a good standard. You always get a choice of starter, main and pudding and they cater for the European pallet with very few, if any, Kenyan food choices. Vegetarians seem well catered for.
You get free fruit juices for breakfast, and free tea/ coffee with the evening meal, but any other drinks will be charged. The prices are much cheaper than in England so this was no problem.
A chef is always there to cook something fresh for you 'while you wait'- generally an omlette in the morning and a meat dish in the evening.
If you are staying for 2 weeks, you might get a little bored of the lack of overall variety, but I doubt any other hotel around there would be much different.

FACILITES/ SERVICES/ POOLSIDE: the staff are excellent at all levels and in all respects. Very friendly, especially to children, and they take the time to learn your names. They can't do enough to help you, but I think this is the Kenyan way in general, especially to Brits.
Services of the hotel include a small 'business area' which has internet access (chargeable), a comfortable bar with an LCD TV screen (which shows mainly live Premier footy in the evenings, the Kenyans can't get enough of it), two rather unused and unloved tennis courts, and a table tennis table.
Also in the hotel is an enthusiastic "Animation" team, whose soul purpose is to entertain the guests and make sure everyone has a good time and no problems. These guys are really excellent, and don't hassle anyone who isn't interested. They arrange daily activities such as Water Polo, volleyball etc, and always join in themselves.
There is live entertainment every night, ranging from singers, to bands, to acrobats- always very entertaining and a nice touch.

POOLSIDE: the pool itself is heated and spacious, and always clean and tidy. There are several 'pool men' whose job it is to keep the poolside tidy and make sure everyone has sunbeds and mattresses.
The poolside got a lick of paint while we were there, which was a much needed improvement, it really transformed it. The loungers are in just about enough supply, but they are on the verge of running out if it got any busier.

OBSERVATIONS: never having been to Kenya before, I wasn't really sure what to expect, but we had a really nice 2 weeks at the MBH. The staff were a credit to the hotel, nothing was a problem for them, and I would recommend it to anyone.
You also get the old "towel on lounger" fun and games, as there are a lot of long term elderly German guests, but this is quite petty as there are no good or bad spots by the pool.
On Valentines Day evening, the hotel really pulled out all the stops, moving the entire evening meal to an outside garden, decorated with red and white balloons and lights, with nicely adorned tables and chairs. In addition, they laid on a stage with an excellent band and an impromptu fashion show. Everyone that I talked to was really impressed with it. Kudos to MBH!

So, if you planning to come to MBH, you won't regret it!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kenyaSwansea wrote a review Mar 2007
Swansea,
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this holiday after a travel agent enquired "how does Kenya sound" when we were looking for a late deal to the Carribean, we went home , pondered over it and went back and booked our first trip to Africa.

I am so glad we did, we both had a fantastic holiday at the Mombasa Beach Hotel, we had to change rooms on our second day due to a lack of water in our shower, they moved us to a suite which was lovely. We asked could we have a fridge and imediately they sent a member of staff up with a frige, the staff were so helpful, and always with a smile on their face.

Hotel could do with a refurb but otherwise it was clean and comfortable, but then again we only used the hotel to eat and sleep in, too busy enjoying the local life etc

Mombasa Town really manic but you have to visit it at least once, even if to see Moi Avenue where the tusks are and Fort Jesus.

People warn you about being hassled on the beach, it was nothing horrid, just the locals hoping you would buy some of their carvings etc, when we told them we had just arrived and would look later they would leave you alone.

People will offer you safaris on the beach, be careful but don;t say NO, we booked a safari from a man called Joe who used to be at our pool bar most day, we were apprehensive at first but he introduced us to other hotel residents that had travelled on safari through him and I have to say our safari was fantastic, the only animals we missed were the rhino and the leopard, we seen a lion after he had just killed a zebra , the whole carcass was still in the bushes. If you book through Joe you will have a really good trip, he even phones the guide to see how you are, whilst you are on your trip.

What can I say, we had a fantastic trip, was sorry that we didn't take more photos, even though we took about 200. This was the best holiday we have ever been on overall, safari included. Wouldn't go back to Kenya thou, fancy South Africa next.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marshall S wrote a review Dec 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything about this hotel is terrible - from the food to the service. It badly needs renovations. The fountain in front is full of filth. Beatrice, the person helping me, was evasive, incompetent, and rude. Every cost she provided was lower than the actual cost. I was picked up 30 minutes late from the airport. The WiFi didn’t work most of the time. The beach is dirty and there’s trash in the sand. The music playing by the pool is so loud that you can hear it from anywhere on the hotel all the way up to night. The plates and glasses were dirty. There were periodic power outages.

If you are looking for a relaxing and nice vacation, do not stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beatrice Muriithi, Marketing at Mombasa Beach Hotel
Responded 19 Dec 2021
Dear Marshall, Thank you for posting a review. We are sorry to hear about your experience. Your feedback helps us do better. We are known for taking ownership and caring deeply about our customers and with regards to internal issues concerning the hotel, you have our commitment to improve the way we serve every customer. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future and hopefully, you will give us your feedback on the ground to assist make your experience better. Please know that your situation was an exception. The package in which you were booked included full board accommodation (meals only plan), airport transfers and flight as requested by your agent. All of which were 100% fulfilled without any demand for any extra/hidden cost related during your stay with us. To clarify, the costs you have referred to were on your individual requirement for a Covid-19 test and taxi fare to & from the health facility which are external costs (not related to the Hotel package). It is fair to acknowledge that throughout the interaction with the external service providers as we tried to assist you, you were present, updated and all/any communication shared with you via WhatsApp. These costs are not determined by the hotel or its’ employees and our assistance was limited to linking you and relaying the information to you as and how it was available/received including the contact details for you to verify. Due to this assistance, you were tested and managed to get your Covid-19 test results within 5hours, a process that takes 24hrs. Please be assured that our intentions and actions were sincere and genuine.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Suz wrote a review Jan 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was given room 435 and it was horrendous..a very run down, tired room. This is the review of the room (I have attached photos)
• very very weak wi-fi in the room
• TV battery not working, I had to ask for a replacement
• the bathroom tap as well as the aircon were leaking - woke up to a pool of water on the floor
• balcony door not properly closing and had no lock (which felt unsafe)
• stained doors and worn out walls in dire need of paint
• the floor is worn out, rough and badly needs vanish
• main door to the room has to be pushed hard to close and lock. It had a lose door handle and a rusty key
• every metal item in the room is rusted.
• no hot water in shower
• very tired bedding...faded bedcover
After complaining, they gave me a slightly better room.

All the rooms in the whole wing and as a matter of fact, the whole hotel need an urgent upgrade.

Before you book...INSIST on seeing the room!!!

The only good thing in the hotel is the view and the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beatrice Muriithi, Owner at Mombasa Beach Hotel
Responded 18 Jan 2022
Dear Gakare, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are sorry that you did not have a great experience. Your feedback is important to us, we are known for taking ownership and caring deeply about our customers. With regards to the issues raised, we have escalted them to the Management for attention. You have our committment that we are doing everything possible to upgrade and inprove the hotel in the course of this year (2022) and hopefully by end of year, you will allow us to invite you again to see the improvements. Please feel free to contact us on 0794 671609 or sales@kenya-safari.co.ke for updates and/or more information about our Lodges Voi Safari Lodge and Ngulia Safari Lodge.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Caleb O wrote a review Aug 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Room location especially facing the sea is nostalgic . Wonderful sun rises and sun sets . Atmosphere is peaceful.

Food is good and adequate .

Rooms are spacious enough .

Socket outlets should be increase in the rooms .

Spectrum of DSTV should widen to cover more channels.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Higher rooms give a very good view of the sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beatrice Muriithi, Owner at Mombasa Beach Hotel
Responded 01 Sept 2022
Thank you Calebo for the positive and encouraging review, it captures the true picture of our amenities and services.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael J wrote a review Feb 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The meals from that hotel are the best that I have ever had since I discovered the purpose of my tongue. They were truly exceptional. The staff were also friendly, cheerful, and accommodating. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who ever visits the city of Mombasa.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beatrice Muriithi, Owner at Mombasa Beach Hotel
Responded 20 Feb 2022
Dear Michael, Thank you for taking your time to leave us this amazing review and rating us an honest 5 star! Wow, we cannot thank you enough. We are humbled and glad to have been at your service. You are most welcome again and again, we look forward to hsting you in the near future. For inquiries and bookings, please reach us on 0794671609 or email info@kenya-safari.co.ke.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DAC Tours &Travel LTD wrote a review May 2019
Nairobi, Kenya
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Friendly with the pocket while still offering excellent services. Located close to Mombasa city it is an escape from the hot and tedious city life. Access is easy in and out saving time and expenses. #MagicalKenya
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KSLHOTELS LTD, General Manager at Mombasa Beach Hotel
Responded 11 Feb 2021
Dear Dac-Tours Greetings from Mombasa Beach Hotel. We thank you for your amazing review and continuous support. We hope to do more business with your this year and many more to come. For more information on ur rates and special offers, please contact us on 0722203143/4 or Email us on sales@kenya-safari.co.ke
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WorldTravelStar wrote a review Nov 2011
Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
DO NOT STAY HERE. DO NOT VISIT. DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES HIRE THE MEN TO TEACH YOU HOW TO WIND AND KITE SAIL!!!!!
This place is a filthy dump with employees who will tell you one thing, then make you pay 10x more. They are bullies. Also, the beach is dirty and filled with sellers and hustlers. Save your money and your time. Go to the Sonesta.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2011
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Stay away!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from zanaki, Guest Relations Manager at Mombasa Beach Hotel
Responded 16 May 2012
Dear World Travel Star, Good Morning. Am responding to your review posted on the TripAdvisor .com. We do sincerely apologize for the ordeal you underwent with the Kite surfing staff at the Mombasa Beach Hotel. We have since been in-touch with the Staff and owners of the kite surfing unit and have advised them to have their rates be well displayed at both the reception and at the site to discourage case of fraud or rip off to our clients. Additionally all items or services in the Hotel for sale have now been priced and publicly displayed to avoid the fraudulent practise. We appreciate the updates and we look forward to serving you better. Kindly accept our sincere apologies. Kind Regards, Nyakio N.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ericwyn wrote a review Feb 2007
north wales
4.0 of 5 bubbles
what a great hotel, staff very helpful at all times. wonderful view from the room, and would pay a fortune for this in europe. the food was ok but became a little repetative in the second week. the barbecue on a sat was cold so on the second week we went to the golden chopsticks ( chinese ) which cost 1000 shilings ( £ 8.00 ) return by tthe hotel taxi wel worth it.. beach was fantastic, warm water and powder sand.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2007
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tkaragu wrote a tip May 2023
Nairobi, Kenya1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"I won't recommend unless there is an overhaul in cleanliness "
Read full review
Caleb O wrote a tip Aug 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Higher rooms give a very good view of the sea"
Read full review
Sadiq1212 wrote a tip Jan 2018
Dubai, United Arab Emirates3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms have the best view of the Indian Ocean."
Read full review
Osman H wrote a tip Nov 2017
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for sea facing room"
Read full review
wesleybabble wrote a tip Oct 2017
Amsterdam, The Netherlands11 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get rooms at the top floors for better view of the ocean"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mombasa area.
LOCATION
KenyaCoast ProvinceMombasa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
156
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MOMBASA BEACH HOTEL - Reviews (Kenya)

Frequently Asked Questions about Mombasa Beach Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mombasa Beach Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Moonshine Beach Bar (0.7 km), Oyana Tours & Travel (0.5 km), and Aroma Florist (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mombasa Beach Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Mombasa Beach Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a bidet, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Mombasa Beach Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Mombasa Beach Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mombasa Beach Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Roberto's Italian Restaurant, Zains Barbeque House, and Mashua Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mombasa Beach Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mombasa Beach Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mombasa Beach Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mombasa Beach Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Swahili.
Are there any historical sites close to Mombasa Beach Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Town (4.9 km), Leven House (5.0 km), and Mandhry Mosque (5.0 km).
All Mombasa HotelsMombasa Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MombasaHotels near Mombasa Beach Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire