Karen Camp

Karen Camp

Acacia Drive Off Marula Ln, Nairobi 00502 Kenya
Bikers ready to leave
Traveller (22)
Dining (5)
Ibis just outside my tent
Room & Suite (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#8 of 51 lodges in Nairobi
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Karen Camp and Hostel provides budget accommodation out of the hustle and bustle of Nairobi in the leafy suburb of Karen. The management and quite a few of the staff have been in the hospitality industry for over twenty years. We especially cater for the independent traveler as well as intrepid, expedition orientated safari folk. We have a small bar and restaurant and provide a variety of budget priced accommodation. Please consider us when planning your safari here in East Africa. We look forward to your stay with us.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Game room
Golf course
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Secured parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Darts
Car hire
Massage
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Swahili
81Reviews2Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 21
  • 26
  • 21
  • 11
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
GerryGiraffe wrote a review Jan 2016
Cape Town, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here a couple of weeks in their upstairs rooms which are more expensive and better than the dorms. The location is close to Giraffe Manor, Sheldrick's elephant orphanage, Kazuri beads, both Airports, all without having to go through the center of Nairobi city which is to be avoided because of dreadful traffic congestion all the time. Many restaurants close by although the food produced on site was excellent value anyway. Turkey samosas, cocktail sausages & spring rolls great light pub snacks. Curry also good. We found the staff helpful and just fine
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp
Responded 23 Jun 2016
Thanks very much for your kind review GerryGiraffe. The new management and staff are eager to further improve the service and product and look forward to your future visit when next you visit Kenya.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChaeAmando wrote a review Aug 2015
Laguna Beach, California
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our Nairobi base on a 5 month overlanding trip from Cairo to Cape Town. Nestled in a community of estates - it's walled-in with guards. When our truck pulled in, we were welcomed by the other trucks and their travelers. plenty of shaded space, tables and seating for lounging, friendly bar inside with great wifi. A couple of our travelers opted for rooms and we lounged in there as well - basic and spacious, and clean. The library is full of interesting finds. The owner is a kind man who came out to spend time with us. The resident driver of the camp (Bob?) drove us through the Nairobi National park in his car - which surprisingly turned out to be one of the best safaris I had the entire African trek. Watch out for the monkeys that can invade the area, you are Strongly encouraged not to leave the grounds at night, the city is 15 minutes away.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp
Responded 23 Jun 2016
Dear ChaeAmando, Karen Camp, Nairobi, and it is now under new ownership as from 1st February 2016 and the management and staff since when you last stayed at this establishment in 2015. We’d be grateful for your review of us on TripAdvisor. Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' reviews before booking their own visits. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve. Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Karen Camp the next time you're in Nairobi. Please see latest TripAdvisor's reviews on us for your reference.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cider_with_rosie wrote a review Aug 2013
Ireland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my 4th stay at Karen Camp and I have to say to say I really enjoy it here. The staff make the place warm and welcoming so you are happy to put up with a few rough edges. Smiley the taxi driver is great craic and lives up to his name. The only uncomfortable moments came with the way white Kenyans that frequent the place on a social capacity speak to the staff and are, as rule fairly obnoxious to everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Avoid triple, number 11. Next door to resident snorer...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
marlonbunyip wrote a review Apr 2011
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I appreciate you get what you pay for however even so there is no excuse for the lack of cleanliness. I'd spent 10 days in Kenya without being bitten and was covered when I left Karen Camp and I'm not entirely convinced it was the mosquitos.

Lack of wifi was disappointing too.

On the plus side the food was good and staff were very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2011
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp
Responded 23 Sept 2016
Dear Guest, The place is under new ownership as of February 1st 2016 and we pride ourselves in having ended all of the misgivings the place has suffered from in the past. Do please try us again if ever heading our way ever again. Thanks, Brendan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
worldwideAustralia wrote a review Apr 2010
Australia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here after reading it was 'a spotless hotel' in lonely planet. The sheets were dirty, the bathroom disgusting and there was dog hair all over the furniture. The hostel is miles from anywhere and the surrounding 'gardens' as read in Lonely Planet is a junkyard of old trucks and rubbish. I would never stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2010Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp
Responded 23 Sept 2016
Dear Guest, The place is under new ownership as of February 1st 2016 and we pride ourselves in having ended all of the misgivings the place has suffered from in the past. Do please try us again if ever heading our way ever again. Thanks, Brendan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mlm2126 wrote a review Apr 2010
mlm2126
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here as part of an overland group. I upgraded from a tent to a dorm room, which was small, airless, crowded, and featured only one electrical outlet (for four people, with various electronic devices that required charging). The beds, which featured dirty mattresses, lacked mosquito nets, and as a result, I spent a sleepless night swatting mosquitoes. Absolutely miserable.

The surly staff claimed that they had only room room key for the dorm room. I pressed. them on this point, and eventually they handed over an additional key.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2010
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp
Responded 23 Sept 2016
Dear Guest, The place is under new ownership as of February 1st 2016 and we pride ourselves in having ended all of the misgivings the place has suffered from in the past. Do please try us again if ever heading our way ever again. Thanks, Brendan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marie5466 wrote a review May 2018
Guanajuato Municipality, Mexico
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Tented here and it was nice to also have access to garden, seating, restaurant, computer areas. Was a tad crowded with about 14 tents when we were there so we had to put up our tent under a tree next to a fence with vervet monkeys constantly fighting above our heads and behind our tent. We were advised to keep everything locked up just in case they would try to get inside our tents. Otherwise great stay even if for just one night.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp
Responded 30 Jan 2019
Dear Mike5466, Thank you for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your single night stay with us and you had no problems with the vervet monkeys that occasionally visit us. Hope to see you again someday. Cheers Val & Brendan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandija wrote a review Feb 2018
Riga
5.0 of 5 bubbles
During my one month travel period in Kenya, I stayed in Karen camp for three times. The owners and the staff are very friendly and ready to help with anything. The thing I really appreciated was that - if they are not fully booked, they try to accommodate solo travelers in separate dorms (although it would be easier for them to pack everybody in one room), so everybody gets more private space. The bar area and garden were super nice to have a meal, a beer and meet people. It is safe, clean and relaxed. It is not in the center of Nairobi, but for my case i was not disadvantage at all.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp
Responded 17 Feb 2018
Dear Sandija Thank you for your kind review. The staff and ourselves try to improve our standards everyday and look forward to looking after, and accommodating great travellers and adventurers like yourself. We all look forward to yourself and recommending your friends to coming again. Thanks again. Val and Brendan and all of the staff from Karen Camp.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FannyBBlossom wrote a review Jan 2018
San Jose, Costa Rica
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived in Nairobi close to midnight. Had a driver arranged to pick us up. Accommodations very comfortable and very clean. Friendly staff and excellent food. Lots of lounge areas with excellent wifi reception everywhere. Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp
Responded 30 Jan 2019
Thank you for your review FannyBBlossom. Glad you enjoyed our hospitality. Look forward to your next visit. Regards Val & Brendan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Olimpia G wrote a review Dec 2016
Toronto, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Poor camping facilities, limited hot water, campsite is on a slope making it difficult to set your tent. Upgrades are basic, but bathroom facilities in the upgrade are worth it. Wifi was in and out but it was free.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp
Responded 16 Dec 2016
Dear Olimpia, We're very sorry and disappointed that you did not enjoy our camp and hotel, however we have noticed a few discrepancies with your review. # While there is some sloping ground on the compound it is much less than the 2 acres of flat camping ground that is available to camp. I know where I would have set my tent up and it would not have been your choice of area. # Our hot water bathroom and showers are only heated for the morning and afternoon/evening times so as to not waste valuable energy resources and preserve the environment. Fueling the heaters all day would be extremely wasteful on our part and if and when a guests would like a hot shower at a different time,they could simply ask anyone of our staff to accommodate and to assist them and they would have. We are not mind readers. # Our free wi-fi can sometimes be under pressure when a large group such as yourselves all use it at the same time. Especially when people are streaming movies. I see our free wi-fi was able to stay connected for you to post this review. We don't pretend to be an multi star boutique premises. We are a budget camping and hotel, keeping it clean, efficient, cheap and cheerful. We are well suited to cater for travelers, (group and independents alike) who are on a budget such as yourselves. Two stars is disappointing we must say. We're better than that as you can see from other reviewers. Lastly, I do thank you for your recommendation of our rooms especially our ensuite ones, but even our non ensuite rooms are serviced by good, clean and well maintained public bathrooms.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Brendan B
Nairobi, Kenya
Yes, you may pitch your own tent and we charge $10USD per day per person. We look for to you visiting us. Please inform us when you may be visiting us here at Karen Camp.
Answer from Brendan B
Nairobi, Kenya
Airport transferred can be arranged by us with a reliable taxi service. Costs approx$30 USD. Transport to town with similar taxi $25 or short haul to bus stop of $2.50. Camp is secure and manned 24 hours a day. Small valuables and important documents can be store in our office safe and depending on length of stay. Look forward to having you stay here in January. Brendan (owner)
Trevor Sawyer wrote a tip Sept 2017
Christchurch, New Zealand34 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"this is an overlanders camp, dont come expecting silver service. Rustic with a great atmosphere"
Read full review
John & Sharon wrote a tip Nov 2016
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia222 contributions89 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 1 large & ensuite& quiet."
Read full review
AcaciaGM wrote a tip Oct 2016
Diani Beach, Kenya122 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 3 if you want en-suit. Room 1 if you want lots of space, en-suit and a bathtub."
Read full review
Gijs S wrote a tip Apr 2016
Nijmegen, The Netherlands6 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The upper floor has the more quiet and spacy rooms."
Read full review
travellingzebra wrote a tip Feb 2015
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom215 contributions100 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The upstairs suite with bath tub , tv and own dining area is worth the few extra quid."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nairobi area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
karen camp hotel nairobi
LOCATION
KenyaNairobi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KAREN CAMP - Lodge Reviews (Nairobi, Kenya)

Frequently Asked Questions about Karen Camp
Which popular attractions are close to Karen Camp?
Nearby attractions include Kazuri Beads Factory (3.7 km), Giraffe Centre (6.5 km), and Escape Room Kenya (2.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Karen Camp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Karen Camp?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Karen Camp?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Karen Camp?
Conveniently located restaurants include CJ's Waterfront, Tamarind Brasserie, and Tamarind Restaurant.
Does Karen Camp have airport transportation?
Yes, Karen Camp offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Karen Camp?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Karen Camp?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Swahili.
Are there any historical sites close to Karen Camp?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dedan Kimathi Statue (14.4 km), Brite Afrika Safaris (13.9 km), and The Galton-fenzi Memorial (14.1 km).
Is Karen Camp accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Nairobi HotelsNairobi Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NairobiHotels near Karen Camp
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire