Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi Lodge

Excellent wine tasting
Traveller (229)
Beautiful gardens
Room & Suite (62)
Lilayi Lodge
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
R 5 615
Breakfast included
R 5 615
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 40 lodges in Lusaka
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Lilayi is an exquisite game lodge 30minutes from the centre of Lusaka. Set in 650hectares of game rich grounds boasting classic elegance and fine dining. Lilayi offers our guests the luxury of a safari lodge only 30 minutes from the centre of Lusaka. 12 Chalets are designed with a modern elegance and each provide a verandah view of the game that pass throughout the day. Relax and enjoy the wildebeest, giraffe, zebra and more than 20 species of antelope. The restaurant offers an African fusion cuisine that, coupled with our extensive wine collection, will delight any palate. Take an early morning guided nature walk, relax on a sunset game drive, make use of our running and walking trails, take a village tour or enjoy the elephant orphanage project at feeding time. Whatever your preference Lilayi makes a great venue for events, executive meetings or as an unforgettable holiday destination. New exclusive package now available that includes a walk in the bush with our orphaned baby elephants.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Babysitting
Children's playground
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Tile / marble floor
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
270Reviews3Q+A39Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 188
  • 61
  • 15
  • 4
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Louise W wrote a review Mar 2024
34 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Property's Favourite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fabulous lodge and great location. We were thoroughly well looked after. All staff were helpful, friendly and professional . We really appreciated all the help and support they gave us. Fantastic accommodation, amazing meals and wine. Wine tasting experience not to be missed. We would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Great wine tasting and crayfish!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fiona M wrote a review Oct 2023
Willesden, United Kingdom151 contributions46 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
During our family visit to Zambia from London, Lilayi Lodge emerged as a destination of choice, prompted by my sister's enthusiastic commendation. True to her endorsement, the experience was nothing short of exceptional. The reservation process was seamless, and the rooms, tastefully appointed and generously sized, surpassed expectations. The impeccably designed bathrooms conveyed a sense of cleanliness and spaciousness.

The inclusion of amenities such as tea and coffee facilities, mosquito nets, and reliable Wi-Fi further enriched our stay. The beds proved to be remarkably comfortable, contributing to a restful night's sleep. Loved the balcony/verandah/sitout area off the room! Culinary offerings during both dinner and breakfast were characterised by a diverse selection of well-prepared dishes.

Regrettably, our brief one-night stay did not afford us the opportunity to partake in the offered activities. Nevertheless, the courteous, professional, and helpful demeanor of the staff left a lasting impression. I would like to suggest the introduction of a traditional Afternoon Tea service, complete with sandwiches and scones, as an enhancement to the overall guest experience.

In comparison to numerous international hotels and safari lodges I have frequented, Lilayi Lodge has earned its place within my top 7. I anticipate a return visit to further indulge in the quality offerings of this distinguished establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lilayi Marketing, General Manager at Lilayi Lodge
Responded 01 Nov 2023
Dear iSayY Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review, I will let the Lilayi Team know you had a pleasant stay. The Afternoon Tea suggestion is well noted and we would love to introduce this in addition to our current Wine Tasting Experiences. Thank you for choosing to stay with Lilayi Lodge, we hope you will come back to visit us again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
77by77 wrote a review Feb 2021
Lusaka, Zambia478 contributions64 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Tired of lockdown we escaped, to Lilayi Lodge. 700 acres of enclosed game reserve literally a stones throw from Lusaka. Awesome feels to be in the midst of nature. Rain season and everything lush and green.Friendly professional staff Lilayi has hrly game drives. Clean cool accommodation only down side was family rooms we booked have no balconies so that was a bit of a damper. Food is THE BEST you will get in Zambia. Huge kudos to the chef. Try self guided walking safaris 2.5, 5 and 10km walks- mind blowing. Would be helpful to include arrows in addition to colour coded guide poles . Crisp clean pool. Highly recommended. Would have given 5 starts if not for absence of balcony for family rooms so felt a bit claustrophobic seeing the plan was to get away lockdown feel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jackie L wrote a review Aug 2022
Sheffield, United Kingdom20 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at Lilayi Lodge several times over the last 20 years and have always loved it. The thatched rondavels are stunning and the environment is tranquil. However, on this occasion we experienced poor service. There were two large wedding parties and simply mot enough staff to cope. The large parties were prioritised as they were obviously spending a lot of money. The food was good but service was slow and items forgotten. The game drive was a real disappointment and I would not recommend it. In the past we were lucky enough to see a good range of wildlife but this time there were few species. There were six of us and we paid a lot for the stay hence feeling disappointed with the service levels. It seems that large functions have reduced the capacity to offer the quality of visit we have experienced in the past. Management need to address this.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't bother with a game drive but enjoy the pool.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lilayi Marketing, General Manager at Lilayi Lodge
Responded 05 Sept 2022
Dear Jackie, We are disappointed that you did not have an enjoyable stay at Lilayi Lodge- especially since you have visited us before and we hope will continue to. We agree, that the particular weekend you visited us, we had 2 weddings occurring (which is certainly not the norm) and we are truly sorry that the service that you experienced during your stay was poor. Your feedback has been well noted, and I have communicated it with the staff- thank you. Our game drives are very much dependent on the season you are visiting, we have had mixed feedback from guests that the animals are difficult to spot during the 'Wet Season' due to camouflaging well into the bush, and other guests feel that they are easier to spot against the emerald green backdrop. We are sorry you didn't have luck this time spotting the animals, but we would love to give you a special game drive next time - please let us know when you visit us again. Warm regards, The Lilayi Lodge Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KatLeg wrote a review Sept 2022
London, United Kingdom45 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Food was exceptional, staff fantastic. The rooms and surroundings are beautiful. We really enjoyed the wine tasting paired with food as a birthday treat. The breakfast offered a varied selection and was perfect to set me up for the day. Not cheap, of course, but as a luxury treat for a day or two it's great.

Nothing really to fault, but just by way of suggestion for the management, I think you should provide robes and slippers in the room (especially slippers, given the cold stone floor). I would also have liked items on the breakfast buffet to be labelled as I couldn't always tell with the pastries and baked goods what was sweet/savoury/vegetarian/etc.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
77by77 wrote a review Jan 2020
Lusaka, Zambia478 contributions64 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked for special new years eve dinner and found exactly what we wanted. Lilayi lodge tucked away in a game reserve. Lovely set up with lucious manicured grounds and dinning area set up on covered porch. We were offered welcome wine and drinks. Tables were labelled with our names. Live music played popular music appropriate to the ambiance. 4 course meal was undoubtedly one of the best in lusaka. A stark difference from mass cooked meals offered at many hotels in Lusaka. Kudos to the chef. Drinks are pricey but wide selection. If you like fine dining and a decent crowd this is where to go. Book in advance!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lilayi, Manager at Lilayi Lodge
Responded 03 Apr 2020
The team here at Lilayi is thrilled to hear such amazing feedback from you! We are so pleased you enjoyed yourself and we hope to welcome you again soon! All the best and stay safe :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The Overlander zm wrote a review Aug 2020
Livingstone, Zambia257 contributions27 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lilayi lodge is a piece of paradise. It is located in a small nature reserve. As you drive in you be able to spot some game such as antelopes, warthogs, etc.

It's a bird sanctuary mornings and sunsets are always having amazing melodies from the bird life around.

The Food is awesome they have the best chef in the city.
The lodge has a good winery.
The lodge has a very excellent be customer care service.

During hot days there is a clear swimming pool.

The rooms have private garden spaces.

They have room service to your demand if you don't want to leave the room.

Day or Stay in visitors are welcome.

#theoverlanderzm
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Seaside252715 wrote a review Feb 2024
South Hadley, Massachusetts14 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our second time at Lilayi but the first time staying overnight. We loved the location and the amenities. The room overlooking the garden was gorgeous, we enjoyed a beautiful sunset game drive with a bottle of Lilayi's lovely rosé, dinner with the wine tasting was perfect, and the bed was extremely comfortable. We booked our trip last minute but were amazed by the service we received during our stay. We will definitely be back if we have another chance!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Philippa wrote a review Feb 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa353 contributions202 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The chalets are very spacious and tastefully furnished with a wonderful deck out the front overlooking the garden and into the bush. the bathroom is large with a bath as well as a decent spacious shower. Buck & other animals roam freely around the chalets which gives the lodge a really nice "wild" feel.
The food at the restaurant was outstanding - the crayfish tagliatelle was delicious.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lilayi Marketing, General Manager at Lilayi Lodge
Responded 22 Feb 2022
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope you will visit us again.- Will be sure to pass your compliments to our Lilayi Chefs!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul S wrote a review Mar 2020
Kafue, Zambia61 contributions40 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very lovey atmosphere , very polite guest whom do there ultimate to ensure your stay is superb . The room was very clean and tidy with all the essentials at ones disposal.The food was to die for , very unique menu selection , me and my wife enjoyed every bit of it , lots of activities we did the game drive and were able to see some giraffes 🦒, zebras 🦓 and a variety of antelopes amongst a magnitudes of birds. Waking up to the sounds of birds outside was something so unreal
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lilayi, Manager at Lilayi Lodge
Responded 03 Apr 2020
Hi there, thanks for your lovely review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your time at Lilayi. We hope to welcome you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from LilayiLodgeGM
Lusaka, Zambia
Dear Ireen, Thank you for your inquiry. Lilayi Lodge has a full a la carte restaurant which means that our meals are all plated with table waiting service. If you would like to come and have a meal at Lilayi Lodge this would cost approximately K250 depending on how many meals you choose to order and how many drinks you have. We hope to see you at the Lilayi Lodge soon. Kind regards, Lilayi Lodge Team
Answer from LilayiLodgeGM
Lusaka, Zambia
Dear Wichita, Thank you for your inquiry. The activities that you have mentioned can all be included depending on what rate you book into Lilayi Lodge on. For example, if you have booked a Bed and Breakfast rate then the activities would be charged as extras. If you have booked on the "Activity Package" then the activities would be included. The charge for an airport transfer is USD$50 and this would be included in the activity package. If one wanted to have day trips into town whilst staying at the lodge this would definitely be possible. The transfer into town takes approximately 30 minutes and is not a hinderance if done at the correct times. We look forward to seeing you at Lilayi Lodge. Kind regards, Lilayi Lodge Team
O2979ZLianh wrote a tip Apr 2024
Birmingham, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just an amazing little oasis with wonderful trails clearly marked. Lots of animals. "
Read full review
Louise W wrote a tip Mar 2024
34 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great wine tasting and crayfish!!"
Read full review
1jammicrackers wrote a tip Jun 2023
London, United Kingdom22 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay longer than 1 night!!!"
Read full review
lialKent wrote a tip Sept 2022
53 contributions35 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The last one :10 is nicely tucked away"
Read full review
Jackie L wrote a tip Aug 2022
Sheffield, United Kingdom20 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't bother with a game drive but enjoy the pool. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lusaka area.
PRICE RANGE
R 5,434 - R 6,319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ZambiaLusaka ProvinceLusaka
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LILAYI LODGE - Reviews & Price Comparison (Lusaka, Zambia)

Frequently Asked Questions about Lilayi Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Lilayi Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Lusaka National Park (6.8 km) and Munda Wanga Environmental Park (7.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lilayi Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Lilayi Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Lilayi Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Lilayi Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lilayi Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lilayi Lodge, Dar Lalla, and Busisiwe Cake & Bakeshop.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lilayi Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Lilayi Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Lilayi Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Lilayi Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Lilayi Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chilenje House (11.4 km).
All Lusaka HotelsLusaka Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LusakaHotels near Lilayi Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire