Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Kigwa Lane, Off Kiambu Road, Nairobi 00100 Kenya
Traveller (356)
Room & Suite (77)
Outdoor dining area
Dining (33)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 3 resorts in Nairobi
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club is Africa's leading Golf Resort having in it Kenya's best golf course. The resort is a mere 15 minutes drive from Nairobi's central business district and 45 minutes from the main airport. This Nairobi's leading 5 star golf hotel has a cluster of impressive Victorian style buildings with 130 deluxe rooms comprising of twins, doubles, studio suites and cottages all overlooking the spectacular 18-hole championship golf course. With a 16-hour business center, free wi-fi internet access in all rooms and public areas (for resident guests), 3 km and 5 km jogging tracks, tennis & squash courts, heated pool,spa, well equipped gym, among other facilities ensure you and your family won’t miss a moment of excitement. Our greatest asset is SPACE, a SERENE AMBIENCE and YOU our most valuable guest.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Hiking
Squash
Tennis court
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Concierge
Currency exchange
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Park View
509Reviews0Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 214
  • 166
  • 72
  • 33
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jeff R wrote a review Jan 2022
Richmond, Virginia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I am writing a very mixed review on Windsor and honestly I hope that ownership reads this as the issues really have more to do with investment in the hotel rather that what staff can control. In a nutshell, Windsor needs major reinvestment or the owners should sell it and let the purchasers do it. It is currently teetering on the "3" mark in my opinion, but could easily be a 4-5 star property with appropriate action. On the other hand, they are sliding towards a very low ranking as things stand now. The location and uniqueness of the place is terrific. We played golf and loved the course and especially the caddies. The hotel staff were so friendly and outgoing that you felt bad for them when they had to repeatedly come to the table, at every meal, and explain that they were out of whatever we had ordered. My last night there I had to order three times until they had something in stock on the menu. Any chef who knows what she or he is doing will line up the servers before a meal and go over the specials of the day and also what items are "86'ed"...meaning they don't have. Not so at Windsor.

We had a two bedroom cottage on the golf course which could easily fetch $800+US at a high-end property. Instead the place had old shabby furniture and drapes, a TV in the living room that wasn't even hooked up, a coffee pot but they forgot all of the coffee and tea to go with it and no lights...the living room literally had no floor or table lights, so you couldn't even use it at night. The room service menus were so old that the hotel attendant had no idea what we were talking about when we called to place orders.

Again, I want to note how nice the staff were and what a spectacular setting this hotel lies within. I just hope that ownership will get their act together and decide to get serious or get out of the business. This place is a real gem that with investment, could quickly shine again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lemmy Mathenge, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
Responded 21 Sept 2022
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback and we are very happy that you liked the location, the golf course and the staff. We have taken note of the need for an upgrade, something that it being planned, and also of the other maintenance issues. Management will work on these even as we move towards the bigger property upgrade. We value your feedback and you may contact me on lemmy@windsor.co.ke for more details.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
temituoyo wrote a review Feb 2020
Lagos, Nigeria
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent a working week at this awesome Golf Hotel. The view from the rooms is the lovely golf course with gentle greens inter spaced with ponds that have exquisite looking birds. The big course provide ample well-marked route for early morning walks, with warnings to look out for monkeys. The rooms are large and well furnished. The staff are warm and responsive to guests needs. The buffet breakfast is great.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vijay' Krishnan-Vazhvelil, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
Responded 04 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, We take this moment to appreciate you for giving us such extensive feedback. We are delighted to hear that our large and well furnished rooms along with our palatable breakfast buffet made for an overall wonderful stay. We are also pleased to learn that you enjoyed the view of the golf course from the rooms and that the early morning walks offered you the ultimate relaxing experience. We are undoubtedly looking forward to hosting you on your next visitation. Kindest regards Vijay' Krishnan-Vazhvelil
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MRCordova wrote a review Jul 2022
Caracas, Venezuela
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel grounds are gorgeous and despite being isolated, it does not feel unsafe. Strict checks at the gate and at reception.

The hotel arranged for me airport pick up and drop off and they were perfectly on time, every time.

All staff without exception go above and beyond to make you feel at home. Every time I requested something, I was greeted with a wonderful smile. This place is the best example of Kenyan hospitality.

However, it feels like the hotel has invested so much on maintaining the beautiful grounds and golf course that they completely forgot about the rooms. My room was not great and I tried to avoid being there during the day as I could work bette and concentrate in any of the many spaces of the hotel.

The floor feels like it is about to collapse underneath you. I feel sorry for those on the floor below because every time I took a step, the whole room creaked. The bathroom needed new faucets and a new toilet. Everything was rusty and I felt the pipes were going to give up at any time. To flush I had to do something weird to the handle that felt like pumping the toilet so it would have enough pressure to flush.
The shower was clogged and although water pressure in the shower was great, I always tried to shower quickly so it would not overflow.
I had a hair dryer whose cable was visibly burnt so I didn’t dare use it.

The furniture in the rest of the room was either broken or looking flimsy. I had to unplug the TV because it didn’t work but it kept a white screen on even when I turned it off.

Maybe I was unlucky but my room looked like it had not been maintained in years and it is a shame that such a beautiful place does not invest in upgrading the rooms.

The bed was comfortable and clean.

The outlets were very old an
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lemmy Mathenge, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
Responded 21 Sept 2022
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback and we have taken note of the need for an upgrade, plans of which are in the pipeline. We apologize we did not meet your expectation and would appreciate it if you could contact me directly on lemmy@windsor.co.ke
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gareth H wrote a review Nov 2020
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We are social members but we will not be renewing, but the hotel has made almost no attempt to reopen their facilities, despite being permitted to do so. They refuse to answer emails, delete my queries from their Facebook page. They send out misleading communication via email and then refuse to apologise. They have offered nominal discount for the next year, despite the gym and the pool being closed for over 6 months. And they have charged us when we attempt to use the nature trail, despite that already being included in the cost of memrbership!
Overall, very poor customer service and a complete refusal to engage in discussion, or answer queries.
Don't bother, there are better gyms now open in the local area.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lemmy Mathenge, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
Responded 12 Nov 2020
Dear Gareth, let me begin by apologizing for the lack of response to your queries. You can reach me directly on lemmy@windsor.co.ke or +254 722 741446. It is true that due to the Corona Pandemic, we did close off sections of the hotel and club, in line with government health and safety regulations and embarked on a gradual opening starting with the least risky sections such as the golf course and the jogging tracks. I am happy to report that we opened the pool and gym last week end and have put very strict measures in place to ensure the safety of all users. That said, I understand your disappointment that you were not able to use the facilities for some period during this year. We are more than ready and willing to listen to you and clarify any information that you may consider misleading. Kind Regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NirmalyaKE wrote a review Feb 2022
Nairobi, Kenya
2.0 of 5 bubbles
When we checked in the WC was filthy and some lights in the room weren't working. The room was uncomfortably hot at night and there is no air circulation possible. We couldn't open the French window because a marquee had been set up just a few metres outside it totally blocking the view, and because of the mosquitoes. The wi-fi service was iffy and often wasn't available in the room.
The setting is beautiful so it is a pity that the stay has to be so uncomfortable. You get the unfortunate feeling that the management doesn't care because some things like a pedestal fan are easy to install. Similarly it doesn't take much to make sure the bathroom isn't yucky or that the lights are working.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lemmy Mathenge, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
Responded 21 Sept 2022
Dear Guest, kindly accept our most sincere apologies for the uncomfortable stay at The Windsor. Management has since worked to resolve the majority of these issues and i would appreciate it if you could contact me directly on lemmy@windsor.co.ke for more details.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
joan k wrote a review Feb 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had our wedding on the 20th Feb 2021.
The experience that we had was beyond excellent. Family and friends were satisfied and marveled at how well the venue was prepared to receive and host us.
We would like to mention two people who made the whole experience seamless and unforgettable. The first is Madam Jane Muthoni. She walked us through the whole process from the beginning of the planning to the end. She was very organized, approachable, professional and kind. She won the confidence of our parents and this led to the success of the day.

The second person that we would like to mention and personally appreciate is Chef Robert Yose. He was responsible for the meal. In all the events that we have attended, we have never ever had such a delicious and satisfying dish. This sentiment is also shared by our guests.
Each and every one that we had the opportunity to personally interact with highlighted this. And so, chef Robert Yose, Asante Sana. We truly hope that many more people get to experience your excellence.
Thank you to the people of Windsor. Just to mention a few, Steve from the reception. There is a server at The Place(we have forgotten his name) that was very kind and engaging. We want to thank him too. Also, we cannot forget the auxiliary staff who were always receiving us with a smile and were friendly too.
Our experience is forever memorable and unforgettable.

God bless.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lemmy Mathenge, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
Responded 11 Mar 2021
Dear Joan, CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR WEDDING. We are honored to have been your venue of choice for your special day and we wish you all the best in future. We are glad and privileged to have been chosen to play a part and very happy that you and your guests had an amazing experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samuel K wrote a review Aug 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay here was wonderful to say the least. The studio we stayed in was gorgeous, spacious, well managed and accorded us the privacy we needed. The staff are super friendly and offered amazing personalized service. Oh and the food was plenty and delicious! We thoroughly enjoyed our restful stay after a busy planning period. Would recommend it to any couple out here looking for a honeymoon spot within Nairobi
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lemmy Mathenge, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
Responded 08 Oct 2020
Dear Samuel, We are indeed very glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and Congratulations on your wedding. Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Karibu Tena!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lawrence K wrote a review May 2021
Kenya
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Rustic, elegant, traditional hotel applies to this lovely place. This second visit has been an eye-opener. The cottages, the apartments like rooms,the perfect WiFi (which on previous visit was wanting),the food(freshly done each day), the coffee(beans from the Windsor coffee mills) are all things you will go back for.
The Chef Robert Agade took each guest as a visitor to his 'home' kitchen making food to guests order.
Will definitely recommend this hotel anytime.
Tennis courts and Golf course we're the clincher for me.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lemmy Mathenge, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
Responded 03 May 2021
Dear Lawrence, How wonderful to know that you enjoyed your second visit! It was a pleasure to host you once again and we hope to see you back soon. Karibu Tena!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dchristinerand wrote a review Jun 2021
Nairobi, Kenya
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at this hotel a number of times in the past. Recently stayed at this hotel and I was not impressed. For instance this is one of the only heated pools in the city, so we came here for our daughters. However the pool was cold. When we repeatedly asked to heat up the pool, the staff said they would but they did not, and the pool remained cold the entire time we were there. Not great.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lemmy Mathenge, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
Responded 05 Jul 2021
Dear Guest, we have noted your disappointment with the unheated pool during your stay with us and sincerely apologize for this. We had mechanical problems with the heat exchanger that have since been sorted out and the pool is now heating as normal. We look forward to welcome you and your family back and you can contact me at lemmy@windsor.co.ke
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pamella Bouchér wrote a review Nov 2020
Las Vegas, Nevada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It's taken long to review but...we were completely out of words. It was fantastic from the word go.from planning to the wedding reception till the last day of check out after our wedding. What a paradise on earth. The staff were so friendly that we never felt like leaving. Thanks to the F&B Manager ,Patrick who was like part of our family-he made sure everything was in order, Steve from guests relations too did magic all along. The f&b staff especially njeri at the place restaurant,they were so professional and friendly. We felt at home.The GM then Mr.Vijay,God bless you and your family,your leadership shows alot of mentorship to your staff. We had visited previously for site inspection and when we came back everyone could remember us.. customer care services on point. I could say much, me being in the industry too,the only thing I can do is personally recommend anyone and everyone to Windsor. A paradise on earth. Especially the food, so yummy. My guests till today talks of this beautiful haven.keep it up. My husband and I love Windsor and we will always be back
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lemmy Mathenge, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
Responded 22 Jan 2021
Dear Pamela, It's such a joy to know that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your wedding at the Windsor and on behalf of all our staff, CONGRATULATIONS. It means a lot to us that we played a small part in making your big day a success. Thank you for choosing the Windsor and we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Colin M wrote a tip 14 Jul
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Well worth trying The Place for a pizza"
Read full review
Andrew m wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"best hotel in nairobi "
Read full review
Andrew W wrote a tip Nov 2023
Malaga, Spain17 contributions19 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay here!"
Read full review
Eric Washington wrote a tip May 2022
27 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The cottage/villa is perfect for a family of four."
Read full review
Miss A wrote a tip Aug 2021
Worldwide3 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Cottages have a good view, quiet and serene, the beds though, horrible!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nairobi area.
PRICE RANGE
R 3,954 - R 5,224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
windsor hotel and country
LOCATION
KenyaNairobi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
130
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WINDSOR GOLF HOTEL AND COUNTRY CLUB - Resort Reviews & Price Comparison (Nairobi, Kenya)

Frequently Asked Questions about Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
Which popular attractions are close to Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club?
Nearby attractions include Wild Springs Adventures (6.0 km), Karura Forest (5.6 km), and Village Market (5.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jiko, Slate - Kitchen & Bar, and Hero Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club have airport transportation?
Yes, Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dedan Kimathi Statue (8.7 km), Brite Afrika Safaris (9.0 km), and The Galton-fenzi Memorial (9.1 km).
Does Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
All Nairobi HotelsNairobi Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NairobiHotels near Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire