Nairobi Transit Lounge

Nairobi Transit Lounge

Traveller (32)
A single room shared bathroom
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 22 hostels in Nairobi
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Quiet, serene and secure bed and breakfast located only 7 kms from Jomo Kenyatta airport. Ideal for guests on transit, layover or day room as they wait to connect to the next flight. Choice of rooms from dorm beds, single, double/Twin and triple either shared or en suite. FREE WiFi, FREE parking, 24 hour reception desk. Located away from the crazy Nairobi traffic enroute to Arusha and Moshi.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Concierge
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
39Reviews3Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 15
  • 11
  • 10
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Yirgalem Gidey G wrote a review Mar 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My recent layover in Nairobi took an unexpected turn for the luxurious thanks to the amazing transit lounge. As soon as I entered, I was politely greeted by staff members.

The food spread was fantastic, I particularly enjoyed the fish and chicken.

For those needing to freshen up after a long flight, the lounge even had spotless scene facilities breathing up fresh air while having the dishes.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Travel Up Adventure wrote a review Feb 2024
Los Angeles, Chile
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very good experience! The reservation was very easy to make and the owner and staff very kind, mainly Sypora, who started to help me with many arragements offering safety all the time. Very convenient location close to the airport (but you need to go by taxi or any trasnport), good food as well (home made, very tasty and with options). I understand they were recently in the new location so as advice but for sure you have in your list, to improve the toilet which is shared which is important.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Very good option if you are travelling alone! but at any case very good service, because they...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Moureen A wrote a review Feb 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at Nairobi Transit Lounge was so nice and Zipporah organised everything for us so well….starting from picking us up at the airport, taking us to the hotel, organising where to get my daughter’s hair done, dinner, breakfast and taking us to the airport the following day. And ooohh myyyy…..the Chapatis and Kienyeji vegetables were just woow. The cook really did a very good job. The room was well equipped and the whole place in general, very nice and neat. Zipporah is so kind, friendly and welcoming to everyone. We really enjoyed our time there and hope to go there soon again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ture G wrote a review Feb 2024
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice and serviceminded staff. I got quick reply on mails and messeges. Situated near the airport, the pick up at the airport was perfect on time. About 15 to 20 minutes transport even daytime. Clean rooms, clean and comfortable beds. Full breakfast. Low price.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GoPlaces15459491116 wrote a review Jun 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The place was nice, the customer care was excellent, the environment and compound is green, clean and comfortable. The booking came with breakfast in the morning and I really enjoyed it. Everything was fresh and tasty. I really had an amazing time
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sahijubabu wrote a review Jan 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I was stayed with my wife and 2 kids.The girl picked me from airport and dropped back.The stay was nice and break fast.
Dinner was not that much good
The road was terrible.
I hope the road will be repaired soon

Totally we enjoyed, for thanks
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris W wrote a review May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very helpful and friendly staff. Good price and close to the airport. Quiet at night. Dinner was excellent and special food requirements were carried out really well. The room and facilities were good for the price paid. I felt very welcome and will stay there again. Perfect place for a layover if you are on your own or in a small group.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jay A wrote a review Jun 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a lovely stay at the Nairobi Transit Lounge. Service was 10/10, my hosts were friendly and informative. My room was so clean and comfortable. I especially appreciated a home cooked meal after my long flight. Will definitely very back. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jez G wrote a review Feb 2024
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely one night stay here. The staff were really friendly and helpful - even sorting out transport for us - and the bed was nice and comfy. The food was also pretty tasty too! As I mentioned, we only stayed for one night but based off our brief experience would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Munir D wrote a review Aug 2018
Toronto, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a very small business class lounge. Very often there is no sitting place. Many a times I have seen appliances not work and food quality is basic.

The Lounge offers showers but the last time I was here they asked me to go to another lounge for a shower.

They also tend to announce the flight too late. The last two times I was here I was the last to board the aircraft.

Munir D.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Zipporah G, Guest Relations Manager at Nairobi Transit Lounge
Responded 14 Aug 2018
Hello Munir, Thanks so much for your review BUT unfortunately your review do not match our property and also we do not seem to have hosted you anytime in our property. We do not announce flights and so am sure you meant the lounge at the airport arrivals. Kindly contact booking.com to drop the review as it might affect our future business. We however look forward to host you some day and experience our hospitatlity while on transit. Regards Zipporah Guest Relations Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
C.C. asked a question Jul 2020
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma5 contributions
Are they good for accepting pets? We will be traveling with our cats!
Answer from HTLGuestAmbassador
Nairobi, Kenya38 contributions
Dear Zahida Greetings from Nairobi Transit Lounge, We would be delighted to host you. We would offer our room on a Ground floor which would be convenient for you, I currently do not see your dates of travel, please email us or simply book through our website to take advantage of our offers. you may book directly via TripAdvisor by searching Nairobi Transit Lounge, you will receive an instant booking confirmation, we are looking forward to hearing and welcome you.
Travel Up Adventure wrote a tip Feb 2024
Los Angeles, Chile10 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very good option if you are travelling alone! but at any case very good service, because they help you to organize even trips! "
Read full review
Amber Louise Mwiti wrote a tip Dec 2018
Leeds, United Kingdom77 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are ordering a taxi from here, order well in advance as many struggle to find the place!"
Read full review
Sarah L wrote a tip Jan 2018
8 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No restaurant, but they order take-away for you if you ask."
Read full review
tamasinemcnabb wrote a tip Sept 2016
Dubai, United Arab Emirates1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask for a mosquito net"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nairobi area.
PRICE RANGE
R 817 - R 817 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
KenyaNairobi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NAIROBI TRANSIT LOUNGE - Hostel Reviews & Price Comparison (Kenya)

Frequently Asked Questions about Nairobi Transit Lounge
Which popular attractions are close to Nairobi Transit Lounge?
Nearby attractions include Nairobi National Park (7.4 km), African Heritage House Museum (7.1 km), and Mayfair tours and safaris (5.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Nairobi Transit Lounge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Nairobi Transit Lounge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Nairobi Transit Lounge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Nairobi Transit Lounge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cjs - Imaara, Paul Caffe, and Java House Jomo Kenyatta Airport.
Does Nairobi Transit Lounge have airport transportation?
Yes, Nairobi Transit Lounge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Nairobi Transit Lounge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Nairobi Transit Lounge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dedan Kimathi Statue (14.8 km), The Galton-fenzi Memorial (14.8 km), and Brite Afrika Safaris (15.2 km).
Is Nairobi Transit Lounge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Nairobi HotelsNairobi Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NairobiHotels near Nairobi Transit Lounge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire