Kahama Hotel Nairobi

Kahama Hotel Nairobi

Traveller (64)
Breakfast Room in Kahama Hotel
Dining (28)
Deluxe
Room & Suite (20)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#3 of 113 small hotels in Nairobi
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Nairobi's best kept secret can now be revealed. Kahama Hotel Nairobi next to the Globe roundabout is Nairobi's answer to a 2-star hotel with the comforts of a 3-star Hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Secured parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Budget

Location

Murang'a Road P.O. Box 33003, Nairobi 00600 Kenya
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 75 out of 100
75
Jomo Kenyatta Intl Airport
12.9 km
See all flights
Wilson Airport
256Reviews7Q+A52Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 84
  • 102
  • 42
  • 13
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mark Walker wrote a review Dec 2020
4 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This centrally located hotel offers exceptional value for money.
The hotel is old but well maintained.

The management and all staff give levels of customer service that exceed those found in much more expensive alternatives.

Rooms were of a good size with an extremely comfortable bed.

Good hot shower

Plenty of drawer space

Good TV reception

Nice almost soft furnishings,

Liked the cafe a lot, had a table
at the window to watch the hectic Nairobi traffic and everyday life.

It is however quiet inside and noise does not intrude.

Food was delicious.

Thanks to John and all staff for making this a very good experience which I would recommend to anyone who is on a tight budget but is looking for a good place to stay close to the CBD of Nairobi
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kahama Nairobi, Owner at Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Responded 04 Dec 2020
Dear Mark, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at Kahama Hotel Nairobi and it was a pleasure having you as one of our valued guests. Our primary responsibility is to ensure that you have a memorable experience and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. I sincerely appreciate your kind acknowledgment of our hotel standard, professional and personalized customer service, warm reception, delicious food served in our restaurant, room amenities, and furnishing. We always strive to provide the best service to our guests at an affordable price and I am happy to note we exceeded your expectation. Your compliments to the staff will be communicated to them and on their behalf, I thank you for the same. We are humbled and motivated by your comments. It has inspired the Entire Kahama Family to perform even better. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and ensuring your expectations are exceeded once more. Thank you and we look forward to hosting you anytime you are in Nairobi. Karibu Kahama-Karibu Nyumbani. Asante. JOHN
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris wrote a review Dec 2020
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
As usual, the check in was easy and the room was clean and well prepared. Difficulties with the online booking that rooms included tea and coffee making facilities, but this was happily remedied.

Although in the heart of busy Nairobi, the location, particularly of a room on the back of the building was pleasantly quiet leading to a lovely nights sleep.

Good service and client care throughtout! I'll be back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Request a room on the back of the building.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julieta R wrote a review Feb 2020
Mexico City, Mexico7 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was good: the room was fine, they provide you with water and hot shower is available. The room faced the highway and traffic starts being heavy around 5 am. Since we had to wake up very early, this was not an inconvenience.

The staff helped us to take a box lunch breakfast with us as the breakfast was starting after we needed to leave. They were very kind and helpful.

The front desk woman was very helpful and performed a couple of phone calls on our behalf to ask for some required information.

I only have some topics to point out:
- the bell boy is constantly listening to everything you ask for at the front desk and this could be good or bad as they offer you solutions but of course is expecting a tip. And it could become annoying the insistence to use x or y service that they are recommending.
- We wanted to use Uber and of course the staff knew were we wanted to go. Bell boy/ Security guy insisted us to get a taxi (parked at the Hotel’s parking) and was unhelpful on supporting us to find out why our Uber was not arriving (wrong address/ Hotel is difficult to find) because of course they wanted to be tipped/not sure if they get commissions when providing clients.
- Once you don’t tip them or they don’t get the expected tip they stop wanting to help. This does not apply to the Front Desk personnel, which was very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emmanuel Wekesa wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
In terms of the rooms, the rooms are good, clean and average. In terms of wifi it’s very poor and disappointing. You can’t have a room in the far corners otherwise the signal will be very poor and it’s sad especially if you are spending 4,000 Kenya shillings (£25) per night, you would at least expect ALL rooms to have great signal and for there to be more wifi. They have the money and facility but seem to be very limited to certain rooms. My little cousin accidentally spilled a drink by mistake, and they had the audacity to charge us for the glass break which is outrageous and goes against basic human rights. Wifi needs to be improved, how can you just have good wifi for certain rooms but not all especially when you’re spending so much money which clearly doesn’t get invested back into the business. And charging your loyal customers for such little things especially when we come every year is damn right unfair and unacceptable.

No customer should be complaining or having trouble when staying in a hotel that claims to be one of the best in the country and goes against their word and moral standards. I expect improvement and a more enjoyable experience for myself and other customers that wish to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelsey L wrote a review Sept 2023
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We felt well looked after the whole time we stayed there. The staff were friendly, helpful and professional. The rooms were basic but clean and offered excellent value for money. The food was great with a nice variety of local meals to choose from at a reasonable price. The service was great in the restaurant as well. We would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aroundthesun wrote a review Dec 2021
Hexham, United Kingdom1,666 contribution27 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a budget hotel you can book direct with for very good prices.
I took a budget room so can only comment on that, it was certainly a basic room but was spotless clean. The staff were all very food. The location on the side of town is good for access to town and Westlands.
Two negatives. The road outside can give noise and my shower was not great but still rine to actually shower in.
For what you pay and if your not too fussy like myself it is superb value for Nairobi.
Wifi was fine.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Okemwa S wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
There is this day we left the room in the morning as we always do and we come back later in the evening. When we came back the room was untidy like we had left it . My boyfriend went to complain about it, the lady at the reception was not willing to give a solution for that . He then requested to talk to the manager for a go ahead. The manager authorized them to shift us to another room "that was so nice of you though". The following day when we were checking out my boyfriend left his laggage at the reception and requested them to keep them for him he will come pick them up later in the day. When he came back they refused to give him his belongings claiming that he has to pay for the other room and yet we had paid earlier for that night. Making matters more worse the manager was the one insisting we should pay yet it was there fault not ensuring our room was clean.That was so mean of you guys even after staying in your hotel for ten days and the last day you charge as double price . I think you should consider customer satisfaction because we paying for the services.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: I advice them to order there rooms online because they don't have standard room rates when you...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Serrate Agusti wrote a review Mar 2023
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment of our arrival, the staff made us feel like we were family. We had the room ready and available before checkin time and was given to us no problem. Everything we asked for, everything needed fixing, the staff were trying to help and provide for and made our stay an unforgettable experience.
The hotel is very well located, 10 minutes walk from the Nairobi CBD and accross the Fig Tree Market, a must visit.
Thank you Jayne, Michael, Gabriel, Lillian, Lawrence, Angela,.. for being so great and all the time. We are now keeping in touch and certainly be staying with you at Kahama Hotel soon.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
fred o wrote a review Apr 2024
Lavington, Kenya1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was given a check in for 5am but told I only have the day till 9 pm. I left briefly for a meeting at 9am only to return to find my belongings out of the room. Seeking explanation I was told to pay again if I wanted to use the room. Hence I only spent 3 hours for a full price payment.

In addition the hot shower & tv was not operational & beddings needs a make over. Definitely not a hotel I'll recommend not even to my enemies.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rabea E wrote a review 05 Jun
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I paid for laundry and my iron, but it was only washed and without an iron.

I informed the reception, but they were annoyed by my request and asked me when you would leave from here.
I told them, if you are upset, give me the iron and I will do this myself without thinking or responding. The person in charge here came. By giving me the iron,

this is very sad
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from kahamahotelnbi
Nairobi, Kenya
Jambo Mark, It was a pleasure having you as one of our valued Kahama guest and thank you for sharing about your experience while with us at Kahama Hotel, Nairobi. Our primary responsibility is to ensure that you have a memorable experience and we thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you. Your complements to Catherine will be communicated to her and on her behalf I thank you for the same. Thank you for acknowledging the amazing work being done by our receptionists. We look forward to hosting you anytime you are in Nairobi. Kind Regards, JOHN
Kristine D asked a question Jul 2018
Yeovil, United Kingdom222 contributions83 helpful votes
Just wanna ask if the price includes complimentary breakfast. Thanks
Answer from kahamahotelnbi
Nairobi, Kenya
Jambo Kristine, Thank you for your inquiry and choosing Kahama Hotel Nairobi. Our prices vary depending on the type of room, desired type of accommodation if bed only or bed and breakfast. Kindly send us an email through provided inbox for an accurate tailored quotation customized around your requirement. Kind Regards, JOHN
patieseleka asked a question May 2017
Gaborone, Botswana
Hi, how far are you located from Windsor Golf Hotel?
Answer from kahamahotelnbi
Nairobi, Kenya
Jambo Patiesele, Thank you for your email and has been well received. Kahama hotel Nairobi is located 11.6km from Windsor Golf Hotel and its 18 minutes drive despite normal traffic. Incase of any inquiry,kindly feel free to get intouch. Karibu Kahama Karibu Nyumbani. Thank you. Kind Regards, Mary. Front Desk.
Syaron C asked a question Jul 2016
1 contribution
Hi do you offer airport pick up service?
Answer from kahamahotelnbi
Nairobi, Kenya
Jambo Thank you for your email inquiry and choosing Kahama Hotel nairobi Yes, we offer airport pick up from the JKIA to the hotel at $25 one way,should you require the services kindly send us your flight details to help us make arrangements for the same in good time Looking forward to hearing from you Karibu Kahama-Karibu Nyumbani Rose Front Office Reservations
Gregory M asked a question Sept 2015
For three hours how do charge
Answer from kahamahotelnbi
Nairobi, Kenya
Jambo, We charge Kshs.2,800 being a day rate. Karibu Kahama Karibu Nyumbani.
Okemwa S wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"I advice them to order there rooms online because they don't have standard room rates when you pay cash."
Read full review
Robert Kanya wrote a tip Aug 2023
Nairobi, Kenya467 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beautiful vintage hotel in Nairobi city."
Read full review
Estefanía wrote a tip Dec 2021
Zaragoza, Spain6 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are in a hurry, don't eat at their restaurant."
Read full review
Chris wrote a tip Dec 2020
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request a room on the back of the building."
Read full review
Choiyey wrote a tip Feb 2019
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request back side."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nairobi area.
PRICE RANGE
R 435 - R 435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
KenyaNairobiNairobi Central Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
47
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KAHAMA HOTEL NAIROBI - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Kenya) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Which popular attractions are close to Kahama Hotel Nairobi?
Nearby attractions include Nairobi National Museum (0.9 km), Nairobi Gallery (1.2 km), and National Archives (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kahama Hotel Nairobi?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Kahama Hotel Nairobi?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Kahama Hotel Nairobi?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kahama Hotel Nairobi?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tatu Restaurant By Fairmont, CJ's Koinange, and Mawimbi Seafood Restaurant.
Does Kahama Hotel Nairobi have airport transportation?
Yes, Kahama Hotel Nairobi offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Kahama Hotel Nairobi offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Kahama Hotel Nairobi?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dedan Kimathi Statue (0.6 km), Brite Afrika Safaris (0.9 km), and The Galton-fenzi Memorial (1.0 km).
All Nairobi HotelsNairobi Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NairobiHotels near Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire